search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

锆石宝石信息

GemSelect 的锆石宝石
天然锆石宝石

锆石是人类和地球本身的历史水晶。 2014 年在澳大利亚发现的一块锆石已有近 45 亿年的历史,几乎与地球本身一样古老。在圣经中被称为风信子或 jacinth,各种锆石是圣经中提到的以色列的 12 块石头之一,传统的印度教诗歌中提到了一棵长有锆石宝石的传奇树。

多年来,锆石的形象首先因其透明形式而被用作钻石的廉价替代品,然后最近又与人造钻石替代品立方锆相混淆。这是一种耻辱,因为锆石晶体构成了一颗美丽的宝石,涵盖了从金黄色到深红色、绿色和蓝色甚至黑色的一系列颜色。

锆石的名字来自阿拉伯语“Zarqun”,意思是红色或“发音相似的波斯语词“Zargun”,意思是金色,它在世界各地都有发现,东非和东南亚生产了一些最好的例子。 1783 年,亚伯拉罕·维尔纳 (Abraham Werner) 将其更名为锆石。

锆石颜色

哪种颜色的锆石最贵?锆石有多种颜色,包括一些令人惊叹的黄色和橙色品种,甚至粉红色和绿色,但毫无疑问,最受欢迎和最有价值的是迷人的蓝色样品。虽然它们可能是最受欢迎的,但蓝色锆石几乎总是天然棕色,并通过热处理变成令人惊叹的蓝色。

从不同角度观察时,锆石宝石的颜色会发生显着变化,例如,从某些角度看,蓝色锆石可能呈绿色。技术术语是多色性。中等深色、纯蓝色的宝石最有价值。绿色锆石可能是最稀有的彩色锆石,它们很难找到,而且通常非常昂贵。白色锆石实际上是透明的,因其与钻石的相似性而受到追捧。

GemSelect 的锆石宝石

锆石品种

矿物锆石在世界各地的数量如此丰富,以至于可以认为它无处不在,而且体积小到几乎不被人注意。锆石非常有弹性,可以在土壤、岩石和沉积物中存活数十亿年,也就是我们星球的整个生命周期。在某些情况下,可以形成较大的晶体,这些晶体有时具有极高的透明度。锆石是一个包容性的名称,但其由微量杂质产生的各种颜色导致了许多替代名称,包括:

  • 金丝雀锆石呈黄色,就像鸟一样
  • 巧克力色锆石棕色
  • Ratanakari Zircon一种蓝色石头,以挖掘它的柬埔寨矿山命名
  • Mashewa 锆石是一种来自坦桑尼亚 Mashewa 矿的橙色品种
  • 从黄色到石榴石的风信子
  • Jargoon一种苍白的几乎无色的黄色宝石

锆石非常有弹性,可以在土壤、岩石和沉积物中存活数十亿年,也就是我们星球的整个生命周期。

锆石宝石被认为具有很高的净度,大多数待售宝石都是我们所说的“肉眼清洁”,即肉眼看不到任何杂质或缺陷(称为内含物)。由于它是一种天然宝石,因此肯定存在这种内含物,但只有在放大镜下才能看到。最有价值的锆石宝石是透明或半透明的,并具有与大多数其他宝石区分开来的闪光或特有的“火”。这种独特的“闪光”被称为色散,可以使用折射计进行测量。

锆石净度

锆石宝石被认为具有很高的净度,大多数出售的宝石都是我们所说的“肉眼清洁”,即肉眼看不到任何杂质或缺陷(称为内含物)。由于它是一种天然宝石,因此肯定存在这种内含物,但只有在放大镜下才能看到。最有价值的锆石宝石是透明或半透明的,并具有将它们与其他宝石区分开来的闪光或特有的“火”。

锆石含义

作为地球上最古老的矿物之一,锆石具有独特的灵性。在中世纪,据说锆石有助于休息和睡眠,抵御噩梦,并为其主人带来繁荣、荣誉和智慧。无论是家人、朋友还是心爱的宠物,锆石都能让您处理失落感。它可以激发您对生活或工作的热情。锆石是一种极好的冥想宝石。如果您希望与孩子建立联系,锆石可以成为送给他或她的好礼物。不同颜色的锆石可以产生不同的精神效果,例如蓝色锆石可以帮助您建立人际关系和建立自信,而无色品种或 Matura Diamond(透明锆石的误导性名称)非常适合精神净化。

锆石的治疗功效

几个世纪以来,人们一直推荐使用锆石来缓解一系列疾病、舒缓疼痛、缓解胃痉挛、哮喘、肺部问题和某些形式的心律失常。有些人认为它可以帮助缓解经痛并起到性兴奋剂的作用。

锆石具有非常轻微的放射性,因此佩戴时应格外小心,但请注意,锆石中的放射性水平在作为珠宝佩戴时不会构成威胁。

免责声明:形而上学和替代水晶治疗能力和属性不应被视为已确认的建议。传统、仪式和神话宝石知识收集自各种资源,并不代表 SETT Co., Ltd. 的唯一意见。这些信息不能代替您的医生的建议。如果您有任何健康状况,请去看有执照的医生。 GemSelect 不保证任何治愈或占星术诞生石力量的声明或声明,并且在任何情况下都不承担任何责任。

锆石价格

它要多少钱?

4 Cs,颜色、净度、切工和克拉,在很大程度上决定了宝石的价格,这对于锆石来说也不例外。无色或白色的锆石类似于钻石,实际上比钻石更稀有,但价格却不能相提并论。根据上述 4 C,锆石每克拉的价格约为 50 至 400 美元。最受欢迎的锆石是通过热处理生产的蓝色锆石,通常来自缅甸或柬埔寨,通常价格不菲。绿色锆石是最稀有的颜色,价格也很高。锆石的产地也会影响价格,斯里兰卡和柬埔寨提供高价的透明宝石,柬埔寨也是最好的蓝色品种的来源。

锆石价格表

颜色重量范围价格区间 / 美元
蓝色的1 - 2 克拉15 美元 - 50 美元/克拉
蓝色的2 - 5 克拉$35 - $180/ct
蓝色的5ct + $70 - $350/ct
白色的1 - 2 克拉15 美元 - 80 美元/克拉
白色的2 - 5 克拉18 美元 - 40 美元/克拉
白色的5ct + $40 - $80/ct
想要1 - 2 克拉$15 - $100/ct
想要2 - 5 克拉$20 - $250/ct
想要5ct + $40 - $400/ct

哪里可以找到锆石?

在包括南极洲在内的所有大陆上都发现了某种形式的锆石,但数百年来,斯里兰卡、柬埔寨、缅甸和越南的冲积矿床已经生产出较大的宝石级锆石晶体。最近,在澳大利亚、南美、尼日利亚、马达加斯加和任何可以找到伟晶岩的地方都开采了宝石级矿床。

锆石可以处理吗?

许多锆石是完全未经处理的,但要获得非常受欢迎和美丽的蓝色锆石或明亮的白色锆石,必须对原始宝石进行热处理。一些颜色未经增强,包括来自坦桑尼亚的玫瑰色和玫瑰橙色锆石,以及来自柬埔寨的橙色至橙棕色锆石。绿色锆石非常罕见,其颜色源于微量的天然铀和钍痕迹,但有时会加热以减轻其颜色。偶尔加热金黄色锆石。某些宝石可以进行两次热处理,一次在无氧环境中变成蓝色,然后在空气中重新加热以产生金棕色宝石。应该注意的是,已知一些经过处理的宝石会在阳光下或紫外线下褪色。

锆石适合什么首饰?

对于宝石级宝石,锆石的莫氏硬度读数为 7 至 7.5,这意味着如果制成戒指、吊坠、手链或项链,它们的强度足以承受日常佩戴的严酷考验,但应注意避免任何猛烈撞击。锆石易碎,因此应小心存放,避免与坚硬的材料接触,以免损坏、碎裂或划伤宝石。
要了解有关莫氏量表的更多信息,请在此处查看我们的文章。

范围广泛的美丽和有趣的颜色以及它们著名的闪光或“火”使锆石作为珠宝备受追捧。为了最大限度地发挥这种非常高光泽的效果,锆石通常采用明亮式或阶梯式切割制成圆形或椭圆形。锆石的颜色和光泽非常吸引人,镶嵌在成品珠宝设计中时看起来令人惊叹,而且由于可用的各种色调,石头可以镶嵌在银、金、白金或任何您喜欢的介质中。

白锆石是那些想要拥有钻石般光泽的宝石但又不想支付真正钻石的高价的人的首选钻石替代品。

由于其致密的性质,大多数锆石尺寸较小,但可以找到一些罕见的大石头。较大的宝石非常适合大胆的设计,例如独特的吊坠或胸针。按尺寸而不是按克拉重量购买有色宝石 - 6 毫米的圆形宝石将是 6 毫米,但非常致密的锆石可能比其克拉重量暗示的要小。例如,锆石的密度比钻石高约 50%——如果钻石重 1 克拉,相同尺寸的锆石将重约 1.5 克拉。

你知道吗?关于锆石的有趣事实

  • 锆石是十二月的三大生辰石之一。
  • 白色锆石是金星的宝石,相信会给金牛座和天秤座的人带来好运。
  • 锆石可能含有微量的铀,通过照射自身导致其性质发生变化!
  • 蒂芙尼的世界著名宝石买家乔治·昆茨 (George Kunz) 是蓝锆石的忠实粉丝,想将其重新命名为“星光”,以强调宝石的璀璨光泽。它没有流行起来。
  • 锆石具有双折射,进入宝石的光线分裂成两束光线,赋予它众所周知的闪光。
  • 锆石非常耐用且耐化学腐蚀,因此永远不会消失。
  • 人们相信锆石是由火山岩中的结晶形成的,但新的理论表明锆石可能是在数十亿年前流星撞击地球时产生的。
  • 额外的锆石层像树木年轮一样在原始晶体周围生长,这些年轮可以记录追踪我们星球历史的地质事件。
  • 地球科学家对锆石如此感兴趣,以至于催生了“锆石学”学科。

如何保养锆石

虽然对于大多数类型的珠宝来说已经足够坚硬,但锆石仍然需要照顾。最好将宝石和珠宝分开存放,以防止划伤和断裂。储存锆石宝石时,最好用软布包裹它们或将它们放在衬有织物的盒子中。从事任何类型的体育活动(包括家务、锻炼或运动)时,请务必摘下首饰。不佩戴时,我们建议您的锆石远离阳光直射和强热源,因为这可能会改变颜色。只需用软布或刷子擦拭锆石,必要时用温和的肥皂或清洁剂清洗,然后用温水冲洗。清洁锆石宝石和珠宝时,请避免使用蒸汽机或超声波清洁器。

你怎么能分辨出真正的锆石?

这个宝石是真的吗?

确定任何宝石真实性的唯一方法是通过使用折光率测试或比重测试的专业实验室测试。如果没有这些测试之一,就很难识别锆石。由于其与钻石的相似性,无色刻面锆石已被用作替代品,有时是欺诈性的。在 GemSelect,我们目前提供来自您选择的两个备受推崇的独立宝石学实验室的简要鉴定报告:亚洲宝石学研究所 (AIGS) 和 Burapha 宝石学实验室 (BGL 实验室)。

锆石 - 宝石学特性

化学式:

氧化锆;硅酸锆

晶体结构:

(四边形)短而粗壮的四棱柱,末端为金字塔形

颜色:

无色、黄色、棕色、橙色、紫红色、蓝色、绿色

硬度:

莫氏硬度为 6.5 到 7.5

折射率:

1.810 到 2.024

密度:

3.93 到 4.73

解理:

模糊

透明度:

透明到半透明

双折射或双折射:

0.002 到 0.059

光泽:

玻璃光泽

荧光:

蓝色:很弱;浅橙色、红色和棕色:弱、深黄色

锆石可以变色吗?

我们知道锆石在实验室加热时会永久变色,但它们也可以在阳光、黑暗或白炽灯下变色。据说有些例子在阳光下从橙色变为无色,然后在黑暗中慢慢变回橙色。这种仅少数宝石所特有的现象被称为暗光。

如何辨别优质锆石?

与大多数宝石一样,对宝石质量的评估基于 4 C、颜色、净度、切工和克拉。对于锆石,最重要的是颜色和切工。锆石通常不含内含物,大多数宝石用肉眼看起来是透明的。我们更喜欢通过以毫米而不是克拉为单位的物理尺寸来衡量锆石。这是因为锆石是一种非常致密的宝石,例如它的密度比钻石高 50%,因此 2 克拉或 3 克拉的锆石看起来比类似克拉的钻石小很多。所以在锆石上寻找深而饱和的颜色。确保宝石刻面以适当的角度切割,这样它就不会显示任何窗口效果并显示其完整的火彩。

  • 首次发布于: 七月-30-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 八月-16-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

9462

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (143)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

search
  • Sign In
    Sign Up
  • English speaking customer support only

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD

Zircon Gemstone Information

Zircon Gemstones at GemSelect
Natural Zircon Gemstones

Zircon is an historic crystal both in terms of man and the earth itself. A piece of zircon found in Australia in 2014 has been dated back nearly 4.5 billion years making it virtually as old as the planet itself. Named hyacinth or jacinth in the bible, a variety of zircon was one of the 12 stones of Israel mentioned in the bible and a legendary tree ripe with zircon gems is mentioned in traditional Hindu poem.

Zircon's image has suffered over the years first by its use in its clear form as a cheaper substitute for diamonds and then more recently by getting confused with the man-made diamond substitute, cubic zirconium. This is a shame because the zircon crystals make a beautiful gem covering an array of colors from golden yellows to deep reds, greens and blues and even black.

Zircon's name comes from the Arabic 'Zarqun' meaning red or the 'similar sounding Persian word 'Zargun' meaning golden and it is found across the world with east Africa and south east Asia producing some of the finest examples. It was renamed Zircon in 1783 by Abraham Werner.

Zircon Colors

Which colors of zircon are the most expensive? Zircons come in many colors, including some stunning yellow and orange varieties, even pinks and greens, but undoubtedly the favorite and most valuable are the attractive blue examples. Although they may be the most popular, blue zircons are nearly always naturally brown and are turned into stunning blues through heat treatment.

The color of Zircon gemstones can change dramatically when viewed from different angles, for example blue zircon can look greenish from certain angles. The technical term for this is pleochroism. Medium dark, pure blue stones have the most value. Green zircons are probably the rarest color zircon, they are very hard to find and typically very expensive. White zircon, which is in reality clear, is wanted for its resemblance to diamonds.

Which is the rarest color zircon? Probably the green zircon this type is very rare and typically very expensive. White zircon, which is in reality clear, is wanted for its resemblance to diamonds.

Zircon Gemstones at GemSelect

Zircon Varieties

The mineral zircon is present throughout the world in such abundance that it could be thought of as ubiquitous and is so small that it is barely noticed. Zircon is so resilient that it can survive in soil, rocks and sediments for billions of years, the entire lifespan of our planet. In certain circumstances larger crystals can form and these crystals are sometimes of extremely high clarity. Zircon is the encompassing name but its assortment of colors produced by traces of impurities has lead to a number of alternative names including:

  • Canary Zircon yellow in color just like the bird
  • Chocolate Zircon brown in color
  • Ratanakari Zircon a blue stone named after the Cambodian mine where it is excavated
  • Mashewa Zircon an orange variety from the Mashewa mine in Tanzania
  • Hyacinth from yellow to garnet
  • Jargoon a pale almost colorless yellow gem

Zircon is so resilient that it can survive in soil, rocks and sediments for billions of years, the entire lifespan of our planet.

Zircon gemstones are considered to have high levels of clarity, most gemstones for sale are what we would call 'eye clean', that is any impurities or flaws (known as inclusions) are invisible to the naked eye. As it is a natural gemstone such inclusions certainly exist but would only be visible under magnification. Most valuable Zircon gemstones are transparent or translucent and have a sparkle or a characteristic 'fire' that distinguish them from most other gemstones. This distinctive 'sparkle' is known as dispersion and can be measured using a refractometer.

Zircon Clarity

Zircon gemstones are considered to have high levels of clarity, most gemstones for sales are what we would call 'eye clean', that is any impurities or flaws (known as inclusions) are invisible to the naked eye. As it is a natural gemstone such inclusions certainly exist but would only be visible under magnification. Most valuable Zircon gemstones are transparent or translucent and have a sparkle or a characteristic 'fire' that distinguish them from other gemstones.

Zircon Meaning

As one of the oldest minerals on earth, Zircon has a unique spirituality about it. In the Middle Ages, Zircon was said to aid in resting and sleeping warding off nightmares and bringing prosperity, honor and wisdom to its owner. Zircon will enable you to deal with feelings of loss whether it is a family member, friend or beloved pet. It can boost your passion for life or work. Zircon is an excellent meditation gemstone. Zircon can be a good gift for your child if you wish you connect with him or her. The different color zircons can have different spiritual effects, for example the Blue Zircon stone can help your relationships and build self confidence while the colorless variety or Matura Diamond (a misleading name for a clear zircon) is great for mental purification.

Healing benefits of Zircon

Zircon has been recommended for centuries to alleviate a range of ailments, soothing pains, relieve stomach cramps, asthma, lung problems and some forms of cardiac arrhythmia. Some believe it can aid with menstrual pains and act as a sexual stimulant.

Zircon is very slightly radioactive so some care should be taken when wearing it but please note that the levels of radioactivity in zircon pose no threat when worn as jewelry.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.

Zircon Prices

How much does it cost?

The 4 Cs, color, clarity, cut and carat, largely determine the price of a gemstone and this is no different for a zircon. The colorless or white zircon resembles the diamond and is in fact rarer than a diamond but cannot command a similar price. Zircon can cost around $50 to $400 per carat depending on the above mentioned 4 Cs. The most popular zircon is the blue variety produced by heat treatment of brown zircon usually from Myanmar or Cambodia, and usually commands a good fee. Green zircon is the rarest color and can also reach a significant price. The origin of the zircon stone can also affect the price with Sri Lanka and Cambodia providing premium priced clear stones and Cambodia also being the source of the finest blue varieties.

Zircon Price List

Color Weight range Price range / USD
Blue 1 - 2ct $15 - $50/ct
Blue 2 - 5ct $35 - $180/ct
Blue 5ct + $70 - $350/ct
White 1 - 2ct $15 - $80/ct
White 2 - 5ct $18 - $40/ct
White 5ct + $40 - $80/ct
Fancy 1 - 2ct $15 - $100/ct
Fancy 2 - 5ct $20 - $250/ct
Fancy 5ct + $40 - $400/ct

Where are zircons found?

Zircons in some form or another are found on all continents including Antarctica but larger Gem quality zircon crystals have been produced from alluvial deposits in Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Vietnam for hundreds of years. More recently gem-grade deposits have been mined in Australia, South America, Nigeria, Madagascar and wherever pegmatite rock can be found.

Can Zircon be treated?

Many zircon stones are completely untreated, however to get the very popular and beautiful Blue zircon or brilliant White zircon, the original gemstones have to be heat treated. Some colors are unenhanced, including rose and rose-orange zircon from Tanzania, and orange to orange-brown zircon from Cambodia. Green zircon is very rare and owes its color to minute natural traces of uranium and thorium but is sometimes heated to lighten their coloring. Golden-yellow zircon is occasionally heated. Certain stones can be heat treated twice, once in an oxygen free environment to turn blue, then re-heated in air to produce golden brown gems. It should be noted that some treated gemstones have been known to fade in sunlight or under ultra-violet light.

What jewelry is Zircon suitable for?

Zircon has a reading of 7 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale for gem quality stones, meaning they are strong enough the withstand the rigors of daily wear if fashioned into rings, pendants, bracelets or necklaces although care should be taken to avoid any sharp blows. Zircon can be brittle so should be stored carefully to avoid contact with hard materials which could break, chip or scratch the gem.
To learn more about the Mohs scale please see our article here.

The wide range of beautiful and interesting colors as well as their renowned sparkle or 'fire' make Zircons much sought after as jewelry. To maximize the effects of this very high luster zircons are usually fashioned into round or oval shapes with a brilliant or step cut. Zircons color and luster is so attractive that it looks stunning when set in finished jewelry designs and because of the variety of hues available, the stone can set in silver, gold, white gold or any medium you prefer.

White zircon is a go-to diamond substitute for those wanting a gemstone with diamond-like luster but who don't wish to pay the high price of a real diamond.

Most zircon stones are small in size, due to their dense nature, but some rare large stones can be found. Larger stones are excellent for bold designs, such as unique pendants or brooches. Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight - a 6mm round stone will be 6mm but the very dense zircon could be smaller than its carat weight may suggest. For example, Zircon is about 50% denser than diamond - if the diamond weighs 1 carat, the same size zircon will weigh about 1.5 carats.

Did you know? Interesting facts about zircon

  • Zircons are one of three birthstones for the month of December.
  • White zircon is the gemstone of the planet Venus and is believed to bring good fortune to those born under the sign of Taurus and Libra.
  • Zircon can contain small traces of uranium, leading it to change properties by irradiating itself!
  • Tiffany's world famous gem buyer, George Kunz was a great fan of Blue Zircon and wanted to rename it 'Starlite' to emphasize the gem's brilliant luster. It did not catch on.
  • Zircon has double refraction, light entering the gem splits into to two rays of light, giving it its well known sparkle.
  • Zircons are so durable and resistant to chemical attack that they never disappear.
  • It is believed that zircons were formed by crystallization within volcanic rock but new theories suggest zircons could have been created when meteors hit earth billions of years ago.
  • Layers of additional zircon grow around the original crystal like tree rings, these rings can record geologic events tracing the history of our planet.
  • Zircon is of such interest to geoscientists that it has spawned the discipline of "zirconology".

How to care for Zircon

While it is hard enough for most types of jewelry, Zircon still needs to be taken care of. It is best to store gems and jewelry separately from one another to prevent scratches and fractures. When storing zircon gemstones, it is a good idea to wrap them in a soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined box. Always remove jewelry when engaging in any type of physical activity, including household chores, exercise or sports. When not being worn, we recommend keeping your zircons out of direct sunlight and away from strong sources of heat as this could alter the coloring. Simply wipe down your zircon with a soft cloth or brush or wash with a mild soap or detergent if necessary and rinse with warm water. Avoid steamers or ultrasonic cleaners when cleaning zircon gems and jewelry.

How can you tell a real Zircon?

Is this gem real?

The only way to be sure of any gemstone's authenticity is through a professional lab test using refractive index tests or specific gravity tests. Identifying a zircon without one of these tests would be difficult. Because of its similarity to diamond, colorless faceted zircon has been used as a substitute, sometimes fraudulently. At GemSelect, we currently offer brief identification reports from your choice of two well-respected independent gemological laboratories, The Asian Institute of Gemological Sciences (AIGS) and Burapha Gemological Laboratory (BGL Lab).

Zircon - Gemological Properties

Chemical Formula:

ZrSiO4; Zirconium silicate

Crystal Structure:

(Tetragonal), short, stocky, four-sided prisms with pyramidal ends

Color:

Colorless, yellow, brown, orange, red violet, blue, green

Hardness:

6.5 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale

Refractive Index:

1.810 to 2.024

Density:

3.93 to 4.73

Cleavage:

Indistinct

Transparency:

Transparent to translucent

Double Refraction or Birefringence:

0.002 to 0.059

Luster:

Vitreous to brilliant sheen

Fluorescence:

Blue: very weak; light-orange, red and brown: weak, dark-yellow

Can Zircon change color?

We know that zircon can change color permanently when heated in laboratories but they can also change color in sunlight, in darkness or under incandescent light. Some examples are said to go from orange to colorless when left in the sun then slowly return to orange when kept in the dark. This phenomenon, peculiar to just a few gems, is called tenebrescence.

How can you tell a good quality zircon?

As with most gems, an appraisal of a gemstone's quality is based on the 4 Cs, color, clarity, cut and carat. With Zircons it is the color and cut that are the most important. Zircons are typically inclusion free and most gems look clear to the naked eye. We prefer to gauge a zircon by its physical size in millimeters rather than carats. This is because the zircon is a very dense gemstone, for example it is about 50% more dense than a diamond so a 2 or 3 carat zircon would look a lot smaller than a similar carat diamond. So on a zircon look for deep and saturated colors. Make sure the the gem facets are cut in the proper angles so it will not show any window effect and display its full fire.

  • First Published: October-11-2019
  • Last Updated: October-25-2019
  • © 2005-2019 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Pinterest Board Names
More Shapes
Popular Gemstones
  • Sapphire
  • Emerald
  • Ruby
  • Aquamarine
  • Zircon
  • Opal
  • Topaz
  • Tourmaline
  • Garnet
  • Amethyst
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
All Gemstones (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z
  • Actinolite Cat's Eye
  • Agate
  • Agate Geode
  • Almandine Garnet
  • Amazonite
  • Amethyst
  • Ametrine
  • Ammolite
  • Andalusite
  • Andesine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aquamarine
  • Aventurine
  • Beryl
  • Black Opal
  • Bloodstone
  • Boulder Opal
  • Calcite
  • Carnelian
  • Cat's Eye Apatite
  • Cat's Eye Aquamarine
  • Cat's Eye Augite
  • Cat's Eye Gemstones
  • Cat's Eye Moonstone
  • Cat's Eye Opal
  • Cat's Eye Scapolite
  • Chalcedony
  • Charoite
  • Chocolate Opal
  • Chrome Diopside
  • Chrome Tourmaline
  • Chrysoberyl
  • Chrysocolla
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Color-Change Diaspore
  • Color-Change Fluorite
  • Color-Change Garnet
  • Color-Change Sapphire
  • Coral
  • Demantoid Garnet
  • Dendritic Agate
  • Diamond
  • Druzy Amethyst
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Emerald
  • Enstatite
  • Fire Agate
  • Fire Opal
  • Fluorite
  • Fossil Coral
  • Garnet
  • Golden Beryl
  • Grandidierite
  • Grossularite Garnet
  • Hawk's Eye
  • Hematite
  • Hemimorphite Druzy
  • Hessonite Garnet
  • Hiddenite
  • Howlite
  • Idocrase
  • Imperial Topaz
  • Iolite
  • Jade Gemstones
  • Jadeite
  • Jasper
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Kyanite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis Lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Malaya Garnet
  • Mali Garnet
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Moonstone
  • Morganite
  • Moss Opal
  • Mother of Pearl
  • Mystic Quartz
  • Mystic Topaz
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidian
  • Opal
  • Opal Doublet
  • Opal in Matrix
  • Pearl
  • Peridot
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrope Garnet
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Cat's Eye
  • Quartz With Marcasite
  • Rainbow Moonstone
  • Rainbow Pyrite
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rhodolite Garnet
  • Rhodonite
  • Rose Quartz
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Ruby
  • Ruby in Fuchsite
  • Ruby-Zoisite
  • Rutile Quartz
  • Sapphire
  • Scolecite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Sillimanite Cat's Eye
  • Smithsonite
  • Smoky Quartz
  • Snowflake Obsidian
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Spessartite Garnet
  • Sphalerite
  • Sphene
  • Spinel
  • Star Diopside
  • Star Garnet
  • Star Gemstones
  • Star Lemon Quartz
  • Star Moonstone
  • Star Rose Quartz
  • Star Ruby
  • Star Sapphire
  • Star Sunstone
  • Strawberry Quartz
  • Sugilite
  • Sunstone
  • Tanzanite
  • Tiger's Eye
  • Tiger's Eye Matrix
  • Topaz
  • Tourmaline
  • Tsavorite Garnet
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
Main Categories
  • New Arrivals
  • Gemstone Lots
  • Calibrated Gemstones
  • Gemstones By Piece
  • Top Grade Gems
  • Matching Pairs
  • Cabochon Gemstones
  • Drilled Gems, Briolettes and Beads
  • Birthstones
  • Gemstone Carvings
  • Fancy Gemstones
  • Star Gemstones
  • Unheated Sapphire
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart