X
Gemstone Search

L'anneau du pêcheur

Image de Saint Pierre utilisée pour camée
Saint Pierre "Pêcheur d'hommes"

Le Anneau du pêcheur est une bague portée par le pape, chef de l'Église catholique et évêque de Rome. Il est également connu sous le nom de Piscatory Ring ou en latin sous le nom de «Annulus Piscatoris». L'anneau peut également être appelé l'anneau de Saint-Pierre, en raison de sa gravé dessin représentant un camée en bas-relief de Saint-Pierre, l'un des 12 apôtres de Jésus-Christ. La signification et l'association avec Saint-Pierre et l'anneau du pêcheur sont attribuées à une histoire ou à un verset tiré de la Sainte Bible, en particulier Marc 1:17. Par la parole du Christ, Jésus a désigné saint Pierre comme un « pêcheur d'hommes », et le pape, étant le chef de l'Église catholique, est considéré comme un « pêcheur d'hommes » et un successeur de saint Pierre.

Les papes nouvellement élus peuvent choisir le design de leur anneau , mais ils représentent tous l'image de saint Pierre. La plupart représentent l'image de Saint-Pierre sur un bateau de pêche tirant un filet. Un autre style montre une gravure en bas-relief de saint Pierre tenant un jeu de deux clés ; une clé représentant le pouvoir du ciel et l'autre représentant l'autorité spirituelle de la papauté sur Terre. Au-dessus de l'image de Saint-Pierre, une inscription est généralement faite avec le nom du nouveau pape le long du bord supérieur de la lunette.

En tant que l'une des pièces les plus célèbres incluses dans les insignes du pape, c'est sans doute la plus connue bague ecclésiastique dans l'histoire. L'anneau du pêcheur est porté au troisième doigt de la main droite du pape. Il servait à l'origine de sceau , mais depuis le XVe siècle, l'anneau a été remplacé par le sceau papal officiel. Il a été documenté pour la première fois en 1265 et est mentionné depuis des siècles. L'anneau du pêcheur était autrefois doré à partir de pur or , mais de nouveaux papes ont commencé à utiliser l'argent dans leurs anneaux aussi.

Sceau camée sur l'anneau du pape François
Sceau camée sur l'anneau du pape François

Un nouvel anneau de pêcheur est remis à chaque pape nouvellement nommé lors de sa messe d'inauguration. Selon le catholique tradition , à la mort ou à la démission d'un pape, l'anneau est censé être détruit par un argent marteau. La destruction de l'anneau est nécessaire car dans le passé l'anneau était utilisé comme sceau pour signer des documents au nom du Vatican avec l'autorisation du pape régnant. Ainsi, si l'anneau n'était pas détruit, il pourrait être utilisé pour falsifier des documents s'il tombait entre de mauvaises mains. Aujourd'hui, comme il n'est plus utilisé comme sceau, plutôt que de détruire l'anneau, les anciens anneaux papaux sont simplement dégradés en faisant deux coupes profondes dans la gravure du sceau; ensuite, l'anneau est stocké en toute sécurité, au plus profond des murs du Vatican.

L'actuel chef régnant de l'Église catholique, le pape François, a choisi une bague très modeste et simple représentant une image de Saint-Pierre tenant un jeu de deux clés. Sa bague a été conçue par l'orfèvre Enrico Manfrini. L'anneau du pape précédent n'était pas simple du tout. La bague du pape Benoît a été inspirée par une peinture réalisée par l'artiste Michel-Ange. Il a fallu plus de 200 illustrations avant que la conception finale de la bague ne soit décidée. L'anneau a été coulé à partir de 35 grammes de pure or et il a fallu 8 artisans qualifiés travaillant 15 heures par jour pendant plus de 2 semaines pour fabriquer la bague. L'anneau portait l'inscription "Benedictus XVI", le titre du Pape en Latin , et présente une image de Saint Pierre.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

32233

Enlarged Gemstone Image

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: The Ring of the Fisherman

The Ring of the Fisherman

Image of Saint Peter Used For Cameo
Saint Peter "Fisherman of Men"

The Ring of the Fisherman is a ring worn by The Pope, the leader of the Catholic Church and the Bishop of Rome. It is also known as the Piscatory Ring or in Latin as 'Annulus Piscatoris'. The ring may also be referred to as the Ring of St. Peter, due to its engraved design featuring a low-relief cameo of St. Peter, one the 12 Apostles of Jesus Christ. The significance of and the association with St. Peter and the Ring of the Fisherman is credited to a story or verse taken from the Holy Bible, specifically Mark 1:17. Through the word of Christ, Jesus appointed St. Peter as a 'Fisher of Men', and the Pope, being the leader of the Catholic Church, is seen as a 'Fisher of Men' and a successor to Saint Peter.

Newly elected popes can choose the design for their ring, but it they all depict the image of St. Peter. Most depict the image of St. Peter on a fishing boat pulling a net. Another style shows a low-relief engraving of St. Peter holding a set of two keys; one key representing the power of heaven and the other representing the spiritual authority of papacy on Earth. Above the image of St. Peter, an inscription is usually made with the name of the new pope along the top edge of the bezel.

As one of the most famous pieces included in the Pope's regalia, it is arguably the best-known ecclesiastical ring in history. The Fisherman's Ring is worn on the third finger of the right hand of the pope. It originally served as a signet, but since the 15th century, the ring has been replaced with the official papal seal. It was first documented in 1265, and it has been mentioned for centuries since. The Ring of the Fisherman used to be gilded from pure gold, but new popes have begun to use silver in their rings as well.

Cameo Seal on Pope Francis's Ring
Cameo Seal on Pope Francis's Ring

A new Fisherman's Ring is given to every newly appointed pope during their inauguration mass. According to the Catholic tradition, upon the death or resignation of a pope, the ring is supposed to be destroyed by a special silver hammer. The destruction of the ring is required because in the past the ring was used as a seal for signing documents in the name of the Vatican by authorization of the reigning pope. Thus, if the ring was not destroyed, it could be used to forge documents if it was to fall into the wrong hands. Today, since it is no longer used as a seal, rather than destroying the ring, old papal rings are simply defaced by making two deep cuts into the seal engraving; afterwards, the ring is securely stored, deep within the walls of the Vatican.

The current reigning leader of the Catholic Church, Pope Francis, chose a very modest and simple ring depicting an image of St. Peter holding a set of two keys. His ring was designed by goldsmith, Enrico Manfrini. The previous Pope's ring was not simple at all. Pope Benedict's ring was inspired by a painting made by artist, Michelangelo. It took over 200 illustrations before the final design of the ring was decided upon. The ring was cast from 35 grams of pure gold and it took 8 skilled artisans working 15-hour days for over 2 weeks to craft the ring. The ring was inscribed with "Benedictus XVI", the Pope's title in Latin, and features an image of Saint Peter.

  • First Published: January-27-2015
  • Last Updated: August-30-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart