search
بواسطة تمت مراجعته من قبل Andreas Zabczyk

جواهر سيتا ديفي بارودا ؛ الهندي واليس سيمبسون

سيتا ديفي ترتدي مجوهرات رائعة
ماهاراني ديفي سيتا ترتدي مجوهرات رائعة

كانت سيتا ديفي من بارودا ابنة مهراجا بيثابورام. ولدت في مدراس عام 1917 وأصبحت فيما بعد واحدة من أكثرها شهرة براقة النساء في العالم. كان أسلوب حياتها أكثر سخاءً من العديد من نجوم بوليوود وهوليوود المعاصرين.

تزوجت سيتا ديفي من زمندار فوييرو ، ثم وقعت لاحقًا في حب الثامن أغنى رجل في العالم ، مهراجا براتاب سينغ راو جيكواد من بارودا. التقيا في عام 1943 في سباقات خيول مدراس. كان أيضًا متزوجًا بالفعل ، لكن سيتا ديفي أسرته. من أجل الحصول على الطلاق ، تحولت من الهندوسية إلى الإسلام ، وعندما تم الطلاق ، عادت إلى الهندوسية. ثم أخذ براتاب سينغ سيتا ديفي في المرتبة الثانية زوجة ، متحديًا قوانين مكافحة الجمع بين زوجتين التي كان جده قد سنها سابقًا. عندما استدعاه نائب الملك في الهند ، أوضح أن المهراجا نفسه معفي من القانون الذي يلتزم به رعاياه.

تزوج الزوجان في عام 1943 وبدأا أسلوب حياتهما الفخم ، والذي تضمن رحلة إلى الولايات المتحدة ، قيل أنهما أنفقا خلالها أكثر من 10 ملايين دولار. في عام 1946 ، استقروا في موناكو مع ابنهم ، Sayaji (الملقب بـ "Princie") ، وثروة هائلة من خزانة ولاية بارودا.

كان أحد الكنوز التي كانت بحوزة مهراجا ومهراني بارودا هو لؤلؤة الأحجار الكريمة سجادة بارودا. كان مهراجا سابقًا جامعًا متعطشًا لـ لا يقدر بثمن أحجار كريمة وصنع سجاد الأحجار الكريمة باللؤلؤ في حوالي عام 1860. ويقال أن إنتاجه استغرق خمس سنوات. يقال إن السجادة صممت لتغطية ضريح النبي محمد (صلى الله عليه وسلم) في المدينة المنورة. في عام 2009 ، باعت Sotheby's السجادة بالمزاد العلني في قطر مقابل 5.5 مليون دولار. على ما يبدو هذا العمل المذهلفن يحتوي على أكثر من مليون أحجار كريمة من لؤلؤ بذور البصرة ، إلى جانب خرز زجاجي ملون وأحجار ألماس ، أحجار كريمة ياقوت والأحجار الكريمة الزمرد و الياقوت مرصع بالذهب. سيكون معظم الناس محظوظين لامتلاك عدد قليل من أحجار كريمة تستخدم في سجاد بارودا من الأحجار الكريمة واللؤلؤ.

مهراجا بارودا يرتدي عقد من اللؤلؤ ذي السبعة حبال
مهراجا بارودا يرتدي عقدًا من الأحجار الكريمة من سبعة حبال من اللؤلؤ

كانت قلادة الأحجار الكريمة من لؤلؤة بارودا المكونة من سبعة خيوط هي واحدة من عقد جواهر جميلة التي شكلت واحدة من أهم قطع مجموعة مهراجا بارودا. عقد من خيطين يُعرف باسم أحجار لؤلؤ بارودا ، بقطع وسادة أبيض تم بيع مشبك الأحجار الكريمة الماسية بأكثر من 7 ملايين دولار في كريستيز نيويورك في عام 2007. تحتوي القلادة على 68 من أكبر أحجار كريمة لؤلؤة من قلادة السبعة ستراند الأصلية.

تم خلع المهراجا من قبل هندي الحكومة في عام 1951 ، الذي استولى على خزينة بارودا بعد بريطاني حكم الهند. وحل محله الابن الأكبر منذ زواجه الأول. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال الزوجان معروفين باسم مهراجا ومهراني بارودا. طلق سيتا ديفي وزوجها الثاني في عام 1956 ، وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير انتقل إلى هناك لندن وعاشوا حياة أكثر هدوءًا. واصلت السيدة ديفي التمتع بحياة الرفاهية واستخدام لقب مهاراني. حضرت هي وابنها الحبيب ، برينسي ، فعاليات المجتمع الراقي معًا.

كان يشار أحيانًا إلى ماهاراني سيتا ديفي من بارودا باسم " واليس سيمبسون "مثل الهند. في الواقع ، في عام 1957 ، قيل أن سيتا ديفي قد أدلت بملاحظة شهيرة حول قلادة ارتدتها واليس سيمبسون ، دوقة وندسور السابقة. هاري وينستون تتميز القلادة بكابوشون من أحجار كريمة الزمرد وأحجار ألماس مقطوعة على شكل وردة كانت السيدة ديفي تمتلكها سابقًا على شكل زوج من الأحجار الكريمة الخلخال . يُذكر أنه عند سماع مجاملات بخصوص عقد دوقة وندسور ، علقت السيدة ديفي بأن الأحجار الكريمة بدت جميلة على قدميها. دفع هذا التعليق واليس سيمبسون لإعادة العقد إلى صائغها.

أ أحجار الزمرد الشهيرة كانت القلادة التي تنتمي إلى سيتا ديفي هي قلادة اللوتس (المعروفة أيضًا باسم القلادة الهندوسية). صُنع للمهراني بواسطة فان كليف أند آربلز في عام 1950. كانت الأحجار الكريمة في القلادة تنتمي سابقًا إلى بارودا جواهر التاج . وشملت هذه الجواهر ثلاثة عشر أحجار كريمة زمرد كولومبية قطرات معلقة من أ البلاتين ، حجر كريم مرصع بالماس و الزمرد الأحجار الكريمة تصميم ورقة اللوتس مع زهرة اللوتس المركزية. تم بيع قلادة لوتس وزوج مصاحب من أحجار الزمرد وأقراط الأحجار الكريمة الماسية من قبل كريستيز مقابل 1.6 مليون دولار في عام 2002.

برينس دايموند
أحجار كريمة برينس دايموند

الأحجار الكريمة برينس دايموند ، التي يُقال إنها من مجموعة الجواهر في نظام من حيدر أباد سميت على اسم ابنها من قبل فان كليف أند آربلز ، التي اشترت وسادة بقطر 34.65 قيراط زهري جوهرة الماس في عام 1960 عندما كان برينسي يبلغ من العمر 14 عامًا. أقام مصممو المجوهرات حفلاً للاحتفال باقتنائهم ودعوا مهراني وابنها كضيوف شرف. في عام 2013 ، حقق حجر برينسي الماسي للأحجار الكريمة ما يقرب من 40 مليون دولار في كريستيز نيويورك.

زوجي أكبر الماس الأحجار الكريمة من 128.48 قيراط كانت مملوكة لجيكوارز بارودا. تُعرف الأحجار الكريمة الماسية ذات اللون الوردي الفاتح والمقطعة بقطع الوسادة باسم نجمة الجنوب واكتشفها أحد العبيد في منجم برازيلي ثم بيعت مقابل 3000 دولار فقط. تم تصوير سيتا ديفي في عام 1948 وهي ترتدي الماس الأحجار الكريمة في قلادة من ثلاثة صفوف والتي تضمنت أيضًا الأحجار الكريمة الإنجليزية دريسدن دايموند عيار 78.5 قيراط. استحوذت كارتييه على نجمة الجنوب في عام 2002.

يبدو أن أسلوب حياة سيتا ديفي ربما يكون قد أثر على مواردها المالية ؛ باعت بعض منها الجواهر في عام 1974. على الرغم من حصولها على جنسية موناكو هي وبرينسي ، فقد انتقلا إلى فرنسا. اعتاد برينسي على حياة مليئة بالاكتئاب وعانى من الاكتئاب. للأسف ، انتحر بقطع معصميه في عام 1985. كان يبلغ من العمر أربعين عامًا. قيل إن والدته المنكوبة ماتت بسبب قلب مكسور ، بعد أربع سنوات في باريس ، المكان المفضل لديها الجواهريون ، فان كليف أند آربلز.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*أنت تقوم بالتسجيل لتلقي بريد إلكتروني ترويجي من GemSelect.
الشركاء والثقة خيارات الدفع

التبديل إلى إصدار الجوال

حقوق النشر © 2005-2024 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لـ GemSelect.com.

يُحظر تمامًا الاستنساخ (نص أو رسومات) بدون موافقة كتابية صريحة من GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.).

13306

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: The Jewels of Sita Devi

The Jewels of Sita Devi of Baroda; Indian Wallis Simpson

Sita Devi Wearing Fabulous Jewels
Maharani Devi Sita Wearing Fabulous Jewels

Sita Devi of Baroda was the daughter of the Maharaja of Pithapuram. She was born in Madras in 1917 and would later become known as one of the most glamorous women in the world; her lifestyle was more lavish than many modern day Bollywood and Hollywood stars.

Sita Devi married the Zamindar of Vuyyuru, and then later fell in love with the eighth richest man in the world, Maharaja Pratap Singh Rao Gaekwad of Baroda. They met in 1943 at the Madras horse races. He was also already married, but was captivated by Sita Devi. In order to be granted a divorce, she converted from Hinduism to Islam, and when the divorce was granted, she reconverted to Hinduism. Pratap Singh then took Sita Devi as his second wife, defying the anti-bigamy laws that had been previously enacted by his grandfather. When summoned by the Viceroy of India, he explained that the Maharaja himself was exempt from the law that his subjects adhered to.

The couple wed in 1943 and began their lavish lifestyle, which included a trip to the US, during which they were said to have spent over $10 million. In 1946, they settled in Monaco with their son, Sayaji (nicknamed "Princie"), and a vast fortune from the Baroda State Treasury.

One of the treasures in the possession of the Maharaja and Maharani of Baroda was the Pearl Carpet of Baroda. A previous Maharaja was an avid collector of priceless gemstones and commissioned the Pearl Carpet in around 1860. It is said to have taken five years to produce. The carpet is said to have been designed to cover the tomb of the Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) in Medina. In 2009, the carpet was auctioned by Sotheby's in Qatar for $5.5 million. Apparently this astonishing work of art contains over a million Basra seed pearls, along with colored glass beads, diamonds, sapphires, emeralds and rubies set in gold. Most people would be lucky to own just a few of the precious gemstones used in the Pearl Carpet of Baroda.

The Maharaja of Baroda Wearing The Seven-Strand Pearl Necklace
The Maharaja of Baroda Wearing The Seven-Strand Pearl Necklace

The seven-strand Baroda Pearl Necklace was another of the beautiful jewels that formed one of the most important pieces of the collection of the Maharaja of Baroda. A two-strand necklace known as the Baroda Pearls, with a cushion-cut white diamond clasp was sold for over $7 million at Christie's New York in 2007. The necklace contains 68 of the largest pearls from the original seven-strand necklace.

The Maharaja was deposed by the Indian Government in 1951, who had taken over the Treasury of Baroda after the British rule of India. He was replaced by his eldest son from his first marriage. However, the couple continued to be known as the Maharaja and Maharani of Baroda. Sita Devi and her second husband were divorced in 1956, shortly after which he moved to London and lived a much quieter life. Ms Devi continued to enjoy a life of luxury and use the title of Maharani. She and her beloved son, Princie, attended high-society events together.

Maharani Sita Devi of Baroda was sometimes referred to as the "Wallis Simpson" as India. In fact, in 1957, Sita Devi is said to have made a famous remark about a necklace worn by Wallis Simpson, former Duchess of Windsor. The Harry Winston necklace featured emerald cabochons and rose-cut diamonds that Ms Devi had previously owned in the form of a pair of anklets. It is reported that upon hearing compliments regarding the Duchess of Windsor's necklace, Ms Devi commented that the gems had looked nice on her feet. This comment prompted Wallis Simpson to return the necklace to her jeweler.

A famous emerald necklace belonging to Sita Devi was the Lotus Necklace (also known as the Hindu Necklace). It was made for the Maharani by Van Cleef and Arpels in 1950. The gemstones in the necklace had previously belonged to the Baroda Crown Jewels. These jewels included thirteen Colombian emerald drops, which are suspended from a platinum, pavé diamond and emerald lotus leaf design with a central lotus flower. The Lotus Necklace and an accompanying pair of emerald and diamond earrings were auctioned by Christies for $1.6 million in 2002.

The Princie Diamond
The Princie Diamond

The Princie Diamond, said to be from the jewel collection of the Nizams of Hyderabad was named after her son by Van Cleef and Arpels, who bought the 34.65-carat cushion-cut pink diamond in 1960 when Princie was 14 years old. The jewelry designers threw a party to celebrate their acquisition and invited the Maharani and her son as guests of honor. In 2013, the Princie Diamond achieved almost $40 million at Christie's New York.

An even larger diamond of 128.48 carats was owned by the Gaekwars of Baroda. The light pinkish-brown, cushion-cut diamond is known as the Star of the South and was discovered by a slave in a Brazilian mine and then sold for just $3000. Sita Devi was photographed in 1948 wearing the diamond in a three-row necklace which also featured the 78.5-carat English Dresden Diamond. The Star of the South was acquired by Cartier in 2002.

It seems that Sita Devi's lifestyle may have taken its toll on her finances; she sold some of her jewels in 1974. Though she and Princie had been awarded citizenship of Monaco, they moved to France. Princie had become accustomed to a life of excess and struggled with depression. Sadly, he committed suicide by slashing his own wrists in 1985. He was forty years old. His distraught mother was said to have died of a broken heart, four years later in Paris, the location of her favorite jewelers, Van Cleef and Arpels.

  • First Published: July-14-2015
  • Last Updated: August-30-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart