search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses scapolite

Pierres précieuses scapolite de GemSelect - Grande image
Achetez des pierres précieuses Scapolite sur GemSelect

À propos de Scapolite - Histoire et introduction

La scapolite est une pierre précieuse rare qui doit son nom au mot grec « skapos » qui signifie bâton ou tige, en raison de la longue formation en colonnes de ses cristaux. La couleur la plus courante de la scapolite est le jaune miel, mais elle peut aussi être violette, orange, rose, brune, grise ou incolore. Sa brillance et son éclat vitreux en font une pierre précieuse et un objet de collection recherché. La scapolite est également appelée « wernérite », du nom de son découvreur. Les autres pseudonymes de la scapolite sont la mizzonite, le dipyre, la marialite et la méionite.

La scapolite de qualité pierre précieuse est extrêmement rare et est recherchée par les collectionneurs de pierres précieuses et de minéraux. En raison de la rareté des matériaux transparents de qualité gemme, la scapolite est considérée comme l'une des pierres précieuses « les moins connues ». Il lui manque également la dureté et la durabilité nécessaires à la plupart des bijoux traditionnels, c'est pourquoi il est classé comme pierre de collection. En de rares occasions, la scapolite peut présenter des effets « œil de chat » ou de chatoyance. Scapolite oeil de chat est exceptionnellement rare et très précieux. Une autre variété rare de scapolite est commercialisée sous le nom de « scapolite arc-en-ciel » et contient des inclusions irisées.

La scapolite a été découverte pour la première fois dans le nord de la Birmanie (Myanmar) en 1913, sous la forme de cristaux fibreux blancs, roses et violets. En 1920, la scapolite jaune est découverte à Madagascar et dix ans plus tard au Brésil. Ces découvertes ont été suivies par d'autres au Mozambique, au Kenya et en Tanzanie. Une variété violette de scapolite de Tanzanie, découverte en 1975, est appelée petschite.

Pierre précieuse scapolite jaune

Identifier la scapolite

Retour au sommet

La scapolite est souvent confondue avec la topaze dorée, le béryl doré, le chrysobéryl et la tourmaline, mais ces types de pierres précieuses sont beaucoup plus dures que la scapolite. La scapolite peut souvent être facilement identifiée grâce à de simples tests de dureté. La scapolite œil de chat a des « yeux » très distincts et clairs, ce qui peut être utile lorsque l'on essaie de l'identifier parmi d'autres pierres précieuses chatoyantes. La scapolite est étroitement liée au diopside et à la chrysolite, également connue sous le nom d'olivine ou de péridot. La distinction de ces matériaux nécessite des méthodes de test avancées, telles que les tests de fluorescence, de composition, de densité, d'indices de réfraction et de structure cristalline.

Scapolite; Origine et sources de pierres précieuses

Retour au sommet

La scapolite de qualité gemme est extrêmement rare, mais on peut la trouver dans de nombreux endroits à travers le monde. On pense que la Tanzanie produit des matériaux de la plus haute qualité. D'autres sources notables incluent le Brésil, la Birmanie (Myanmar), le Canada, l'Italie, le Kenya, Madagascar, le Mexique, la Namibie, la Norvège et les États-Unis. Le Canada est connu pour une variété marbrée de scapolite, étroitement associée au diopside. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un matériau opaque, le motif marbré constitue une pierre précieuse intéressante lorsqu’il est taillé en cabochon.

Acheter de la scapolite et déterminer la valeur des pierres précieuses de la scapolite

Retour au sommet

Couleur de la scapolite

La couleur la plus courante de la scapolite est le jaune miel, mais elle est disponible dans d'autres couleurs comme l'orange, le violet, le rose, le marron, le gris et l'incolore. La scapolite œil de chat se présente souvent en verdâtre, marron et gris. La scapolite violet vif est considérée comme la plus précieuse. Les pierres de scapolite à haute intensité de couleur sont les plus recherchées.

Clarté et éclat de la Scapolite

La scapolite est transparente à translucide et présente généralement une excellente transparence. Les inclusions sont assez fréquentes, surtout dans les spécimens plus gros. Toutes les pierres précieuses scapolite présentent un éclat vitreux lorsqu’elles sont taillées et polies. Certaines pierres précieuses translucides de scapolite ont des inclusions qui entraînent chatoyance (effet oeil de chat). Ces pierres précieuses scapolites œil de chat sont rares et extrêmement recherchées car elles présentent une chatoyance claire et nette. Dans les pierres précieuses où la chatoyance est indistincte, elles peuvent présenter adularescence , (une douce lueur blanche). « Scapolite arc-en-ciel » est le nom commercial donné à la scapolite qui contient des inclusions irisées, qui peuvent présenter des couleurs spectrales. La scapolite arc-en-ciel peut avoir une couleur de corps incolore et transparente ou une couleur de corps grisâtre plus foncée et translucide. Comme la scapolite œil de chat, l'irisation est mieux visible sous une lumière focalisée, comme une lampe-stylo.

Coupe et forme de la scapolite

La scapolite est généralement facettée dans une variété de formes et de styles de coupe, notamment ovale, ronde, coussin, rectangulaire, trillion, poire et autres formes fantaisie. Les tailles calibrées peuvent exiger des primes élevées. La scapolite se trouve souvent en très grande taille. En fait, la plupart des pierres précieuses scapolite pèsent plus de 6 carats. Les matériaux translucides sont généralement taillés en cabochon pour maximiser leur chatoyance, tout comme les pierres précieuses de scapolite arc-en-ciel.

Traitement à la scapolite

La scapolite n'est généralement pas traitée ou améliorée de quelque manière que ce soit, mais certaines pierres de couleur lavande sont connues pour être traitées thermiquement ou irradiées. La scapolite irradiée commence généralement par une pierre précieuse jaune et donne une couleur lavande, bien que la scapolite naturellement violette soit également disponible. On sait que les pierres de scapolite traitées se décolorent avec l’exposition à la chaleur et à la lumière. La scapolite violette naturelle ne se décolore pas.

Propriétés gemmologiques de la scapolite :

Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: Na4Al6Si6O24(CO3SO4) Silicate d'aluminium et de calcium sodique
Structure en cristal: Tétragonal, en colonne
Couleur: Jaune, orange, rose, violet, marron, gris, incolore
Dureté: 5,5 à 6 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1.540 - 1.579
Densité: 2,57 - 2,74
Clivage: Bien
Transparence: Transparent, translucide
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : -0,006 à -0,037
Lustre: Vitreux
Fluorescence: Rose : orange, rose ; Jaune : violet, bleu-rouge

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Scapolite : pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires

Retour au sommet
Scapolite oeil de chat
Scapolite oeil de chat

La scapolite ne possède pas beaucoup de pierres précieuses étroitement apparentées, mais elle présente des associations minérales étroites avec le diopside. L'une des variétés opaques, jaunâtres ou grises de scapolite du Québec, au Canada, est une source bien connue et est souvent utilisée par les créateurs de bijoux canadiens locaux. Le matériau canadien est opaque avec des motifs marbrés et souvent multicolores. Il possède un niveau de fluorescence particulièrement élevé, ce qui le rend tout à fait identifiable. La scapolite est un produit d'altération du feldspath plagioclase, on sait donc que la scapolite partage de nombreuses similitudes avec certaines pierres précieuses de feldspath. La scapolite étant une altération du plagioclase, elle partage des propriétés similaires avec d'autres feldspaths.

Les variétés de scapolite dorées, jaunes et jaune-vert sont en fait parfois considérées comme une variété de "chrysolithe" , autrement connu sous le nom olivine et péridot . Il existe également plusieurs possibilités de confusion basées uniquement sur l'apparence, telles que chrysobéryl , béryl doré (héliodore) , sphène , péridot, tourmaline et même quartz rose .

Noms commerciaux de pierres précieuses et associations de minéraux les plus populaires :
Le diopside, le feldspath plagioclase, l'olivine, le péridot, la petschite (scapolite violette tanzanienne), la scapolite œil de chat, la scapolite violette, la scapolite arc-en-ciel et la scapolite rose sont les noms commerciaux et associations minérales les plus courants.

Noms commerciaux de pierres précieuses et associations de minéraux moins connus :
La wernerite, la « pierre de lune rose », la scapolite oeil de chat lavande, la scapolite oeil de chat violet, la scapolite oeil de chat rose, la mizzonite, le dipyre, la marialite et la méionite sont des noms commerciaux de pierres précieuses et des associations de minéraux moins connus.

Mythologie des pierres précieuses de scapolite, pouvoirs métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux

Retour au sommet

La scapolite n'est pas une pierre précieuse très connue, elle ne possède donc pas la légende, les traditions et les croyances de la plupart des pierres précieuses les plus populaires. Il ne s’agit pas d’une pierre de naissance officiellement connue et n’a pas non plus d’objectif planétaire ou zodiacal officiel. Cependant, il véhicule toujours une énergie très forte, tant pour les maux mentaux que physiques. Cela est dû à sa grande variété de couleurs. On pense que chaque couleur aide dans des domaines spécifiques de la vie ou de l’énergie. En général, la scapolite peut vous aider à trouver des solutions aux problèmes passés et présents. C’est pourquoi la scapolite est connue comme une pierre permettant de résoudre des problèmes. C'est aussi une pierre de réussite. Cela peut contribuer à apporter des changements et fournir une inspiration et un but à votre vie et à celle de ceux qui vous entourent. Dans les systèmes de croyance hindous traditionnels, on pense que la scapolite équilibre le flux d’énergie dans les chakras inférieurs ainsi qu’Anahata ou chakra du cœur, qui régit la prise de décision, les émotions et l’amour. Physiquement, on pense que la scapolite aide à lutter contre le glaucome et la cataracte. On pense également qu’il soulage les douleurs dans les épaules, le cou, la tête et le haut de la poitrine. La scapolite arc-en-ciel avec des inclusions de magnétite est utilisée dans les bijoux de guérison par les cristaux. La magnétite est un membre magnétique du groupe des spinelles et certains pensent qu'elle possède des propriétés magnétiques bénéfiques.

Avertissement : Les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. La tradition traditionnelle, cérémoniale et mythologique des pierres précieuses est collectée à partir de diverses ressources et ne représente pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne doivent pas remplacer les conseils de votre médecin. Si vous avez des problèmes de santé, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration concernant les pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologique et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.

Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux en scapolite

Retour au sommet

La scapolite est extrêmement rare et pratiquement inconnue de la plupart. Ce n'est pas un type de pierre précieuse que vous trouverez dans les bijouteries locales, il y a donc peu ou pas de demande pour les bijoux en scapolite. Cependant, en raison des couleurs attrayantes de la scapolite, en particulier le jaune miel, vous pouvez trouver des modèles de bijoux rares intégrant des pierres précieuses de scapolite. Ces créations de bijoux seront généralement réalisées par de vrais connaisseurs de pierres précieuses. Si vous utilisez n’importe quel type de scapolite dans vos bijoux, il est préférable de limiter son utilisation aux boucles d’oreilles, épingles, pendentifs ou broches, en raison de son manque de durabilité. La scapolite a un bon niveau de brillance et un éclat vitreux attrayant, donc lorsqu'elle est sertie de métaux précieux blancs ou jaunes, les résultats peuvent être fantastiques. La scapolite oeil de chat est idéale pour les boucles d'oreilles à cabochon, mais ne convient pas vraiment comme bague à cabochon en pierres précieuses car elle est plutôt douce. La chatoyance est particulièrement forte avec la scapolite, et l'effet œil de chat peut souvent être très frappant.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d’autres sont plus petites que les diamants en comparaison.

Célèbres pierres précieuses de scapolite

Retour au sommet

Le maître lapidaire Buzz Gray et la créatrice de bijoux Bernadine Johnston ont créé une série de broches papillon en pierres précieuses qui sont exposées au musée d'histoire naturelle de Los Angeles. Un papillon, appelé « Ninja », présente des pierres précieuses violettes de scapolite tanzanienne.

Entretien et nettoyage des bijoux en pierres précieuses Scapolite

Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses La dureté Mohs de la Scapolite de 5,5 à 6 signifie qu'elle doit être correctement entretenue afin de conserver sa beauté. Étant donné que la poussière domestique contient du quartz, qui a une dureté de 7 sur l'échelle de Mohs, le simple fait d'essuyer la poussière d'une pierre précieuse scapolite pourrait provoquer des rayures. La meilleure façon de nettoyer les pierres précieuses scapolite est d’utiliser de l’eau savonneuse et un chiffon doux. Assurez-vous de bien rincer pour éliminer les résidus de savon. Ne pas exposer la scapolite à des changements brusques de température. Comme pour la plupart des pierres précieuses, les nettoyeurs à ultrasons et les cuiseurs à vapeur ne sont pas recommandés. Retirez toujours tous les bijoux ou pierres précieuses avant de faire de l'exercice, de nettoyer ou de vous engager dans des activités physiques difficiles telles que le sport. La scapolite peut être facilement rayée par des substances plus dures, elle doit donc être conservée à l'écart des autres pierres précieuses. Il est préférable d'envelopper les pierres précieuses dans un chiffon doux ou de les placer dans une boîte à bijoux recouverte de tissu.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

34438

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Scapolite Info

Scapolite Gemstone Information

About Scapolite - History and Introduction

Scapolite is a rare gemstone that is named after the Greek word, "skapos" meaning stick or stem, due to the long columnar formation of its crystals. The most common color of scapolite is honey yellow, but it can also be violet, orange, pink, brown, gray or colorless. Its brilliance and vitreous luster make it a desirable gemstone and collector's item. Scapolite is also referred to as "wernerite", after its discoverer. Other pseudonyms for scapolite are mizzonite, dipyre, marialite and meionite.

Fine gemstone quality scapolite is extremely rare and is sought after by gem and mineral collectors. Due to the rarity of transparent gem quality material, scapolite is considered to be one of the 'lesser-known' gemstones. It also lacks the hardness and durability for most mainstream jewelry use, so it is classified as a collector's stone. On rare occasion, scapolite can exhibit 'cat's eye' or chatoyancy effects. Cat's eye scapolite is exceptionally rare and very valuable. Another rare variety of scapolite is traded as 'rainbow scapolite', and contains iridescent inclusions.

Scapolite was first discovered in Northern Burma (Myanmar) in 1913, in the form of fibrous white, pink and violet crystals. In 1920, yellow scapolite was discovered in Madagascar and ten years later in Brazil. These discoveries were followed by more in Mozambique, Kenya and Tanzania. A purple variety of scapolite from Tanzania, discovered in 1975 is called petschite.

Yellow Scapolite Gemstone
Yellow Scapolite Gemstone
Identifying Scapolite Back to Top

Scapolite is often confused with golden topaz, golden beryl, chrysoberyl and tourmaline, but these gem types are much harder than scapolite. Scapolite can often be easily identified through simple testing for hardness. Cat's eye scapolite has very distinct and clear 'eyes', which can be helpful when trying to identify it from other chatoyant gemstones. Scapolite is closely related to diopside and chrysolite, also known as olivine or peridot. Distinguishing these materials requires advanced testing methods, such as testing for fluorescence, composition, specific gravity, refractive indices and crystal structure.

Scapolite; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Gem quality scapolite is extremely rare, but it can be found in a number of locations around the world. Tanzania is thought to produce the highest quality material. Other notable sources include Brazil, Burma (Myanmar), Canada, Italy, Kenya, Madagascar, Mexico, Namibia, Norway and the USA. Canada is known for a mottled variety of scapolite, closely associated with diopside. Although it is an opaque material, the mottled pattern makes an interesting gemstone when cut en cabochon.

Buying Scapolite and Determining Scapolite Gemstone Value Back to Top

Scapolite Color

The most common color of scapolite is honey yellow, but it is available in other colors such as orange, violet, pink, brown, grey and colorless. Cat's eye scapolite often occurs in greenish, brown and grey. Bright purple scapolite is considered to be the most valuable. Scapolite stones with high color intensity are the most desirable.

Scapolite Clarity and Luster

Scapolite is transparent to translucent and typically occurs with excellent transparency. Inclusions are quite common, especially in larger specimens. All scapolite gemstones exhibit a vitreous luster when cut and polished. Some translucent scapolite gemstones have inclusions that result in chatoyancy (cat's eye effect). These cat's eye scapolite gemstones are rare and extremely desirable because they exhibit a clear and sharp chatoyancy. In gemstones where the chatoyancy is indistinct, they may exhibit adularescence, (a soft white glow). 'Rainbow scapolite' is the trade name given to scapolite that contains iridescent inclusions, which may exhibit spectral colors. Rainbow scapolite may have a colorless, transparent body color, or a darker, translucent greyish body color. Like cat's eye scapolite, the iridescence is best viewed under focused light, such as a penlight.

Scapolite Cut and Shape

Scapolite is typically faceted in a variety of shapes and cut styles, including oval, round, cushion, rectangular, trillion, pear and other fancy shapes. Calibrated sizes can demand high premiums. Scapolite is often found in very large sizes. In fact, most scapolite gemstones are over 6 carats in weight. Translucent materials are typically cut en cabochon to maximize their chatoyancy, as are rainbow scapolite gems.

Scapolite Treatment

Scapolite is not typically treated or enhanced in any way, but some lavender colored stones have been known to be heat treated or irradiated. Irradiated scapolite usually begins as a yellow gemstone and results in a lavender color, though naturally violet scapolite is also available. Treated scapolite stones are known to fade with exposure to heat and light. Natural purple scapolite does not fade in color.

Scapolite Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Na4Al6Si6O24(CO3SO4) Sodium calcium aluminum silicate
Crystal Structure: Tetragonal, columnar
Color: Yellow, orange, pink, violet, brown, grey, colorless
Hardness: 5.5 - 6 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.540 - 1.579
Density: 2.57 - 2.74
Cleavage: Good
Transparency: Transparent, translucent
Double Refraction or Birefringence: -0.006 to -0.037
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Pink: orange, pink; Yellow: violet, blue-red

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Scapolite: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Cat's Eye Scapolite
Cat's Eye Scapolite

Scapolite does not have too many closely related gemstones, but it does have close mineral associations with diopside. One of the opaque, yellowish or gray varieties of scapolite from Quebec, Canada is a well-known source, and is often used by local Canadian jewelry designers. The Canadian material occurs opaque with mottled patterns and often multicolored. It has an especially strong level of fluorescence, which makes it quite identifiable. Scapolite is an alteration product of plagioclase feldspar, so scapolite is known to share many similarities with some feldspar gemstones. Since scapolite is an alteration of plagioclase, it shares similar properties with other feldspars.

Golden, yellow and yellow-green varieties of scapolite are actually sometimes considered to be a variety of "chrysolite", otherwise known as olivine and peridot. There are also several possibilities for confusion based on appearance alone, such as chrysoberyl, golden beryl (heliodor), sphene, peridot, tourmaline and even rose quartz.

Most Popular Gemstone Trade Names and Mineral Associations:
Diopside, plagioclase feldspar, olivine, peridot, petschite (purple Tanzanian scapolite), cat's eye scapolite, violet scapolite, rainbow scapolite and pink scapolite are the most common trade names and mineral associations.

Lesser-Known Gemstone Trade Names and Mineral Associations:
Wernerite, 'pink moonstone', lavender cat's eye scapolite, violet cat's eye scapolite, pink cat's eye scapolite, mizzonite, dipyre, marialite and meionite are lesser known gemstone trade names and mineral associations.

Scapolite Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Scapolite is not a very well-known gemstone, so it lacks the legend, lore and beliefs that many of the more popular gems have. It is not an officially known birthstone, nor does have any official planetary or zodiac purposes. However, it does still carry a very strong energy, for both mental and physical ailments. This is due to its wide variety of colors. Each color is believed to help with specific areas of life or energy. In general, scapolite can help you find solutions to both past and present problems. This is why scapolite is known as a stone for problem solving. It is also a stone of achievement. It can help bring about change, and provide inspiration and purpose to your life and to those around you. In traditional Hindu belief systems, scapolite is thought to balance the flow of energy in the lower chakras as well as Anahata or the heart chakra, which governs decision making, the emotions and love. Physically, scapolite is thought to help with glaucoma and cataracts. It is also believed to alleviate pain in the shoulders, neck, head and upper chest. Rainbow scapolite with inclusions of magnetite is used in crystal healing jewelry. Magnetite is a magnetic member of the spinel group, and is believed by some to possess beneficial magnetic properties.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Scapolite Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Scapolite is extremely rare and virtually unheard of by most. It is not a type of gemstone you'll find in local jewelry stores, so there is little to no demand for scapolite jewelry. However, due to the attractive colors of scapolite, especially honey-yellow, you may find some rare jewelry designs that incorporate scapolite gemstones. These jewelry designs will be made usually by those who are true gem connoisseurs. If using any type of scapolite in jewelry, it is best to limit its use to earrings, pins, pendants or brooches, because of its lack of durability. Scapolite does have a good level of brilliance and an attractive vitreous luster, so when set with white or yellow precious metals, the results can be fantastic. Cat's eye scapolite is ideal for cabochon earrings, but not really suitable as a gemstone cabochon ring as it is rather soft. The chatoyancy is especially sharp with scapolite, and the cat's eye effect can often be very striking.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Famous Scapolite Gemstones Back to Top

Master lapidarist, Buzz Gray and jewelry designer, Bernadine Johnston have created a series of gemstone butterfly brooches that are exhibited in LA's Natural History Museum. One butterfly, called the "Ninja" features purple Tanzanian scapolite gemstones.

Scapolite Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesScapolite's Mohs scale hardness of 5.5 - 6 means that it should be properly cared for in order to maintain its beauty. Since household dust contains quartz, which has a Mohs scale hardness of 7, simply wiping dust from a scapolite gemstone could cause scratches. The best way to clean scapolite gemstones is by using soapy water and a soft cloth. Be sure to rinse well to remove soapy residue. Do not expose scapolite to sudden changes in temperature. As with most gemstones, ultrasonic cleaners and steamers are not recommended. Always remove any jewelry or gemstones before exercising, cleaning or engaging in harsh physical activities such as sports. Scapolite can be easily scratched by harder substances, so it should be stored away from other gemstones. It is best to wrap gemstones in soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: September-18-2013
  • Last Updated: July-27-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart