search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Les joyaux indiens des Nizams d'Hyderabad

Le collier Nizam d'Hyderabad
Le collier Nizam d'Hyderabad

L'Inde abrite l'une des plus grandes civilisations anciennes - les habitants de la vallée de l'Indus, et possède une histoire riche et longue. La vallée de l'Indus est le berceau de plusieurs religions dont l'hindouisme, le bouddhisme et le sikhisme. De plus, beaucoup de choses que nous tenons pour acquises dans le monde moderne ont émergé de Inde . Certains d'entre eux sont le jeu d'échecs, les règles, les boutons, le shampoing, les chiffres hindous-arabes, la chirurgie de la cataracte, la chirurgie plastique et extraction de diamants . La longue et colorée histoire de cette région est liée aux histoires de certains des plus beaux joyaux à couper le souffle et bijoux dans le monde.

Les Nizams étaient les dirigeants d'Hyderabad, en Inde, du début du XVIIIe siècle jusqu'au milieu du XXe siècle, après la partition, lorsque Hyderabad a fusionné avec le reste de l'Inde. Il y avait sept dirigeants tout au long de cette période. Le dernier Nizam était Sir Mir Osman Ali Khan Siddiqi Asaf Jah VII, qui a été décrit par un numéro de février 1937 du magazine TIME comme l'homme le plus riche du monde. Sans surprise, les Nizams possédaient une incroyable collection de bijoux . Le dernier Nizam a offert un diamant parure y compris le collier Nizam d'Hyderabad à la reine Elizabeth II lorsqu'elle a épousé le prince Philip. Le collier a été conçu par Cartier et contient 38 diamants. Le collier a été porté en février 2014 par la duchesse de Cambridge, anciennement connue sous le nom de Kate Middleton, lors d'un événement de collecte de fonds de la National Portrait Gallery.

Le saphir Rockefeller
Le saphir Rockefeller

Le saphir Rockefeller , un saphir bleu birman de 62,02 carats appartenait au Nizam d'Hyderabad avant d'être acquis par John D. Rockefeller en 1934. Ce remarquable bleu rectangulairesaphir a été porté en broche par les première et deuxième épouses de Rockefeller avant d'être vendu plusieurs fois aux enchères. Elle a d'abord été achetée par Raphael Esmerian, puis par son fils Ralph, qui a fait repolir la pierre précieuse à son poids actuel de 62 carats et l'a sertie dans une bague en platine. Il a été revendu en 1986 à un collectionneur privé américain de pierres précieuses, puis en 1988, il a atteint un record de 2,85 millions de dollars aux enchères lorsqu'il a été racheté par Ralph Esmerian et vendu à un autre propriétaire privé où il est censé rester aujourd'hui.

La trésors inestimables dans la collection privée du Nizam d'Hyderabad ont été acquis par le gouvernement indien en 1995. Suite à l'acquisition, les bijoux des Nizams ont été montrés au public pour la première fois lors d'une exposition à Delhi en 2001. On pense que la collection est stockée dans les coffres de la Reserve Bank of India.

Les bijoux des Nizams sont considérés par de nombreux aficionados et maisons de vente aux enchères comme la plus belle collection au monde. La collection a une valeur estimée à 2 milliards de dollars et comprend le diamant Jacob de 184,75 carats, qui vaut à lui seul environ 85 millions de dollars. Cette énorme diamant a apparemment été utilisé comme presse-papiers par Sir Mir Osman Ali Khan, après l'avoir trouvé dans la pantoufle de son père. Il semble que le 6ème Nizam n'ait pas été trop impressionné par le joyau gigantesque . On pense que le Jacob Diamond a été extrait en Afrique et tire son nom du marchand de pierres précieuses Alexander Malcolm Jacob, qui l'a vendu au 6e Nizam. Il était auparavant connu sous le nom de Great White ou Victoria Diamond.

Décoration tête d'émeraude
Décoration tête d'émeraude

Parmi les bijoux des Nizams figurent également de fabuleuses décorations de tête, appelées aigrette ou sarpech , du mot sar pour tête et pech pour vis. Véritablement dégoulinant d'amende gemme gouttes, celles-ci contiennent des couleurs remarquablement fines et larges pierres précieuses et présentent souvent des motifs cachemire. Le sarpech était porté par les Nizams comme ornements de turban. Un seul d'entre eux contenait plus de pierres précieuses que la plupart des gens ne pouvaient se permettre d'acquérir au cours de leur vie entière. En effet, les gouttes seules d'une de ces décorations de tête contiennent jusqu'à 300 carats de précieux colombiens émeraudes . Ces décorations de tête étaient un symbole de noblesse et de domination, c'est pourquoi les meilleures pierres précieuses ont été utilisées pour les créer.

Parmi les autres pièces remarquables de la collection des Nizams, citons un Basra à sept brins perle collier, connu sous le nom de satlada (signifiant sept cordes) qui contient environ 465 perles. Les perles proviennent du golfe Persique et portent le nom de la ville de Bassorah, dans l'Irak moderne, qui est devenue un lieu important pour le commerce des perles. Perles de cette région sont chéris depuis des centaines d'années, pour leur forme parfaitement sphérique, leur couleur blanc argenté et leur belle irisation.

Une paire de bracelets de cheville des Nizams (Paizeb)
Une paire de bracelets de cheville des Nizams (Paizeb)

Également dans les bijoux des Nizams se trouvent des bracelets de cheville en or appelés paizeb (voir à gauche) qui auraient été portés par les femmes de la cour royale et sont fabriqués à partir de charnières or panneaux. Les bracelets de cheville comportent des perles, rubis , émeraudes et d'autres matériaux précieux tels que les diamants des mines de Golconda (également orthographié «Golkunda»), qui appartenaient aux Nizams. Les diamants sont extraits de la région depuis plus de 2000 ans. Ces diamants étaient les plus prisés pour leur transparence et leur pureté, et les mines de Golconde ont produit certains des diamants les plus célèbres au monde, tels que le diamant Hope et le Koh-i-Noor .

L'incroyable collection de bijoux de Nizams est un spectacle qui devrait figurer sur la liste de souhaits des amateurs de pierres précieuses et de bijoux du monde entier. Ces bijoux fabuleux inspirent non seulement bijoux designers et artistes du monde entier, mais aussi appréciés du grand public. Les bijoux des Nizams sont sans doute la plus grande collection qui existe.

  • Première publication: 13 Juin 2022
  • Dernière mise à jour: 29 Septembre 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

16653

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (141)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Azurite
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat Chrysobéryl
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Onyx
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Tourmaline Chrome
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
  • Œil De Faucon
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
 
: The Jewels of the Nizams

The Indian Jewels of the Nizams of Hyderabad

The Nizam of Hyderabad Necklace
The Nizam of Hyderabad Necklace

India is home to one of the greatest ancient civilizations - the people of the Indus Valley, and has a rich and long history. The Indus Valley is the birthplace of several religions including Hinduism, Buddhism and Sikhism. Moreover, many things that we take for granted in the modern world emerged from India. Just some of these are the game of chess, rulers, buttons, shampoo, the Hindu-Arabic numerals, cataract surgery, plastic surgery and diamond mining. The long and colorful history of this region is connected with the stories of some of the most breathtakingly beautiful gems and jewelry in the world.

The Nizams were the rulers of Hyderabad, India from the early eighteenth century until the mid twentieth century, after the partition, when Hyderabad was fused with the rest of India. There were seven rulers throughout this time. The last Nizam was Sir Mir Osman Ali Khan Siddiqi Asaf Jah VII, who was portrayed by a February 1937 issue of TIME magazine as the richest man in the world. Not surprisingly, the Nizams had an unbelievable collection of jewels. The last Nizam gifted a diamond parure including the Nizam of Hyderabad Necklace to Queen Elizabeth II when she married Prince Philip. The necklace was designed by Cartier and contains 38 diamonds. The necklace was worn in February 2014 by the Duchess of Cambridge, formerly known as Kate Middleton, to a National Portrait Gallery fundraising event.

The Rockefeller Sapphire
The Rockefeller Sapphire

The Rockefeller Sapphire, a Burmese blue sapphire of 62.02 carats belonged to the Nizam of Hyderabad before it was acquired by John D. Rockefeller in 1934. This remarkable rectangular blue sapphire was worn as a brooch by Rockefeller's first and second wives before being sold several times by auction. First it was bought by Raphael Esmerian, then by his son Ralph, who had the gemstone repolished to its current weight of 62 carats and set into a platinum ring. It was sold again in 1986 to a private American gemstone collector, and then in 1988, it achieved a record $2.85 million at auction when it was repurchased by Ralph Esmerian and sold to another private owner where it is believed to remain today.

The priceless treasures in the private collection of the Nizam of Hyderabad were acquired by the Indian government in 1995. Following the acquisition, the Nizams' jewels were shown to the public for the first time in a 2001 Delhi exhibition. The collection is believed to be stored in the vaults of the Reserve Bank of India.

The Nizams' jewels are considered by many aficionados and auction houses to be the finest collection in the world. The collection has an estimated value of $2 billion and includes the 184.75 carat Jacob Diamond, which is thought to be worth around $85 million alone. This enormous diamond was apparently used as a paperweight by Sir Mir Osman Ali Khan, after he found it inside his father's slipper. It seems that the 6th Nizam was not overly impressed by the gigantic gem. The Jacob Diamond is thought to have been mined in Africa and gets its name from gemstone trader Alexander Malcolm Jacob, who sold it to the 6th Nizam. It was previously known as the Great White, or the Victoria Diamond.

Emerald Head Decoration
Emerald Head Decoration

Also among the Nizams' jewels are fabulous head decorations, known as aigrette or sarpech, from the word sar for head and pech for screw. Veritably dripping with fine gemstone drops, these contain remarkably fine and large colored precious stones and often feature paisley patterns. The sarpech were worn by the Nizams as turban ornaments. Just one of these contained more gemstones than most people could afford to acquire in an entire lifetime. Indeed, the drops alone of one of these head decorations contain as much as 300 carats of precious Colombian emeralds. These head decorations were a symbol of nobility and rule, so the very best gemstones were used to create them.

Other remarkable pieces in the Nizams' collection include a seven strand Basra pearl necklace, known as satlada (meaning seven strings) which contains approximately 465 pearls. The pearls are from the Persian Gulf and are named after the city of Basra, in modern day Iraq, which became an important place for pearl trade. Pearls from this region have been treasured for hundreds of years, for their perfectly spherical shape, silvery-white color and beautiful iridescence.

A Pair of the Nizams' Anklets (Paizeb)
A Pair of the Nizams' Anklets (Paizeb)

Also in the Nizams' jewels are gold anklets called paizeb (see left) which would have been worn by the women of the royal court and are made from hinged gold panels. The anklets feature pearls, rubies, emeralds and other precious materials such as diamonds from the Golconda (also spelled "Golkunda") mines, which were owned by the Nizams. Diamonds have been mined from the region for over 2000 years. These diamonds were the most highly prized for their transparency and purity, and the Golconda mines produced some of the most famous diamonds in the world, such as the Hope Diamond and the Koh-i-Noor.

The incredible Nizams' collection of jewels is a sight that should be on the wish list of gemstone and jewelry lovers all over the world. These fabulous jewels provide inspiration not only to jewelry designers and artists all over the world, but are also appreciated by members of the public. The Nizams' jewels are arguably the greatest collection in existence.

  • First Published: January-07-2015
  • Last Updated: January-07-2015
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart