search

Guide pour choisir les bonnes pierres précieuses pour vos bijoux

Choisir des pierres précieuses blanches pour les bijoux
Acheter des pierres précieuses et des bijoux

Lors de l'achat de pierres précieuses pour les bijoux, il ne s'agit pas toujours d'obtenir la bonne couleur de pierre en soi , bien que la couleur soit certainement l'un des facteurs décisifs les plus importants. Étant donné que les pierres précieuses et les bijoux que vous allez choisir d'acheter et de porter vont refléter votre personnalité et votre style vestimentaire, voici quelques points à considérer qui vous aideront à choisir les bonnes pierres précieuses pour vos bijoux personnalisés.

Tenir compte de la durabilité et de la portabilité

La plupart des gens interprètent mal le sens de durabilité quand il s'agit de pierres précieuses pour les bijoux. Souvent, la durabilité et la résistance à l'usure sont mesurées uniquement par le niveau de dureté. Bien que la dureté puisse être indicative et coïncide souvent avec la durabilité et la portabilité des pierres précieuses, ce n'est pas toujours le cas. Dureté des pierres précieuses ne mesure que la résistance aux rayures - et non la résistance à la fracture, à l'effritement, à la séparation, à la fissuration (séchage) ou même aux bosses. Certaines pierres précieuses dures sont en fait assez fragiles, en raison d'une parfaite clivage , et peut être facilement fendu d'un seul coup. Ces joyaux comprennent diamant et topaze . Pourtant, certains types de gemmes qui sont en fait plus doux selon l'échelle de dureté minérale de Mohs, sont considérés comme assez durables, comme néphrite et jadéite . La ténacité, la durabilité et la portabilité globales des pierres précieuses pour les bijoux sont mesurées par plusieurs facteurs, notamment la dureté, le clivage, la fracture, la ténacité et la sensibilité.

Bagues émeraude avec des accents de diamant
Bagues émeraude avec des accents de diamant

Tenir compte de l'abordabilité

Pour ceux qui n'ont pas de budget, naturel et pierres précieuses non traitées sont le meilleur choix. Le terme "naturel" s'applique aux pierres précieuses qui peuvent être trouvées dans un état non traité et non amélioré. Cependant, comme la plupart des gens travaillent avec un budget et n'ont généralement pas d'objections fortes au concept de gemmes améliorées, choisissant traité ou des pierres précieuses améliorées peuvent réduire les coûts sans sacrifier l'apparence du design fini. Donc, si vous n'avez pas une opinion bien arrêtée contre les pierres précieuses traitées, celles-ci offrent une sélection beaucoup plus large. C'est en partie parce que bon nombre des plus populaires bijoux pierres précieuses disponibles aujourd'hui ne peuvent tout simplement pas être trouvés non traités, y compris le zircon bleu et la topaze bleue de Londres, qui obtiennent tous deux leur couleur grâce à des traitements de routine.

Considérer la polyvalence

Il est important de vous demander comment vos bijoux en pierres précieuses seront portés - occasionnellement, fréquemment ou quotidiennement. Les diamants blancs, qui sont le plus souvent portés dans les bijoux de fiançailles et de mariée, peuvent être portés dans à peu près tous les scénarios et assortis à tous les types de tendances de la mode. Bien que de nombreux types de pierres de couleur ne soient pas aussi polyvalents que blanc diamants, les bijoux en pierres précieuses colorées peuvent être conçus sur mesure pour s'adapter à la polyvalence. Lorsque vous magasinez pour la bonne pierre précieuse pour vos bijoux, la polyvalence peut être importante si vous prévoyez de porter souvent vos bijoux. Choisissez des pierres précieuses polyvalentes si vous envisagez d'investir dans des bijoux que vous souhaitez porter souvent. La sélection de plusieurs styles de bijoux de pierres précieuses de couleurs différentes garantira que la couleur de votre pierre conviendra toujours à votre tenue vestimentaire. Quelques exemples de gemmes extrêmement polyvalentes incluent des variétés de saphir , tourmalines, grenat et spinelle , ainsi que des pierres de couleur pastel comme bleu vert et kunzite .

Tenir compte de la disponibilité

Certaines pierres colorées sont tout simplement si rare , que peu importe à quel point vous cherchez, vous ne pourrez peut-être pas trouver le taille ou forme vous avez besoin. La disponibilité peut également affecter la façon dont vous achetez la pierre précieuse pour vos bijoux. Types de gemmes courants tels que améthyste et la citrine peut généralement être trouvée même dans les petites bijouteries "maman et pop", tandis que d'autres gemmes moins connues devront probablement être achetées auprès de fournisseurs en ligne étrangers.

Bague en or sertie d'un saphir bleu de Ceylan et d'un diamant
Saphir bleu de Ceylan avec des accents de diamant

De nombreux types de pierres précieuses peuvent être limités à certains tailles ou poids . Dans la plupart des cas, certains types de gemmes ne seront disponibles qu'en petites tailles, mais il existe une poignée de gemmes connues pour être également disponibles uniquement en grandes tailles, telles que amétrine . Ce type de bicolore quartz se trouve rarement dans les pierres précieuses pesant moins de 5 carats, car le couper plus petit pourrait réduire ou même éliminer ses couleurs attrayantes. D'autres perles telles que alexandrite et grenat démantoïde sont extrêmement rares dans les grandes tailles. La disponibilité de telles pierres précieuses rend très difficile l'approvisionnement en grandes pierres centrales pour les bijoux, mais pour les petites pierres d'accent, l'alexandrite et le grenat démantoïde sont absolument idéaux.

Quand il s'agit de gros vert pierres centrales, il existe des options plus variées, qui incluent chrysobéryl , émeraude , tourmaline et saphir. En ce qui concerne le saphir, les clients nous ont souvent demandé de leur trouver un saphir de Ceylan 20 carats non chauffé pour leur création de bijoux personnalisés. Pour mettre cela en perspective, le fait que l'épouse du prince William, la duchesse de Cambridge, porte un saphir de Ceylan de seulement 12 carats dans sa bague de fiançailles royale, augmente les chances des personnes non nobles d'obtenir un bien plus grand saphir mince à aucun. La disponibilité des gemmes naturelles diminue de jour en jour.

Il y a plusieurs autres facteurs à considérer lors de l'achat de pierres précieuses pour les bijoux, y compris la qualité de la coupe, la couleur et clarté des pierres précieuses elles-mêmes. Cependant, nous espérons que cet article vous aidera au moins à vous orienter dans la bonne direction et à vous faire réfléchir à certains points importants avant de commencer à magasiner pour votre prochain projet de bijoux. Lorsqu'il est temps de choisir les bonnes pierres précieuses pour répondre à vos besoins, nous espérons que cet article pourra vous être utile.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

32253

Enlarged Image

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: The Right Gem for Your Jewelry

Guide to Choosing the Right Gemstones for Your Jewelry

Choosing White Gemstones for Jewelry
Buying Gems and Jewelry

When buying gemstones for jewelry, it isn't always about getting the right color of stone per se, though color certainly is one of the most important deciding factors. Since the gemstones and jewelry you are going to choose to buy and wear are going to reflect your personality and fashion style, here are some points to consider that will help guide you in choosing the right gemstones for your custom jewelry.

Durability and Wearability

Most people misinterpret the meaning of durability when it comes to gemstones for jewelry. Often, durability and wearability are gauged solely by level of hardness. Although hardness can be indicative and often coincides with gem durability and wearability, this is not always the case. Gemstone hardness only measures resistance to scratches - and not resistance to fracturing, crumbling, parting, crazing (drying) or even denting. Some hard gemstones are actually quite fragile, due to perfect cleavage, and can be easily split by a single blow. Such gems include diamond and topaz. Yet, some gem types that are actually softer according to the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, are considered quite durable, like nephrite and jadeite. The overall toughness, durability and wearability of gemstones for jewelry is measured by several factors, including hardness, cleavage, fracture, tenacity and sensitivity.

Emerald Rings with Diamond Accents
Emerald Rings with Diamond Accents

Affordability

For those without a budget, natural and untreated gemstones are the best choice. The term "natural" applies to gems that can be found in an untreated, unenhanced state. However, since most people are working with a budget and usually do not hold any strong objections to the concept of enhanced gems, choosing treated or enhanced gemstones can cut costs without sacrificing the look of the finished design. So, if you do not have a strong opinion against treated gemstones, these offer a much larger selection. This is partly because many of the most popular jewelry gemstones available today simply cannot be found untreated, including blue zircon and London blue topaz, both of which obtain their color through routine treatments.

Versatility

It is important to ask yourself, how your gemstone jewelry will be worn - occasionally, frequently, or daily. White diamonds, which are most commonly worn in engagement and bridal jewelry can be worn in just about every scenario and matched with every type of fashion trend. Though many types of colored stones may not be as versatile as white diamonds, colored gemstone jewelry can be custom-designed to accommodate versatility. When shopping for the right gemstone for your jewelry, versatility may be important if you plan to wear your jewelry often. Choose versatile gemstones if you plan to invest in jewelry that you want to wear often. Selecting several different colored gemstone jewelry styles will ensure that color of your stone will always suit your attire. Some examples of extremely versatile gems include varieties of sapphire, tourmaline, garnet and spinel, as well as pastel colored stones like aquamarine and kunzite.

Availability

Some colored stones are simply so rare, that no matter how hard you look, you may not be able to find the size or shape you need. Availability may also affect the way you purchase the gemstone for your jewelry. Common gem types such as amethyst and citrine can usually be found even in small 'mom and pop' jewelry stores, while other lesser-known gems will likely need to be sourced from overseas online suppliers.

Gold Ring set with Blue Ceylon Sapphire and Diamond
Blue Ceylon Sapphire with Diamond Accents

Many types of gemstones may be limited to certain sizes or weights. In most cases, certain gem types will only be available in small sizes, but there are a handful of gems known to be available only in large sizes as well, such as ametrine. This type of bicolor quartz is rarely found in gems weighing less than 5 carats, since cutting it down any smaller could reduce or even eliminate its attractive colors. Other gems such as alexandrite and demantoid garnet are extremely rare in large sizes. The availability of such gems makes it very hard to source large center stones for jewelry, but for smaller accent stones, alexandrite and demantoid garnet are absolutely ideal.

When it comes to large green centerstones, there are more varied options, which include chrysoberyl, emerald, tourmaline and sapphire. With regard to sapphire, we have often been asked by clients to find them an unheated 20 carat Ceylon sapphire for their custom jewelry design. To put this into perspective, the fact that the Prince William's wife, the Duchess of Cambridge, wears a Ceylon sapphire of only 12 carats in her royal engagement ring, makes the chances of non-noble folks obtaining a substantially larger sapphire slim to none. The availability of natural gems is decreasing by the day.

There are several other factors to consider when buying gems for jewelry, including the quality of cut, color and clarity of the gemstones themselves. However, we hope this article will at least help steer you in the right direction and get you to consider to some important points before you start shopping for your next jewelry project. When it is time to choose the right gemstones to meet your needs, we hope this article can be of help.

  • First Published: January-29-2015
  • Last Updated: August-30-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart