search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

著名珠宝:非凡的宝石星

天然星红宝石
缅甸天然星红宝石

信不信由你,一些世界上最著名的宝石实际上是蓝宝石和红宝石,而不是钻石。钻石通常需要刻面才能展现其光彩,但红宝石和蓝宝石无需刻面即可欣赏刻面.许多有色宝石仅根据它们的颜色和大小而受到重视和重视,通常只需要轻微的抛光就可以带出它们的光泽。其实有一些宝石类型从未刻面的宝石,尤其是表现出罕见的猫眼状的宝石,包括猫眼或星光(星形效应)。

非凡的宝石极为稀有且极为珍贵,这就是为什么世界上许多最著名的宝石都明星宝石.切割成凸圆形时,在特定照明条件下观察时,星形宝石会表现出星光(星形效应)。在大多数情况下,聊天星效应是平行排列的分钟的结果夹杂物金红石纤维被称为“丝绸”。为了最大限度地发挥这种稀有宝石的理想星光,熟练的宝石切割机非常仔细地定位宝石,以确保宝石具有锋利、清晰和清晰的星星。

大多数世界著名的星光宝石要么是星光红宝石,要么是星光红宝石。星光蓝宝石,虽然星群猫腻可能发生在其他几个宝石品种石榴石,月长石, 石英和透辉石.目前认为,世界上最大的星形宝石是尼兰贾利星形红宝石。巨大的红宝石重达 1,370 克拉,以其不同寻常的 12 点双星星群而闻名。 Neelanjali Star Ruby 由印度班加罗尔的 G. Vidyaraj 私人拥有,也被列为世界上最大的双星红宝石吉尼斯世界纪录。

黑星蓝宝石
天然黑星蓝宝石

昆士兰黑星目前被认为是世界上最大的宝石品质星光蓝宝石.它重达 733 克拉,被认为是在澳大利亚在 1930 年代的某个时候。 1960年代,昆士兰黑星号曾在史密森尼博物馆展出,后来也在安大略皇家博物馆展出。今天,昆士兰黑星蓝宝石为未知方私人所有,目前下落不明。

亚洲之星是最著名的星光蓝宝石之一缅甸.它是一颗 330 克拉的乳蓝色星光大蓝宝石,曾被认为归焦特布尔大君所有。亚洲之星被认为起源于缅甸的摩谷矿.由于其惊人的尺寸和非凡的颜色,亚洲之星是世界上最著名的宝石之一。 1961 年,亚洲之星被慷慨捐赠给史密森尼博物馆,与包括孟买之星蓝宝石在内的许多其他著名宝石一起展出。 182 克拉的孟买之星是一颗锡兰星光蓝宝石,以其美丽的紫蓝色而闻名。事实上,广受欢迎的杜松子酒品牌“Bombay Sapphire”就是以这种非凡的宝石命名的。

曾经拥有摩根大通现在是美国自然历史博物馆珠宝收藏的一部分,午夜星光蓝宝石是一颗 116.75 克拉的星光蓝宝石,据信起源于斯里兰卡。它以其深紫紫色而闻名,这可能激发了它有趣的名字。它可能是世界上同类星光蓝宝石中最大的一颗,因为很少有星光蓝宝石如此独特颜色. Midnight Star Sapphire 是 JP Morgan 珠宝系列的一部分,还有其他几颗世界著名的宝石,包括近乎无瑕的 563.35 克拉印度之星.

蓝星蓝宝石
天然蓝星蓝宝石

印度之星蓝宝石大约在 300 年前被发现,据信起源于地雷斯里兰卡。印度之星是已知最大的蓝色星光蓝宝石在世界上。除了破纪录尺寸,灰蓝色的印度之星还以其不寻常的星光而闻名,它显示在宝石的两面。 1900 年,美国自然历史博物馆的创始人摩根大通捐赠了印度之星和午夜星光蓝宝石,以及其他几件著名的珠宝,在博物馆被盗后被称为 “世纪珠宝抢劫案” 1964 年。估计价值从 JP Morgan 珠宝系列中取出的宝石价值 400,000 美元。

幸运的是,几个月后,印度之星和午夜星光蓝宝石被发现在一个公共汽车站的储物柜内,以及抢劫期间拿走的一些其他石头。然而,并不是所有的被盗珠宝被恢复,包括一个惊人的星星宝石被称为德隆星红宝石。 DeLong 星形红宝石是一颗 100.32 克拉的星形红宝石,于 1930 年代左右在缅甸发现。虽然世界闻名红宝石没有与印度之星和午夜星光蓝宝石一起被找回,但它最终还是回到了博物馆,这要归功于佛罗里达商人约翰麦克阿瑟,他慷慨地支付了 25,000 美元的赎金,通过一个匿名聚会将星光红宝石归还.

虽然这些著名的宝石被认为稀有的和有价值的,他们不应该减损独特性的其他宝石。每一个天然宝石有个历史或可能不为人知或不为人知的故事。您持有的宝石可能经过许多人的手,并经历了令人兴奋的冒险,然后才最终到达您手中。您的宝石可能是下一个历史悠久的世界著名宝石。

  • 首次发布于: 六月-13-2022
  • 最后更新于:: 九月-27-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

16676

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (143)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Phenomenal Gemstone Stars

Famous Jewels: Phenomenal Gemstone Stars

Natural Star Ruby
Natural Star Ruby from Burma

Believe it or not, some of the world's most famous gemstones are actually sapphires and rubies, not diamonds. Diamonds typically need to be faceted to bring out their brilliance, but ruby and sapphire can be admired without the need to be faceted. Many colored gemstones are prized and valued based on their color and size alone, often requiring only a light polish to bring out their luster. In fact, there are some gem types that are never faceted, particularly gems which exhibit rare forms of chatoyancy, including cat's eyes or asterism (the star effect).

Phenomenal gemstones are extremely rare and highly prized, which is why many of the world's most famous gemstones are star gemstones. When cut en cabochon, star gemstones exhibit asterism (the star effect) when viewed under certain lighting conditions. In most cases, the chatoyant star effect is a result of parallel aligned minute inclusions of rutile fibers referred to as 'silk'. In order to maximize the desirable asterism in such rare stones, skilled gemstone cutters very carefully orient the stones to ensure the gems have sharp, clear and distinct stars.

Most world-famous star gemstones are either star rubies or star sapphires, though asterism chatoyancy can occur in several other gemstone varieties such as garnet, moonstone, quartz and diopside. It is currently believed that the largest star gemstone in the world is the Neelanjali Star Ruby. The enormous star ruby weighs 1,370 carats and is famed for its unusual 12-point double-star asterism. The Neelanjali Star Ruby is privately owned by G. Vidyaraj of Bangalore, India, and is also listed in the Guinness Book of World Records as the largest double-star ruby in the world.

Black Star Sapphire
Natural Black Star Sapphire

The Black Star of Queensland is currently considered to be the world's largest gem-quality star sapphire. It weighs an astonishing 733 carats and was thought to have been discovered in Australia sometime during the 1930s. During the 1960s, the Black Star of Queensland was displayed in the Smithsonian Museum and later it was also exhibited at the Royal Ontario Museum. Today, the Black Star of Queensland sapphire is privately owned by an unknown party and its current whereabouts remain unknown.

The Star of Asia is one of the most famous star sapphires to come from Burma. It is a large, 330-carat milky-blue star sapphire, and was once believed to have been owned by the Maharajah of Jodhpur. The Star of Asia is thought to have originated from the Mogok mines of Myanmar. Owing to its astounding size and remarkable color, the Star of Asia is one of the most renowned gemstones in the world. In 1961, the Star of Asia was generously donated to the Smithsonian Museum where it remains on exhibit along with many other famous gemstones, including the Star of Bombay sapphire. The 182-carat Star of Bombay is a Ceylon star sapphire, famous for its beautiful violet-blue color. In fact, the popular brand of gin, 'Bombay Sapphire' was named after this phenomenal gemstone.

Formerly owned by J.P. Morgan and now part of the American Museum of Natural History's jewelry collection, the Midnight Star Sapphire is a 116.75-carat star sapphire that is believed to have originated from Sri Lanka. It is famed for its deep purple-violet color, which likely inspired its interesting name. It is perhaps the world's largest star sapphire of its kind, as star sapphires are rarely found with such unique color. The Midnight Star Sapphire is part of J.P. Morgan's jewelry collection along with several other world-famous gems including the near-flawless 563.35-carat Star of India.

Blue Star Sapphire
Natural Blue Star Sapphire

The Star of India sapphire was discovered roughly 300 years ago, and is believed to have originated from the mines of Sri Lanka. The Star of India is the largest known blue star sapphire in the world. Apart from its record-breaking size, the grayish-blue Star of India is also famed for its unusual asterism, which is displayed on both sides of the gem. Donated in 1900 by J.P. Morgan, the founder of the American Museum of Natural History, the Star of India and the Midnight Star Sapphire, along with several other famous jewels, were stolen from the museum in what became known as the 'Jewel Heist of the Century' in 1964. The estimated value of the stones taken from the J.P. Morgan's jewelry collection was $400,000.

Fortunately, the Star of India and the Midnight Star Sapphire were recovered a few months later, after being found inside a bus depot locker along with some of the other stones which were taken during the heist. However, not all of the stolen jewels were recovered, including one phenomenal star gemstone known as the DeLong Star Ruby. The DeLong Star Ruby is a 100.32 carat star ruby discovered in Burma around the 1930s. Although the world-famous star ruby was not recovered along with the Star of India and the Midnight Star Sapphire, it did eventually make its way back to the museum, thanks to Florida businessman, John MacArthur, who generously paid a $25,000 ransom to have the star ruby returned through an anonymous party.

Although these famous gemstones are considered rare and valuable, they should not detract from the uniqueness of other gemstones. Every natural gemstone has a history or story that may be unknown or untold. The gemstone you hold may have passed through many hands and been through exciting adventures before finally making it to you. Your gemstone just may be the next historical world-famous gemstone.

  • First Published: January-19-2015
  • Last Updated: August-23-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart