search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses de grenat démantoïde

Une pierre précieuse de grenat démantoïde de GemSelect - Grande image
Acheter du grenat démantoïde

À propos du grenat démantoïde - Histoire et introduction

Grenat démantoïde est une variété verte brillante de grenat andradite , coloré par le chrome et le fer ferrique. Il est considéré comme le membre le plus rare et le plus précieux de la groupe grenat de minéraux . Le démantoïde a un indice de réfraction exceptionnellement élevé, ce qui en fait non seulement le plus grenat brillant mais aussi plus brillant que le rubis et le saphir. Le grenat démantoïde a également un feu exceptionnel et possède le taux de dispersion le plus élevé de toutes les pierres précieuses de joaillerie disponibles aujourd'hui, dépassant même celui du diamant fin. Comme la plupart des grenats verts, le démantoïde ne se trouve généralement que dans de petites tailles. Les spécimens de plus d'un carat sont rares et les spécimens de plus de 2 carats sont très rares. En fait, le grenat démantoïde est traditionnellement considéré comme l'une des pierres précieuses colorées les plus rares aujourd'hui.

Le grenat démantoïde a été découvert pour la première fois dans les montagnes de l'Oural en Russie, et bien que les grenats soient connus depuis des siècles, le démantoïde n'a été découvert qu'en 1853. Aujourd'hui, le démantoïde russe est considéré comme extrêmement rare et très précieux. Le démantoïde russe est très prisé pour ses inclusions distinctives de « prêle » dorées, dues à la présence d'amiante byssolite ou chrysotile ; mais tous les démantoïdes russes ne présentent pas d'inclusions filiformes dorées. D'autres origines peuvent également produire des inclusions similaires mais plutôt que d'être causées par des traces d'amiante, elles sont considérées comme des caractéristiques des origines géographiques de la serpentinite.

Identifier le grenat démantoïde

Retour au sommet

Le démantoïde appartient à la variété andradite de grenat et peut être identifié par sa teneur en silicate de fer et de calcium. Il a une densité (densité) allant de 3,7 à 4,1 et un indice de réfraction extrêmement élevé de 1,88 à 1,94 (plus élevé que le saphir et le rubis). Le démantoïde est le plus brillant de tous les grenats, seul le diamant et certains zircons étant plus brillants que le démantoïde. Le grenat démantoïde a une dispersion qui dépasse le diamant et un lustre adamantin (comme un diamant). Le démantoïde est coloré par le chrome et le fer ferrique. Il se produit rarement dans de grandes tailles, ce qui peut aider à l'identifier d'autres gemmes similaires telles que le péridot, la grossularite, le spinelle, l'émeraude, la tourmaline ou le grenat uvarovite.

Origine du grenat démantoïde et sources de pierres précieuses

Retour au sommet

Le grenat démantoïde a été découvert pour la première fois dans les montagnes de l'Oural en Russie en 1853; les gisements russes sont restés la seule source jusqu'à ce qu'une découverte majeure soit découverte en Namibie (la mine Green Dragon) en 1996. En 2003, un autre gisement important a été découvert à Madagascar. Plus récemment, des découvertes ont été signalées en Afghanistan, en Italie, en Iran, en Chine, en Corée, au Zaïre et aux États-Unis.

Acheter du grenat démantoïde et déterminer la valeur des pierres précieuses du grenat démantoïde

Retour au sommet

Couleur grenat démantoïde

Le grenat démantoïde par définition est toujours vert, sa couleur caractéristique est causée par des traces de chrome. Les couleurs jaunâtres sont dues au fer ferrique. Les couleurs vont d'un vert jaunâtre clair (semblable au péridot) à un vert foncé, presque la couleur de l'émeraude fine. Les spécimens avec un vert plus intense sont plus appréciés, mais les pierres plus claires affichent nettement plus de feu.

Clarté et lustre du grenat démantoïde

Le grenat démantoïde est connu pour sa grande transparence et son lustre adamantin (comme un diamant). Les inclusions sont courantes pour le grenat démantoïde, en particulier dans les pierres pesant plus de 1 carat. Des pierres propres de moins de 1 carat peuvent être trouvées, mais la plupart auront des inclusions visibles. Avec le démantoïde russe, les inclusions de prêle sont accueillies comme une caractéristique souhaitable.

Coupe et forme de grenat démantoïde

Le grenat démantoïde est généralement facetté plutôt que taillé en cabochon. La forme la plus courante est ovale car elle préserve le poids en carats brut le plus original, ce qui est particulièrement important car la plupart des pierres sont assez petites. D'autres formes populaires incluent les coupes rondes, poire, coussin et fantaisie. Pierres taillées en diamant sont très populaires en raison de leur capacité à maximiser la brillance et le feu remarquables du démantoïde.

Traitement Démantoïde Grenat

Comme la plupart des variétés de grenat, le grenat démantoïde n'est pas connu pour être traité ou amélioré artificiellement de quelque manière que ce soit. En 2003, des rumeurs ont circulé selon lesquelles certains matériaux russes auraient pu être améliorés par un faible chauffage, mais les tests de gemmologie n'ont pas permis de détecter le traitement.

Propriétés gemmologiques du grenat démantoïde :

Retour au sommet
Grenat démantoïde
Magasinez le grenat démantoïde
Cliquez pour agrandir l'image
Formule chimique: Ca3Fe2(SiO4) Silicate de calcium et de chrome
Structure en cristal: Cubique - dodécaèdre rhombique, icositétraèdre
Couleur: Jaune-vert, vert à vert émeraude
Dureté: 6,5 à 7,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1.888 à 1.94
Densité: 3,70 à 4,10
Clivage: Indistinct
Transparence: Transparent à opaque
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : Normalement aucun
Lustre: Vitreux, en forme de diamant, adamantin
Fluorescence: Surtout aucun

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Grenat démantoïde : Variétés ou pierres précieuses similaires :

Retour au sommet
Hessonite naturelle
Grenat Hessonite

Le groupe de grenat de pierres précieuses est l'un des plus importants dans le commerce des pierres précieuses. Le grenat est mieux connu sous sa forme rouge classique, mais le grenat peut se présenter dans diverses autres couleurs, notamment le vert, le bleu, le marron, le rose et le violet. Étant donné que des gisements de grenat se sont formés dans des endroits dispersés à travers le monde, il existe un certain nombre d'autres pierres précieuses qui peuvent être facilement confondues avec du grenat. Certaines des gemmes les plus souvent confondues incluent chrysobéryl , alexandrite , tourmaline , spinelle et saphir .

Bien qu'il n'y ait que six espèces minérales de grenat, il existe plusieurs formes distinctes de pierres précieuses. En effet, le grenat se forme très couramment avec plus d'une espèce minérale. En fait, le grenat est très rarement à l'état pur.

Associations de gemmes et de minéraux connexes les plus populaires :

Grenat étoilé , grenat pyrope, grenat almandin , grenat rhodolite , grenat spessartite, grenat grossularite , grenat tsavorite et grenat de malaya (malaia) sont parmi les variétés de grenat les plus populaires.

Associations de pierres précieuses et de minéraux moins connues :

Grenat hydrogrossulaire, grenat à changement de couleur, grenat andradite, grenat mélanite , grenat topazolite, grenat uvarovite, Grenat du Mali , grenat hessonite , le grenat leuco et le grenat umbalite font partie des variétés de grenat les moins connues.

Mythologie des pierres précieuses de grenat démantoïde, guérison métaphysique et alternative

Retour au sommet

Le nom "grenat" vient du mot latin "granatus", qui signifie "semblable à une graine" - en référence aux graines de grenade. Bien que la distinction des variétés de grenat soit relativement nouvelle, les pierres de grenat en général sont largement connues depuis des milliers d'années. Les Grecs croyaient que le grenat protégeait leurs enfants de la noyade et on pensait que c'était un puissant antidote au poison. Le Coran note le grenat comme une pierre qui illumine le quatrième ciel. Les écritures hébraïques et chrétiennes incluaient le grenat comme l'une des douze pierres incrustées sur le plastron d'Aaron, et il a également été rapporté que Noé utilisait une lanterne fabriquée à partir de grenat pour diriger son arche en toute sécurité dans l'obscurité de la nuit.

Le grenat est une pierre de voyage. De nombreux découvreurs et aventuriers courageux étaient connus pour porter des pierres de grenat pour se protéger. Les grenats étaient considérés comme de puissants talismans, capables d'éclairer la nuit et de dissiper les mauvais esprits. Le grenat était souvent utilisé pour soulager la dépression et débarrasser les gens de leurs mauvais rêves. Physiquement, on pense que le grenat démantoïde aide à soulager les symptômes de l'arthrite, des varices, des maux de dos, des troubles du foie et à prévenir les hémorragies. Le grenat est la pierre du Verseau et la pierre de naissance officielle du mois de janvier. De plus, c'est la pierre du 2e anniversaire de mariage. Le grenat est également considéré comme la pierre planétaire de Mars, Mercure et Pluton.

Avis de non-responsabilité : les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont recueillies auprès de diverses ressources et ne constituent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne remplacent pas les conseils de votre médecin. Si vous avez des problèmes de santé, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologiques et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.

Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux en grenat démantoïde

Retour au sommet

Le grenat démantoïde est utilisé dans tous les types de bijoux et convient à toute conception en termes de dureté et de durabilité. Il a une excellente dureté, brillance et feu, ce qui le rend idéal pour une utilisation dans des conceptions de bagues exquises. Vous pouvez également trouver du grenat démantoïde utilisé dans les colliers, bracelets, broches, épingles et pendentifs. Le démantoïde est généralement très cher et extrêmement rare, ce n'est donc pas un grenat que l'on trouvera probablement sur les étagères de votre bijouterie locale.

Les bagues d'anniversaire et d'éternité utilisent souvent des pierres précieuses démantoïdes puisque le grenat est la pierre précieuse d'anniversaire de mariage de 2e année. Le démantoïde peut également être trouvé dans de nombreux modèles de bijoux traditionnels en pierre de naissance. Le grenat démantoïde est également une excellente alternative à l'émeraude verte chère. Étant donné que le démantoïde n'est généralement pas traité, il est couramment porté dans les bijoux planétaires et astrologiques.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que le diamant en poids en comparaison.

Entretien et nettoyage des pierres précieuses et des bijoux de grenat démantoïde

Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses Le grenat démantoïde peut être nettoyé avec de l'eau tiède et un savon ou un détergent doux. Vous pouvez essuyer vos pierres avec un chiffon doux ou une brosse. Après avoir essuyé, assurez-vous de bien rincer vos pierres précieuses et vos bijoux pour vous assurer que tous les résidus de savon sont éliminés. Évitez la chaleur extrême, car des fluctuations de température extrêmes peuvent provoquer une fracturation. Les nettoyeurs à ultrasons ne sont pas considérés comme sûrs pour le grenat démantoïde. Les appareils à vapeur doivent également être évités, ainsi que tous les produits chimiques et nettoyants ménagers agressifs, y compris l'eau de Javel ou l'acide fluorhydrique, car les produits chimiques peuvent provoquer de la corrosion.

Bien que le grenat démantoïde soit assez durable, il est toujours recommandé d'enlever tout bijou avant de s'engager dans des activités physiques vigoureuses, telles que l'exercice ou le sport. Lorsque vous retirez des bijoux, ne tirez pas sur la pierre car cela peut affaiblir les griffes et finir par faire perdre la pierre. Lorsque vous stockez des pierres précieuses de grenat démantoïde, enveloppez-les dans un chiffon doux ou placez-les dans une boîte à bijoux doublée de tissu.

  • Première publication: 07 Août 2021
  • Dernière mise à jour: 06 Octobre 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

10032

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (141)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Azurite
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat Chrysobéryl
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Onyx
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Tourmaline Chrome
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
  • Œil De Faucon
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Demantoid Garnet Info

Demantoid Garnet Gemstone Information

About Demantoid Garnet - History and Introduction

Demantoid garnet is a brilliant green variety of andradite garnet, colored by chromium and ferric iron. It is considered to be the rarest and most valuable member of the garnet group of minerals. Demantoid has an exceptionally high refractive index making it not only the most brilliant garnet but also more brilliant than both ruby and sapphire. Demantoid garnet also has exceptional fire and boasts the highest dispersion rating of any jewelry gemstone available today, even exceeding that of fine diamond. Like most green garnets, demantoid is typically found only in small sizes. Specimens over one carat are rare and specimens over 2 carats are very rare indeed. In fact, demantoid garnet is traditionally considered to be one of the rarest colored gemstones today.

Demantoid garnet was first discovered in the Ural Mountains of Russia, and although garnets have been known for ages, demantoid wasn't discovered until 1853. Today, Russian demantoid is considered extremely rare and very valuable. Russian demantoid is highly prized for its distinctive golden 'horsetail' inclusions, owed to the presence of byssolite or chrysotile asbestos; but not all Russian demantoid exhibits golden thread-like inclusions. Other origins, may also produce similar inclusions but rather than being caused by traces of asbestos, they are regarded as characteristics of serpentinite geographic origins.

Demantoid Garnet
Demantoid Garnet
Identifying Demantoid Garnet Back to Top

Demantoid belongs to the andradite variety of garnet and can be identified by its calcium iron silicate content. It has specific gravity (density) ranging from 3.7 to 4.1 and an extremely high refractive index of 1.88 to 1.94 (higher than sapphire and ruby). Demantoid is the most brilliant of all garnets, with only diamond and some zircon having greater brilliance than demantoid. Demantoid garnet has a dispersion that exceeds diamond and an adamantine (diamond-like) luster. Demantoid is colored by chromium and ferric iron. It rarely occurs in large sizes, which can help identify it from other similar gems such as peridot, grossularite, spinel, emerald, tourmaline or uvarovite garnet.

Demantoid Garnet Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Demantoid garnet was first discovered in the Ural mountains in Russia in 1853; the Russian deposits remained the only source until a major find was discovered in Namibia (the Green Dragon Mine) in 1996. In 2003, there was another significant deposit discovered in Madagascar. More recently, there have been reported findings in Afghanistan, Italy, Iran, China, Korea, Zaire and the USA.

Buying Demantoid Garnet and Determining Demantoid Garnet Gemstone Value Back to Top

Demantoid Garnet Color

Demantoid garnet by definition is always green, its characteristic color is caused by traces of chromium. The yellowish colors are owed to ferric iron. Colors range from a light yellowish-green (similar to peridot) to a deep green, almost the color of fine emerald. Specimens with a more intense green are more highly valued, but the lighter stones display substantially more fire.

Demantoid Garnet Clarity and Luster

Demantoid garnet is known for its high transparency and adamantine (diamond-like) luster. Inclusions are common for demantoid garnet, especially in stones weighing over 1 carat. Eye-clean stones of under 1 carat weight can be found but most will have some visible inclusions. With Russian demantoid, horsetail inclusions are welcomed as a desirable characteristic.

Demantoid Garnet Cut and Shape

Demantoid garnet is typically faceted rather than cut en cabochon. The most common shape is oval as it preserves the most original rough carat weight, which is especially important since most stones are quite small. Other popular shapes include round, pear, cushion and fancy cuts. Diamond-cut stones are quite popular due to their ability to maximize demantoid's remarkable brilliance and fire.

Demantoid Garnet Treatment

Like most garnet varieties, demantoid garnet is not known to be treated or artificially enhanced in any way. In 2003, rumors circulated that some Russian material may have been enhanced through low heating, but gemological tests were unable to detect the treatment.

Demantoid Garnet Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Ca3Fe2(SiO4) Calcium chromium silicate
Crystal Structure: Cubic - rhombic dodecahedron, icositetrahedron
Color: Yellow-green, green to emerald green
Hardness: 6.5 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.888 to 1.94
Density: 3.70 to 4.10
Cleavage: Indistinct
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: Normally none
Luster: Vitreous, diamond-like, adamantine
Fluorescence: Mostly none

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Demantoid Garnet: Varieties or Similar Gemstones: Back to Top
Natural Hessonite
Hessonite Garnet

The garnet group of gemstones is one of the most important in the gem trade. Garnet is best known in its classic red form, but garnet can occur in various other colors including green, blue, brown, pink and purple. Since garnet deposits have formed in locations scattered throughout the world, there are a number of other gemstones that can be easily mistaken for garnet. Some of the most commonly confused gems include chrysoberyl, alexandrite, tourmaline, spinel and sapphire.

Although there are only six mineral species of garnet, there are several distinct gemstone forms. This is because garnet very commonly forms with more than one mineral species. In fact, garnet is very rarely in pure form.

Most Popular Related Gem and Mineral Associations:

Star garnet, pyrope garnet, almandine garnet, rhodolite garnet, spessartite garnet, grossularite garnet, tsavorite garnet and malaya (malaia) garnet are among the most popular garnet varieties.

Lesser-Known Related Gem and Mineral Associations:

Hydrogrossular garnet, color change garnet, andradite garnet, melanite garnet, topazolite garnet, uvarovite Garnet, Mali garnet, hessonite garnet, leuco garnet and umbalite garnet are among the lesser known garnet varieties.

Demantoid Garnet Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

The name 'garnet' comes from the Latin word 'granatus', which means 'seed-like' - in reference to pomegranate fruit seeds. Although the distinction of the garnet varieties is relatively new, garnet stones in general have been widely known for thousands of years. The Greeks believed garnet protected their children from drowning and it was thought to be a potent antidote to poison. The Koran notes garnet as a stone that illuminates the fourth heaven. Hebrew and Christian scriptures included garnet as one of the twelve stones embedded on Aaron's breastplate, and it was also reported that Noah used a lantern fabricated from garnet to safely steer his ark through the darkness of night.

Garnet is a traveler's stone. Many courageous discoverers and adventurers were known for wearing garnet stones for protection. Garnets were considered to be powerful talismans, capable of illuminating the night and dispelling evil spirits. Garnet was often used to lift depression and to rid people of bad dreams. Physically, demantoid garnet is thought to help alleviate symptoms of arthritis, varicose veins, backache, liver disorders and prevent hemorrhages. Garnet is the stone for Aquarius and the official birthstone for January. In addition, it is the 2nd marriage anniversary stone. Garnet is also considered the planetary stone for Mars, Mercury and Pluto.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and is not the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Demantoid Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Demantoid garnet is used in all types of jewelry and suitable for any design with regard to hardness and durability. It has excellent hardness, brilliance and fire which makes it ideal for use in exquisite ring designs. You may also find demantoid garnet used in necklaces, bracelets, brooches, pins and pendants. Demantoid is typically very expensive and extremely rare, so it is not a garnet that will likely be found on the shelf at your local retail jewelry store.

Anniversary and eternity bands often utilize demantoid gemstones since garnet is the 2nd year wedding anniversary gemstone. Demantoid may also be found in many traditional birthstone jewelry designs. Demantoid garnet is also an excellent alternative for expensive green emerald. Since demantoid is typically untreated, it is commonly worn in planetary and astrological jewelry.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamond by weight in comparison.

Demantoid Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesDemantoid garnet can be cleaned using warm water and a mild soap or detergent . You can wipe down your stones with a plain soft cloth or brush. After wiping, be sure to rinse your gems and jewelry well to ensure all soapy residue is removed. Avoid extreme heat, as extreme temperature fluctuations can cause fracturing. Ultrasonic cleaners are not considered safe for demantoid garnet. Steamers should also be avoided, as well as any harsh household chemicals and cleaners, including bleach or hydrofluoric acid, as chemicals can cause corrosion.

Although demantoid garnet is quite durable, it is still recommended that any jewelry is removed before engaging in vigorous physical activities, such as exercise or sports. When removing jewelry, do not pull from the stone as this can weaken prongs, eventually leading to a lost stone. When storing demantoid garnet gemstones, wrap them in a soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: November-29-2013
  • Last Updated: May-11-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart