search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

亚历山大变石宝石信息

亚历山大变石宝石 - GemSelect - 大图
从 GemSelect 购买变色宝石
关于亚历山大变石 - 历史和介绍

亚历山大变石是当今所有有色宝石中最稀有的一种。更具体地说,它是一种极其罕见的金绿玉(一种环硅酸盐)变色品种。尽管它的名字, 金绿玉是铍的铝酸盐,实际上并不属于绿柱石矿物群,而是归类为自己独立的矿物群。

亚历山大变石的历史颇有争议,可以追溯到俄罗斯帝国时代。据说这块石头以俄罗斯沙皇亚历山大二世 (1818 - 1881) 的名字命名,但它是由芬兰矿物学家 Nils Gustaf Nordenskiöld (1792 - 1866) 发现的。当 Nordenskiöld 于 1834 年首次发现亚历山大变石时,最初人们认为它是祖母绿,因为它是在俄罗斯乌拉尔地区托科瓦亚河附近的祖母绿矿中发现的。该标本后来被鉴定为含铬、变色的金绿玉品种。传说,亚历山大变石的发现是在未来的俄罗斯沙皇成年的那天发现的。不可避免地,红绿变色石被宣布为俄罗斯帝国沙皇的官方宝石。

颜色变化在亚历山大变石中看到的现象被称为“亚历山大变石效应”。在某些照明条件下,通常是在日光和白炽灯照明下,可以观察到颜色的变化。亚历山大变石也是一种强多向色宝石.根据观察宝石的角度,它可以显示翠绿色、红色、橙色和黄色。这多向色性亚历山大变石的特性完全独立于其独特的变色能力。通常,亚历山大变石在日光下呈翠绿色,在白炽灯下呈覆盆子红色。亚历山大变石也可能呈现淡黄色和粉红色,极其稀有的标本可以表现出白光( 猫眼) 切开时的效果凸圆面.颜色变化“翠绿宝石效应”是色谱中黄色和蓝色部分的强吸收光的结果。

亚历山大变石
鉴别亚历山大变石回到顶部

大多数金绿玉是由铁着色的,但翠绿宝石的颜色是铬痕量的结果。通过光谱分析和测试,可以将亚历山大变石与其他类似宝石区分开来。普通的金绿玉标本也可能含有铬着色剂,但除非它们表现出变色能力,否则只能将它们鉴定为金绿玉而不是变石。

亚历山大变石产地和宝石来源回到顶部

亚历山大变石的原始来源是在俄罗斯的乌拉尔地区,但这些矿山早已枯竭。很长一段时间以来,乌拉尔开采出来的矿山被认为是大型变石的唯一来源,特别是重达 5 克拉或以上的标本,但最近在 1987 年,在巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州发现了大型标本。亚历山大变石的其他来源包括缅甸(缅甸)、斯里兰卡、坦桑尼亚、印度(安得拉邦)和马达加斯加。

购买亚历山大变石并确定其宝石价值回到顶部

亚历山大变石颜色

亚历山大变石的绿色色调是铬杂质的结果。铬与祖母绿中发现的着色元素相同,祖母绿是珍贵的绿柱石的绿色品种。众所周知,斯里兰卡(锡兰)亚历山大变石会呈现卡其色到棕色的变化。源自津巴布韦的亚历山大变石通常颜色变化很小,通常颜色较深,带有紫色调。坦桑尼亚标本往往以较浅的色调出现,并具有中等至良好的颜色变化。众所周知,巴西变石是高度饱和的,呈现蓝色到紫色的变化。最令人向往的亚历山大变石是那些色调纯正、变色能力强的宝石。

亚历山大变石的净度和光泽

亚历山大变石通常净度干净,一旦切割和抛光,就会呈现玻璃光泽。原石中的亚历山大变石可以从透明到不透明。优质的亚历山大变石被认为比蓝宝石、祖母绿和红宝石更有价值,尤其是重量超过 1 克拉的亚历山大变石。众所周知,斯里兰卡出产最干净的亚历山大变石,通常根本没有任何可见的内含物。

亚历山大变石切割和形状

很少发现大尺寸的亚历山大变石。任何重量超过三克拉的标本都被认为是极为罕见的。最大的切割变石宝石重 66 克拉,目前位于华盛顿特区的史密森学会。亚历山大变石通常以传统形状刻面,如椭圆形、圆形、梨形、马眼形和枕形切割,但也常见于花式切割,如心形和万亿颗形切割。它们通常不会被切割成凸圆形,除非它们具有光亮的特性。

亚历山大变石处理

亚历山大变石宝石通常未经处理,但仿石确实存在。有时,亚历山大变石可能会被染色或上油,但这并不常见。许多亚历山大变石是合成的(实验室生长的),其他可能是天然的“模拟”宝石,例如变色石榴石、蓝宝石或尖晶石。许多实验室培育的(合成)亚历山大变石实际上是刚玉(红宝石/蓝宝石),已掺入或注入铬或钒以提供颜色。制造合成亚历山大变石非常昂贵,因此即使是实验室培育的宝石也可能非常昂贵。自 1960 年代以来,合成变石已在市场上销售。

亚历山大变石的宝石学特性: 回到顶部
化学式: BeAl2O4 - 铝酸铍氧化物
晶体结构:斜方晶系
颜色:金黄、绿、绿黄、棕、红、多色
硬度: 8.5 莫氏硬度
折射率: 1.746 - 1.763
密度: 3.70 - 3.78
解理:好的
透明度:透明到不透明
双折射/双折射:从 0.007 到 0.011
光泽:玻璃
荧光:通常没有
亚历山大变石宝石品种或其他类似宝石: 回到顶部
金绿宝石猫眼品种
金绿宝石猫眼

亚历山大变石是一种罕见的颜色变化和含铬的金绿玉品种。还有一些其他的金绿玉品种可供选择;大多数是根据光学特性进行分类的,例如颜色、颜色变化效果和光晕。还有几种宝石类型经常被混淆或用作变石的仿制品,如变色石榴石、尖晶石和蓝宝石;但它们都不是亚历山大变石或金绿玉的实际品种。

最受欢迎的相关宝石:

金绿玉和金绿宝石猫眼(cymophane)是变石绿宝石中最受欢迎的品种。

鲜为人知的相关宝石:

猫眼变石 (cymophane 变石)、粉红色变石、黄色变石 (cymophane) 和钒金绿玉是可用的最稀有的金绿玉品种。

亚历山大变石宝石神话、形而上学和替代水晶治疗能力回到顶部

亚历山大变石是一种与纪律和自我控制相关的石头。许多人认为亚历山大变石和金绿宝石可以促进注意力集中并增强学习能力。它还有助于唤起宝石的佩戴者追求卓越。据说金绿宝石能给心灵带来平静,使人思路清晰,并且能够增加自信心。

在俄罗斯传说中,亚历山大变石水晶力量被认为给它的主人带来好运、财富和爱情。据说也有好兆头。亚历山大变石被认为是可以连接物质世界和精神世界的石头。它是与冠脉轮相关的石头,因此它携带强大、温暖的治疗能量,并被认为能够增强创造力、想象力和直觉。亚历山大变石是六月的生辰石,佩戴亚历山大变石的人将获得它所拥有的诸多好处和占星术的力量。

免责声明:形而上学和替代水晶治疗能力和属性不应被视为已确认的建议。如果您有任何健康状况,请去看有执照的医生。此信息不能取代您的医生的建议。 GemSelect 不保证任何索赔或声明,并且在任何情况下都不承担任何责任。
亚历山大变石宝石和珠宝设计理念回到顶部

大多数大型亚历山大变石宝石只能在旧时期的珠宝中找到,因为新材料极为罕见。许多英国维多利亚时代的珠宝设计都采用亚历山大变石,但大多是较小的宝石。俄罗斯古董珠宝设计以使用一些最大的亚历山大变石而闻名。

亚历山大变石是一种坚硬耐用的石头,因此它们非常适合任何珠宝设计,例如戒指、耳环、吊坠、胸针、别针和吊坠。由于它们通常非常小且价格昂贵,因此它们通常被镶嵌并用作主石而不是中心石。它们非常适合制作光环珠宝设计以及永恒和周年纪念乐队。对于那些有幸庆祝结婚 55 周年的人来说,亚历山大变石是代表这个非凡周年的官方宝石。最好有源码匹配亚历山大变石批次,因为它们主要用于需要多颗相同尺寸宝石的特定珠宝设计。

注意:按尺寸而非克拉重量购买有色宝石。不同颜色的宝石尺寸重量比.相比之下,有些宝石比钻石大,有些比钻石小。

亚历山大变石宝石和珠宝保养和清洁回到顶部

如何清洁您的宝石一般来说,亚历山大变石和金绿玉非常耐用,适合日常佩戴。即便如此,妥善保养您的珠宝或宝石仍然很重要。使用温和的肥皂和温至室温的水可以轻松清洁亚历山大变石。可以使用软布或软毛牙刷擦拭亚历山大变石宝石。确保避免使用任何刺激性化学品或漂白剂,并冲洗干净以确保彻底去除所有肥皂残留物。

亚历山大变石足够耐用,可以使用超声波清洁器或蒸汽清洁,但在使用这些方法时应始终小心。在进行任何剧烈的体力活动或家务劳动之前,请务必取下亚历山大变石和珠宝。取下珠宝时,请勿从宝石上拔出,因为这样做会削弱金属或镶爪,最终导致宝石丢失。亚历山大变石比大多数其他宝石更硬,这意味着它们很容易划伤较软的石头,如石英、电气石、锆石和尖晶石。因此,在存放松散的变石宝石和宝石首饰时,要用柔软的保护布将它们包裹起来,并与其他宝石分开存放。

  • 首次发布于: 八月-04-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 七月-07-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

9828

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (136)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Alexandrite Info

Alexandrite Gemstone Information

About Alexandrite - History and Introduction

Alexandrite is one of the rarest of all colored gemstones available today. More specifically, it is an extremely rare color change variety of chrysoberyl (a cyclosilicate). Despite its name, chrysoberyl, which is an aluminate of beryllium, does not actually belong to the beryl mineral group, but rather, it is classified as its own independent mineral group.

The history of alexandrite is quite controversial, dating back to the times of Imperial Russia. It is said that the stone was named after the Russian tsar, Alexander II (1818 - 1881), but was discovered by a French mineralist called Nils Gustaf Nordenskiöld (1792 - 1866). When Nordenskiöld first discovered alexandrite in 1834, it was initially thought to be an emerald because it was discovered in emerald mines located in Russia's Ural region, near the Tokovaya River. The specimen was later identified as a chromium bearing, color change variety of chrysoberyl. Legends claim that the discovery of alexandrite was made on the very day the future tsar of Russia became of age. Inevitably, the red and green color change stone was to be declared the official gemstone of Imperial Russia's Tsardom.

The color change phenomenon seen in alexandrite is referred to as the 'alexandrite effect'. The change in color can be observed under certain lighting conditions, typically under daylight and incandescent lighting. Alexandrite is also a strongly pleochroic gem. It can display emerald green, red, orange and yellow colors depending on which angle the stone is viewed from. The pleochroic properties of alexandrite are completely independent from its unique color change ability. Typically, alexandrite exhibits an emerald-green color in daylight, and raspberry-red under incandescent lighting. Alexandrite can also occur with yellowish and pink colors, and extremely rare specimens can exhibit chatoyancy (cat's eye) effects when cut en cabochon. The color change 'alexandrite effect' is a result of the strong absorption of light in the yellow and blue portions of the color spectrum.

Alexandrite Gemstone
Color Change Alexandrite
Click to enlarge image
Identifying Alexandrite Back to Top

Most chrysoberyl is colored by iron, but alexandrite color is a result of chromium traces. Through spectroscopic analysis and testing, alexandrite can be distinguished from other similar stones. Ordinary specimens of chrysoberyl may also contain chromium coloring agents, but unless they exhibit a color change ability, they are only identified as chrysoberyl and not alexandrite.

Alexandrite Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

The original source for alexandrite was in the Ural region of Russia, but these mines have long been depleted. For quite some time, the worked out mines of the Urals were thought to have been the only source for large alexandrite stones, specifically specimens weighing 5 carats or more, but very recently in 1987, large specimens were discovered in Minas Gerais, Brazil. Other sources for alexandrite include Myanmar (Burma), Sri Lanka, Tanzania, India (Andhra Pradesh) and Madagascar.

Buying Alexandrite and Determining its Gemstone Value Back to Top

Alexandrite Color

Alexandrite's green hue is a result of chromium impurities. Chromium is the same coloring element found in emerald, the green variety of precious beryl. Sri Lanka (Ceylon) alexandrite is known to exhibit a khaki to brown color change. Alexandrite with Zimbabwe origin usually has very little color change and they are typically darker in color with tints of purple. Tanzanian specimens tend to occur with lighter tones and possess moderate to good color change. Brazilian alexandrite is known to be highly saturated and exhibits a blue to purplish color change. The most desirable alexandrites are those with pure hues and a strong color change ability.

Alexandrite Clarity and Luster

Alexandrite stones are typically clean in clarity and once cut and polished, the will exhibit a vitreous luster. Alexandrite in the rough can range from transparent to opaque. Fine alexandrite is considered to be more valuable than blue sapphire, emerald and ruby, especially alexandrite over 1 carat in weight. Sri Lanka is known to produce the cleanest alexandrites, often lacking any visible inclusions at all.

Alexandrite Cut and Shape

Alexandrite is rarely found in large sizes. Any specimens weighing over three carats are considered to be extremely rare. The largest cut alexandrite gemstone weighs 66 carats and is currently located in Washington, D.C.'s Smithsonian Institution. Alexandrites are often faceted in traditional shapes such as oval, round, pear, marquise and cushion cuts, but they are also commonly found in fancy shapes such as heart and trillions cuts too. They are not typically cut en cabochon, unless they possess chatoyant properties.

Alexandrite Treatment

Alexandrite gemstones are typically untreated, but imitation stones do exist. Occasionally, alexandrite stones may be dyed or oiled, but this is not very common. Many alexandrites are synthetic (lab-grown) and others may be natural 'simulated' gemstones, such as color change garnet, sapphire or spinel. Many lab-grown (synthetic) alexandrite stones are actually corundum (ruby / sapphire) that has been laced or infused with either chromium or vanadium to provide color. It is very expensive to create synthetic alexandrite, so even lab-grown stones can be very costly. Synthetic alexandrite has been available on the market since the 1960s.

Alexandrite Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: BeAl2O4 - Beryllium aluminate oxide
Crystal Structure: Orthorhombic
Color: Golden yellow, green, green yellow, brownish, red, multicolor
Hardness: 8.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.746 - 1.763
Density: 3.70 - 3.78
Cleavage: Good
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction / Birefringence: From 0.007 to 0.011
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Typically none
Alexandrite Gemstone Varieties or other Similar Gemstones: Back to Top
Chrysoberyl Cat's Eye Variety
Chrysoberyl Cat's Eye

Alexandrite is a rare color change and chromium-bearing variety of chrysoberyl. There are a few other chrysoberyl varieties available; most are categorized because of an optical property, such as color, color change effect and chatoyancy. There are also several gem types that are often confused or used as imitations of alexandrite, such as color change garnet, spinel and sapphire; but none of them are actual varieties of alexandrite or chrysoberyl.

Most Popular Related Gemstones:

Chrysoberyl and chrysoberyl cat's eye (cymophane) are the most popular varieties of alexandrite chrysoberyl.

Lesser Known Related Gemstones:

Cat's eye alexandrite (cymophane alexandrite), pink alexandrite, yellow alexandrite (cymophane) and vanadium chrysoberyl are among the rarest varieties of chrysoberyl available.

Alexandrite Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Alexandrite is a stone that is associated with discipline and self-control. Many believe that alexandrite and chrysoberyl stones can promote concentration and strengthen the ability to learn. It also helps in evoking the wearer of the stone to strive for excellence. Chrysoberyl gemstones are said to bring peace to the mind, clear one's thinking and they have the ability to increase self-confidence.

In Russian legend, alexandrite crystal powers were thought to carry good luck, fortune and love to its owner. It is also said to carry a good omen. Alexandrite was believed to be the stone that could bridge the physical and spiritual world. It is a stone associated with the crown chakra and so it carries strong, warm healing energies and is believed to be able to strengthen creativity, imagination and intuition. Alexandrite is the birthstone for June, and whoever wears alexandrite will reap the many benefits and astrological powers it possesses.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed practitioner. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements made and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Alexandrite Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Most large alexandrite gemstones can only be found in old period jewelry, since new material is so extremely rare. Many English Victorian jewelry designs feature alexandrite stones, but mostly smaller stones. Antique Russian jewelry designs are famous for using some of the largest alexandrites available.

Alexandrites are a hard and durable stone, and so they are ideal for any jewelry design such as rings, earrings, pendants, brooches, pins and pendants. Since they are often very small and expensive, they are usually set and utilized as accent stones rather than center stones. They are perfect for creating halo jewelry designs as well as eternity and anniversary bands. For those fortunate enough to celebrate 55 years of marriage, alexandrite is the official gemstone representing this remarkable anniversary. It is best to source matching alexandrite lots, because they are mainly used for specific jewelry designs requiring multiple stones of the same size.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Alexandrite Gemstone and Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to Clean your GemstonesAlexandrite and chrysoberyl in general is a very durable and is suitable for everyday wear. Even so, it is still important to properly care for your jewelry or stones. Alexandrite can be easily cleaned using a mild soap and warm to room-temperature water. Alexandrite gemstones can be wiped down using a soft cloth or a soft bristle toothbrush. Be sure to avoid any harsh chemicals or bleach and also rinse well to ensure all soapy residue is thoroughly removed.

Alexandrite is durable enough to be cleaned using ultrasonic cleaners or steam, but care should always be taken when using these methods. Always remove alexandrite and jewelry before any vigorous physical activity or household chores. When removing jewelry, it is important to not pull from the stone, because doing so can weaken the metal or prongs and eventually lead to a lost stone. Alexandrites are harder than most other gemstones, which means they can easily scratch softer stones such as quartz, tourmaline, zircon and spinel. Therefore, when storing loose alexandrite gemstones and gemstone jewelry, wrap them with a soft protective cloth and store them separately from other gemstones.

  • First Published: June-18-2013
  • Last Updated: September-21-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart