search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Histoire des bijoux bohèmes

Le royaume de Bohême
Le royaume de Bohême

La Bohême n'est pas seulement une scène artistique et littéraire alternative, c'était aussi un royaume d'Europe centrale, également appelé Royaume tchèque en raison de sa situation dans l'ouest de la République tchèque. Bohême, du nom de la maison du celtique Le peuple "Boii", faisait partie du Saint Empire romain qui englobait l'Europe occidentale et centrale pendant environ mille ans jusqu'en 1806.

La terre de Bohême a une longue histoire de pierres précieuses et de bijoux. Des cygnes en bronze ont été trouvés ici datant du début de l'âge du fer. En ce qui concerne les matériaux de pierres précieuses, le 14e Saint romain L'empereur Charles IV a fondé le château de Karlstejn pour protéger le trésor de Bohême et aurait ordonné une exploration du jaspe. D'importants gisements de grenat pyrope rouge ont été découverts en Bohême (Europe centrale) au tournant du XVIe siècle. A cette époque, le souverain de la région était Rodolphe II, empereur du Saint Empire romain germanique de 1576 à 1612 et roi de Bohême, qui souffrait de dépression, étudiait l'astronomie et avait un penchant pour la collection d'objets d'art. Rodolphe II était le plus célèbre gemme et minéral collectionneur de son époque, avec une quantité impressionnante des deux, sous le commissariat d'Anselmus de Boodt, également nommé docteur de la Cour. Rodolphe II avait un vif intérêt pour la science et l'alchimie, et était un chercheur passionné de la pierre philosophale. Son astronome danois, Tycho Brahe, avait un nez en partie en or et argent après qu'un duel malheureux l'ait laissé légèrement déficient dans le département nasal.

Navire d'émeraude colombien
Navire d'émeraude colombien

Rodolphe II a hérité du titre d'empereur avec la "Mâchoire Habsbourg" de son père; une mâchoire inférieure saillante et une lèvre inférieure anormalement grande. Suite chéri les objets possédés par la famille Habsbourg comprenaient unémeraude colombienne unguentarium (un récipient en forme de bouteille, voir image, à gauche) de plus de 2 800 carats et un grand rouge grenat almandin bijou dit "La Bella Jacinthe", monté au centre d'un aigle à deux têtes; un symbole de la famille Habsbourg. Selon les rumeurs, il était bisexuel ; une raison possible de son report de mariage. Sa couronne d'or, d'émail, de diamant, de rubis, de spinelle, de saphir et de perles est devenue la couronne impériale couronner d'Autriche.

Rudolph II a déplacé la cour de Vienne à Prague et a encouragé les tailleurs de pierres précieuses viennois, les orfèvres, dont le célèbre Callegari, et d'autres artistes et érudits éminents du monde entier à élire domicile à proximité. Prague est donc devenue un centre important pour l'art et la culture. Les célèbres grenats de Bohême ont été trouvés dans les collines au nord-est et au nord-ouest de Prague. Le scintillant bijoux rouges étaient (et sont toujours) couper à Prague puis la ville de Turnov, au nord-est de Prague. Turnov fait partie du Géoparc du Paradis de Bohême ; une réserve naturelle classée par l'UNESCO où les gens peuvent découvrir des phénomènes géologiques uniques tels que des grottes de dolomie, des forêts pétrifiées, olivine des boules et des pierres précieuses, telles que la calcédoine, opale , améthyste, jaspe et grenat. Turnov est connu pour la taille de la pierre, gravure et la fabrication de bijoux pendant des centaines d'années, la période la plus prolifique étant les années 1700. UNE bijoux l'école y fut fondée en 1884 et deux ans plus tard, un musée y fut ouvert. "Le Musée du Paradis de Bohême" est un lieu très intéressant pour les visiteurs désireux d'en savoir plus sur les pierres précieuses, les bijoux, minéralogie et plus, en particulier le grenat de Bohême. La plus haute montagne de Turnov, Kozákov est le site où les gisements de grenat a été trouvé. En effet, la carrière Vincenc Votrubec au pied du mont Kozákov permet aux visiteurs de rechercher des matériaux de pierres précieuses , pour le prix de la location d'un petit marteau.

Broche grenat bohème victorienne
Broche grenat bohème victorienne

bohémien gemmes de grenat sont réputés excellents clarté et pureté. Les bijoux traditionnels en grenat de cette région rappellent l'intérieur d'un fruit de grenade, mûr avec des gousses de graines rouges scintillantes. En effet, les pierres précieuses avaient une forme similaire et étaient traditionnellement serrées les unes contre les autres avec très peu de métal visible. Grenat de Bohême bijoux était extrêmement populaire à la fin du XIXe siècle, lorsqu'il était porté par Victoriens . C'est à cette époque qu'une école de joaillerie a été ouverte à Turnov. Les bijoux produits là-bas n'ont pas connu une telle popularité au 20e siècle, mais au 21e siècle, les bijoux traditionnels en grenat de Bohême ont connu un renouveau.

Le beau fougueux, grenats rouges de Bohême sont mis en valeur par le talent artistique des joailliers qui perpétuent l'héritage du royaume de Bohême. Les véritables bijoux en grenat de Bohême sont admirés par les amateurs de pierres précieuses et de bijoux du monde entier, y compris la première dame des États-Unis, Michelle Obama, qui a remporté une broche en grenat de Bohême après avoir visité la République tchèque en 2009. Depuis son anniversaire en janvier, le grenat est son pierre de naissance . Pour ceux qui ont l'intention d'acheter de telles pièces directement auprès de la source de production, une certification est recommandée pour garantir l'authenticité des pierres précieuses.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

12514

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Bohemian Jewelry History

Bohemian Jewelry History

The Kingdom of Bohemia
The Kingdom of Bohemia

Bohemia is not only an alternative art and literary scene, but was also a kingdom of Central Europe, which is also referred to as the Czech Kingdom because of its location in the Western Czech Republic. Bohemia, named after the home of the Celtic "Boii" people, was part of the Holy Roman Empire which encompassed Western and Central Europe for around one thousand years until 1806.

The land of Bohemia has a long history of gems and jewelry. Bronze swans were found here dating back to the early Iron Age. With regard to gemstone materials, 14th Holy Roman Emperor, Charles IV founded Karlstejn Castle to keep the Bohemian treasure safe, and was said to have ordered an exploration for jasper. Significant deposits of red pyrope garnet were discovered in Bohemia (Central Europe) around the turn of the 16th century. At this time, the ruler of the region was Rudolph II, Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire from 1576 to 1612 and King of Bohemia, who suffered from depression, studied astronomy and had a penchant for collecting objets d'art. Rudolph II was the most famous gem and mineral collector of his time, with an impressive amount of both, curated by Anselmus de Boodt, who was also appointed Court Doctor. Rudolph II had a keen interest in science and alchemy, and was a keen seeker of the Philosopher's Stone. His Danish astronomer, Tycho Brahe had a nose that was partly fashioned from gold and silver after an unfortunate duel left him slightly deficient in the nasal department.

Colombian Emerald Vessel
Colombian Emerald Vessel

Rudolph II inherited the title of Emperor along with his father's "Habsburg Jaw"; a jutting lower jaw and abnormally large lower lip. More treasured items owned by the Habsburg family included a Colombian emerald unguentarium (a bottle-like vessel, see image, left) of over 2,800 carats and a large red almandine garnet jewel known as "La Bella Hyacinth", mounted at the center of a double-headed eagle; a symbol of the Habsburg family. According to rumors, he was bisexual; a possible reason for his postponing marriage. His gold, enamel, diamond, ruby, spinel, sapphire and pearl crown became the Imperial Crown of Austria.

Rudolph II moved the court from Vienna to Prague and encouraged Viennese gem cutters, goldsmiths, including the celebrated Callegari, and other eminent artists and scholars from all over the world to take up residence nearby. Prague therefore became known as an important center for art and culture. The famous garnets of Bohemia were found in the hills to the northeast and northwest of Prague. The glistening red jewels were (and still are) cut in Prague and then the town of Turnov, to the northeast of Prague. Turnov is part of the Bohemian Paradise Geopark; a UNESCO listed nature reserve where people can discover unique geological phenomena such as dolomite caves, petrified forests, olivine balls and gem materials, such as chalcedony, opal, amethyst, jasper and garnet. Turnov has been known for stone cutting, engraving and jewelry making for hundreds of years, the most prolific period being the 1700s. A jewelry school was established there in 1884 and two years later, a museum was opened. "The Museum of the Bohemian Paradise" is a very interesting place for visitors eager to learn about gems, jewelry, mineralogy and more, particularly Bohemian garnet. Turnov's highest mountain, Kozákov is the site where deposits of garnet have been found. Indeed, the Vincenc Votrubec Quarry in the foothills of Mount Kozákov allows visitors the opportunity to search for gemstone materials, for the price of renting a small hammer.

Victorian Bohemian Garnet Brooch
Victorian Bohemian Garnet Brooch

Bohemian garnet gems are said to have excellent clarity and purity. Traditional garnet jewelry from this region brings to mind the inside of a pomegranate fruit, ripe with glistening red seed pods. This is because the gems had a similar shape and were traditionally set closely together with very little metal showing. Bohemian garnet jewelry was extremely popular during the late nineteenth century, when it was worn by Victorians. It was around this time when a jewelry school was opened in Turnov. The jewelry produced there did not enjoy such great popularity in the 20th century, but in the 21st century, traditional Bohemian garnet jewelry enjoyed a revival.

The beautiful fiery, red garnets of Bohemia are showcased by the artistry of the jewelry workers who continue the legacy of the Kingdom of Bohemia. Genuine Bohemian garnet jewelry is admired by gem and jewelry enthusiasts all over the world including US First Lady Michelle Obama, who took home a Bohemian garnet brooch after visiting the Czech Republic in 2009. Since her birthday is in January, garnet is her birthstone. For those intending to purchase such pieces directly from the production source, certification is recommended to ensure gemstone authenticity.

  • First Published: June-21-2016
  • Last Updated: April-27-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart