search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses de grenat de Malaisie

Pierres précieuses de grenat de Malaisie de GemSelect - Grande image
Achetez du grenat de Malaisie naturel sur GemSelect

À propos du grenat de Malaisie - Histoire et introduction

Grenat de Malaisie (malaia) est l'une des variétés de grenat « hybrides » les plus rares et les plus intéressantes. C'est avant tout un mélange de pyrope et spessartine , qui a été découvert pour la première fois dans les années 1960. Il a été découvert dans la vallée de la rivière Umba, à la frontière de la Tanzanie et du Kenya, qui reste la principale source de grenat de Malaisie. Le GIA classe le grenat de Malaisie uniquement comme une espèce de pyrope-spessartite, mais cela peut ne pas être le cas pour tous les grenats de Malaisie. Pour la plupart, le grenat de Malaisie a été considéré comme une variété de pyrope, car la plupart des spécimens testés contenaient des pourcentages plus élevés de pyrope comme composant principal. Cependant, au fil des ans, de nombreux spécimens de grenat de Malaisie ont été découverts pour contenir des parties égales de spessartite ou d'almandine. Dans certains cas, les pierres contenaient également des traces mineures de grossulaire et d'andradite. La recherche a maintenant montré que sa composition peut être très variable, allant de 2 à 94% de spessartite, 0 à 83% de pyrope, 2 à 78%almandin , 0 à 24% grossulaire et 0 à 4 % d'andradite.

Natural malaya garnet

Le terme « malaya » est dérivé d'un mot swahili signifiant « paria » ou « prostituée ». Les mineurs lui ont donné ce nom parce que lorsqu'il a été découvert pour la première fois, les revendeurs locaux ne l'achetaient pas, simplement parce qu'il n'entrait dans aucune des catégories de grenat standard ; ainsi, il a été mis de côté. On croyait que les premières découvertes étaient un type de spessartite et elles étaient souvent extraites et mélangées à des parcelles de grenat rhodolite . Depuis sa découverte, la production et l'extraction du grenat de Malaisie ont été très irrégulières, et en raison de sa rareté, il est très prisé des collectionneurs de pierres précieuses. Les plus gros spécimens, en particulier ceux de plus de 3 à 5 carats, augmentent considérablement en valeur et peuvent exiger des primes très élevées.

Grenat de Malaisie

Identifier le grenat de Malaisie

Retour au sommet

L'indice de réfraction et la gravité spécifique du grenat de Malaisie peuvent chevaucher ceux du grossulaire, et des matériaux peuvent même se former avec des couleurs presque identiques, ce qui les rend très difficiles à distinguer les uns des autres. Ainsi, l'identification du grenat de Malaisie nécessite normalement une analyse chimique. Le grenat de Malaisie a une excellente dureté de 7 à 7,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs et présente souvent des inclusions en forme d'aiguilles qui peuvent aider à distinguer le grenat de Malaisie des autres pierres précieuses. Comme tous les grenats, la Malaisie a une structure cristalline cubique très distincte ; les faces dodécaédriques rhombiques sont une caractéristique des pierres précieuses de grenat. D'autres aspects distinctifs incluent le manque de clivage, la fluorescence et le manque de pléochroïsme, puisque le grenat est réfractif unique.

grenat de Malaisie ; Origine et sources de pierres précieuses

Retour au sommet

Le grenat de Malaisie se trouve principalement dans la vallée de la rivière Umba en Afrique de l'Est, qui borde le nord de la Tanzanie et le sud du Kenya. En 1993, des découvertes de matériel similaire ont également été signalées dans le sud de la Tanzanie. Des gisements ont également été trouvés à Madagascar et au Sri Lanka (Ceylan).

Acheter du grenat de Malaisie et déterminer la valeur des pierres précieuses du grenat de Malaisie

Retour au sommet

Couleur grenat de Malaisie

Le grenat de Malaisie se présente dans une variété de couleurs uniques et intéressantes, notamment l'orange rosé, l'orange rougeâtre et l'orange jaunâtre, toutes avec des tons clairs et foncés variables. Les couleurs de malaya les plus rares comprennent le miel-pêche, la cannelle, l'orange rosé et presque incolore. Les pierres orangées sont généralement plus rares que les pierres rougeâtres, et les pierres avec moins de brun sont considérées comme plus souhaitables. Le grenat de Malaisie est connu pour présenter des éclats rouges scintillants, incomparables à tout autre type de grenat. La cause de la couleur est le manganèse et parfois le fer.

« Umbalite grenat » est un nom utilisé pour le grenat malaya de la vallée de l'Umba qui présente une couleur rouge avec une légère touche d'orange. « Le grenat impérial » est un nom commercial utilisé pour désigner des pierres orange-rosé vif qui ne sont ni trop sombres ni trop pâles. Certains spécimens rose pâle peuvent présenter un changement de couleur rougeâtre ou or. Certaines pierres rouge-orange peuvent également présenter un changement de couleur brun-orange. Le grenat de Malaisie à changement de couleur est toujours classé comme grenat de Malaisie sur la base d'une composition chimique identique.

Clarté et lustre de grenat de Malaisie

Le grenat de Malaisie est considéré comme une pierre de « type II » selon l'échelle de clarté des pierres colorées du GIA. Cela signifie que la plupart des grenats de Malaisie présenteront des inclusions visibles, généralement du rutile, de la pyrite ou de l'apatite. Les inclusions les plus courantes sont de petites grappes de rutile en forme d'aiguille. Lorsqu'il est poli, le grenat de Malaisie a un bel éclat vitreux (vitré).

Coupe et forme de grenat de Malaisie

Les grenats de Malaisie ont un feu et une dispersion remarquables. Cela signifie qu'ils sont le plus souvent facettés plutôt que taillés en cabochon. Toute coupe et forme qui maximise le feu et minimise l'obscurité des couleurs est idéale. Les formes les plus efficaces pour cela comprennent les coussins, les ronds et les ovales.

Traitement au grenat de Malaisie

Comme la plupart des grenats, le grenat de Malaisie n'est généralement jamais traité ou amélioré de quelque manière que ce soit.

Malaya Garnet from GemSelect

Propriétés gemmologiques du grenat de Malaisie :

Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: (MgFeMnCa)3Al2(SiO4)3
Structure en cristal: (Cubique) Dodécaèdre rhombique
Couleur: Rose orangé, brun orangé, rose cuivré, champagne, rose, orange, rouge
Dureté: 7 à 7,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1,73 à 1,81
Densité: 3.65-4.20
Clivage: Indistinct
Transparence: Transparent à opaque
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : Normalement aucun
Lustre: Vitreux
Fluorescence: Normalement aucun

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Grenat de Malaisie : pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires

Retour au sommet
Grenat du Mali
Grenat du Mali

Le groupe de pierres précieuses grenat est l'un des plus importants dans l'industrie des pierres précieuses. La famille des grenats comprend également le pyrope, l'almandine, la spessartite, la grossularite, l'uvarovite et l'andradite. Bien qu'il n'y ait que six types distincts de grenat, le grenat se forme généralement avec plus d'un seul minéral, ce qui donne de nombreuses variétés de pierres précieuses hybrides. En fait, très rarement un grenat est jamais sous forme pure; par exemple, les pierres vendues comme « pyrope » ou « almandine » contiennent presque toujours des traces d'une autre espèce de grenat. Il existe un certain nombre d'autres pierres précieuses et minéraux qui peuvent être facilement confondus avec des pierres de grenat, en particulier en raison de la grande variété de couleurs et de localités dans lesquelles le grenat peut se produire. Certains des matériaux les plus souvent confondus incluent le spinelle, le chrysobéryl, l'alexandrite, la tourmaline et le saphir.

Pierres précieuses associées les plus populaires :

Grenat tsavorite, grenat étoilé , grenat pyrope, grenat almandin, grenat rhodolite , le grenat grossulaire (grossularite), le grenat spessartite et le grenat démantoïde sont parmi les variétés de grenat les plus populaires.

Pierres précieuses connexes moins connues :

Grenat hydrogrossulaire, grenat andradite, grenat leuco, grenat mélanite, grenat topazolite, grenat uvarovite, Grenat du Mali et grenat à changement de couleur font partie des variétés de grenat les moins connues.

Mythologie des pierres précieuses de grenat de Malaisie, pouvoirs métaphysiques et de guérison

Retour au sommet

Le grenat est la pierre de naissance de janvier et est également associé au signe zodiacal du Verseau. On dit que le grenat est une pierre qui encourage la romance, l'amour et la passion. On dit qu'il améliore la sensualité, l'intimité et la sexualité. Le grenat peut renforcer le niveau de créativité. On pense également qu'il stimule l'énergie positive et la confiance en soi. De plus, on pense que le grenat encourage le succès des entreprises.

Les grenats étaient autrefois utilisés pour traiter et guérir les personnes atteintes de maladies infectieuses, d'empoisonnement du sang, de problèmes cardiaques et pulmonaires. Elle est considérée comme une pierre protectrice, protégeant les porteurs du mal ainsi que des cauchemars et des mauvais rêves. C'est une excellente pierre utilisée dans la guérison spirituelle. Bien que le grenat soit principalement associé au chakra racine, selon sa couleur, il peut également être utile pour ouvrir d'autres chakras.

Avis de non-responsabilité : les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont recueillies auprès de diverses ressources et ne représentent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne remplacent pas l'avis de votre médecin. Si vous avez des problèmes de santé, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologiques et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.

Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux en grenat de Malaisie

Retour au sommet

Le grenat de Malaisie peut être utilisé dans tous les types de bijoux et convient parfaitement à n'importe quel design. Sa dureté varie de 6,50 à 7,00 sur l'échelle de Mohs, ce qui la rend résistante à l'usure. L'absence de clivage ajoute également à sa durabilité. Le grenat de Malaisie a également une dispersion et une brillance remarquables, ce qui le rend parfait pour les bagues, colliers, bracelets, broches, épingles et pendentifs à porter au quotidien. Cependant, comme l'hessonite est l'une des variétés de grenat les plus rares, on ne la trouve normalement pas dans les bijouteries locales. De plus, parce qu'il n'est généralement pas traité, il est couramment porté dans les bijoux planétaires et astrologiques. Les bagues d'anniversaire et d'éternité utilisent souvent du grenat de Malaisie, car le grenat est la pierre précieuse du deuxième anniversaire de mariage. Le grenat de Malaisie peut également être trouvé dans de nombreux modèles de bijoux traditionnels en pierre de naissance. Mieux encore, le grenat de Malaisie est souvent disponible en grandes tailles, contrairement à de nombreux grenats rares.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que les diamants en poids en comparaison.

Entretien et nettoyage des bijoux en pierres précieuses de grenat de Malaisie

Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses Le grenat de Malaisie peut être nettoyé avec de l'eau tiède et un savon ou un détergent doux. Vous pouvez essuyer vos pierres avec un chiffon doux ou une brosse. Après avoir essuyé, assurez-vous de bien rincer vos pierres précieuses et vos bijoux pour vous assurer que tous les résidus de savon sont éliminés. Éviter les variations de chaleur et de température extrêmes car cela peut provoquer des fractures. Les nettoyeurs à ultrasons ne sont pas recommandés et les appareils à vapeur doivent être évités, ainsi que l'utilisation de produits chimiques et de nettoyants ménagers agressifs, y compris l'eau de Javel ou l'acide fluorhydrique, car les produits chimiques peuvent provoquer de la corrosion.

Bien que le grenat de Malaisie soit assez durable, il est toujours recommandé de toujours retirer tout bijou avant de s'engager dans des activités physiques vigoureuses, telles que l'exercice ou le sport. Lorsque vous retirez des bijoux, ne tirez pas sur la pierre car cela peut affaiblir les griffes et finir par faire perdre la pierre. Lorsque vous stockez des pierres précieuses et des bijoux en grenat de Malaisie, enveloppez-les dans un chiffon doux ou placez-les dans une boîte à bijoux doublée de tissu.

  • Première publication: 02 Août 2021
  • Dernière mise à jour: 09 Décembre 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

9786

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (143)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Alexandrite
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Azurite
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat Chrysobéryl
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Onyx
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Tourmaline Chrome
  • Tranche De Géode D'améthyste
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
  • Œil De Faucon
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
 
: Malaya Garnet Info

Malaya Garnet Gemstone Information

About Malaya Garnet - History and Introduction

Malaya (malaia) garnet is one of the rarer and more interesting 'hybrid' varieties of garnet. It is primarily a mix of pyrope and spessartine, which was first discovered in the 1960s. It was discovered in the Umba River Valley bordering Tanzania and Kenya, which remains the primary source for malaya garnet. GIA classifies malaya garnet as only a pyrope-spessartite species, but this may not be the case for all malaya garnet. For the most part, malaya garnet has been considered a variety of pyrope, since most tested specimens contained higher percentages of pyrope as their primary component. However, over the years, many malaya garnet specimens were discovered to contain equal parts of both spessartite or almandine. In some cases, stones also contained minor traces of grossular and andradite. Research has now shown that its composition can be highly variable, ranging anywhere from 2 to 94% spessartite, 0 to 83% pyrope, 2 to 78% almandine, 0 to 24% grossular and 0 to 4% andradite.

Natural malaya garnet

The term "malaya" was derived from a Swahili word meaning 'outcast' or 'prostitute'. Miners gave it this name because when it was first discovered, local dealers wouldn't buy it, simply because it didn't fall into any of the standard garnet categories; thus, it was cast aside. The first findings were believed to be a type of spessartite and they were often mined and mixed with parcels of rhodolite garnet. Since its discovery, the production and mining of malaya garnet has been very irregular, and because of its rarity, it is highly prized by gem collectors. Larger specimens, especially those over 3 to 5 carats, increase in value substantially and can demand very high premiums.

Malaya Garnet
Malaya Garnet
Click to enlarge
Identifying Malaya Garnet Back to Top

Malaya garnet's refractive index and specific gravity can overlap that of grossular, and materials can even form with near identical colors making them very difficult to distinguish from one another. Thus, identification of malaya garnet normally requires chemical analysis. Malaya garnet has excellent hardness of 7-7.5 on the Mohs scale and often exhibits needle-like inclusions which can help distinguish malaya garnet from other gems. Like all garnet, malaya has a very distinct cubic crystal structure; the rhombic dodecahedral faces are a hallmark of garnet gemstones. Other distinguishing aspects include lack of cleavage, fluorescence and lack of pleochroism, since garnet is singly refractive.

Malaya Garnet; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Malaya garnet is found primarily in East Africa's Umba River Valley which borders northern Tanzania and Southern Kenya. In 1993, discoveries of similar material were also reported in Southern Tanzania. There have also been deposits found in both Madagascar and Sri Lanka (Ceylon).

Buying Malaya Garnet and Determining Malaya Garnet Gemstone Value Back to Top

Malaya Garnet Color

Malaya garnet occurs in a variety of unique and interesting colors including pinkish-orange, reddish-orange and yellowish-orange, all with varying light and dark tones. The rarest malaya colors include honey-peach, cinnamon, pinkish-orange and near-colorless. Orangey stones are typically rarer than reddish, and stones with lesser amounts of brown are considered more desirable. Malaya garnet is known to exhibit scintillating flashes of red, incomparable to any other type of garnet. The cause of the color is manganese and sometimes iron.

'Umbalite garnet' is a name used for malaya garnet from the Umba Valley that exhibits a red color with a slight hint of orange. 'Imperial garnet' is a trade name used to refer to bright pinkish-orange stones which are neither too dark nor too pale. Some pale pink specimens may exhibit a reddish or gold color change. Some orange-red stones may also exhibit a brownish-orange color change. Color change malaya garnet is still classified as malaya garnet based on identical chemical composition.

Malaya Garnet Clarity and Luster

Malaya garnet is considered to be a 'type II' stone according to the GIA's colored stone clarity scale. This means that most malaya garnet will exhibit some visible inclusions, typically rutile, pyrite or apatite. The most common inclusions are small needle-like clusters of rutile. When polished, malaya garnet has an attractive glass-like (vitreous) luster.

Malaya Garnet Cut and Shape

Malaya garnets have remarkable fire and dispersion. This means that they are most often faceted rather than cut en cabochon. Any cut and shape that maximizes fire and minimizes color darkness is ideal. The most effective shapes for this include cushions, rounds and ovals.

Malaya Garnet Treatment

Like most garnets, malaya garnet is typically never treated or enhanced in any way.

Malaya Garnet from GemSelect

Malaya Garnet Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: (MgFeMnCa)3Al2(SiO4)3
Crystal Structure: (Cubic) Rhombic dodecahedron
Color: Orangey-pink, orange-brown, copper-pink, champagne, pink, orange, red
Hardness: 7 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.73 to 1.81
Density: 3.65-4.20
Cleavage: Indistinct
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: Normally none
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Normally none

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Malaya Garnet: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Mali Garnet
Mali Garnet

The garnet group of gemstones is one of the most important in the gemstone industry. The garnet family also includes pyrope, almandine, spessartite, grossularite, uvarovite and andradite. Although there are only six distinct types of garnet, garnet commonly forms with more than just one mineral, which results in numerous hybrid gemstone varieties. In fact, very rarely is any garnet ever in pure form; for example, stones sold as 'pyrope' or 'almandine' almost always contain some traces of another garnet species. There are a number of other gemstones and minerals that can be easily mistaken for garnet stones, particularly because of the wide variety of colors and localities in which garnet can occur. Some of the most commonly confused materials include spinel, chrysoberyl, alexandrite, tourmaline and sapphire.

Most Popular Related Gemstones:

Tsavorite garnet, star garnet, pyrope garnet, almandine garnet, rhodolite garnet, grossular (grossularite) garnet, spessartite garnet and demantoid garnet are among the most popular garnet varieties.

Lesser-Known Related Gemstones:

Hydrogrossular garnet, andradite garnet, leuco garnet, melanite garnet, topazolite garnet, uvarovite garnet, Mali garnet and color change garnet are among the lesser-known garnet varieties.

Malaya Garnet Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Garnet is January's birthstone and is also associated with the zodiacal sign of Aquarius. Garnet is said to be a stone that encourages romance, love and passion. It is said to enhance sensuality, intimacy and sexuality. Garnet can strengthen one's level of creativity. It is also believed to boost positive energy, and self-confidence. Furthermore, garnet is thought to encourage business success.

Garnets were once used to treat and heal those with infectious disease, blood poisoning, heart issues and lung problems. It is considered to be a protective stone, protecting wearers from evil as well as nightmares and bad dreams. It is an excellent stone used in spiritual healing. Although garnet is primarily associated with the root chakra, depending upon its color, it can also be useful for opening up other chakras as well.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Malaya Garnet Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Malaya garnet can be used in all types of jewelry and is quite suitable for any design. Its hardness ranges from 6.50 to 7.00 on the Mohs scale, which makes it resistant to wear and tear. The absence of cleavage also adds to its durability. Malaya garnet also has remarkable dispersion and brilliance which makes it perfect for daily-wear rings, necklaces, bracelets, brooches, pins, and pendants. However, since hessonite is one of the rarer varieties of garnet, it is not normally found in local jewelry stores. Also, because it is typically untreated, it is commonly worn in planetary and astrological jewelry. Anniversary and eternity bands often use malaya garnet, due to the fact that garnet is the 2nd year wedding anniversary gemstone. Malaya garnet can also be found in many traditional birthstone jewelry designs. Best of all, malaya garnet is often available in large sizes, unlike many rare garnets.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Malaya Garnet Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesMalaya garnet can be cleaned using warm water and a mild soap or detergent. You can wipe down your stones with a soft cloth or brush. After wiping, be sure to rinse your gems and jewelry well to ensure that all soapy residue is removed. Avoid extreme heat and temperature fluctuations as this may cause fracturing. Ultrasonic cleaners are not recommended and steamers should be avoided, as well as the use of harsh household chemicals and cleaners, including bleach or hydrofluoric acid, since chemicals can cause corrosion.

Although malaya garnet is quite durable, it is still recommended to always remove any jewelry before engaging in vigorous physical activities, such as exercise or sports. When removing jewelry, do not pull from the stone as this can weaken prongs, eventually leading to a lost stone. When storing malaya garnet gems and jewelry, wrap them in a soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: April-11-2013
  • Last Updated: December-17-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart