• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
Un regard sur l'Oeil de Tigre

The Real TigerLa pierre précieuse connue comme l'oeil de tigre est une forme de quartz de calcédoine. Mais il n'a pas débuté comme le quartz. Il a commencé comme le minéral bleu fibreux appelé crocidolite, qui est composé de fer et de sodium. Le crociodolite est connu aussi comme l'amiante. Le crocidolite a été progressivement transformé en quartz tout en maintenant ses formations fibreuses.

L'oeil de tigre est ce qui est un connu dans la minéralogie comme un pseudomorphe. Le terme vient du Grec pour "fausse forme". Les pseudomorphes se forment quand un minéral en remplace un autre. La transformation commence quand le quartz vient se loger entre les fibres de crocidolite. Ce processus peut avoir pour résultat deux différentes pierres précieuses : une pierre bleue appelée l'œil de faucon ou la pierre dorée appelée oeil de tigre.

Au cours du processus, le crocidolite est complètement dissout. Mais le quartz est prit dans les formations fibreuses et cela crée des lignes parallèles dans la pierre précieuse qu'on obtient en déplaçant le jeu de lumière. Bien que le fer et le sodium du crocidolite se dissolvent, les traces de l'oxyde de fer restent et cela crée la couleur d'or typique de l'oeil de tigre. Si moins de fer est présent, le quartz s'orientera vers la couleur bleue de la crocidolite originel.

Un oeil de tigre naturel en cabochonUn oeil de tigre naturel en cabochon

Il est naturel de penser que l'oeil de tigre recoit son nom de sa similarité avec l'oeil d'un tigre. Si c'est vrai, on pourrait supposer que seulement très peu de personnes aient jamais vu l'oeil d'un tigre. Les yeux des petits chats ont tendance à avoir des pupilles qui forment des fentes étroites, verticales. Mais les yeux des grands chats tels que les tigres ont des pupilles rondes comme les humains. Peut-être est-ce la couleur marron-or de la pierre précieuse qui a mené à ce nom.

Les fibres dans l'oeil de tigre peuvent être longue de 2 à 5 centimètres mais elles sont très minces. La plupart font seulement 0.001 millimètres de diamètre. Le sciage de cette matière peut être assez délicat parce que les coupes doivent être parallèles exactement aux fibres pour préserver l'effet de chatoyance (oeil de chat).

L'oeil de tigre est habituellement coupé en cabochon pour mieux afficher la chatoyance, bien que vous voyiez aussi la matière faceté.

La pierre précieuse d'oeil de tigreLa pierre précieuse d'oeil de tigre

L'oeil de tigre a d'abord été découvert en Afrique du Sud au début des années 1800. Les premières théories de la formation de l'oeil de tigre ont été développées en 1873 par le minéralogiste allemand Wilbel. Plus récemment, on a proposé une nouvelle théorie de l'oeil de tigre qui soutient qu'il n'est pas en fait pseudomorphic, mais plutôt une forme de crocidolite par un mécanisme différent, à travers une série d'épisodes de fissuration et de craquement.

L'oeil de tigre est extrait en Afrique du Sud, en Australie, aux Etats-Unis, au Canada, en Inde, en Namibie et en Birmanie.

  • Première publication: May-05-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: August-14-2009
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Tiger's Eye: A Look at Tiger's Eye
Un regard sur l'Oeil de Tigre
A Look at Tiger's Eye

The Real TigerThe gemstone known as tiger's eye is a form of chalcedony quartz. But it didn't start out as quartz. It began as the fibrous blue mineral called crocidolite, which is made up of iron and sodium. Crociodolite is also known as asbestos. The crocidolite was gradually transformed into quartz while maintaining its fibrous formations.

Tiger's eye is what is a known in mineralogy as a pseudomorph. The term comes from the Greek for "false form." Pseudomorphs form when one mineral replaces another. The transformation begins when quartz becomes embedded between the fibers of crocidolite. This process can result in two different gemstones: a blue stone called hawk's eye or the golden brown stone called tiger's eye.

In the course of the process, the crocidolite is completely dissolved. But the quartz takes on the fibrous formations and this creates the parallel lines within the gem which gives it that shifting play of light. Though the iron and sodium of the crocidolite dissolve, traces of the iron oxide remain and this creates the golden color typical of tiger's eye. If less iron is present the quartz will tend towards the blue color of the original crocidolite.

Natural Tiger's Eye Gemstone Natural Tiger's Eye Cabochon

It is natural to think that tiger's eye got its name from its similarity to the eye of a tiger. If true, one can only assume that very few people had ever seen the eye of a tiger. The eyes of small cats tend to have pupils that form narrow, vertical slits. But the eyes of big cats such as tigers have round pupils like humans. Perhaps it is the golden brown color of the gemstone that led to the name.

The fibers in tiger's eye may be as long as 2 to 5 cm inch but they are very thin. Most are only 0.001 mm in diameter. Sawing this material can be rather tricky because cuts must be exactly parallel to the fibers in order to preserve the chatoyant (cat's eye) effect.

Tiger's eye are usually cut en cabochon in order to best display their chatoyancy, though you will also see faceted material.

Oval Tiger's Eye Cabochon Gem Tiger's Eye Gemstone

Tiger's eye was first discovered in South Africa in the early 1800's. The first theories about tiger's eye formation were developed in 1873 by the German mineralogist Wilbel in 1873. More recently, a new theory of tiger's eye has been proposed that argues that it is not in fact pseudomorphic, but rather forms from crocidolite by a different mechanism, through a series of cracking and sealing episodes.

Tiger's eye is mined in South Africa, Australia, the USA, Canada, India, Namibia, and Burma.

  • First Published: May-05-2008
  • Last Updated: April-03-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping