search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

为首饰购买黑色宝石

黑碧玉、玛瑙和尖晶石宝石
黑碧玉、玛瑙和尖晶石

购买黑色宝石和珠宝? 黑色宝石可以制作精美的首饰。黑色的宝石实际上很少,但仍然有少数品种可供选择,这可能令人难以置信,因为黑色宝石在珠宝零售店很少见,除了黑色玛瑙袖扣和其他各种男士配饰。黑色宝石供应不足可能是由于与黑色和逝去的人的病态联系。在维多利亚时代,由于黑色宝石的大量商业化,黑色宝石的选择似乎几乎无穷无尽,尽管主要用于生产哀悼首饰,而且很多材料都是人造的。

{{促销商品}}

在今天,黑色宝石似乎早已被遗忘,不再生产,但事实并非如此。黑色宝石仍然非常可用,但与许多其他有色宝石一样,尤其是鲜为人知或 收藏家的宝石,您需要在网上查找并从专门的宝石经销商.为您的珠宝购买宝石时,选择合适的宝石很重要,这取决于几个不同的因素。由于珠宝是为佩戴而设计的,因此应始终考虑整体耐用性为特定珠宝设计选择宝石时的宝石。例如,当涉及到容易出现日常磨损的珠宝时, 选择坚硬的宝石很重要;对于耳环或吊坠等不太容易受到撞击的珠宝,只要在佩戴时小心谨慎,任何宝石都非常适合。

以下是当今可用于定制珠宝的一些最佳黑色宝石品种:

黑色石英回到顶部
黑色金红石石英凸圆形
黑色发纹无色石英
石英不仅是最重要的宝石组之一,而且在用于珠宝的黑色宝石方面也提供最多种类。一些石英品种可能是全黑或半黑的。玛瑙和缟玛瑙是最常见的黑色石英宝石,它们通常用于男士时尚配饰,例如袖扣或领带夹。玛瑙和缟玛瑙是如此密切相关,以至于很难区分两者之间的区别。缟玛瑙其实就是各种黑白分层的玛瑙,所以所有的缟玛瑙都可以形容为玛瑙,但反过来不行。在大多数情况下,纯黑色玛瑙通常被染色,因为它自然形成多色层和波浪形或平行带状设计。玛瑙也可以染色,但通常未经处理,因为黑色和白色层被切割成可以在其条纹中呈现出理想图案的形状。黑玛瑙和黑缟玛瑙都相对便宜,而且它们光滑的颜色可以使优雅的首饰,但没有一个会被标记为高级珠宝。

黑色的碧玉不像玛瑙或缟玛瑙那样常见,因为碧玉几乎总是以带有斑点和图案的五彩斑斓着称。然而,单色碧玉并非闻所未闻,黑色是一种可以找到的颜色,虽然颜色通常不如其他黑色宝石那么深。碧玉在纯色中尤其罕见,因为它往往含有高比例的杂质,这些杂质赋予碧玉独特的颜色和图案。作为会员石英家族,碧玉与玛瑙和缟玛瑙密切相关,但碧玉因其颗粒状晶体结构而单独归类。由于黑碧玉、玛瑙和缟玛瑙是不透明的,它们几乎总是被切割成凸圆形,但也可以找到一些刻面宝石。一种石英,称为金红石石英,通常以其金色针状内含物而闻名,也可以发现黑色金红石内含物(以及其他颜色)。许多发晶石英宝石的含量如此之高,以至于它们看起来几乎不透明,但大多数只显示出小区域或黑色金红石内含物簇。虽然大多数其他宝石类型在大量包含时会失去价值,金红石石英是为数不多的随着被更多地包含而获得价值的宝石之一。

黑色石榴石回到顶部
石榴石最受欢迎的是其红色和绿色宝石品种,但也有几种黑色石榴石宝石可供选择。一黑色石榴石与稀有绿色属于同一石榴石组翠榴石;黑色菱镁矿。绿色翠榴石石榴石被认为是最稀有和最有价值的石榴石之一,而黑色石榴石则鲜为人知。然而,众所周知,黑色黑石榴石具有极好的光泽和高折射率,就像精细的翠榴石一样,因此使黑石榴石成为最好的黑色珠宝宝石之一。黑色素不透明,有光泽的黑色,这是由钛的存在造成的,因此它的商品名称为“titanian andradite”。黑色黄铜具有出色的硬度和耐用性,适用于所有类型的珠宝,包括戒指、耳环、吊坠、小饰物手链、项链和任何可以想象的东西。黑曜石的黑色可与黑色电气石相媲美,但它不像电气石那样经常刻面。黑色素通常比电气石具有更吸引人的光泽,但与电气石不同的是,黑色素通常不存在于此类中巨大的尺寸,大多数平均切工宝石的重量在 5 至 10 克拉左右。黑素石优异的硬度和不解理使其用途极为广泛,因此可以切割成各种不同的形状和样式。玫瑰切工非常受欢迎,因为切面顶部展现了黑色素的最佳反光品质。除了黑色的黑色石榴石,星形石榴石也经常发现接近黑色的颜色。然而,黑色星形石榴石通常是石榴石品种的混合体,因此颜色通常更偏红黑色,而不是像黑曜石那样的墨黑色。查看时星形石榴石在直射光下,它表现出像星光蓝宝石,但通常有更锐利的星星;尽管光线通常要细得多,但它们却更加清晰。

黑碧玺回到顶部
棋盘形切割刻面黑色碧玺
刻面黑碧玺

当今市场上最常见的黑色宝石是电气石.它是最容易获得的宝石之一,有时也被称为“schorl”。几乎所有的碧玺都是黑色的,这就是为什么它是最实惠的碧玺品种之一。黑碧玺还具有巨大的尺寸可用性优势,因此对于需要非常大的黑色宝石的任何人来说,电气石是最佳选择。重量接近 100 克拉的切割宝石很容易找到。像所有其他颜色的碧玺一样,黑碧玺拥有同样卓越的宝石品质,使其非常适合所有类型的珠宝。黑碧玺也是仅有的一种通常采用传统刻面切割的黑色宝石,而不是简单的凸圆形或玫瑰切花平底和多面顶部。

黑色尖晶石回到顶部
就珠宝而言,刻面宝石总是能展现出最佳的光彩。玫瑰式剪裁(和改良版)是最受欢迎的剪裁之一剪裁风格赋予不透明的黑色宝石,通常以椭圆形、圆形或长方形完成。这在黑色尖晶石中尤为明显。一个原因是因为很少发现大尺寸的尖晶石,并且通过专家切割,宝石可以给人一种看起来比实际更大的错觉。黑色尖晶石然而,比任何其他颜色的尖晶石更常见于更大的尺寸,因此即使是 5 至 10 克拉的宝石也可以相对容易地采购。尖晶石被认为是较精细的黑色宝石之一,因此与玛瑙或缟玛瑙相比,黑色尖晶石首饰会更贵。采购黑色尖晶石可能很棘手,因为许多人甚至没有听说过尖晶石,但是在线宝石经销商应该有各种形状和尺寸的大量库存。最重要的黑色尖晶石产地包括泰国和澳大利亚。由于其出色的硬度,黑色尖晶石可以佩戴在任何珠宝设计中。

黑色喷气机回到顶部
被称为喷气机的宝石是一种由木化石组成的有机宝石级矿物。喷射,也称为“褐煤”,在技术上是一种矿物,而不是真正的矿物。它是煤的前体,是通过在极端压力下保存腐烂的木材而形成的。它是用于黑色的最受欢迎的宝石之一哀悼首饰在维多利亚时代,“漆黑”一词就来自这种材料的出现。 Jet 的重量很轻,适用于需要大颗宝石的珠宝,但它也相当柔软,这限制了它只能用于不易受到猛烈撞击和撞击的珠宝。 Jet 现在很难找到,许多正宗的 Jet 珠宝受到人们的追捧宝石收藏家.

黑曜石回到顶部
黑色雪花黑曜石凸圆形
黑色雪花黑曜石火山玻璃

黑曜石是由火山喷出的熔岩形成的天然玻璃。随着材料冷却,它会变硬而没有晶体生长,这使得它非常独特,而不是真正的矿物。黑曜石自史前时代就被用于工具和珠宝,由于它具有如此迷人的特性,它是一种具有多种应用的独特材料,包括手术刀片,以及切割和抛光的宝石(通常是凸圆形宝石)。一种黑曜石形式,带有小的、白色的、放射状的方石英晶体,形成非常独特的黑色玻璃,带有斑点雪花图案。在某些情况下,黑曜石也可能与其他各种杂质一起沉淀,从而产生极具吸引力的彩虹色,通常带有金色或彩虹般的光泽。黑曜石的自然、深色光泽使其成为时尚首饰的理想选择,无论男女老少,女士或男士。黑曜石可以很容易地塑造成哥特式、复古式、凯尔特人或者 朋克-灵感设计,或现代,前卫的作品。

黑珍珠回到顶部
珍珠被称为世界上最奢华的宝石之一,并且已知一种珍珠的颜色接近黑色。黑珍珠通常比其他有色珍珠大,大多数来自大溪地水域。许多大溪地珍珠的尺寸远远超过 10 毫米。大溪地黑珍珠也可以有多种形状,但球形和对称珍珠需要最高的溢价,尤其是具有极佳光泽和极少表面瑕疵的宝石。差不多所有珍珠今天可用的是有文化的,但可以找到天然产生的黑珍珠。珍珠的颜色会因水和软体动物的种类以及贝壳蛋白上层的颜色而异。虽然珍珠相当柔软,但它们非常耐用和紧凑。它们最适合耳环或项链,但珍珠戒指也很受欢迎,也很优雅。

黑透辉石回到顶部
透辉石以其富含铬的绿色宝石品种而闻名,在贸易中被称为铬透辉石.但是,透辉石也可以发现是黑色的,有时甚至是非常深的绿黑色。黑色宝石受到收藏家的高度追捧,因为它是为数不多的展示稀有宝石的宝石之一。光学现象猫眼,通常以星状(星形效应)的形式出现,偶尔也会出现猫眼。这些星光透辉石被切割成凸圆形,通常有 4 条光线,而不是 6 条,这是将其与外观相似的区分的最简单方法之一黑色星光蓝宝石.星透辉石的莫氏硬度仅为 5 到 6,因此最适合佩戴耳环、吊坠或偶尔佩戴的凸圆形戒指,需要小心佩戴。最多星透辉石来自印度,赢得了自己的绰号“the印度黑星',尽管它可以在其他各个地方找到。黑蛋白石凸圆形
黑蛋白石凸圆形

黑蛋白石回到顶部
可以说是其中之一最稀有的宝石在地球上,优良的品质黑蛋白石确实是世界上最令人惊叹的天然材料之一。黑蛋白石是最有价值的蛋白石品种,品质优良的宝石需要非常高的溢价。几乎所有最优质的蛋白石都产自澳大利亚,但最近,埃塞俄比亚也成为重要的蛋白石供应商。然而,来自埃塞俄比亚的材料通常需要处理才能获得澳大利亚天然存在的深沉颜色。 黑蛋白石.正是氧化铁和碳元素的存在使黑蛋白石呈现出令人惊叹的深色,它就像一块画布,展示了更明亮、更生动的色彩。黑欧泊和所有欧泊一样柔软,但如果小心佩戴,欧泊可以佩戴在凸圆面戒指设计。如果选择在戒指中佩戴黑色蛋白石,最好选择保护性设置,例如包边镶座而不是爪。

黑色方柱石回到顶部
方柱石经常与透辉石混淆,特别是因为它们具有相似的硬度、颜色和表现出光辉的能力。然而,已知黑色方柱石形成于猫眼星光而不是星光(星光效应)。黑色方柱石不是很出名,但对于那些寻求不寻常和独特的珠宝的人来说,它对于大多数设计来说肯定足够耐用,只要在佩戴时小心翼翼。方柱石并不总是黑色,通常非常接近黑色或褐色,通常带有轻微的紫罗兰色或紫色调。方柱石通常是不透明的,但在极少数情况下,会出现透明的方柱石,通常带有迷人的彩虹般的彩虹色。这些透明的方柱石宝石交易为彩虹方柱石并且几乎总是被驾驶以最大化虹彩效果。

黑玉回到顶部
有多种颜色可供选择,虽然翠绿色是最有价值的颜色,但品质优良的黑玉也备受追捧。玉可以是两种矿物中的一种;翡翠或软玉。当今可买到的大多数黑玉是软玉,并且硬玉被认为发生的情况要少得多。最珍贵的黑玉是在中国和田地区发现的油腻的黑色“籽玉”。和田玉很受追捧,被当作和田玉进行交易。黑种子和田玉是最有价值和最知名的玉石品种之一,也许仅次于乳白色的“羊脂”玉。尽管中国是最著名的黑色软玉产地,但在世界其他地区也可以找到。它的硬度可能与其他一些宝石类型不同,但由于其紧密的纤维成分,因此在耐用性方面仍然非常坚韧。对于男士来说,翡翠首饰通常以粗戒指、领带别针、袖扣或护身符和吊坠的形式出现。对于女士来说,玉经常作为吊坠佩戴,并串珠珠宝比如项链或手镯.纯玉常被雕刻成手镯、戒指、耳环和其他各种饰品。

黑蓝宝石回到顶部
金色光芒黑色星光蓝宝石凸圆形
来自泰国的黑色金色星光蓝宝石
蓝宝石是最有价值的之一珍贵的宝石,而黑星蓝宝石是刚玉家族中受人尊敬的成员。红刚玉交易为红宝石,所有其他颜色品种都称为蓝宝石.虽然蓝宝石以其明亮鲜艳的蓝色而闻名,但对彩色蓝宝石的需求也相当大。黑色蓝宝石非常稀有,因为它不透明,所以被切割成凸圆形。众所周知,小的针状金红石内含物会以 6 射线星群的形式产生迷人的光晕。在强直射光源下观察时效果最佳。黑色星光蓝宝石泰国产的蓝宝石以其金色光芒而闻名,而且由于大多数其他产地仅生产白色光芒的星光蓝宝石,因此特别独特。最好的标本是那些带有尖锐星星的标本,以及那些正确定向以最大限度地提高夜光度的标本。像所有蓝宝石一样,星光蓝宝石非常耐用,是人类已知的最坚硬的材料之一,仅次于钻石。大多数星光蓝宝石用于男士凸圆形戒指,但它们非常适合从耳环到吊坠等任何珠宝设计。

黑钻石回到顶部
最后但并非最不重要的是黑钻石;钻石被认为是世界上最珍贵、最有价值的宝石,尽管它不一定是最稀有的。黑钻石是由碳组成的,就像白钻石一样,但从技术上讲,它并不是真的钻石由于其多晶结构。石墨也由纯碳组成,但因为它没有与碳相同的晶体结构钻石,它不符合钻石的条件。事实上,黑金刚石实际上是石墨和金刚石之间形成碳的产物。黑色钻石吸收光,所以它们不会像白色钻石,它折射而不是吸收光。黑钻石有时被称为“carbonado”,因为它仍然是纯碳,但技术上不符合真正钻石的定义。

大多数黑钻的售价接近白钻,因为它们被大量销售为“想要'钻石,但消费者对优质黑钻石的需求仍然很少。在许多情况下,颜色可能看起来非常深灰色和接近黑色,而不是乌黑。黑钻石非常罕见,因此,当今市场上的大部分材料都经过处理,通常带有辐照, 增强色彩。几乎所有可用的黑钻石都来自巴西,但也可以在中非找到。众所周知,黑色钻石非常多孔且带有凹坑,因此,宝石切割师可能很难加工。如果您能找到一颗切工精良的黑色钻石,请放心,您佩戴的是地球上最珍贵的宝石之一。

如果您喜欢深色,您可以考虑黑色宝石,两者都适合男士的和女士珠宝款式。用于首饰的黑色宝石并非完全黑暗,而是有一种闪闪发光的感觉光泽以及使他们与众不同并使他们与众不同的光泽,在他们自己的班级中。

  • 首次发布于: 十二月-17-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 十月-07-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

13182

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (141)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
 
: Buying Black Gems for Jewelry

Buying Black Gemstones for Jewelry

Black Jasper, Agate and Spinel Gemstones
Black Jasper, Agate and Spinel

Shopping for black gemstones and jewelry? Black gemstones can make stunning jewelry. There are actually very few gemstones that occur in black, but there are still a handful of varieties to choose from, which may be hard to believe, since black gems are rarely ever seen in jewelry retail stores, apart from perhaps black onyx cufflinks and various other men’s accessories. The lack of black gemstone availability could be owed to the morbid association with the color black and the dearly departed. During the Victorian era, the variety of black gemstone options seemed almost endless, due to the heavily commercialization of black gems, though mostly for the production of mourning jewelry, and many of the materials were man-made.

In the present day, it would seem that black gems have long been forgotten and are no longer in production, but this is not the case. Black gemstones are still very much available, but like many other colored gemstones, especially lesser-known or collector's gemstones, you'll need to look online and source them from specialized gem dealers. When buying gemstones for your jewelry, it's important to choose the right gem, which can depend on several different factors. Since jewelry is designed to be worn, one should always consider the overall durability of a gem when choosing a stone for a particular jewelry design. For example, when it comes to jewelry prone to daily wear and tear, choosing a tough gemstone is important; while for jewelry, such as earrings or pendants, which are less prone to hard knocks, any gemstone is perfectly suitable as long as some level of care is taken when it is worn.

Here are some of the best black gemstone varieties available today for your custom-made jewelry:

Black Quartz Back to Top
Black Rutile Quartz Cabochon
Black Rutilated Colorless Quartz
Quartz is not only one of the most important gemstone groups, but also offers the most variety when it comes to black gemstones for jewelry. Some quartz varieties may be all-black or partly black. Agate and onyx are the most common black quartz gemstones, and they're often used for men's fashion accessories, such as cufflinks or tie-clips. Agate and onyx are so closely related that it can be hard to distinguish the difference between the two. Onyx is actually a variety of black and white layered agate, so all onyx can be described as agate, but not the other way around. In most cases, solid black agate is usually dyed because it naturally forms with multicolored layers and wavy or parallel banded designs. Onyx can also be dyed, but is usually left untreated as the black and white layers are cut into shapes that bring out desirable patterns in its banding. Both black agate and black onyx are relatively affordable and their sleek color can make very elegant jewelry, but none that would be labeled as fine jewelry.

Black jasper is not as common as agate or onyx, since jasper is almost always known to be multicolored with blotches and patterns. However, unicolored jasper is not unheard of, and black is a color that can be found, though the color is usually not as deep as other black gemstones. Jasper is especially rare in solid colors because it tends to contain a high percentage of impurities which are what give jasper its unique colors and patterns. As a member of the quartz family, jasper is closely related to agate and onyx, but jasper is classed by itself because of its grainy crystal structure. Since black jasper, agate and onyx are opaque, they are almost always cut en cabochon, though some faceted gemstones can be found. One variety of quartz, known as rutile quartz, which is usually known for its golden needle-like inclusions, can also be found with black rutile inclusions (as well as other colors too). Many rutilated quartz gemstones are so heavily included that they can appear near-opaque, but most exhibit only small areas or clusters of black rutile inclusions. While most other gem types lose value when heavily included, rutile quartz is one of the few gems that gains value as it becomes more heavily included.

Black Garnet Back to Top
Garnet is most popular for its red and green gemstone varieties, but there are a couple of varieties of black garnet gemstones available too. One black garnet belongs to the same garnet group as rare green demantoid garnet; black andradite. Green demantoid andradite garnet is considered to be one of the rarest and most valuable garnets, while black andradite is a much lesser-known variety. However black melanite garnet is known to exhibit an excellent luster and high refractive index, just as fine demantoid does, thus making melanite one of the finest black jewelry gemstones available. Melanite is opaque with a glossy black color, which is caused by the presence of titanium, earning it the trade name of 'titanian andradite'. With an excellent hardness and durability, black melanite is suitable for all types of jewelry, including rings, earrings, pendants, charm bracelets, necklaces and anything else imaginable. The black color of melanite is comparable to that of black tourmaline, but it is not often faceted like tourmaline. Melanite usually has a more attractive luster than tourmaline, but unlike tourmaline, melanite is not usually found in such huge sizes, with most average cut gemstones ranging from around 5 to 10 carats in weight. Melanite's excellent hardness and lack of cleavage makes it extremely versatile, so it can be cut into a variety of different shapes and styles. Rose cuts are quite popular as the faceted tops bring out melanite's best reflective qualities. In addition to black melanite garnet, star garnet is also often found with near-black color. However, black star garnet is usually a mix of garnet species, so the color is usually more reddish-black, rather than jet-black like melanite. When viewing star garnet under direct light, it exhibits an asterism like star sapphire, but usually with much sharper stars; although the rays are usually much thinner, they are much more distinct.

Black Tourmaline Back to Top
Checkerboard-Cut Faceted Black Tourmaline
Faceted Black Tourmaline
The most common black gemstone on the market today is tourmaline. It is one of the most easily available gems and may sometimes be referred to as 'schorl'. Almost all tourmaline is black, which is why it is one of most affordable varieties of tourmaline. Black tourmaline also has the advantage of enormous size availability, so for anyone requiring very large black gemstones, tourmaline is the best option. Cut gemstones can be easily found in weights close to 100 carats. Like all other color varieties of tourmaline, black tourmaline shares the same excellent gemstone qualities which make it perfectly suitable for all types of jewelry. Black tourmaline is also one of the only black gems that are commonly given a traditional facet cut, rather than simple cabochons or rose-cuts with flat bottoms and faceted tops.

Black Spinel Back to Top
Faceted gems will always display the best brilliance when it comes to jewelry. The rose cut (and modified variations) is one of the most popular cutting styles given to opaque black gemstones, which are usually finished with oval, round or baguette shapes. This is particularly noticeable with black spinel. One reason is because spinel is rarely found in large sizes, and through expert cutting, a gemstone can give the illusion of appearing larger than it really is. Black spinel is, however, more often found in larger sizes than any other spinel color, so even gems weighing 5 to 10 carats can be sourced relatively easily. Spinel is considered to be one of the finer black gems, so when compared to agate or onyx, black spinel jewelry will be more expensive. Sourcing black spinel may be tricky since many haven't even heard of spinel, but online gem dealers should have plentiful stock in a variety of shapes and sizes. The most important black spinel sources include Thailand and Australia. Due to its excellent hardness, black spinel can be worn in any jewelry design.

Black Jet Back to Top
The gemstone known as jet is an organic gem quality mineral composed of fossilized wood. Jet, also referred to as 'lignite' is technically a mineraloid and not an actual mineral. It is a precursor to coal and is formed by the preservation of decayed wood under extreme pressure. It was one of the most popular gemstones used for black mourning jewelry during the Victorian era, and the term 'jet-black' came from the appearance of this material. Jet is very light in weight, making it suitable for jewelry that requires large gems, but it is also rather soft, which limits its use to jewelry that is not prone to hard knocks and blows. Jet is now rather hard to source, and many authentic jet jewels are highly sought after by gem collectors.

Black Obsidian Back to Top
Black Snowflake Obsidian Cabochon
Black Snowflake Obsidian Volcanic Glass
Obsidian is a naturally occurring glass formed by lava extruded from volcanoes. As the material cools, it hardens without crystal growth, which makes it quite unique and not an actual mineral. Obsidian has been used for tools and jewelry since prehistoric times, and because it has such fascinating properties, it is a unique material that has a variety of applications, including surgical blades, as well as cut and polished gemstones (typically cabochons). One variety of obsidian forms with small, white, radially clustered crystals of cristobalite, which result in a very unique black glass with blotchy snowflake patterns. In some cases, obsidian may also settle with various other impurities which can result in a highly attractive iridescence, often with a gold or rainbow-like sheen. Obsidian's natural, dark glossy color makes it ideal for fashionable jewelry, for both the young and the old, as well as for ladies or men. Obsidian can be easily shaped into gothic, vintage, Celtic or punk-inspired designs, or modern, edgy pieces.

Black Pearls Back to Top
Pearl is known as one of the most luxurious gems in the world, and one type of pearl is known to occur with a near-black color. Black pearls are often larger than other colored pearls, and most come from Tahitian waters. Many Tahitian pearls can be found in sizes well over 10 millimeters. Black Tahitian pearls can also come in a variety of shapes, but spherical and symmetrical pearls demand the highest premiums, particularly gems with excellent luster and very few surface blemishes. Almost all pearls available today are cultured, but naturally occurring black pearl can be found. The color of pearls can vary depending on the water and type of mollusk, as well as the color of the upper layer of conchiolin. Although pearls are rather soft, they are quite durable and compact. They are best suited for earrings or necklaces, but pearl rings are also very popular and elegant.

Black Diopside Back to Top
Diopside is mostly known for its chromium-rich green gemstone variety, referred to in the trade as chrome diopside. But, diopside can also be found in black or sometimes very dark greenish-black. The black gemstone is highly sought after by collectors as it is one of the few gemstones known to exhibit the rare optical phenomenon of chatoyancy, usually in the form of asterism (the star effect), and occasionally cat's eyes as well. These star diopsides are cut en cabochon and usually feature 4 rays, rather than 6, which is one of the easiest ways to distinguish it from similar-looking black star sapphire. Star diopside has a hardness of just 5 to 6 on the Mohs scale, rendering it best for earrings, pendants or occasional-wear cabochon rings that are worn with care. Most star diopside is sourced from India, earning itself the nickname 'the Black Star of India', though it can be found in various other localities.

Black Opal Cabochon
Black Opal Cabochon

Black Opal Back to Top
Arguably one of the rarest gems on Earth, fine quality black opal is indeed one of the most stunning natural materials in the world. Black opal is the most valuable variety of opal, with fine quality gems demanding very high premiums. Almost all of the finest quality opal is mined from Australia, but as of recently, Ethiopia has also become an important opal provider. However, material from Ethiopia often requires treatment to obtain the deep, dark color of Australia's naturally occurring black opal. It is the presence of iron oxide and carbon elements that are responsible for black opal's stunning deep color, which acts as a canvas from which the brighter and more vivid play of color is exhibited. Black opal is rather soft like all opals are, but if worn with care, opal can be worn in cabochon ring designs. If choosing to wear black opal in a ring, it is best to choose a protective setting such as a bezel-set mounting rather than prongs.

Black Scapolite Back to Top
Scapolite is often confused with diopside, especially since they share similar hardness, color and the ability to exhibit chatoyancy. However, black scapolite is known to form with cat's eye chatoyancy rather than asterism (the star effect). Black scapolite is not very well-known, but for those seeking unusual and unique jewelry, it is certainly durable enough for most designs, as long as some care is taken when it is worn. Scapolite is not always black and often it is very near-black or brownish, usually with a slight violet or purple hue. Scapolite is usually opaque, but on rare occasions, transparent scapolite can occur, often with an attractive rainbow-like iridescence. These transparent scapolite gemstones are traded as rainbow scapolite and are almost always cabbed to maximize the iridescent effects.

Black Jade Back to Top
Jade is available in a variety of colors, and although emerald-green is the most valuable color, fine quality black jade is also highly sought-after. Jade can be either one of two minerals; jadeite or nephrite. Most black jade available today is nephrite, and jadeite is considered to be much rarer in occurrence. The black jade that is most treasured is the greasy black 'seed-jade' found in the Hotan region of China. Jade from Hotan is highly sought after and is traded as Hetian jade. Black-seed Hetian jade is one of the most valuable and well-known of jade varieties, perhaps second only to creamy white 'mutton fat' jade. Although China is the best-known source for black nephrite jade, it can also be found in other areas of the world. Jade may not have the same level of hardness as some of the other gem types out there, but it is still very tough in regard to durability due to its compact, fibrous composition. For men, jade jewelry is often found in the form of chunky rings, tie pins, cuff links, or amulets and pendants. For ladies, jade is often worn as pendants, and beaded jewelry such as necklaces or bracelets. Pure jade is often carved into bangles, rings, earrings and various other ornaments.

Black Sapphire Back to Top
Golden Ray Black Star Sapphire Cabochon
Black Golden Star Sapphire from Thailand
Sapphire is one of the most valuable of precious gems, and black star sapphire is a respected member of the corundum family. Red corundum is traded as ruby, and all other color varieties are referred to as sapphire. Although sapphire is mostly known for its bright and vivid blue color, there is quite a demand for fancy color sapphire too. Black sapphire is a rarity, and since it is opaque, it is cut en cabochon. Small needle-like rutile inclusions are known to result in attractive chatoyancy in the form of a 6-rayed asterism. The effect is best seen when viewed under a strong direct light source. Black star sapphire from Thailand is known for its golden colored rays, and is especially unique since most other sources produce only white-rayed star sapphire. The best specimens are those with sharp stars, and those that were properly oriented to maximize chatoyancy. Like all sapphire, star sapphire is extremely durable and it is one of the hardest materials known to man, second only to diamond. Most star sapphires are used for men's cabochon rings, but they are perfectly suitable for any jewelry design from earrings to pendants, and beyond.

Black Diamond Back to Top
Last, but certainly not least, is black diamond; diamond is considered to be the world's most precious and valuable gemstone, though it is not necessarily the rarest. Black diamond is composed of carbon, just like white diamond, but technically, it isn't really diamond due to its polycrystalline structure. Graphite is also composed of pure carbon, but because it does not have the same crystal structure as diamond, it does not qualify as diamond. In fact, black diamond is actually the product of carbon formation between that of graphite and diamond. Black diamonds absorb light, so they do not sparkle like white diamonds, which refract rather than absorb light. Black diamond is sometimes called 'carbonado' because it is still pure carbon, but technically does not fit the definition of true diamond.

Most black diamonds sell for prices close to that of white diamond, as they are heavily marketed as 'fancy' diamonds, but still there is very little consumer demand for fine quality black diamond. In many cases, the color may appear to be very dark gray and near-black, rather than jet-black. Black diamond is quite rare and therefore, much of the material on the market today has been treated, usually with irradiation, to enhance the color. Almost all of the black diamond available is sourced from Brazil, but it can also be found in Central Africa. Black diamond is known to be very porous and pitted, and therefore, it can be difficult for gem-cutters. If you're able to find a well-cut black diamond, rest assured you are wearing one of the most precious gems on Earth.

If dark colors are to your taste, you may consider black gems, which are suitable for both men's and ladies' jewelry styles. Black gems for jewelry are not completely dark, but have a glittering luster and a sheen that makes them special and sets them apart, in a class all of their own.

  • First Published: September-24-2015
  • Last Updated: September-24-2015
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart