search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

马来亚石榴石宝石信息

来自 GemSelect 的马来亚石榴石宝石 - 大图
从 GemSelect 购买天然马来亚石榴石

关于马来亚石榴石 - 历史和介绍

马来亚(malaia)石榴石是一种稀有且更有趣的“杂交”石榴石品种。它主要是混合烟石锰铝榴石,最早发现于 1960 年代。它是在与坦桑尼亚和肯尼亚接壤的乌姆巴河谷发现的,这里仍然是马来亚石榴石的主要来源。 GIA 仅将马来亚石榴石归类为镁铝榴石种类,但并非所有马来亚石榴石都属于这种情况。在大多数情况下,马来亚石榴石被认为是各种石榴石,因为大多数测试样本都含有较高百分比的石榴石作为其主要成分。然而,多年来,许多马来亚石榴石标本被发现含有等量的锰铝榴石或铝镁石。在某些情况下,石头中还含有少量粗长石和红铁矿。现在的研究表明,它的成分变化很大,范围从 2% 到 94% 的锰铝榴石、0% 到 83% 的镁铝榴石、2% 到 78%金刚烷胺, 0 到 24% 粗口和 0 到 4% 的芒硝。

Natural malaya garnet

“马来亚”一词源自斯瓦希里语,意思是“弃儿”或“妓女”。矿工给它起这个名字是因为当它第一次被发现时,当地经销商不会购买它,仅仅因为它不属于任何标准的石榴石类别;因此,它被搁置一旁。最初的发现被认为是一种锰铝榴石,它们经常被开采并与包裹 红石榴石.马来亚石榴石自发现以来,其生产和开采一直非常不规律,由于其稀有性,受到宝石收藏家的高度评价。较大的标本,尤其是超过 3 至 5 克拉的标本,其价值会大幅增加,并且可能需要非常高的溢价。

马来亚石榴石
马来亚石榴石
点击放大图片

识别马来亚石榴石

回到顶部

马来亚石榴石的折射率和比重可以与粗石榴石的折射率和比重重叠,并且材料甚至可以形成几乎相同的颜色,使它们很难相互区分。因此,鉴定马来亚石榴石通常需要化学分析。马来亚石榴石的莫氏硬度为 7-7.5,通常呈现针状内含物,有助于将马来亚石榴石与其他宝石区分开来。像所有石榴石一样,马来亚具有非常独特的立方晶体结构。菱形十二面体是石榴石宝石的标志。其他显着方面包括缺乏解理、荧光和缺乏多色性,因为石榴石是单折射的。

马来亚石榴石;产地和宝石来源

回到顶部

马来亚石榴石主要产于东非与坦桑尼亚北部和肯尼亚南部接壤的乌姆巴河谷。 1993 年,在坦桑尼亚南部也发现了类似的物质。在马达加斯加和斯里兰卡(锡兰)也发现了矿床。

购买马来亚石榴石并确定马来亚石榴石宝石价值

回到顶部

马来亚石榴石

马来亚石榴石呈现出各种独特而有趣的颜色,包括粉橙色、红橙色和黄橙色,所有颜色都有不同的明暗色调。最稀有的马来亚颜色包括蜜桃色、肉桂色、粉橙色和近乎无色。橙色宝石通常比红色宝石更稀有,棕色含量较少的宝石被认为更受欢迎。众所周知,马来亚石榴石会呈现出闪烁的红色闪光,这是任何其他类型的石榴石都无法比拟的。颜色的原因是锰,有时是铁。

“Umbalite 石榴石”是来自 Umba 山谷的马来亚石榴石的名称,它呈现红色,略带橙色。 'Imperial garnet' 是一个商品名称,用于指代明亮的粉橙色宝石,既不太暗也不太苍白。一些淡粉色的标本可能会呈现出红色或金色的变化。一些橙红色的宝石也可能呈现棕橙色的颜色变化。变色的马来亚石榴石仍被归类为基于相同化学成分的马来亚石榴石。

马来亚石榴石的净度和光泽

根据 GIA 的有色宝石净度等级,马来亚石榴石被认为是“II 型”宝石。这意味着大多数马来亚石榴石会出现一些可见的内含物,通常是金红石、黄铁矿或磷灰石。最常见的内含物是小针状金红石簇。抛光后,马来亚石榴石具有迷人的玻璃状(玻璃质)光泽。

马来亚石榴石切割和形状

马来亚石榴石具有非凡的火彩和分散性。这意味着它们通常是刻面的,而不是凸圆形切割的。任何可以最大限度地提高火彩和最大限度地减少颜色暗度的切割和形状都是理想的。最有效的形状包括垫子、圆形和椭圆形。

马来亚石榴石处理

像大多数石榴石一样,马来亚石榴石通常从未以任何方式处理或增强。

Malaya Garnet from GemSelect

马来亚石榴石宝石学特性:

回到顶部
化学式: (MgFeMnCa)3Al2(SiO4)3
晶体结构: (立方)菱形十二面体
颜色:橙粉色、橙棕色、铜粉色、香槟色、粉色、橙色、红色
硬度:莫氏硬度为 7 到 7.5
折射率: 1.73 到 1.81
密度: 3.65-4.20
解理:模糊
透明度:透明到不透明
双折射或双折射:通常没有
光泽:玻璃
荧光:通常没有

请参考我们的宝石术语有关宝石学相关术语的详细信息。

马来亚石榴石:相关或类似的宝石

回到顶部
马里石榴石
马里石榴石

石榴石组宝石是宝石行业中最重要的宝石之一。石榴石家族还包括镁铝榴石、铝镁铝榴石、锰铝榴石、钙铝榴石、紫云母和红长石。虽然只有六种不同类型的石榴石,但石榴石通常由不止一种矿物形成,这导致了许多混合宝石品种。事实上,很少有任何石榴石以纯形式出现。例如,作为“pyrope”或“almandine”出售的宝石几乎总是含有另一种石榴石的痕迹。还有许多其他宝石和矿物很容易被误认为是石榴石,特别是因为石榴石的颜色和产地多种多样。一些最容易混淆的材料包括尖晶石、金绿玉、亚历山大变石、电气石和蓝宝石。

最受欢迎的相关宝石:

沙弗莱石榴石,星形石榴石, 石榴石石榴石, 铝镁榴石, 红石榴石、钙榴石(grossularite)石榴石、锰铝榴石石榴石和翠榴石石榴石是最受欢迎的石榴石品种。

鲜为人知的相关宝石:

Hydrogrossular 石榴石,andradite 石榴石,无色石榴石,melanite 石榴石,topazolite 石榴石,uvarovite 石榴石,马里石榴石变色石榴石属于鲜为人知的石榴石品种。

马来亚石榴石宝石神话、形而上学和治疗能力

回到顶部

石榴石是一月的诞生石,也与水瓶座的黄道星座有关。石榴石据说是一种鼓励浪漫、爱情和激情的石头。据说它可以增强性感、亲密感和性欲。石榴石可以增强一个人的创造力水平。它还被认为可以增强正能量和自信心。此外,石榴石被认为可以促进商业成功。

石榴石曾经被用来治疗和治愈那些患有传染病、血液中毒、心脏问题和肺部问题的人。它被认为是一种保护石,可以保护佩戴者免受邪恶以及噩梦和噩梦的侵害。它是一种用于精神治疗的极好石头。虽然石榴石主要与根脉轮有关,但根据其颜色,它也可用于打开其他脉轮。

免责声明:形而上学和替代水晶治疗能力和属性不应被视为已确认的建议。传统、仪式和神话宝石知识收集自各种资源,并不代表 SETT Co., Ltd. 的唯一意见。这些信息不能代替您的医生的建议。如果您有任何健康状况,请去看有执照的医生。 GemSelect 不保证任何治愈或占星术诞生石力量的声明或声明,并且在任何情况下都不承担任何责任。

马来亚石榴石宝石和珠宝设计理念

回到顶部

马来亚石榴石可用于所有类型的珠宝,非常适合任何设计。其莫氏硬度范围为 6.50 至 7.00,这使其具有耐磨性和抗撕裂性。没有解理也增加了它的耐用性。马来亚石榴石还具有非凡的分散性和光彩,使其成为日常佩戴的戒指、项链、手链、胸针、别针和吊坠的完美选择。然而,由于黑松石是石榴石的稀有品种之一,因此通常在当地的珠宝店中找不到。此外,由于它通常未经处理,因此通常佩戴在行星和占星术珠宝中。周年纪念和永恒乐队经常使用马来亚石榴石,因为石榴石是结婚 2 周年纪念宝石。马来亚石榴石也可以在许多传统的生日石首饰设计中找到。最重要的是,与许多稀有石榴石不同,马来亚石榴石通常有大尺寸。

注意:按尺寸而非克拉重量购买有色宝石。不同颜色的宝石尺寸重量比.相比之下,有些宝石比钻石大,有些比钻石小。

马来亚石榴石宝石首饰保养和清洁

回到顶部

如何清洁您的宝石马来亚石榴石可以用温水和温和的肥皂或清洁剂清洗。您可以用软布或刷子擦拭石头。擦拭后,请务必彻底冲洗您的宝石和珠宝,以确保去除所有肥皂残留物。避免极端的热量和温度波动,因为这可能会导致破裂。不建议使用超声波清洁器,应避免使用蒸汽机,以及使用刺激性家用化学品和清洁剂,包括漂白剂或氢氟酸,因为化学品会导致腐蚀。

虽然马来亚石榴石非常耐用,但仍然建议在进行剧烈的体育活动(例如锻炼或运动)之前始终取下任何珠宝。取下珠宝时,请勿从宝石上拔出,因为这会削弱镶爪,最终导致宝石丢失。存放马来亚石榴石宝石和珠宝时,请用软布包裹它们或将它们放入衬有织物的首饰盒中。

  • 首次发布于: 八月-02-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 六月-26-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

9785

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (136)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
 
: Malaya Garnet Info

Malaya Garnet Gemstone Information

About Malaya Garnet - History and Introduction

Malaya (malaia) garnet is one of the rarer and more interesting 'hybrid' varieties of garnet. It is primarily a mix of pyrope and spessartine, which was first discovered in the 1960s. It was discovered in the Umba River Valley bordering Tanzania and Kenya, which remains the primary source for malaya garnet. GIA classifies malaya garnet as only a pyrope-spessartite species, but this may not be the case for all malaya garnet. For the most part, malaya garnet has been considered a variety of pyrope, since most tested specimens contained higher percentages of pyrope as their primary component. However, over the years, many malaya garnet specimens were discovered to contain equal parts of both spessartite or almandine. In some cases, stones also contained minor traces of grossular and andradite. Research has now shown that its composition can be highly variable, ranging anywhere from 2 to 94% spessartite, 0 to 83% pyrope, 2 to 78% almandine, 0 to 24% grossular and 0 to 4% andradite.

Natural malaya garnet

The term "malaya" was derived from a Swahili word meaning 'outcast' or 'prostitute'. Miners gave it this name because when it was first discovered, local dealers wouldn't buy it, simply because it didn't fall into any of the standard garnet categories; thus, it was cast aside. The first findings were believed to be a type of spessartite and they were often mined and mixed with parcels of rhodolite garnet. Since its discovery, the production and mining of malaya garnet has been very irregular, and because of its rarity, it is highly prized by gem collectors. Larger specimens, especially those over 3 to 5 carats, increase in value substantially and can demand very high premiums.

Malaya Garnet
Malaya Garnet
Click to enlarge
Identifying Malaya Garnet Back to Top

Malaya garnet's refractive index and specific gravity can overlap that of grossular, and materials can even form with near identical colors making them very difficult to distinguish from one another. Thus, identification of malaya garnet normally requires chemical analysis. Malaya garnet has excellent hardness of 7-7.5 on the Mohs scale and often exhibits needle-like inclusions which can help distinguish malaya garnet from other gems. Like all garnet, malaya has a very distinct cubic crystal structure; the rhombic dodecahedral faces are a hallmark of garnet gemstones. Other distinguishing aspects include lack of cleavage, fluorescence and lack of pleochroism, since garnet is singly refractive.

Malaya Garnet; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Malaya garnet is found primarily in East Africa's Umba River Valley which borders northern Tanzania and Southern Kenya. In 1993, discoveries of similar material were also reported in Southern Tanzania. There have also been deposits found in both Madagascar and Sri Lanka (Ceylon).

Buying Malaya Garnet and Determining Malaya Garnet Gemstone Value Back to Top

Malaya Garnet Color

Malaya garnet occurs in a variety of unique and interesting colors including pinkish-orange, reddish-orange and yellowish-orange, all with varying light and dark tones. The rarest malaya colors include honey-peach, cinnamon, pinkish-orange and near-colorless. Orangey stones are typically rarer than reddish, and stones with lesser amounts of brown are considered more desirable. Malaya garnet is known to exhibit scintillating flashes of red, incomparable to any other type of garnet. The cause of the color is manganese and sometimes iron.

'Umbalite garnet' is a name used for malaya garnet from the Umba Valley that exhibits a red color with a slight hint of orange. 'Imperial garnet' is a trade name used to refer to bright pinkish-orange stones which are neither too dark nor too pale. Some pale pink specimens may exhibit a reddish or gold color change. Some orange-red stones may also exhibit a brownish-orange color change. Color change malaya garnet is still classified as malaya garnet based on identical chemical composition.

Malaya Garnet Clarity and Luster

Malaya garnet is considered to be a 'type II' stone according to the GIA's colored stone clarity scale. This means that most malaya garnet will exhibit some visible inclusions, typically rutile, pyrite or apatite. The most common inclusions are small needle-like clusters of rutile. When polished, malaya garnet has an attractive glass-like (vitreous) luster.

Malaya Garnet Cut and Shape

Malaya garnets have remarkable fire and dispersion. This means that they are most often faceted rather than cut en cabochon. Any cut and shape that maximizes fire and minimizes color darkness is ideal. The most effective shapes for this include cushions, rounds and ovals.

Malaya Garnet Treatment

Like most garnets, malaya garnet is typically never treated or enhanced in any way.

Malaya Garnet from GemSelect

Malaya Garnet Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: (MgFeMnCa)3Al2(SiO4)3
Crystal Structure: (Cubic) Rhombic dodecahedron
Color: Orangey-pink, orange-brown, copper-pink, champagne, pink, orange, red
Hardness: 7 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.73 to 1.81
Density: 3.65-4.20
Cleavage: Indistinct
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: Normally none
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Normally none

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Malaya Garnet: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Mali Garnet
Mali Garnet

The garnet group of gemstones is one of the most important in the gemstone industry. The garnet family also includes pyrope, almandine, spessartite, grossularite, uvarovite and andradite. Although there are only six distinct types of garnet, garnet commonly forms with more than just one mineral, which results in numerous hybrid gemstone varieties. In fact, very rarely is any garnet ever in pure form; for example, stones sold as 'pyrope' or 'almandine' almost always contain some traces of another garnet species. There are a number of other gemstones and minerals that can be easily mistaken for garnet stones, particularly because of the wide variety of colors and localities in which garnet can occur. Some of the most commonly confused materials include spinel, chrysoberyl, alexandrite, tourmaline and sapphire.

Most Popular Related Gemstones:

Tsavorite garnet, star garnet, pyrope garnet, almandine garnet, rhodolite garnet, grossular (grossularite) garnet, spessartite garnet and demantoid garnet are among the most popular garnet varieties.

Lesser-Known Related Gemstones:

Hydrogrossular garnet, andradite garnet, leuco garnet, melanite garnet, topazolite garnet, uvarovite garnet, Mali garnet and color change garnet are among the lesser-known garnet varieties.

Malaya Garnet Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Garnet is January's birthstone and is also associated with the zodiacal sign of Aquarius. Garnet is said to be a stone that encourages romance, love and passion. It is said to enhance sensuality, intimacy and sexuality. Garnet can strengthen one's level of creativity. It is also believed to boost positive energy, and self-confidence. Furthermore, garnet is thought to encourage business success.

Garnets were once used to treat and heal those with infectious disease, blood poisoning, heart issues and lung problems. It is considered to be a protective stone, protecting wearers from evil as well as nightmares and bad dreams. It is an excellent stone used in spiritual healing. Although garnet is primarily associated with the root chakra, depending upon its color, it can also be useful for opening up other chakras as well.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Malaya Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Malaya garnet can be used in all types of jewelry and is quite suitable for any design. Its hardness ranges from 6.50 to 7.00 on the Mohs scale, which makes it resistant to wear and tear. The absence of cleavage also adds to its durability. Malaya garnet also has remarkable dispersion and brilliance which makes it perfect for daily-wear rings, necklaces, bracelets, brooches, pins, and pendants. However, since hessonite is one of the rarer varieties of garnet, it is not normally found in local jewelry stores. Also, because it is typically untreated, it is commonly worn in planetary and astrological jewelry. Anniversary and eternity bands often use malaya garnet, due to the fact that garnet is the 2nd year wedding anniversary gemstone. Malaya garnet can also be found in many traditional birthstone jewelry designs. Best of all, malaya garnet is often available in large sizes, unlike many rare garnets.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Malaya Garnet Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesMalaya garnet can be cleaned using warm water and a mild soap or detergent. You can wipe down your stones with a soft cloth or brush. After wiping, be sure to rinse your gems and jewelry well to ensure that all soapy residue is removed. Avoid extreme heat and temperature fluctuations as this may cause fracturing. Ultrasonic cleaners are not recommended and steamers should be avoided, as well as the use of harsh household chemicals and cleaners, including bleach or hydrofluoric acid, since chemicals can cause corrosion.

Although malaya garnet is quite durable, it is still recommended to always remove any jewelry before engaging in vigorous physical activities, such as exercise or sports. When removing jewelry, do not pull from the stone as this can weaken prongs, eventually leading to a lost stone. When storing malaya garnet gems and jewelry, wrap them in a soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: April-11-2013
  • Last Updated: December-17-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart