Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : La signification des pierres précieuses
Gemstone MeaningsSignificados de las piedras preciosasBedeutung von EdelsteinenI significati delle PietreЗначение драгоценных камней
La signification des pierres précieuses

Au fil des siècles, de nombreuses cultures ont contribué aux légendes et aux traditions entourant les pierres précieuses. Ces produits rares de la nature ont inspiré les philosophes et les personnes mystiques qui ont attribuer des pouvoirs surnaturels à ces minéraux spéciaux.

Le meilleur recueil de légendes des pierres précieuses est sans aucun doute ce que l'on trouve dans le livre de George Frederick Kunz "The Curious Lore of Precious Stones" publié en 1913. Mais Kunz ne croyait pas aux cristaux mystique. Au contraire, il a été le gemmologue de son temps et dans son rôle d'expert résident chez Tiffany & Co. à New York, a aidé à créer le marché moderne des pierres de couleur. Il a également contribué à rassembler quelques-unes des plus belles collections de pierres rares , y compris la célèbre collection JP Morgan-Tiffany, aujourd'hui au Musée américain d'Histoire Naturelle.

Kunz croit que nous pouvons apprendre beaucoup en étudiant la façon dont les pierres ont été utilisées par les différentes cultures et les croyances que les gens à différents moments ont formé autour des pierres précieuses rares. Mais pour Kunz cette étude n'était pas seulement une curiosité sociologique, c'était un moyen de connaître les pierres elles-mêmes: "Beaucoup de ces idées peuvent sembler assez étrange pour nous maintenant, et pourtant, quand nous les analysons, nous trouvons qu'ils ont leurs racines soit dans une qualité intrinsèque de la pierre ou bien dans une appréciation instinctive de leur signification symbolique."

Agate
Buy AgateConsidéré comme une pierre de protection. On pense qu'elle peut attirer la force et offrent une protection contre les mauvais rêves, le stress et le drainage de l'énergie. L'Agate aide dit-on à rééquilibrer les énergies et les talents à se réveiller.
Amazonite
Buy AmazoniteAurait un effet apaisant et calmant. Elle accomplit cette mission en dissipant l'énergie négative et nous permettre de laisser aller la tristesse et le chagrin.
Améthyste
Natural AmethystCalme les émotions, crée de la clarté dans les pensées, et aide à atteindre la sagesse. L'améthyste est une pierre de l'esprit, elle apporte le calme et la clarté, vous aide à entrer en contact avec votre intuition, les sentiments et les vraies valeurs. Elle a longtemps été considérée comme une aide à la sobriété et donc utile pour la lutte contre l'alcool, la nourriture et d'autres dépendances. Elle calme aussi les comportements compulsifs obsessionnel.
Apatite
Buy Apatite from GemSelectUne pierre précieuse pour la communication. On pense qu'elle aide dans le bégaiement et l'hypertension, et contribue à vaincre la tristesse et le chagrin. L'Apatite est dit-on bonne pour l'aide dans la lutte contre les virus et permet de mélanger l'ancien et le nouveau dans la vie.
Aigue-marine
Natural Aquamarine at GemSelectAssociés avec le courage et la libération de l'anxiété et de la peur. On dit qu'elle aide à apaiser, calmer et soulager les craintes et de contribuer à la détente sur de longs trajets. Beaucoup de gens pensent qu'elle protège les marins en mer, et empêche le mal de mer. La tradition veut qu'elle donne des aperçus et aide dans la clarté mentale.
Aventurine
Aventurine from GemSelectUne pierre d'opportunité; qu'on pense bonne pour attirer la prospérité. Quelques-uns conseils de garder une aventurine dans votre poche gauche lorsque vous achetez un billet de loterie ou pour jouer à n'importe quel jeu de hasard.
Topaze bleue
Bkue Topaz at GemSelectAssociés avec le courage et pour surmonter les craintes et les obstacles. C'est une pierre traditionnelle pour les écrivains, les savants, les artistes et les intellectuels, aussi utilisée pour aider aux grandes pensées. Elle aide dit-on à calmer l'angoisse mentale et à favoriser la fidélité, l'amitié, la douceur, et l'intégrité.
Calcédoine
Natural ChalcedonyConsidéré comme une pierre sacrée par les Indiens d'Amérique, la calcédoine nourrit et favorise la fraternité et la bonne volonté. La Calcédoine aide pense-t-on à atténuer l'hostilité, l'irritabilité et la mélancolie.
Citrine
Buy Natural CitrineOn dit qu'elle aide à ouvrir l'esprit à de nouvelles pensées et à équilibrer l'impatience et l'agitation. La Citrine est depuis longtemps considérer comme bonne pour promouvoir l'optimisme. Elle attire également l'abondance, et est connu comme la "pierre du marchand" en étant placé là où l'on fait des affaires, non pas seulement pourra acquérir des richesses positive, mais également pour les garder. Bonne pour la concentration mentale, l'endurance et l'estime de soi.
Diamant
Diamonds at GemSelectConsidéré comme bon pour absorber et amplifier les pensées de son utilisateur, ainsi que les forces et les faiblesses des autres pierres précieuses et de leurs porteurs. Les anciens utilisait aussi les diamants pour la désintoxication puisqu'il il était dit qu'ils protégeaient des poisons.
Diopside
Natural Chrome DiopsidePensé pour être une pierre cathartique car elle est considéré par les guérisseurs de cristal comme bonne pour guérir les traumatismes en apportant les larmes de nettoyage. La Diopside est censé favoriser la créativité et promouvoir l'amour et l'engagement.
Émeraude
Buy Emerald from GemSelectLa tradition dit que les émeraudes aident à la fertilité, améliore la vue, et donnent des pouvoirs psychiques au porteur. Considéré comme bonne pour lever la dépression et soulager l'insomnie. Elle favorise la connaissance de soi, les rêves pacifiques, et vous aide à atteindre l'équilibre et la patience.
Fluorite
Natural Fluorite GemstonesOn dit la fluorite bonne pour l'équilibre et stabiliser l'intuition. Considérée comme une aide à l'apprentissage et la pensée latérale. La Fluorite est censé améliorer la capacité de concentration.
Grenat
Garnet Gemstones at GemSelectConsidéré comme la pierre de la dévotion passionnée: à votre famille, à vos amis, à vous-même, et à vos buts dans la vie. Estimé bonne pour stimuler les sens, la vitalité et augmenter l'endurance. Le grenat aide, dit-on, à attirer la chance dans les entreprises.
Iolite
Natural Iolite GemsDit-on, la pierre de la vision intérieure. Jugés utiles pour contribuer à vivre à un niveau élevé de connaissance, et utile pour l'élimination de la dette et à accroître la responsabilité financière.
Jade
Buy Jade at GemSelectUne pierre de sérénité. Pour dit-on apaiser l'anxiété, la peur et promouvoir la bonne chance. Le Jade apporte non seulement la prospérité, mais vous permet de conserver votre argent. Un charme traditionnel pour les jardiniers, le jade est dit-on bon pour assurer des récoltes abondantes.
Jaspe
Natural Jasper GemsIl est associé à la détente, le contentement, la compassion, l'éducation et la consolation. Le Jaspe aide à soulager le stress mental et vous aidera à atteindre l'équilibre dans votre vie.
Kyanite
Natural KyaniteUne pierre reposante, elle contribue à calmer le mental, à la dissolution de la confusion émotionnelle ou spirituelle. La Kyanite est dit-on particulièrement bonne pour la dissipation de la colère et de la frustration.
Lapis Lazuli
Lapis Lazuli Gems from GemSelectUne pierre antique dite pour représenter l'amitié et la vérité. Le Lapis est bon pour contribuer à l'harmonie dans les relations. C'est une pierre de sagesse et de prise de conscience.
Pierre de lune
Natural MoonstonesAides à la communication par la promotion de la pensée claire, l'inspiration ou la réceptivité; assiste dans l'accomplissement de son propre destin. Longtemps considérée comme la pierre des capacités psychiques, aide à l'exécution et l'équilibre des émotions, la pierre de lune est dite bonne pour aider dans l'accomplissement, mais a tendance à mieux travailler sur des choses qui sont nécessaires par rapport aux choses qui sont juste voulu.
Onyx
Buy Onyx Gems at GemSelectL'onyx noir est dit-on bonne pour repousser la négativité et détourner la négativité des autres.
C'est un bijou qui aide à améliorer la détermination et la persévérance.
Opale
Opal at GemSelectConsidéré comme une pierre fortement associée avec les émotions, y compris l'amour, la passion et la spontanéité. L'Opale aide à la visualisation, l'imagination, les rêves, et la guérison.
Péridot
Natural Peridot from GemSelectCensée renforcer la vie, apporter la prospérité, la croissance et accroître l'ouverture. Le Péridot est également dit-on bon pour aider à comprendre les relations, et pour soulager la dépression, la colère, la peur, la jalousie et l'anxiété.
Prehnite
Buy Prehnite Gems at GemSelectUn bijou d'une aura mystique, la prehnite est dit-on la pierre des rêves dont on se rappellent, la méditation et la prophétie.
Quartz Rose
Natural Rose QuartzConnu sous le nom de pierre de "l'amour doux", le quartz rose apporte la paix et le calme dans les relations. Excellent pour la guérison des blessures émotionnelles, en supprimant la négativité et en rétablissant l'harmonie après les conflits. Il favorise l'appréciation de l'art, de la musique et de la parole écrite.
Rubis
Natural Ruby Gems at GemSelectCélèbre en tant que protection contre le malheur et la mauvaise santé, le rubis est également utilisé pour ouvrir le cœur et pour promouvoir l'amour. Quand il est donné comme un cadeau, le rubis est un symbole d'amitié et d'amour. Le rubis est aussi un symbole de vitalité et de royauté.
Rutile Quartz
Rutile QuartzIl est dit-on bon pour intensifier la puissance du cristal de quartz. Le quartz de rutile est censé aider à arriver à la racine d'un problème.
Saphir
Buy Natural SapphireLongtemps associé à la paix et au bonheur, estimé pour faciliter la communication, la perspicacité, l'intuition, l'inspiration et la prière. Les anciens estiment que les saphirs aiderait à prédire l'avenir.
Quartz fumé
Smoky Quartz dfrom GemSelectOn croit que c'est la pierre naturelle de l'endurance, en favorisant la sérénité, le calme, et la pensée positive.
Spinelle
Natural Spinel at GemSelectAlors que le spinelle a été confondue avec le rubis pendant des siècles, il n'a pas acquis la richesse de sens associée à d'autres pierres précieuses importante. Mais il est dit que le spinelle aide à la détente et à la relaxation. Parce que le spinelle est l'un des rares joyaux à réfraction unique, il a une pureté de couleurs qui peuvent être la base de sa signification symbolique.
Tanzanite
Buy Tanzanite at GemSelectUne pierre précieuse récemment découverte, mais, dit-on traditionnelles pour la tribu Masai, qui donnent la tanzanite à leurs nouveau-nés en tant que porteur de bonne fortune.
Tiger's Eye
Tiger's Eye at GemSelectDites comme bonne pour aider à convertir l'anxiété et la peur dans la logique pratique et l'action. Considéré pour promouvoir l'équilibre et la force dans les moments difficiles, et soulage des doutes.
Topaze
Natural Topaz from GemSelectPensée pour calmer la mauvaise humeur et donner de la force. Le Topaze est dite bonne pour améliorer la clarté mentale, pour se concentrer et également accroître la confiance. Elle est également recommandé pour les sautes d'humeur, l'insomnie, les soucis, les peurs, la dépression et l'épuisement.
Tourmaline
Buy Natural Tourmaline from GemSelectLa tourmaline aide dit-on à renforcer à la fois le corps et l'esprit. On pense qu'elle attire l'inspiration et aide à la concentration, à encourager l'équilibre et promouvoir la compréhension. On pense aussi qu'elle aide à calmer les nerfs, la douleur, promouvoir l'équilibre et la confiance en soi.
Turquoise
Buy TurquoiseConsidérée pour attirer l'argent, le succès et l'amour, la turquoise est une pierre d'amitié dans de nombreuses cultures. Les Amérindiens associaient les couleurs de la pierre turquoise avec le bleu du ciel et la terre verte. Il est encore aujourd'hui considéré par beaucoup comme étant symbolique de la source de l'humanité dans la nature.
Zircon
Natural Zircon GemStones at GemSelectDepuis le Moyen Age, le zircon était estimé pour aider dans la croissance spirituelle et pour promouvoir de la sagesse. Celui qui porte le zircon, dit-on, va trouver la beauté et la paix.
  • First Published: 07-mars-2008
  • Last Updated: 08-janvier-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Gemstone Meanings

Gemstone Meanings

Over the centuries, various cultures have contributed to the legend and lore surrounding gemstones. These rare products of nature have inspired philosophers and mystics to attribute unusual powers to these special minerals.

The best compendium of gemstone lore is undoubtedly that found in George Frederick Kunz's book The Curious Lore of Precious Stones, which was published in 1913. But Kunz was no mystic crystal-gazer. Rather he was the leading gemologist of his time and in his role as the resident gem expert at Tiffany & Co. in New York, he helped to shape the modern market for colored stones. He was also instrumental in putting together some of the greatest collections of rare gemstones, including the famous J.P. Morgan-Tiffany collection, which is now displayed at the American Museum of Natural History.

Kunz believed that we can learn a great deal by studying the ways in which medicinal gemstones were used by different cultures, and the beliefs that people at different times formed about rare gems. For Kunz this study wasn't just sociological curiosity, it was a way of learning about gemstones themselves: "Many of these ideas may seem strange enough to us now, and yet when we analyze them we find that they have their roots either in some intrinsic quality of the stones or else in an instinctive appreciation of their symbolical significance".

The following are a series of beliefs that have been attributed to various types of gemstones over the years.

Actinolite Cat's Eye

Buy actinolite gemsActinolite is popular for its metaphysical abilities. It is an excellent stone for both physical and spiritual healing, and can be used for any of the chakras. It is used for balancing the energies of the heart, and is known to produce soothing energies and awareness.


Buy agate Agate is considered a protective stone. It is believed to attract strength and offer protection from bad dreams, stress and the draining of energy. Agate is said to balance energies and awaken talents.


Buy amazonite Amazonite is believed to have a soothing and calming effect. It accomplishes this by dispelling negative energy and allowing us to let go of sadness and grief.


Buy natural amethyst Amethyst calms the emotions, encourages clarity of thought, and assists in attaining wisdom. Amethyst is a stone of the mind which brings calmness and clarity. Amethyst is said to attune its wearer with intuition, feelings and values. It has long been regarded as an aid to sobriety and is useful for combating alcohol, food and other addictions. It is also thought to ease obsessive-compulsive behavior.


Buy apatite from GemSelect Amethyst is a gemstone of communication. It is believed to help stuttering, hypertension and to assist its wearer in overcoming sadness and grief. Apatite is said to help fight viruses and promote the blending of old with new in one's life.


Buy natural aquamarine at GemSelect Aquamarine is associated with courage and the release of anxiety and fear. It is thought to soothe, calm, alleviate fear and to help relaxation on long journeys. Many believe that it protects sailors at sea, and prevents seasickness. Tradition holds that it gives insight and promotes mental clarity.


Buy aventurine from GemSelect Aventurine is a stone of opportunity that is believed to attract prosperity. Some advise to keep an aventurine in your left pocket when you are buying a lottery ticket or playing any game of chance.

Blue Topaz

Buy blue topaz from GemSelect Blue topaz is associated with courage and overcoming fears and obstacles. It is a traditional stone for writers, scholars, artists and intellectuals, since it is used to encourage higher thinking. It is said to ease mental anguish and promote fidelity, friendship, gentleness and integrity.


Buy natural chalcedonyChalcedony is considered a sacred stone by Native Americans, chalcedony nurtures and promotes brotherhood and goodwill. Chalcedony is said to alleviate hostility, irritability and melancholy.


Buy natural citrineCitrine is said to open the mind to new thoughts and balance impatience and restlessness. Citrine is thought to promote optimism. It also attracts abundance and is known as the "merchant's stone"; it is often placed where business is conducted, not only to acquire wealth, but to maintain it. It is also good for mental focus, endurance and self-esteem.


Buy diamonds at GemSelectDiamonds are believed to absorb and amplify the thoughts of its user, as well as the strengths and weaknesses of other gems and their wearers. The ancients also used diamond for detoxification as it is said to protect from poison.


Buy natural chrome diopsideDiopside is thought to be a cathartic stone that is believed by crystal healers to heal trauma by bringing forth cleansing tears. Diopside is believed to foster creativity, love and commitment. Diopside gemstones include green chrome diopside, chatoyant star diopside and the newer diopside discovery, rare tashmarine diopside.


Buy emerald from GemSelectEmerald is a traditional stone, and it is stated that emerald aids fertility, improves eyesight and gives the wearer psychic powers. It is also believed to lift depression and relieve insomnia. Promotes self-knowledge, peaceful dreams and encourages balance and patience.


Shop for natural fluorite gemstonesFluorite is thought to balance and stabilize intuition. Regarded as an aid for learning and lateral thinking. Fluorite is believed to improve the ability to concentrate.


Buy garnet gemstones at GemSelectGarnet gemstones are regarded as the stone of passionate devotion; toward family, friends, the self, and purpose in life. Believed to stimulate the senses, and increase vitality and stamina. Garnet is thought to attract good luck in business ventures. Garnet gemstones include almandine garnet, pyrope garnet, color change garnet, demantoid garnet, Mali garnet, malaya garnet, rhodolite garnet, hessonite garnet, spessartite tsavorite garnet, star garnet and uvarovite garnet


Buy natural iolite gemsIolite is said to be the stone of inner vision. Believed to assist one in achieving a higher awareness level. Also thought to be useful for the elimination of debt and to increase financial responsibility.


Buy jade at GemSelectJade is a stone of serenity thought to alleviate anxiety, fear and to promote good luck. Jade not only brings prosperity, but encourages its wearer to hold on to money. A traditional charm for gardeners, jade is said to ensure bountiful harvests. Jade gemstones can include the pure varieties of jadeite and nephrite, as well as jade omphacite, jade-albite and maw-sit-sit.


Buy natural jasper gemsJasper quartz is a gemstone associated with relaxation, contentment, compassion, nurturing and consolation. Jasper is said to relieve mental stress and help to achieve balance in life.


Shop for natural kyaniteKyanite is a calming stone; it helps to quiet the mind, dissolving emotional or spiritual confusion. Kyanite is said to be particularly good at dissolving anger and frustration.

Lapis Lazuli

Buy lapis lazuli gems from GemSelectLapis lazuli is an ancient stone said to represent friendship and truth. Blue lapis lazuli gems are believed to help bring about harmony in relationships. It is a stone of wisdom and awareness.


Buy natural moonstonesMoonstone encourages communication by promoting clear thinking, inspiration and receptivity. It also assists in the fulfillment of one's destiny. Long regarded as the gemstone for psychic abilities, wish fulfillment and balancing the emotions, moonstone is thought to work better on things that are needed rather than things that are just wanted. Moonstone varieties include blue-sheen moonstone, rainbow moonstone (though not a real moonstone) and star moonstone.


Buy onyx gems at GemSelectBlack onyx is said to repel negativity and protect its wearer from the hostility of others. It is a gem thought to enhance determination and perseverance.


Buy opal at GemSelectOpal is regarded as a stone strongly associated with the emotions, including love and passion. It is also thought to promote spontaneity, imagination, dreams and healing. Varieties of opal include black opal, common opal, white opal, chocolate opal, opal-in-matrix, Australian boulder opal, opal doublet, opal triplet and fire opal.


Buy natural peridot from GemSelectGreen peridot is thought to strengthen life, bring about prosperity, growth and increase openness. Peridot is also believed to help one understand relationships, and to alleviate depression, anger, fear, jealousy and anxiety.


Buy prehnite gems at GemSelectGreen prehnite is a gem with a mystical aura. Prehnite is said to be the stone of remembered dreams, meditation and prophecy.

Rose Quartz

Buy natural rose quartzPink rose quartz is known as the stone of "gentle love", rose quartz brings peace and calm to relationships. Excellent for healing emotional wounds, removing negativity and restoring harmony after conflict. Promotes appreciation of the arts.


Buy natural ruby gems at GemSelectRed ruby is famous as a protector from misfortune and bad health, ruby is also used to open the heart and promote love. Given as a gift, ruby is a symbol of friendship and love. The ruby is also a symbol of vitality and royalty.

Rutile Quartz

Buy rutile quartzRutile quartz is said to intensify the power of quartz crystal, rutile quartz is thought to assist one in getting to the root of a problem.


Buy natural sapphireSapphire has long associations with peace and happiness, and is believed to help with communication, insight, intuition, inspiration and prayer. The ancients believed that sapphires could help them to predict the future.

Smoky Quartz

Buy smoky quartz from GemSelectBrown smoky quartz is believed to be nature's stone of endurance, fostering serenity, calmness and positive thoughts.


Buy natural spinel at GemSelectSince spinel was confused with ruby for centuries, it has not acquired the richness of meaning associated with other important gems. But it is said that spinel is helpful for relaxation and releasing worry. Since spinel is one of the very few singly refractive gems, it has a purity of color that may be the basis for its symbolic meaning.


Buy tanzanite at GemSelectViolet-blue tanzanite is a recently discovered gemstone, said to be connected with the traditions of the Masai tribe, who believe that it has healing properties. The Masai give tanzanite to newborn children, since it is thought to represent life.

Tiger's Eye

Buy tiger's eye at GemSelectGolden brown tiger's eye is said to help convert anxiety and fear into practical logic and action. It is also believed to promote balance and strength in difficult times, and to relieve doubt.


Buy natural topaz from GemSelectTopaz, is thought to calm a bad temper and give strength. It is also said to improve mental clarity, focus and to increase confidence. Topaz gems are recommended for mood swings, insomnia, worry, fear, depression and exhaustion.


Buy natural tourmaline from GemSelectTourmaline is said to strengthen both body and spirit. It is believed to attract inspiration, aid concentration, encourage balance and promote understanding. It is also thought to calm nerves, sooth grief, promote balance and build self-confidence.


Buy turquoise Blue and green turquoise. Believed to attract money, success and love, turquoise is a stone of friendship in many cultures. Native Americans associated the colors of turquoise with the blue sky and the green earth. It is still seen by many today as being symbolic of our roots in nature.


Buy natural zircon gemstones at GemSelectSince the Middle Ages, zircon has been believed to encourage spiritual growth and the promotion of wisdom. It is said that those who wear zircon will find beauty and peace.
  • First Published: March-07-2008
  • Last Updated: August-02-2016
  • © 2005-2016 all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:


Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart