search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Bijoux fantaisie et fantaisie

Bague fantaisie cabochon améthyste
Bague fantaisie cabochon améthyste

Les bijoux de fantaisie se référaient à l'origine aux accessoires à la mode qui complétaient une tenue ou un «costume». De nos jours, le terme « bijou fantaisie » est utilisé comme synonyme du terme « bijou fantaisie ». Lorsque la plupart des gens pensent aux bijoux fantaisie, ils pensent aux faux bijoux ou aux bijoux bon marché, mais ce n'est pas toujours le cas. De nombreux bijoux de mode peuvent facilement se vendre pour des centaines voire des milliers de dollars, en particulier les bijoux de fantaisie fabriqués par des créateurs de signature bien connus tels que Chanel ou Christian Dior.

De nos jours, il n'y a pas de ligne clairement définie qui distingue la haute joaillerie de la bijouterie fantaisie. Beaucoup diraient même que les bijoux en or 14 carats sont toujours des bijoux fantaisie, tandis que d'autres penseraient qu'il s'agit de bijoux raffinés. En général, la plupart des bijoux fantaisie ne sont pas faits de métaux précieux ou de pierres précieuses naturelles. Cependant, il y a toujours des exceptions, notamment des bijoux fantaisie en argent sterling, plaqué or ou même un faible carat. alliage d'or (9K-14K), ainsi que des bijoux qui ont été sertis avec une combinaison de matériaux manufacturés et pierres précieuses naturelles .

Pendentif Topaze Mystique et Argent
Pendentif Topaze Mystique et Argent

Les bijoux de fantaisie peuvent incorporer une large gamme de matériaux à partir de matériaux bon marché simulé pierres au naturel précieux et pierres semi-précieuses. De nombreuses pièces de créateurs haut de gamme associent l'argent sterling à des pierres de couleur telles que topaze mystique , ou même des cristaux de marque coûteux, comme Swarovski Elements. Les bijoux fantaisie bas de gamme sont généralement produits en série dans des usines et utilisent des matériaux peu coûteux tels que des strass génériques et zircone cubique . Dans la plupart des cas, les bijoux fantaisie bas de gamme sont sertis dans des métaux de base plaqués, de l'étain, de l'émail ou même du plastique et du bois.

Les bijoux fantaisie existent depuis des centaines d'années, mais ils n'ont vraiment atteint leur âge d'or qu'au début du XXe siècle. Avant cette époque, la plupart des bijoux étaient faits de précieux métal et précieux gemmes . Cependant, au cours des années 1700, certains bijoutiers ont commencé à fabriquer une petite partie de bijoux avec du verre bon marché. Cela a commencé à alimenter une petite demande de bijoux pouvant être portés pour compléter d'autres modèles plus coûteux. Peu de temps après, le terme bijoux fantaisie est devenu une expression courante et, au début des années 1900, les bijoux en matériaux semi-précieux ont commencé à entrer sur le marché à l'échelle commerciale.

Il y a eu un certain nombre d'années où les bijoux de fantaisie étaient principalement fabriqués à partir de livres sterling argent en raison d'une interdiction imposée aux métaux de base pour la production privée pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Les bijoux fantaisie en argent sterling produits à cette époque sont désormais considérés comme vintage et sont devenus très recherchés par les collectionneurs de bijoux. Étant donné que la valeur de nombreuses pièces vintage a considérablement augmenté, l'achat et la vente de bijoux vintage sont devenus une activité très rentable au cours des dernières décennies.

Bijoux Fantaisie Vintage
Collection de Bijoux Fantaisie Vintage

L'un des facteurs les plus importants qui ont contribué au succès et à la popularité des bijoux fantaisie était le glamour et le glamour hollywoodiens. Des femmes de toutes les classes sociales voulaient acheter des répliques des bijoux portés par les grandes dames d'Hollywood, notamment Elisabeth Taylor et Lucille Ball. Au cours des années 1940 et 1950, de nombreux créateurs de bijoux se sont fait connaître grâce à la production de répliques de haute qualité, notamment des créateurs comme Miriam Haskell, Claudette, Carnegie, Bogoff et Dior. Le coût des bijoux fantaisie de créateurs était encore assez élevé, mais il permettait toujours à de plus en plus de femmes d'obtenir un look luxueux à un coût plus abordable.

Les bijoux de fantaisie ne sont pas seulement une chose du passé. Aujourd'hui, de nombreux designers modernes sont devenus extrêmement populaires grâce à leurs lignes de bijoux de mode. Si vous jetez un coup d'œil sur les étagères de vos bijoux et grands magasins locaux, vous trouverez probablement une vaste sélection de bijoux fantaisie disponibles. En y regardant de plus près, il est douteux que vous puissiez distinguer la majorité des pièces de leurs homologues de haute joaillerie. Par conséquent, ce n'est pas parce qu'il est étiqueté bijoux de mode ou de fantaisie qu'il est bon marché, mais simplement plus abordable .

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

16383

• English speaking customer support only

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language

    • Language image for EnglishEnglish
    • Language image for FrenchFrançais
    • Language image for SpanishEspañol
    • Language image for ItalianItaliano
    • Language image for GermanDeutsch
    • Language image for RussianPусский
    • Language image for Chinese中文
    • Language image for Japanese日本語
    • Language image for Arabicالعربية
    Change Language
  • USD

    Change Currency

    • EUR = Euro
    • GBP = British Pound
    • USD = U.S. Dollar
    • AED = United Arab Emirates Dirham
    • AUD = Australian Dollar
    • BHD = Bahraini Dinar
    • BND = Brunei Dollar
    • CAD = Canadian Dollar
    • CHF = Swiss Franc
    • CNY = Chinese Yuan
    • CZK = Czech Koruna
    • DKK = Danish Krone
    • EGP = Egyptian Pound
    • EUR = Euro
    • GBP = British Pound
    • HKD = Hong Kong Dollar
    • IDR = Indonesian Rupiah
    • ILS = Israeli New Shekel
    • INR = Indian Rupee
    • IQD = Iraqi Dinar
    • JOD = Jordanian Dinar
    • JPY = Japanese Yen
    • KRW = South Korean Won
    • KWD = Kuwaiti Dinar
    • MXN = Mexican Peso
    • MYR = Malaysian Ringgit
    • NOK = Norwegian Krone
    • NZD = New Zealand Dollar
    • OMR = Omani Rial
    • PHP = Philippine Piso
    • PLN = Polish Złoty
    • QAR = Qatari Riyal
    • RUB = Russian Ruble
    • SAR = Saudi Riyal
    • SEK = Swedish Krona
    • SGD = Singapore Dollar
    • TWD = New Taiwan Dollar
    • USD = U.S. Dollar
    • VND = Vietnamese Dồng
    • ZAR = South African Rand

Costume and Fashion Jewelry

Amethyst Cabochon Fashion Ring
Amethyst Cabochon Fashion Ring

Costume jewelry originally referred to fashionable accessories that complimented an outfit or 'costume'. Nowadays, the term 'fashion jewelry' is used synonymously with the term 'costume jewelry'. When most people think of costume jewelry, they think of fake or cheap jewelry, but this is not always the case. Many fashion jewelry pieces can easily sell for hundreds or even thousands of dollars, particularly costume jewelry made by well-known signature designers such as Chanel or Christian Dior.

Nowadays, there is no clearly defined line that distinguishes fine jewelry from costume jewelry. Many would even argue that jewelry made of 14K gold is still costume jewelry, while others would believe it to be fine jewelry. In general, most costume jewelry is not made of precious metals or natural gems. However, there are always exceptions, including costume jewelry made of sterling silver, plated gold or even a low karat gold alloy (9K-14K), as well as jewelry that has been set with a combination of both manufactured and natural gemstones.

Mystic Topaz and Silver Pendant
Mystic Topaz and Silver Pendant

Costume jewelry can incorporate a wide range of materials from inexpensive simulated stones to natural precious and semi-precious gems. Many high-end designer pieces combine sterling silver with colored stones such as mystic topaz, or even expensive brand-name crystals, like Swarovski Elements. Low-end costume jewelry is usually mass-produced in factories and utilizes inexpensive materials such as generic rhinestone and cubic zirconia. In most cases, low-end costume jewelry is set into plated base metals, pewter, enamel, or even plastic and wood.

Costume jewelry has been around for hundreds of years, but it didn't truly reach its golden era until the early 20th century. Before this time, most jewelry was made of precious metal and precious gems. However, during the 1700s, some jewelers began to make a small portion of jewelry with inexpensive glass. This began to fuel a small demand for jewelry that could be worn to compliment other, more expensive designs. Shortly after, the term costume jewelry turned into a household phrase, and in the early 1900s, jewelry made of semi-precious materials started to enter the market on a commercial scale.

There were a number of years when costume jewelry was made mostly from sterling silver due to a ban placed on base metals for private production during World War II. Sterling silver costume jewelry produced during this time is now considered vintage, and has become highly sought after by jewelry collectors. Since the value of many vintage pieces has dramatically increased, the buying and selling of vintage jewelry has become a very profitable business over the last few decades.

Vintage Costume Jewelry
Collection of Vintage Costume Fashion Jewelry

One of the largest contributing factors to the success and popularity of costume jewelry was Hollywood glitz and glamor. Women from all social classes wanted to buy replicas of the jewelry worn by Hollywood's leading ladies, including Elizabeth Taylor and Lucille Ball. During the 1940s and 1950s, many jewelry designers made their way into the limelight through the production of high-quality replicas, including designers like Miriam Haskell, Claudette, Carnegie, Bogoff and Dior. The cost of designer costume jewelry was still fairly high, but it still allowed increasingly more women to obtain a luxurious look at a more affordable cost.

Costume jewelry isn't just a thing of the past. Today, many modern designers have become extremely popular through their designer fashion jewelry lines. If you take a look around the shelves of your local jewelry and department stores, you'll likely find a vast selection of costume jewelry pieces available. Upon closer inspection, it is doubtful that you will be able to distinguish the majority of pieces from their fine jewelry counterparts. Therefore, just because it's labeled fashion or costume jewelry doesn't mean that it's cheap, rather, it simply means more affordable.

  • First Published: October-08-2014
  • Last Updated: December-13-2017
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart