Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : À propos du Chrome Diopside
About Chrome Diopside

À propos du Chrome Diopside

Vous chercher une pierre précieuse verte parfaite riche en couleur et avec une excellente clarté ? Quels sont vos choix ? Le choix traditionnel est l'émeraude, bien que l'émeraude soit plus célèbre pour sa couleur que sa clarté. Le grenat de Tsavorite a avancé sur le marché au cours des années 1970 et, avec l'aide de Tiffany & Co., est devenu le deuxième choix dans les fines pierres précieuses vertes. La tsavorite de haute qualité  n'a pas seulement une excellente couleur verte saturée, elle a une brillance supérieure, la clarté et la dureté. Le seul problème est que la tsavorite est devenu si populaire que les prix ont égalés voir dépassés l'émeraude.

Chrome Diopside from GemSelect Chrome Diopside from Russia Natural Chrome Diopside from Russia Small 0.50ct Chrome Diopside Large 5.66ct Chrome Diopside

Le choix suivant était une variété rare de tourmaline verte connu comme la tourmaline chrome. Comme le grenat tsavorite, la tourmaline chrome se trouve à l'est de l'Afrique et est colorée par des quantités de trace de chrome et de vanadium. Et comme la tsavorite, la fine tourmaline chrome est visuellement une pure forêt verte avec une teinte légèrement jaunâtre et une teinte secondaire bleutée. Mais la tourmaline chrome s'est révélé être aussi rare et cher que le grenat tsavorite.

Les seules pierres précieuses vertes restante étaient le péridot et la tourmaline verte ordinaire. Le péridot tend vers le vert jaunâtre ou le vert olive et n'a jamais eu le plus profond des tons de la tsavorite ou de la tourmaline chrome. La tourmaline verte ordinaire avait rarement la magnifique saturation de la version chromée.

Cette situation a commencé à changer en 1988, quand une nouvelle découverte majeur de chrome diopside a été découverte en Russie. Connu sous le nom de chrome diopside, le matériel n'a vraiment commencer à arriver sur le marché qu'après la chute du mur de Berlin à la fin de 1989. Et enfin, on avait un riche bijou vert à un prix abordable - moins de 100 $ le carat pour les petites tailles.

L'important diopside est trouver en Russie et en Sibérie orientale, à proximité des fameuses mines de diamant. Cette diopside est colorée par le chrome, le même élément qui donne la couleur au rubis, à l'émeraude et à l'alexandrite. La couleur était spectaculaire; le chrome diopside littéralement s'illuminait en vert. Toutefois, il existe quelques limitations à ce bijou. Tout d'abord, le chrome diopside peut souffrir de trop de vert - dans les grandes tailles la tonalité peut être très sombre. Attention la coupe est nécessaire dans les plus grandes tailles pour maintenir les angles légèrement plus petit et pour améliorer la brillance. Mais dans de plus petites tailles (moins de 2 carats) la couleur est très vive et fraîche.

L'autre restriction est que le diopside est beaucoup plus mou que le grenat tsavorite ou la tourmaline. À 5 ou 6 sur l'échelle de Mohs, le chrome diopside n'est pas convenable pour des anneaux. Mais il convient bien pour des boucles d'oreille et des pendentifs et l'apparence est magnifique quand il est monté en or. La bijouterie de Diopside devrait être conservée soigneusement pour éviter les égratignures des pierres plus dures.

  • First Published: 20-décembre-2007
  • Last Updated: 14-septembre-2009
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : About Chrome Diopside
À propos du Chrome Diopside

About Chrome Diopside

Looking for a fine green gemstone with rich color and excellent clarity? What are your choices? The traditional choice is emerald, though emerald is more famous for its color than its clarity. Tsavorite garnet came on to the market in the 1970s and, with the help of Tiffany & Co., became the second choice in fine green gems. High quality tsavorite not only had an excellent saturated green color, but it also had superior brilliance, clarity and hardness. The only problem is that tsavorite became so popular that the prices went as high or higher than those of emerald.

Chrome Diopside from GemSelect Chrome Diopside from Russia Natural Chrome Diopside from Russia Small 0.50ct Chrome Diopside Large 5.66ct Chrome Diopside

The next choice was a rare variety of green tourmaline known as chrome tourmaline. Like tsavorite garnet, chrome tourmaline is found in East Africa, and is colored by trace amounts of chromium and vanadium. Also like tsavorite, fine chrome tourmaline is a pure forest green with a slightly yellowish to bluish secondary hue. But chrome tourmaline turned out to be just as scarce and expensive as tsavorite garnet.

The only green gems left were peridot and ordinary green tourmaline. Peridot tended to be yellowish or olive green, and never had the deeper tones of tsavorite or chrome tourmaline. Furthermore, ordinary green tourmaline rarely had the wonderful saturation of the chrome tourmaline.

This situation began to change in 1988 when a major new find of chromium-bearing diopside was discovered in Russia. Known as chrome diopside, the material didn't really begin to reach the market until after the Berlin Wall fell at the end of 1989. But finally, there was a rich green gem at an affordable price - under $100 a carat in smaller sizes.

The important diopside discovery in Russia was in eastern Siberia, close to the famous diamond mines. This diopside is colored by chromium, the same element that gives the color to ruby, emerald and alexandrite. The color was spectacular; chrome diopside literally glows with green. However, there are a few limitations to this gem. First, chrome diopside can actually suffer from too much green - in larger sizes the tone can be very dark. Careful cutting is required in large gemstones, to keep the angles slightly shallow and improve brilliance. But in small gemstones (under 2 carats) the color is exceptionally vivid and fresh.

The other limitation is that diopside is much softer than tsavorite garnet or tourmaline. At 5 to 6 on the Mohs scale, chrome diopside is not suitable for rings. But it is well suited for earrings and pendants, and looks stunning when set in gold. Diopside jewelry should be stored carefully to avoid scratches from harder stones.

  • First Published: December-20-2007
  • Last Updated: June-11-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping