search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Bijoux en pierres précieuses : à propos des alliages d'or

Cornaline en alliage d'or noir
Cornaline en alliage d'or noir

La conception de bijoux d'aujourd'hui a évolué à la fois dans l'innovation et la technique. Ce qui a commencé comme un simple artisanat est maintenant devenu une forme d'art complexe. Les bijoux modernes comprennent des conceptions simples avec des pierres colorées, des coquillages enveloppés de cuir ou sertis dans de l'os, et de fines pierres précieuses taillées avec précision soigneusement coulées dans de l'or coloré, canalisées avec des accents de diamants de mêlée brillants. Dans l'industrie de la bijouterie, les sertissages ou les montages de pierres précieuses sont connus sous le nom de "découvertes de bijoux", et lorsque la plupart des gens pensent aux "découvertes", or est presque toujours le premier matériau qui vient à l'esprit. La stabilité de l'or le rend idéal pour les bijoux puisqu'il est l'un des rares métaux nobles résistant à l'oxydation et à la corrosion.

L'or est l'un des matériaux de fabrication de bijoux les plus populaires et traditionnels, mais dans sa forme la plus pure, il est plutôt doux et donc pas idéal pour la plupart bijoux conceptions. Pendant la plupart du temps, l'or pur a été la norme et il l'est toujours dans de nombreux pays asiatiques. Mais grâce à l'innovation, les tendances de la joaillerie ont évolué - entraînant l'introduction de divers éléments fusionnés avec de l'or ou des «alliages d'or».

Bague Or Tanzanite
Tanzanite en alliage d'or jaune

De nombreux consommateurs sont souvent surpris d'apprendre que les montures en or pur sont rarement vues dans découvertes de bijoux plus. Aujourd'hui, presque toutes les montures de bijoux en or sont en fait des formes d '«alliage d'or». Un alliage peut être n'importe quelle forme de composé métallique mixte; pour être un alliage d'or, il doit contenir au moins une part d'or combinée à un ou plusieurs autres éléments. Dans la plupart des cas, les alliages d'or sont mélangés à d'autres métaux ; c'est-à-dire le platine, argent , palladium , cuivre ou fer. L'or est idéal pour former des alliages avec d'autres métaux en raison de sa malléabilité et de sa polyvalence remarquable. Lors de la production d'un alliage d'or, la pureté de l'or est réduite et les résultats donnent généralement un matériau bien supérieur en termes de dureté et de durabilité globales.

Bague Saphir Bleu et Or Rose
Saphir dans des bijoux en alliage d'or rose

De loin, l'alliage d'or le plus populaire est l'or '18K'. La carat , qui est abrégé en « K » ou « kt » est l'unité de mesure utilisée en référence à la pureté d'un alliage d'or. Les alliages d'or 18 carats sont toujours estampillés « 18K » aux États-Unis ou « 750 » en Europe pour indiquer leur pureté (75 % d'or pur). La plupart des gens ne savent pas que l'or 18 carats est en fait une forme d'alliage. Aujourd'hui, l'or 18 carats est devenu la « norme » de l'industrie mondiale pour la plupart des bijoux . C'est l'alliage numéro un utilisé dans l'industrie des bijoux de mariée, bien que l'alliage 14K (58,3 % d'or) soit de plus en plus populaire. L'or 18 carats est composé à 75 % d'or pur allié à divers autres éléments. Or jaune est allié avec du cuivre, de l'argent, du zinc et/ou du cobalt. Les pièces en or jaune 18 carats sont appréciées pour leur valeur, leur résistance et leur durabilité. Les bijoux en or jaune 18 carats ne doivent pas ternir ou être affectés par la chaleur, l'humidité ou l'oxygène, contrairement à de nombreux autres alliages.

Dans de nombreux cas, des alliages d'or peuvent être fabriqués pour modifier la couleur de l'or. La couleur d'alliage d'or la plus populaire autre que le jaune est bien sûr «l'or blanc». Il existe en fait quelques formes différentes d'alliage d'or blanc disponibles. L'alliage d'or blanc le plus courant est l'or blanc «nickel» 18 carats, qui est de l'or jaune allié au cuivre, au nickel, au zinc et/ou au palladium (puis plaqué rhodium). D'autres formes d'or blanc ont été conçues pour ceux qui souffrent d'allergies au nickel, et aussi pour aider à minimiser le besoin constant de replaquer l'or blanc avec du rhodium. L'or blanc est souvent allié au chrome et au fer - cet alliage d'or est une excellente option pour ceux qui sont allergiques au nickel. L'or blanc 18 carats "palladium" peut également être une bonne option pour ceux qui ont un budget plus important. L'or blanc 18 carats "palladium" est composé uniquement d'or et de palladium. Même si sa pureté est la même que celle des autres formes d'or blanc 18 carats, l'alliage « or palladium » est généralement plus cher que l'alliage « or nickel ».

Bague Emeraude en Or Jaune
Bijoux Emeraude en Or Jaune

Autre "coloré" or les alliages varient généralement en pureté de 8K (33% d'or) à 22K (91,66% d'or). Aux États-Unis, l'alliage d'or doit être d'au moins 10 000 (41,7 % d'or) pour être échangé comme de l'« or ». L'alliage d'or composé de moins de 10 carats est généralement appelé « plaqué or » ou similaire dans le commerce de la joaillerie. En réduisant la pureté, les alliages d'or peuvent être transformés en de nombreuses couleurs attrayantes, notamment le rouge (qui contient du cuivre), le rose et le rose (cuivre et argent), le noir (chrome et/ou cobalt), le gris (manganèse, argent et cuivre), vert (argent, cuivre et/ou cadmium), bleu (indium et/ou fer et nickel) et même violet (or et aluminium). En raison des nombreuses couleurs d'or disponibles, les consommateurs ont aujourd'hui plus d'options que jamais. Lorsqu'il s'agit de personnaliser des bijoux, les possibilités sont infinies. Il existe un alliage d'or pour correspondre à n'importe quelle gemme colorée.

  • Première publication: 07 Juin 2022
  • Dernière mise à jour: 27 Septembre 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

16311

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (143)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Azurite
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat Chrysobéryl
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Onyx
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Hyalite
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Tourmaline Chrome
  • Tranche De Géode D'améthyste
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
  • Œil De Faucon
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Gold Alloys for Jewelry

Gemstone Jewelry: About Gold Alloys

Ruby set in black gold ring
Ruby in black gold alloy

Jewelry design today has evolved in both innovation and technique. What once started out as a simple craft has now truly become a complex form of art. Modern jewelry includes simple designs featuring colored stones, seashells wrapped in leather or set in bone, and fine precision-cut gems carefully cast into colored gold, channeled with brilliant melee diamond accents. In the jewelry industry, gem settings or mountings are known as 'jewelry findings', and when most people think of 'findings', gold is almost always the first material to come to mind. Gold's stability makes it ideal for jewelry since it is one of the few noble metals that are resistant to oxidation and corrosion.

Gold is one of the most popular and traditional jewelry-making materials, but in its purest form, it is rather soft and therefore not ideal for most jewelry designs. For most of time, pure gold has been the standard and it still is in many Asian countries. But through innovation, jewelry trends have evolved - bringing about the introduction of various elements fused with gold or 'gold alloys'.

Tanzanite Gold Ring
Tanzanite in Yellow Gold Alloy

Many consumers are often surprised to learn that pure gold settings are rarely seen in jewelry findings anymore. Today, almost all gold jewelry mountings are actually forms of 'gold alloy'. An alloy can be any form of mixed metal compound; to be a gold alloy, it must contain at least one part gold combined with one or more other elements. In most cases, gold alloys are mixed with other metals; i.e., platinum, silver, palladium, copper or iron. Gold is ideal for forming alloys with other metals owing to its malleability and remarkable versatility. In producing gold alloy, the purity of gold is reduced and the results typically yield a far more superior material in regard to overall hardness and durability.

Blue Sapphire and Rose Gold Ring
Sapphire in Rose Gold Alloy Jewelry

By far, the most popular gold alloy is '18K' gold. The karat, which is abbreviated to 'K' or 'kt' is the unit of measurement used in reference to the purity of a gold alloy. 18K gold alloys are always stamped '18K' in the USA, or '750' in Europe to indicate their purity (75% pure gold). Most people are unaware that 18 karat gold is actually a form of alloy. Today, 18K gold has become the global industry 'norm' for most fine jewelry. It is the number one alloy used in the bridal jewelry industry, though 14K (58.3% gold) alloy is becoming increasingly popular. 18K gold is 75% pure gold alloyed with various other elements. Yellow gold is alloyed with copper, silver, zinc and/or cobalt. 18K yellow gold findings are prized for value, resiliency and durability. 18K yellow gold jewelry should not tarnish, or be affected by heat, moisture or oxygen, unlike many other alloys.

In many cases, gold alloys can be made to alter the color of gold. The most popular gold alloy color other than yellow, is of course 'white gold'. There are actually a few different forms of white gold alloy available. The most common white gold alloy is 18K 'nickel' white gold, which is yellow gold alloyed with copper, nickel, zinc and/or palladium (and then rhodium plated). Other forms of white gold were designed for those who suffer from nickel allergies, and also to help minimize the constant need to re-plate white gold with rhodium. White gold is often alloyed with chromium and iron - this gold alloy is a great option for those who are allergic to nickel. 18K 'palladium' white gold may also be a good option for those with a bigger budget. 18K 'palladium' white gold consists of only gold and palladium. Even though its purity is the same as other forms of 18K white gold, 'palladium gold' alloy is generally more expensive than 'nickel gold' alloy.

Emerald in Yellow Gold Ring
Emerald in Yellow Gold Jewelry

Other 'colored' gold alloys usually range in purity from 8K (33% gold) to 22K (91.66% gold). In the US, gold alloy must be a minimum of 10K (41.7% gold) to be traded as 'gold'. Gold alloy which consists of less than 10K, is usually termed 'gold plated' or similar in the jewelry trade. By reducing the purity, gold alloys can be made into many different attractive colors including red (which contains copper), pink and rose (copper and silver), black (chromium and/or cobalt), gray (manganese, silver and copper), green (silver, copper and/or cadmium), blue (indium and/or iron and nickel) and even purple (gold and aluminum). Owing to the many colors of gold available, consumers today have more options than ever before. When it comes to customizing jewelry, the possibilities are endless. There is a gold alloy to match any colored gem.

  • First Published: August-22-2014
  • Last Updated: August-15-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart