search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses du grenat du Mali

Pierres précieuses de grenat du Mali de GemSelect - Grande image
Achetez du grenat du Mali naturel sur GemSelect

À propos du grenat du Mali - Histoire et introduction

Dans la grande et variée famille des pierres précieuses de grenat, il existe six principales espèces de grenat, spécifiées par leur composition chimique : Pyrope , almandin , spessartite , grossularite, uvarovite et andradite. Le grenat du Mali est l'une des rares et uniques variétés mixtes « hybrides » de grenat. Il n'a été découvert que récemment en 1994 au Mali, pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest, d'où son nom. Par définition, le grenat du Mali est un mélange de grenat grossulaire ; un silicate de calcium et d'aluminium et un grenat andradite ; un silicate de fer et de calcium. Beaucoup se réfèrent au Mali comme un mélange grossulaire-andradite, mais la concentration moyenne d'andradite n'est que d'environ 5%, ce qui classe le grenat du Mali comme étant principalement un type de grossularite.

La découverte de Grenat du Mali a suscité beaucoup d'intérêt pour le commerce des pierres précieuses car les espèces de grenat grossulaire et andradite sont parmi les plus rares et les plus précieuses variétés de grenat. En tant que variété de grossularite, l'indice de réfraction du grenat du Mali est plus proche de celui du grossulaire (1,77 dans la plupart des spécimens), mais il présente également un niveau de dispersion très impressionnant, rappelant les fines démantoïde (andradite verte) en raison de ses propriétés andradite. Le grossulaire peut être trouvé dans une variété de couleurs, y compris le jaune, le blanc, l'incolore, le vert et le rouge, mais le grenat du Mali est généralement limité aux nuances de jaunâtre à brun-vert.

Pierre précieuse de grenat du Mali

Identifier le grenat du Mali

Retour au sommet

Comme tous les grenats, le Mali a une structure cristalline cubique très distincte ; ses faces dodécaédriques rhombiques sont une caractéristique de toutes les pierres précieuses de grenat. D'autres aspects distinctifs incluent l'absence de clivage, la fluorescence et le pléochroïsme (puisque le grenat est réfractive simple ). La composition du grenat du Mali est un mélange de grenat grossulaire et environ 5 pour cent d'andradite. Sa couleur et son indice de réfraction sont plus proches de ceux du grossulaire, mais il présente un feu ou une dispersion de type démantoïde qui résulte de la présence d'andradite. La couleur du Mali est due aux traces de chrome, le même élément responsable du vert dans l'émeraude et du rouge dans le rubis. Comme tous les autres espèces de grenat , le grenat du Mali a une dureté et une durabilité excellentes, avec une note de 7 sur l'échelle de dureté de Mohs.

Grenat du Mali; Origine et sources de pierres précieuses

Retour au sommet

La plupart des grenats bruts du Mali sont extraits des gisements alluviaux du Mali, pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest. Le Mali reste la seule source connue de grenat du Mali à ce jour.

Acheter du grenat du Mali et déterminer la valeur des pierres précieuses du grenat du Mali

Retour au sommet

Couleur Grenat Mali

Le grenat du Mali varie en couleur du jaune vif ou jaune-vert, au presque miel vert ou brun. Les pierres vert menthe ou vert jaunâtre sont hautement souhaitables, tandis que les pierres brunâtres sont moins souhaitables. La couleur la plus précieuse est une couleur vert chrome rare. Les pierres de couleur plus claire ont tendance à avoir une brillance et une dispersion plus élevées. La couleur verte du Mali est due à des traces de chrome, tout comme sa pierre sœur, tsavorite verte rare .

Clarté et lustre du grenat du Mali

Le grenat du Mali se forme généralement avec une excellente transparence. Les pierres propres aux yeux sont courantes, bien que de nombreux matériaux puissent présenter des inclusions visibles, ce qui est courant pour de nombreux grenats rares. Lorsqu'il est poli, le grenat du Mali a un bel éclat vitreux (vitré).

Coupe et forme de grenat du Mali

Le grenat du Mali est connu pour présenter un feu et une dispersion remarquables, ainsi qu'une transparence, ce qui en fait une pierre parfaite pour le facettage. Seuls les matériaux de qualité inférieure sont coupés en cabochon. L'orientation de la coupe n'est pas préoccupante en raison de son manque de pléochroïsme. Essentiellement, toute coupe ou forme qui maximise le rendement, la couleur, la brillance et la dispersion est considérée comme idéale. Les formes les plus efficaces pour cela incluent les coussins, les ronds et les ovales, ainsi que les formes plus populaires comme les trillions, les marquises, les briolettes, les poires et les cœurs.

Traitement du grenat du Mali

Comme la plupart des grenats, le grenat du Mali n'est généralement jamais traité ou amélioré de quelque manière que ce soit.

Propriétés gemmologiques du grenat du Mali :

Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: Ca3Al2(SiO4)3 : Silicate de calcium-aluminium-fer (variable)
Structure en cristal: dodécaèdre rhombique (cubique)
Couleur: Vert, vert jaune, vert miel, jaune, orange, marron
Dureté: 7 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1.760 à 1.780
Densité: 3,49 - 3,85
Clivage: Indistinct
Transparence: Transparent à opaque
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : Normalement aucun
Lustre: Vitreux
Fluorescence: Normalement aucun

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Grenat du Mali : pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires

Retour au sommet
Andradite mélanite noire
Mélanite - Andradite

Le groupe de pierres précieuses grenat est l'un des plus importants de l'industrie des pierres précieuses. La famille des grenats comprend également le pyrope, l'almandine, la spessartite, la grossularite, l'uvarovite et l'andradite. Bien qu'il n'y ait que six types distincts de grenat, le grenat se forme généralement avec plus d'un seul minéral, ce qui donne de nombreuses variétés de pierres précieuses hybrides. En fait, très rarement un grenat est jamais sous forme pure; par exemple, les pierres vendues comme « pyrope » ou « almandine » contiennent presque toujours des traces d'une autre espèce de grenat. En ce qui concerne les gemmes les plus proches du grenat du Mali, la tsavorite et la hessonite sont des variétés populaires de grossulaire, et le démantoïde est un andradite rare et précieux. Il existe un certain nombre d'autres pierres précieuses et minéraux qui peuvent être facilement confondus avec des pierres de grenat, en particulier en raison de la grande variété de couleurs et de localités dans lesquelles le grenat peut se produire. Certains des matériaux les plus souvent confondus incluent le spinelle, le chrysobéryl, l'alexandrite, la tourmaline et le saphir.

Pierres précieuses associées les plus populaires :

Grenat tsavorite, grenat étoilé , grenat pyrope, grenat almandin, grenat rhodolite , le grenat grossulaire (grossularite), le grenat hessonite, le grenat spessartite et le grenat démantoïde sont parmi les variétés de grenat les plus populaires.

Pierres précieuses connexes moins connues :

Grenat hydrogrossulaire, grenat andradite, grenat mélanite, grenat leuco, grenat topazolite, grenat uvarovite, grenat malaya et grenat à changement de couleur font partie des variétés de grenat les moins connues.

Mythologie des pierres précieuses du grenat du Mali, pouvoirs métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux Retour au sommet

Le grenat est la pierre de naissance de janvier et est également associé au symbole zodiacal du Verseau. On dit que le grenat est une pierre qui encourage la romance, l'amour et la passion. On dit qu'il améliore la sensualité, l'intimité et la sexualité. Le grenat peut renforcer le niveau de créativité. On pense également qu'il stimule l'énergie positive et la confiance en soi. De plus, on pense que le grenat encourage le succès des entreprises. Il est également dit que dans l'histoire biblique, Noé a utilisé une lanterne de grenat rougeoyante pour aider à diriger son arche dans la nuit.

Les grenats étaient autrefois utilisés pour traiter et guérir les personnes atteintes de maladies infectieuses, d'empoisonnement du sang, de problèmes cardiaques et pulmonaires. Elle est considérée comme une pierre protectrice, protégeant les porteurs du mal ainsi que des cauchemars et des mauvais rêves. C'est une excellente pierre utilisée dans la guérison spirituelle. Bien que le grenat soit principalement associé au chakra racine, selon sa couleur, il peut également être utile pour ouvrir d'autres chakras.

Avis de non-responsabilité : les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont recueillies auprès de diverses ressources et ne représentent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne remplacent pas l'avis de votre médecin. Si vous avez des problèmes de santé, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologiques et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.

Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux en grenat du Mali

Retour au sommet

Le grenat du Mali peut être utilisé dans tous les types de bijoux. Outre ses couleurs attrayantes, le grenat du Mali possède de nombreuses autres qualités qui en font une pierre précieuse de joaillerie vraiment unique et précieuse. Comme tous les grenats, il a une très bonne dureté le rendant résistant à l'usure et adapté à tout type de bijoux. De plus, le grenat du Mali a une réfraction de la lumière remarquablement élevée, ce qui donne une brillance et un feu exceptionnels. Même dans de mauvaises conditions d'éclairage, le grenat du Mali peut présenter un éclat vif. Comme la plupart des grenats, le grenat du Mali est parfait pour les bagues, épingles, colliers, bracelets, broches et pendentifs à porter au quotidien. Cependant, comme le grenat du Mali est l'une des variétés de grenat les plus rares, on ne le trouve normalement pas dans les bijouteries locales. Le grenat du Mali est couramment porté dans les bijoux planétaires ou astrologiques. Les bandes d'anniversaire et d'éternité utilisent souvent du grenat du Mali, car le grenat est la pierre précieuse officielle du deuxième anniversaire de mariage. Le grenat du Mali peut également être trouvé dans de nombreux modèles de bijoux traditionnels en pierre de naissance.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que les diamants en poids en comparaison.

Entretien et nettoyage des bijoux en pierres précieuses de grenat du Mali

Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses Le grenat du Mali peut être nettoyé avec de l'eau tiède et un savon ou un détergent doux. Vous pouvez essuyer vos pierres avec un chiffon doux ou une brosse. Après avoir essuyé, assurez-vous de bien rincer vos pierres précieuses et vos bijoux pour vous assurer que tous les résidus de savon sont éliminés. Éviter les variations de chaleur et de température extrêmes car cela peut provoquer des fractures. Les nettoyeurs à ultrasons ne sont pas recommandés et les appareils à vapeur doivent être évités, ainsi que l'utilisation de produits chimiques et nettoyants ménagers agressifs, y compris l'eau de Javel ou l'acide fluorhydrique, car les produits chimiques peuvent provoquer de la corrosion.

Bien que le grenat du Mali soit assez durable, il est toujours préférable de toujours retirer tout bijou avant de s'engager dans des activités physiques vigoureuses, telles que l'exercice ou le sport. Lorsque vous retirez des bijoux, ne tirez pas sur la pierre car cela peut affaiblir les griffes et finir par faire perdre la pierre. Lorsque vous stockez des pierres précieuses et des bijoux de grenat du Mali, enveloppez-les dans un chiffon doux ou placez-les dans une boîte à bijoux doublée de tissu.

  • Première publication: 08 Août 2021
  • Dernière mise à jour: 05 Octobre 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

10211

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (141)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Azurite
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat Chrysobéryl
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Onyx
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Tourmaline Chrome
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
  • Œil De Faucon
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Mali Garnet Info

Mali Garnet Gemstone Information

About Mali Garnet - History and Introduction

In the large and varied family of garnet gemstones, there are six main garnet species, specified by their chemical composition: Pyrope, almandine, spessartite, grossularite, uvarovite and andradite. Mali garnet is one of the rare and unique mixed 'hybrid' varieties of garnet. It was only recently discovered in 1994 in the West African country of Mali, which is how it earned its name. By definition, Mali garnet is a mixture of grossular garnet; a calcium aluminum silicate and andradite garnet; a calcium iron silicate. Many refer to Mali as a grossular-andradite mixture, but the average concentration of andradite is only around 5%, which classifies Mali garnet as primarily a type of grossularite.

The discovery of Mali garnet drew a lot of interest in the gem trade because both grossular and andradite garnet species are among the rarest and most valuable garnet varieties. As a variety of grossularite, the refractive index of Mali garnet is closer to that of grossular (1.77 in most specimens), but it also exhibits a very impressive level of dispersion, reminiscent of fine demantoid (green andradite) due to its andradite properties. Grossular can be found in a variety of colors including yellow, white, colorless, green and red, but Mali garnet is typically limited to shades of yellowish to brownish-green.

Mali Garnet
Mali Garnet
Identifying Mali Garnet Back to Top

Like all garnet, Mali has a very distinct cubic crystal structure; its rhombic dodecahedral faces are a hallmark of all garnet gemstones. Other distinguishing aspects include lack of cleavage, fluorescence and pleochroism (since garnet is singly refractive). Mali garnet composition is a mixture of grossular garnet and roughly 5 percent andradite. Its color and refractive index is closer to that of grossular, but it exhibits a demantoid-like fire or dispersion which is a result of the presence of andradite. Mali's color is owed to traces of chromium, the same element responsible for the green in emerald and the red in ruby. Like all other garnet species, Mali garnet has excellent hardness and durability, rating at 7 on the Mohs scale of hardness.

Mali Garnet; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Most rough Mali garnet is mined from alluvial deposits from the West African country of Mali. Mali remains the only known source for Mali garnet to this day.

Buying Mali Garnet and Determining Mali Garnet Gemstone Value Back to Top

Mali Garnet Color

Mali garnet ranges in color from bright yellow or yellow-green, to almost honey green or brown. Mint green or yellowish-green stones are highly desirable, whereas brownish stones are least desirable. The most valuable color is a rare chrome green color. Lighter colored stones tend to have higher brilliance and dispersion. Mali's green color is owed to traces of chromium, much like its sister stone, rare green tsavorite.

Mali Garnet Clarity and Luster

Mali garnet typically forms with excellent transparency. Eye-clean stones are common, although many materials may exhibit some visible inclusions, which is common for many of the rare garnets. When polished, Mali garnet has an attractive glass-like (vitreous) luster.

Mali Garnet Cut and Shape

Mali garnet is known to exhibit remarkable fire and dispersion, as well as transparency, which makes it a perfect stone for faceting. Only lower grade materials are cut en cabochon. Orientation of cut is no concern owed to its lack of pleochroism. Essentially, any cut or shape which maximizes yield, color, brilliance and dispersion is considered ideal. The most effective shapes for this include cushions, rounds and ovals, as well as popular fancier shapes like trillions, marquise, briolettes, pears and hearts.

Mali Garnet Treatment

Like most garnets, Mali garnet is typically never treated or enhanced in any way.

Mali Garnet Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Ca3Al2(SiO4)3: Calcium aluminum-iron silicate (variable)
Crystal Structure: (Cubic) rhombic dodecahedron
Color: Green, yellow green, honey green, yellow, orange, brown
Hardness: 7 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.760 to 1.780
Density: 3.49 - 3.85
Cleavage: Indistinct
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: Normally none
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Normally none

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Mali Garnet: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Black melanite andradite
Melanite - Andradite

The garnet group of gemstones is one of the most important in the gemstone industry. The garnet family also includes pyrope, almandine, spessartite, grossularite, uvarovite and andradite. Although there are only six distinct types of garnet, garnet commonly forms with more than just one mineral, which results in numerous hybrid gemstone varieties. In fact, very rarely is any garnet ever in pure form; for example, stones sold as 'pyrope' or 'almandine' almost always contain some traces of another garnet species. In terms of Mali garnet's closest related gems, tsavorite and hessonite are popular varieties of grossular, and demantoid is a rare and valuable andradite. There are a number of other gemstones and minerals which can be easily mistaken for garnet stones, especially due to the wide variety of colors and localities in which garnet can occur. Some of the most commonly confused materials include spinel, chrysoberyl, alexandrite, tourmaline and sapphire.

Most Popular Related Gemstones:

Tsavorite garnet, star garnet, pyrope garnet, almandine garnet, rhodolite garnet, grossular (grossularite) garnet, hessonite garnet, spessartite garnet and demantoid garnet are among the most popular garnet varieties.

Lesser-Known Related Gemstones:

Hydrogrossular garnet, andradite garnet, melanite garnet, leuco garnet, topazolite garnet, uvarovite garnet, malaya garnet and color change garnet are among the lesser-known garnet varieties.

Mali Garnet Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Garnet is January's birthstone and is also associated with the zodiacal symbol of Aquarius. Garnet is said to be a stone that encourage romance, love and passion. It is said to enhance sensuality, intimacy and sexuality. Garnet can strengthen one's level of creativity. It is also believed to boost positive energy, and self-confidence. Furthermore, garnet is thought to encourage business success. It is also said that in the biblical story, Noah used a glowing garnet lantern to help steer his ark through the night.

Garnets were once used to treat and heal those with infectious disease, blood poisoning, heart issues and lung problems. It is considered to be a protective stone, protecting wearers from evil as well as nightmares and bad dreams. It is an excellent stone used in spiritual healing. Although garnet is primarily associated with the root chakra, depending upon its color, it can also be useful for opening up other chakras as well.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Mali Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Mali garnet can be used in all types of jewelry. Besides its attractive colors, Mali garnet has many other qualities which make it a truly unique and valuable jewelry gemstone. Like all garnet, it has very good hardness making it resistant to wear and tear and suitable for any type of jewelry. Additionally Mali garnet has a remarkably high refraction of light, resulting in exceptional brilliance and fire. Even in poor lighting conditions, Mali garnet can exhibit a vivid sparkle. Like most garnet, Mali garnet is perfect for daily-wear rings, pins, necklaces, bracelets, brooches and pendants. However, since Mali garnet is one of the rarer varieties of garnet, it is not normally found in local jewelry stores. Mali garnet is commonly worn in planetary or astrological jewelry. Anniversary and Eternity Bands often use Mali garnet, due to the fact that garnet is the official 2nd year wedding anniversary gemstone. Mali garnet may also be found in many traditional birthstone jewelry designs.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Mali Garnet Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesMali garnet can be cleaned using warm water and a mild soap or detergent. You can wipe down your stones with a plain soft cloth or brush. After wiping, be sure to rinse your gems and jewelry well to ensure all soapy residue is removed. Avoid extreme heat and temperature fluctuations as this may cause fracturing. Ultrasonic cleaners are not recommended and steamers should be avoided as well as the use of any harsh household chemicals and cleaners, including bleach or hydrofluoric acid, since chemicals can cause corrosion.

Although Mali garnet is quite durable, it is still best to always remove any jewelry before engaging in vigorous physical activities, such as exercise or sports. When removing jewelry, do not pull from the stone as this can weaken prongs, eventually leading to a lost stone. When storing Mali garnet gems and jewelry, wrap them in a soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: February-17-2014
  • Last Updated: May-30-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart