X
Gemstone Search
  • PANIER

Brillant Bronze Bling

Pendentif Sphalérite Bronze
Pendentif Sphalérite Bronze

Le bronze est un alliage qui est généralement composé d'environ 10 % d'étain et d'environ 90 % de cuivre. Un alliage similaire est le laiton, composé de cuivre et de zinc. La découverte et l'exploitation de cuivre conduit à l'âge du bronze. La production de bronze a permis aux civilisations anciennes de développer le commerce et la technologie. Pendant l'âge du bronze, le bronze était utilisé pour la coulée et il était également martelé en feuilles. La malléabilité du bronze a permis une étonnante variété d'utilisations. Bronze a été utilisé pour fabriquer divers articles, tels que des outils, des armes, des navires et des composants de bateaux et de navires.

L'âge du bronze est une période préhistorique qui succède à l'âge glaciaire et relie l'âge de pierre à l'âge du fer. Comme son nom l'indique, l'âge du bronze se caractérise par l'émergence du travail du métal dans la société. L'âge du bronze s'est produit à différentes époques dans différentes parties du monde. Le cuivre a été fondu en Anatolie (la région où se trouve la Turquie moderne) dès 6200 av. On pense que l'âge du bronze lui-même a commencé en Grèce et la Chine avant 3000 avant JC et environ 2000 avant JC dans le ROYAUME-UNI . Cependant, la découverte récente d'un poignard vieux de 4000 ans en Grande-Bretagne a jeté un doute à ce sujet. Dans certaines régions, un âge du cuivre a précédé l'âge du bronze.

Bague Cabochon Bronze Turquoise
Bague Cabochon Bronze Turquoise

Outre les outils pratiques, tels que les tasses, les couteaux et les assiettes, le bronze était travaillé en ornements. À la fois, or et argent a été façonné en ornements. Pendant l'âge du bronze, l'or était un symbole de statut social, de sorte que les bijoux les plus précieux de cette période étaient l'or. Cependant, le bronze était également porté comme bijou par certains, probablement les membres les moins riches de la société. Les objets qui ornaient le cou torcs inclus ( couples également orthographiés), colliers, perles et pendentifs. Il y avait aussi des anneaux de bras, des bracelets, anneaux et fermetures de vêtements. Certains bijoux en bronze étaient tordus, certains étaient enroulés en forme de ressort, d'autres étaient martelés et aplatis ou arrondis et lisses. Les bijoux en bronze en Europe étaient généralement portés par les femmes et étaient parfois utilisés comme indicateurs sociaux, non seulement pour montrer la richesse, mais aussi pour état civil Et l'âge. Les bijoux de l'âge du bronze étaient également fabriqués à partir d'autres matériaux tels que l'ambre et le jais.

Bracelets en bronze de la Rome antique
Bracelets en bronze de la Rome antique

Le bronze a continué à être utilisé comme bijoux matériel de l'âge du bronze, tout au long de l'âge du fer et jusqu'à nos jours. La preuve en a été apportée par archéologique sites, tels que Banja e Pejës au Kosovo et un anneau octogonal byzantin en bronze découvert en Israël.

Les bijoux en cuivre, en bronze et en laiton semblent connaître un renouveau de nos jours. Cela s'applique à la fois au style tribal celtique ou viking et à la haute conceptions de bijoux . Certaines pierres précieuses sont particulièrement adaptées à la chaude couleur dorée du métal bronze. Par exemple, des couleurs contrastées, telles que turquoise , azurite et saphir vert sont attrayants lorsqu'ils sont sertis dans des bijoux en bronze. D'autre part, rose , Rose,ambre etChampagne les couleurs sont mises en valeur par le bronze. L'utilisation moderne des métaux a vu la combinaison de l'argent, de l'or et du bronze dans des objets uniques, parfois entrelacés ou juxtaposés. Le bronze est également plaqué d'or blanc, jaune or et autres précieux métaux . Le bronze peut également être mélangé à d'autres matériaux, comme le cuir et le chanvre.

Boucles d'Oreilles Bronze Rose Malaya Grenat
Boucles d'Oreilles Bronze Rose Malaya Grenat

Le bronze doit être correctement entretenu afin d'éviter la corrosion du cuivre. Des preuves de ce phénomène peuvent être observées sur des parties de bâtiments, telles que des statues ou des toits contenant du cuivre alliages , qui sont près de la mer. Les alliages de cuivre virent au vert clair après exposition aux chlorures. Bronze bijoux doit être nettoyé délicatement avec un chiffon doux et sec. Certains bronzes contiennent une petite quantité de nickel, ce qui peut affecter les personnes allergiques. Cependant, une fine couche de vernis à ongles transparent peut y remédier. Le vernis à ongles transparent peut également prévenir les zones vertes de la peau où la sueur entre en contact avec l'alliage de cuivre.

De l'âge du bronze à l'époque actuelle de la haute technologie, cette matière brillante peut se ternir, mais en ce qui concerne les bijoux fantaisie, elle ne vieillira jamais.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

16806

Enlarged Gemstone Image

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Brilliant Bronze Bling

Brilliant Bronze Bling

Bronze Sphalerite Pendant
Bronze Sphalerite Pendant

Bronze is an alloy that is typically composed of approximately 10% tin and around 90% copper. A similar alloy is brass, which is composed of copper and zinc. The discovery and mining of copper led to the Bronze Age. The production of bronze allowed ancient civilizations to develop trade and technology. During the Bronze Age, bronze was used for casting and it was also hammered into sheets. The malleability of bronze allowed for an amazing variety of uses. Bronze was used to make various items, such as tools, weapons, vessels and components of boats and ships.

The Bronze Age was a prehistoric period that followed the Ice Age and linked the Stone Age to the Iron Age. As suggested by the name, the Bronze Age is characterized by the emergence of metal work into society. The Bronze Age occurred at different times in different parts of the world. Copper was smelted in Anatolia (the region where modern day Turkey lies) as early as 6200 BC. The Bronze Age itself is thought to have begun in Greece and China before 3000 BC and approximately 2000 BC in the UK. However, the recent discovery of a 4000-year-old dagger in Britain has cast some doubt over this. In some regions, a Copper Age preceded the Bronze Age.

Bronze Turquoise Cabochon Ring
Bronze Turquoise Cabochon Ring

Apart from practical implements, such as cups, knives and plates, bronze was worked into ornaments. At the same time, gold and silver was fashioned into ornaments. During the Bronze Age, gold was a status symbol, so the most valuable jewelry from this period was gold. However, bronze was also worn as jewelry by some, probably the less wealthy members of society. Items that adorned the neck included torcs (also spelled torques), collars, beads and pendants. There were also arm rings, bracelets, rings and clothes fastenings. Some bronze jewelry items were twisted, some were coiled into a spring shape, others were hammered and flattened or rounded and smooth. Bronze jewelry in Europe was generally worn by women and was sometimes used as social indicators, not only to show wealth, but also for marital status and age. Bronze Age jewelry was also made from other materials such as amber and jet.

Ancient Roman Bronze Bracelets
Ancient Roman Bronze Bracelets

Bronze has continued to be used as a jewelry material from the Bronze Age, right through the Iron Age and up to the present day. Evidence of this has been provided by archeological sites, such as Banja e Pejës in Kosovo and an octagonal Byzantine bronze ring unearthed in Israel.

Copper, bronze and brass jewelry seems to be undergoing something of a revival nowadays. This applies to both Celtic or Viking tribal style and high jewelry designs. Some gemstones are particularly suited to the warm golden color of bronze metal. For example, contrasting colors, such as turquoise, azurite and green sapphire are attractive when set in bronze jewelry. On the other hand, pink, rose, amber and champagne colors are brought out by bronze. Modern use of metals has seen the combination of silver, gold and bronze in single items, sometimes entwined or juxtaposed. Bronze is also plated with white gold, yellow gold and other precious metals. Bronze can also be mixed with other materials, such as leather and hemp.

Rose Malaya Garnet Bronze Earrings
Rose Malaya Garnet Bronze Earrings

Bronze should be properly cared for in order to prevent corrosion of the copper. Evidence of this phenomenon can be seen on parts of buildings, such as statues or roofs containing copper alloys, which are near the sea. The copper alloys turn light-green after exposure to chlorides. Bronze jewelry should only be cleaned gently a soft, dry cloth. Some bronze contains a small amount of nickel, which can affect people with allergies. However, a thin coating of clear nail varnish can remedy this. Clear nail varnish can also prevent green areas of skin where sweat comes into contact with the copper alloy.

From the Bronze Age to current times of high-technology, this brilliant material may tarnish, but with regard to fashion jewelry, it will never grow old.

  • First Published: February-23-2015
  • Last Updated: August-17-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart