search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

翠榴石石榴石信息

来自 GemSelect 的翠榴石石榴石宝石 - 大图
购买翠榴石

关于翠榴石 - 历史和介绍

翠榴石是一个灿烂的绿色品种红石榴石,由铬和三价铁着色。它被认为是最稀有和最有价值的成员石榴石矿物群. Demantoid 具有极高的折射率,使其不仅是最明亮的石榴石但也比红宝石和蓝宝石更璀璨。翠榴石还具有非凡的火彩,拥有当今所有珠宝宝石中最高的色散等级,甚至超过了精细钻石。像大多数绿色石榴石一样,翠榴石通常只有小尺寸的。超过 1 克拉的标本很少见,而超过 2 克拉的标本确实非常罕见。事实上,翠榴石传统上被认为是当今最稀有的有色宝石之一。

翠榴石最早发现于俄罗斯的乌拉尔山脉,虽然石榴石早已为人所知,但直到 1853 年才发现翠榴石。如今,俄罗斯翠榴石被认为极为稀有且价值不菲。俄罗斯翠榴石因其独特的金色“马尾”内含物而备受推崇,这是由于石棉或温石棉的存在;但并非所有俄罗斯翠榴石都表现出金线状内含物。其他产地,也可能产生类似的内含物,但不是由石棉痕迹引起,而是被视为蛇纹岩地理产地的特征。

鉴别翠榴石

回到顶部

翠榴石属于黑曜石品种石榴石,可以通过其硅酸钙铁含量来识别。它的比重(密度)介于 3.7 至 4.1 之间,并且具有 1.88 至 1.94 的极高折射率(高于蓝宝石和红宝石)。翠榴石是所有石榴石中最明亮的,只有钻石和一些锆石比翠榴石更亮。翠榴石的色散度超过钻石和金刚(类钻石)光泽。翠榴石被铬和三价铁着色。它很少以大尺寸出现,这有助于将其与其他类似的宝石(如橄榄石、长石、尖晶石、祖母绿、电气石或 uvarovite 石榴石)进行鉴别。

翠榴石石榴石产地和宝石来源

回到顶部

1853 年在俄罗斯乌拉尔山脉首次发现了翠榴石;在 1996 年在纳米比亚发现重大发现(绿龙矿)之前,俄罗斯矿床一直是唯一的来源。2003 年,在马达加斯加发现了另一个重要矿床。最近,在阿富汗、意大利、伊朗、中国、韩国、扎伊尔和美国都有报道。

购买翠榴石和确定翠榴石宝石价值

回到顶部

翠榴石色

根据定义,翠榴石始终是绿色的,其特征颜色是由微量铬引起的。黄色是由于三价铁。颜色范围从浅黄绿色(类似于橄榄石)到深绿色,几乎是优质祖母绿的颜色。具有更强烈绿色的标本价值更高,但较轻的宝石显示出更多的火彩。

翠榴石的净度和光泽

翠榴石以其高透明度和金刚(钻石般)光泽而闻名。内含物在翠榴石中很常见,尤其是重量超过 1 克拉的宝石。可以找到重量低于 1 克拉的肉眼无暇的宝石,但大多数都会有一些可见的内含物。对于俄罗斯翠榴石,马尾夹杂物作为一种理想的特征受到欢迎。

翠榴石切割和形状

翠榴石石榴石通常是刻面的,而不是切割成凸圆形的。最常见的形状是椭圆形,因为它保留了最原始的原石克拉重量,这一点尤其重要,因为大多数宝石都非常小。其他流行的形状包括圆形、梨形、垫形和花式剪裁。钻石切割宝石由于它们能够最大限度地发挥翠榴石非凡的光彩和火力,因此非常受欢迎。

翠榴石处理

像大多数石榴石品种一样,不知道以任何方式对翠榴石进行处理或人工增强。 2003 年,有传言称某些俄罗斯材料可能通过低加热进行了增强,但宝石学测试无法检测到这种处理。

翠榴石宝石学特性:

回到顶部
翠榴石
购买翠榴石
点击放大图片
化学式: Ca3Fe2(SiO4) 钙铬硅酸盐
晶体结构:立方-菱形十二面体、二十面体
颜色:黄绿色、绿色至翠绿色
硬度:莫氏硬度为 6.5 到 7.5
折射率: 1.888 到 1.94
密度: 3.70 到 4.10
解理:模糊
透明度:透明到不透明
双折射或双折射:通常没有
光泽:玻璃质、类金刚石、金刚砂
荧光:几乎没有

请参考我们的宝石术语有关宝石学相关术语的详细信息。

翠榴石:品种或类似宝石:

回到顶部
天然黑松石
石榴石

石榴石组宝石是宝石贸易中最重要的之一。石榴石以其经典的红色形式而闻名,但石榴石也可以呈现多种其他颜色,包括绿色、蓝色、棕色、粉红色和紫色。由于石榴石矿床分布在世界各地,因此还有许多其他宝石很容易被误认为是石榴石。一些最常混淆的宝石包括金绿玉,亚历山大变石,电气石,尖晶石蓝宝石.

虽然石榴石只有六种矿物,但有几种不同的宝石形式。这是因为石榴石通常由不止一种矿物种类形成。事实上,石榴石很少以纯的形式存在。

最受欢迎的相关宝石和矿物协会:

星光石榴石, 石榴石石榴石,铝榴石,红石榴石, 锰铝榴石,长石石榴石,沙弗莱石榴石马来亚 (malaia) 石榴石是最受欢迎的石榴石品种之一。

鲜为人知的相关宝石和矿物协会:

Hydrogrossular 石榴石,变色石榴石,andradite 石榴石,黑石榴石, 黄晶石石榴石, 紫晶石榴石,马里石榴石,黑松石石榴石、无色石榴石和菱形石榴石属于鲜为人知的石榴石品种。

翠榴石石榴石神话、形而上学和替代治疗

回到顶部

“石榴石”这个名字来自拉丁语“granatus”,意思是“种子状”——指的是石榴果实种子。虽然石榴石品种的区别相对较新,但一般来说,石榴石已经广为人知了数千年。希腊人相信石榴石可以保护他们的孩子免于溺水,并且被认为是一种有效的解毒剂。 《古兰经》指出石榴石是照亮第四层天堂的石头。希伯来语和基督教经文将石榴石列为镶嵌在亚伦胸甲上的十二块石头之一,还有报道称,诺亚使用石榴石制成的灯笼安全地驾驶他的方舟穿过黑夜。

石榴石是旅人之石。许多勇敢的发现者和冒险家都以佩戴石榴石来保护自己而闻名。石榴石被认为是强大的护身符,能够照亮夜晚并驱散邪灵。石榴石经常被用来解除抑郁和消除恶梦。从生理上讲,翠榴石被认为有助于缓解关节炎、静脉曲张、背痛、肝脏疾病的症状并防止出血。石榴石是水瓶座的宝石,也是一月的官方诞生石。另外,是结婚2周年纪念石。石榴石也被认为是火星、水星和冥王星的行星石。

免责声明:形而上学和替代水晶治疗能力和属性不应被视为已确认的建议。传统、仪式和神话宝石知识收集自各种资源,并非 SETT Co., Ltd. 的唯一意见。这些信息不能代替您的医生的建议。如果您有任何健康状况,请去看有执照的医生。 GemSelect 不保证任何治愈或占星术诞生石力量的声明或声明,并且在任何情况下都不承担任何责任。

翠榴石石榴石和珠宝设计理念

回到顶部

翠榴石用于所有类型的珠宝,适用于硬度和耐用性方面的任何设计。它具有出色的硬度、亮度和火彩,非常适合用于精美的戒指设计。您还可以找到用于项链、手镯、胸针、别针和吊坠的翠榴石。翠榴石通常非常昂贵且极为稀有,因此它不是可能在您当地零售珠宝店的货架上找到的石榴石。

周年纪念戒指和永恒戒指经常使用翠榴石宝石,因为石榴石是结婚 2 周年纪念宝石。在许多传统的诞生石珠宝设计中也可以找到翠榴石。翠榴石也是昂贵绿色祖母绿的绝佳替代品。由于翠榴石通常未经处理,因此通常佩戴在行星和占星术珠宝中。

注意:按尺寸而非克拉重量购买有色宝石。不同颜色的宝石尺寸重量比.相比之下,有些宝石比钻石大,有些比钻石小。

翠榴石石榴石和珠宝的保养和清洁

回到顶部

如何清洁您的宝石翠榴石石榴石可以用温水和温和的肥皂或清洁剂清洗。您可以用普通的软布或刷子擦拭石头。擦拭后,请务必彻底冲洗您的宝石和珠宝,以确保去除所有肥皂残留物。避免过热,因为极端的温度波动会导致破裂。对于翠榴石,超声波清洁剂被认为是不安全的。还应避免使用蒸汽机以及任何刺激性家用化学品和清洁剂,包括漂白剂或氢氟酸,因为化学品会导致腐蚀。

尽管翠榴石非常耐用,但仍建议在进行剧烈的体育活动(例如锻炼或运动)之前取下任何珠宝。取下珠宝时,请勿从宝石上拔出,因为这会削弱镶爪,最终导致宝石丢失。储存翠榴石石榴石宝石时,用软布包裹它们或将它们放在衬有织物的首饰盒中。

  • 首次发布于: 八月-07-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 七月-07-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

10031

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (136)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Demantoid Garnet Info

Demantoid Garnet Gemstone Information

About Demantoid Garnet - History and Introduction

Demantoid garnet is a brilliant green variety of andradite garnet, colored by chromium and ferric iron. It is considered to be the rarest and most valuable member of the garnet group of minerals. Demantoid has an exceptionally high refractive index making it not only the most brilliant garnet but also more brilliant than both ruby and sapphire. Demantoid garnet also has exceptional fire and boasts the highest dispersion rating of any jewelry gemstone available today, even exceeding that of fine diamond. Like most green garnets, demantoid is typically found only in small sizes. Specimens over one carat are rare and specimens over 2 carats are very rare indeed. In fact, demantoid garnet is traditionally considered to be one of the rarest colored gemstones today.

Demantoid garnet was first discovered in the Ural Mountains of Russia, and although garnets have been known for ages, demantoid wasn't discovered until 1853. Today, Russian demantoid is considered extremely rare and very valuable. Russian demantoid is highly prized for its distinctive golden 'horsetail' inclusions, owed to the presence of byssolite or chrysotile asbestos; but not all Russian demantoid exhibits golden thread-like inclusions. Other origins, may also produce similar inclusions but rather than being caused by traces of asbestos, they are regarded as characteristics of serpentinite geographic origins.

Demantoid Garnet
Demantoid Garnet
Identifying Demantoid Garnet Back to Top

Demantoid belongs to the andradite variety of garnet and can be identified by its calcium iron silicate content. It has specific gravity (density) ranging from 3.7 to 4.1 and an extremely high refractive index of 1.88 to 1.94 (higher than sapphire and ruby). Demantoid is the most brilliant of all garnets, with only diamond and some zircon having greater brilliance than demantoid. Demantoid garnet has a dispersion that exceeds diamond and an adamantine (diamond-like) luster. Demantoid is colored by chromium and ferric iron. It rarely occurs in large sizes, which can help identify it from other similar gems such as peridot, grossularite, spinel, emerald, tourmaline or uvarovite garnet.

Demantoid Garnet Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Demantoid garnet was first discovered in the Ural mountains in Russia in 1853; the Russian deposits remained the only source until a major find was discovered in Namibia (the Green Dragon Mine) in 1996. In 2003, there was another significant deposit discovered in Madagascar. More recently, there have been reported findings in Afghanistan, Italy, Iran, China, Korea, Zaire and the USA.

Buying Demantoid Garnet and Determining Demantoid Garnet Gemstone Value Back to Top

Demantoid Garnet Color

Demantoid garnet by definition is always green, its characteristic color is caused by traces of chromium. The yellowish colors are owed to ferric iron. Colors range from a light yellowish-green (similar to peridot) to a deep green, almost the color of fine emerald. Specimens with a more intense green are more highly valued, but the lighter stones display substantially more fire.

Demantoid Garnet Clarity and Luster

Demantoid garnet is known for its high transparency and adamantine (diamond-like) luster. Inclusions are common for demantoid garnet, especially in stones weighing over 1 carat. Eye-clean stones of under 1 carat weight can be found but most will have some visible inclusions. With Russian demantoid, horsetail inclusions are welcomed as a desirable characteristic.

Demantoid Garnet Cut and Shape

Demantoid garnet is typically faceted rather than cut en cabochon. The most common shape is oval as it preserves the most original rough carat weight, which is especially important since most stones are quite small. Other popular shapes include round, pear, cushion and fancy cuts. Diamond-cut stones are quite popular due to their ability to maximize demantoid's remarkable brilliance and fire.

Demantoid Garnet Treatment

Like most garnet varieties, demantoid garnet is not known to be treated or artificially enhanced in any way. In 2003, rumors circulated that some Russian material may have been enhanced through low heating, but gemological tests were unable to detect the treatment.

Demantoid Garnet Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Ca3Fe2(SiO4) Calcium chromium silicate
Crystal Structure: Cubic - rhombic dodecahedron, icositetrahedron
Color: Yellow-green, green to emerald green
Hardness: 6.5 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.888 to 1.94
Density: 3.70 to 4.10
Cleavage: Indistinct
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: Normally none
Luster: Vitreous, diamond-like, adamantine
Fluorescence: Mostly none

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Demantoid Garnet: Varieties or Similar Gemstones: Back to Top
Natural Hessonite
Hessonite Garnet

The garnet group of gemstones is one of the most important in the gem trade. Garnet is best known in its classic red form, but garnet can occur in various other colors including green, blue, brown, pink and purple. Since garnet deposits have formed in locations scattered throughout the world, there are a number of other gemstones that can be easily mistaken for garnet. Some of the most commonly confused gems include chrysoberyl, alexandrite, tourmaline, spinel and sapphire.

Although there are only six mineral species of garnet, there are several distinct gemstone forms. This is because garnet very commonly forms with more than one mineral species. In fact, garnet is very rarely in pure form.

Most Popular Related Gem and Mineral Associations:

Star garnet, pyrope garnet, almandine garnet, rhodolite garnet, spessartite garnet, grossularite garnet, tsavorite garnet and malaya (malaia) garnet are among the most popular garnet varieties.

Lesser-Known Related Gem and Mineral Associations:

Hydrogrossular garnet, color change garnet, andradite garnet, melanite garnet, topazolite garnet, uvarovite Garnet, Mali garnet, hessonite garnet, leuco garnet and umbalite garnet are among the lesser known garnet varieties.

Demantoid Garnet Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

The name 'garnet' comes from the Latin word 'granatus', which means 'seed-like' - in reference to pomegranate fruit seeds. Although the distinction of the garnet varieties is relatively new, garnet stones in general have been widely known for thousands of years. The Greeks believed garnet protected their children from drowning and it was thought to be a potent antidote to poison. The Koran notes garnet as a stone that illuminates the fourth heaven. Hebrew and Christian scriptures included garnet as one of the twelve stones embedded on Aaron's breastplate, and it was also reported that Noah used a lantern fabricated from garnet to safely steer his ark through the darkness of night.

Garnet is a traveler's stone. Many courageous discoverers and adventurers were known for wearing garnet stones for protection. Garnets were considered to be powerful talismans, capable of illuminating the night and dispelling evil spirits. Garnet was often used to lift depression and to rid people of bad dreams. Physically, demantoid garnet is thought to help alleviate symptoms of arthritis, varicose veins, backache, liver disorders and prevent hemorrhages. Garnet is the stone for Aquarius and the official birthstone for January. In addition, it is the 2nd marriage anniversary stone. Garnet is also considered the planetary stone for Mars, Mercury and Pluto.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and is not the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Demantoid Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Demantoid garnet is used in all types of jewelry and suitable for any design with regard to hardness and durability. It has excellent hardness, brilliance and fire which makes it ideal for use in exquisite ring designs. You may also find demantoid garnet used in necklaces, bracelets, brooches, pins and pendants. Demantoid is typically very expensive and extremely rare, so it is not a garnet that will likely be found on the shelf at your local retail jewelry store.

Anniversary and eternity bands often utilize demantoid gemstones since garnet is the 2nd year wedding anniversary gemstone. Demantoid may also be found in many traditional birthstone jewelry designs. Demantoid garnet is also an excellent alternative for expensive green emerald. Since demantoid is typically untreated, it is commonly worn in planetary and astrological jewelry.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamond by weight in comparison.

Demantoid Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesDemantoid garnet can be cleaned using warm water and a mild soap or detergent . You can wipe down your stones with a plain soft cloth or brush. After wiping, be sure to rinse your gems and jewelry well to ensure all soapy residue is removed. Avoid extreme heat, as extreme temperature fluctuations can cause fracturing. Ultrasonic cleaners are not considered safe for demantoid garnet. Steamers should also be avoided, as well as any harsh household chemicals and cleaners, including bleach or hydrofluoric acid, as chemicals can cause corrosion.

Although demantoid garnet is quite durable, it is still recommended that any jewelry is removed before engaging in vigorous physical activities, such as exercise or sports. When removing jewelry, do not pull from the stone as this can weaken prongs, eventually leading to a lost stone. When storing demantoid garnet gemstones, wrap them in a soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: November-29-2013
  • Last Updated: May-11-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart