search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Clarté des pierres précieuses et taille des pierres précieuses

Grande image d'une pierre précieuse tourmaline et aigue-marine

Lorsqu’il s’agit de pierres précieuses, la clarté fait référence aux défauts internes, appelés inclusions, ainsi qu’aux imperfections externes d’une pierre. Les pierres précieuses de couleur impeccable sont plus rares que parfaites diamants . Cependant, même si la clarté est importante pour les pierres de couleur, elle n’est pas aussi chère que pour les diamants blancs.

Par exemple, un précieux émeraude sera fortement inclus, car le processus naturel de formation des émeraudes est violent, ce qui entraîne de nombreux défauts naturels, même dans les émeraudes les plus précieuses. En fait, selon le GIA, une émeraude de bonne qualité varie de clarté I1 à I3. De plus, les pierres de couleur plus claire doivent être plus propres, car leurs défauts sont plus facilement visibles. Les pierres de couleur plus foncée peuvent cacher leurs défauts en raison de la profondeur de leur couleur.

Clarté des pierres précieuses

L'emplacement et le type d'inclusion ou de défaut sont importants avec les pierres de couleur. Par exemple, une grande fissure à la surface d'une pierre peut interrompre le mouvement de la lumière à travers la pierre et peut également affaiblir la durabilité de la pierre. Une grande fissure nuirait probablement à la beauté de la pierre et réduirait sa valeur. Cependant, si la fissure est petite et située dans une zone moins visible, elle n’affectera pas autant la durabilité, la beauté ou le prix qu’un défaut important.

Inclusions de pierres précieuses de tourmaline
Inclusions de tourmalines naturelles
Cliquez ici pour agrandir l'image

Les types d'inclusions peuvent également être utiles lorsqu'ils sont utilisés pour identifier l'origine d'une pierre . Par exemple, le Birman rubis ont des inclusions uniques telles que des formations cristallines inhabituelles qui identifient la pierre comme étant d'origine birmane. Les rubis africains ne possèdent pas ces inclusions uniques, mais contiennent leurs propres inclusions uniques car les processus géologiques de leur formation étaient différents de ceux de leurs cousins birmans. De nombreuses pierres précieuses ont même inclusions considérées comme précieuses , comme la soie présente dans les rubis fins, le rutile dans le quartz incolore et les prêles prisées trouvées dans le grenat démantoïde russe.

En savoir plus sur les inclusions de pierres précieuses

La plupart des pierres précieuses présentent de minuscules irrégularités naturelles appelées inclusions. La plupart des inclusions ne sont pas visibles à l’œil nu ; généralement, un grossissement 10X est nécessaire pour voir ces inclusions. Toutefois, des inclusions plus importantes peuvent être observées à l’œil nu. Ces irrégularités peuvent être dues à des substances telles que des cavités non remplies, de petits cristaux, des fractures ou des modèles de croissance à l'intérieur de la pierre précieuse.

Les inclusions de pierres précieuses peuvent être divisées en trois catégories :

Caries:

Ceux-ci peuvent se former lors de la croissance primaire de la gemme ou lors de sa croissance ultérieure. Ces inclusions peuvent être remplies par des combinaisons liquides, gazeuses ou solides.

Phénomènes de croissance :

Quelques exemples en sont les cristaux solides, le verre naturel et les tubes de limonite (canaux creux tachés par des composés de fer).

Solides :

Quelques exemples en sont les cristaux solides, le verre naturel et les inclusions de mica blanc.

La plupart des pierres précieuses comportent des inclusions, et certaines pierres en contiennent plus que d’autres. Par exemple, les émeraudes sont connues pour être beaucoup plus incluses que saphirs . Voici un tableau répertoriant la fréquence d’inclusion de base dans les pierres précieuses courantes. Pour des informations plus détaillées, consultez notre tableau de clarté des pierres précieuses , ou notre échelle de clarté des pierres précieuses .

Plus d’informations sur les groupes de pierres précieuses importants

Plus d’informations sur les types de pierres précieuses importants

Pierre précieuse de quartz incluse dans le rutile
Inclusions de quartz rutilé
Cliquez pour agrandir

Taille de pierre précieuse

Les pierres sont soit taillées avec des facettes, soit sans facettes, comme la taille cabochon. La taille cabochon est une taille sans facettes qui produit une surface lisse. Il s’agit généralement d’une forme de dôme arrondi, ou parfois d’une forme de dôme carré. Les cabochons gagnent à nouveau en popularité, car de nombreuses personnes préfèrent l'aspect plus subtil et plus doux du cabochon. Certains amateurs de pierres précieuses affirment que les tailles de cabochon ont des couleurs plus fortes et plus saines.

Bien entendu, les pierres sont plus couramment taillées à facettes. L'angle, le nombre et l'emplacement des facettes sont soigneusement planifiés pour permettre au maximum de lumière d'être réfléchie, afin que la couleur et la brillance soient mieux affichées.

La façon dont une pierre est taillée a probablement le plus grand impact sur sa beauté. Les méthodes de taille les plus populaires pour les pierres précieuses colorées peuvent être divisées en quatre catégories :

Taille brillant ou taille diamant
Coupes par étapes
Coupes Mixtes
Coupe unie et cabochons


Pierres précieuses taille brillant ou diamant

Pierres précieuses taille brillantPierres précieuses taillées en brillant

La taille brillant ou taille diamant est populaire pour de nombreuses pierres précieuses colorées. Il garantit que la quantité maximale de lumière est réfléchie à travers la face avant (table) de la pierre précieuse, affichant ainsi sa brillance.

Afin d’accentuer la réfraction de la lumière, la taille brillant présente de nombreuses facettes. L'ovale préserve le poids maximum en carats.

Pierres précieuses taillées en gradins

Pierres précieuses taillées en gradinsPierres précieuses taillées en gradinsPierres précieuses taillées en gradins

Les coupes en gradins comportent des facettes trapézoïdales ou rectangulaires en rangées concentriques, mais il existe aujourd'hui de nombreuses variantes modifiées de ce style de facettes. Les pierres précieuses taillées en gradins peuvent avoir n'importe quelle forme, y compris les pierres précieuses rondes, ovales, en poire ou octogonales. Le taille émeraude est un exemple classique de style de facettage en gradins que l'on retrouve aujourd'hui dans les pierres précieuses colorées.

Pierres précieuses de taille mixte

Les pierres de taille mixte sont un mélange de différents styles de facettes, allant des tailles de diamant rondes, ovales ou carrées, combinées à un coupe aux ciseaux ou une coupe en gradins. Les pierres précieuses de taille mixte peuvent même être combinées avec une pierre précieuse de taille simple, comme une pierre précieuse de taille chamois qui présente un pavillon à facettes et un cabochon en forme de dôme. Pierres précieuses taillées en rose présentent une couronne bombée à facettes, combinée à un fond plat semblable à un cabochon. Pierres précieuses taillées en damier disposent d'un traditionnel pavillon à facettes , et une couronne en forme de rose.

Pierres précieuses taillées mélangéesPierres précieuses taillées mélangéesPierres précieuses taillées mélangées

Les pierres précieuses de taille mixte ne présentent généralement pas différents styles de coupe sur le même côté, mais auront tendance à avoir un côté coupé d'une manière et l'autre fini avec un autre style, comme un côté uni et un côté facetté.

Pierres précieuses et cabochons taille unie

Les pierres précieuses de couleur foncée et celles qui sont translucides ou opaques, comme l'opale et le jade, sont souvent utilisées. coupé en cabochon plutôt que facetté. Cette coupe est également utilisée pour afficher des effets tels que ceux observés dans pierres précieuses oeil de chat et l'astérisme ou pierres précieuses étoiles (chatoyance). De plus, les pierres fortement incluses peuvent être taillées en cabochon, car c'est une meilleure taille pour cacher les inclusions peu attrayantes.

Pierres précieuses cabochonsPierres précieuses cabochonsPierres précieuses cabochons

Cabochons avoir une surface lisse et arrondie sans facettes. Le fond de la pierre est généralement plat ou presque plat. Les pierres précieuses taillées uni peuvent être des pierres précieuses sphériques, simplement des pierres précieuses tranchées, ou même simplement partiellement travaillées et/ou polies.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

34437

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Gemstone Clarity and Cut

Gemstone Clarity and Gemstone Cut

When it comes to gemstones, clarity refers to the internal flaws, known as inclusions, as well as external blemishes of a stone. Flawless colored gemstones are rarer than flawless diamonds. However, even though clarity is important in colored stones, it does not carry the heavy premium as it does for white diamonds. For example, a valuable emerald will be heavily included, since the natural process of emerald formation is violent, resulting in many natural flaws in even the most valuable of emeralds. In fact, according to GIA, a good quality emerald ranges from I1 to I3 clarity. In addition, lighter colored stones need to be cleaner, since their flaws can be seen more easily. Darker colored stones can hide their defects because of their depth of color.

Gemstone Clarity

The location and the type of inclusion or blemish are important with colored stones. For example, a large crack on the surface of a stone can interrupt the movement of light through the stone, and may also weaken the stone's durability. A large crack would probably detract from the stone's beauty and reduce its value. However, if the crack is small and positioned in a less noticeable area, then it will not affect durability, beauty or price as much as a prominent flaw.

Tourmaline Gemstone Inclusions
Natural Tourmaline Inclusions
Click here to enlarge image

The types of inclusions may also be helpful when used to identify the origin of a stone. For example, Burmese rubies have unique inclusions such as unusual crystal formations that identify the stone as having a Burmese origin. African rubies do not have these unique inclusions, but contain their own unique inclusions as the geological processes of their formation were different from their Burmese cousins. Many gemstones even have inclusions which are considered valuable, such as the silk seen in fine rubies, the rutile in colorless quartz and the prized horsetails found in Russian demantoid garnet.

More about Gemstone Inclusions

Most gemstones have tiny natural irregularities called inclusions. Most inclusions are not visible to the naked eye; usually 10X magnification is required to see these inclusions. However, larger inclusions can be seen with the naked eye. These irregularities may be substances such as unfilled cavities, small crystals, fractures or growth patterns within the gem.


Gemstone inclusions can be divided into three categories:

Cavities: These may be formed during the gem's primary growth or its later growth. These inclusions can be filled by combinations liquids, gasses or solids.

Growth Phenomena: A few examples of these are solid crystals, natural glass and limonite tubes (hollow channels stained by iron compounds).

Solids: A few examples of these are solid crystals, natural glass and white mica inclusions.


Most gemstones have some inclusions, and some stones have more inclusions than others. For example, emeralds are known to be much more included than sapphires. Here is a table that lists the basic inclusion frequency in common gemstones. For more detailed information, view our gemstone clarity table, or our gemstone clarity scale.

 

Generally Very Clean
Type I
Generally Included, but Eye-Clean
Type II
Generally Included - Not Eye-Clean
Type III

Beryl Group
Aquamarine
Heliodor - Golden Beryl
Morganite - Pink beryl


Garnet Group
Most red garnets

Quartz Group
Citrine
Smoky quartz
Amethyst

Topaz Group
Colorless - White Topaz
Blue Topaz

Spodumene Group
Kunzite

Zoisite Group
Tanzanite

Apatite Group
Green Apatite and Yellow Golden Apatite are cleaner.

Chrysoberyl Group
Chrysoberyl
Alexandrite

Corundum Group
Ruby
Blue Sapphire
Fancy Sapphire
Color Change Sapphire

Diopside Group
Chrome Diopside
Tashmarine Diopside

Color Change Diaspore

Garnet Group
Almandine Garnet
Rhodolite Garnet
Tsavorite Garnet
Demantoid Garnet
Hessonite Garnet
Malaia Garnet
Spessartite Garnet

Fluorite
Color Change Fluorite

Iolite

Quartz Group
Amethyst
Ametrine
Citrine
Goshenite - White Beryl

Peridot

Spinel Group
Red, orange, etc.

Topaz Group
Imperial Topaz
Azotic Topaz
Mystic Topaz

Tourmaline
Chrome Tourmaline
Green Verdite Tourmaline

Zircon
Blue, green, etc.

 

Beryl
Emerald
Red beryl (Bixbite)

Benitoite

Tourmaline
Red Tourmaline - Rubellite Tourmaline
Watermelon Tourmaline
Paraiba Tourmaline

Idocrase

Kyanite

Prehnite

Sphalerite

Sphene

More Information about Important Gemstone Groups

More Information about Important Gemstone Types


Rutile Included Quartz Gemstone
Rutilated Quartz Inclusions
Click to Enlarge

Gemstone Cut

Stones either are cut with facets, or are non-faceted, such as the cabochon cut. The cabochon cut is a facetless cut that produces a smooth surface. Usually, this is a rounded dome shape, or sometimes a square dome shape. Cabochons are growing in popularity again, as many people prefer the more subtle, softer look of the cabochon. Some gem lovers claim cabochon cuts have stronger, healthier colors.

Of course, stones are more commonly cut with facets. The angle, number, and placement of the facets is carefully planned to allow the most light to be reflected, so that color and brilliance are best displayed.

The way a stone is cut probably has the greatest impact on the stone's beauty. The most popular cutting methods for colored gemstones may be divided in four categories:

Brilliant Cut or Diamond Cut
Step Cuts
Mixed Cuts
Plain Cut and Cabochons


Brilliant-Cut or Diamond-Cut Gemstones

Brilliant-Cut Gemstones Brilliant Cut Gemstones

The brilliant cut or diamond cut is popular for many colored gemstones. It ensures that the maximum amount of light is reflected out through the front (table) of the gemstone, displaying brilliance.

In order to heighten light refraction, the brilliant cut has many facets. The oval preserves the maximum carat weight.

Step-Cut Gemstones

Step-Cut Gemstones Step-Cut Gemstones Step-Cut Gemstones

Step cuts feature trapezoid or rectangular facets in concentric rows, but there are many modified variations of this faceting style available today. Step-cut gemstones can be in any shape, including round, oval, pear or octagonal outlined gemstones. The emerald cut is a classic example of a step-cut faceting style seen in colored gemstones today.

Mixed-Cut Gemstones

Mixed-cut stones are a mixture of different faceting styles, ranging from round, oval or square diamond-cuts, combined with a scissor cut or a step cut. Mixed-cut gemstones can even be combined with a plain-cut, such as a buff-top cut gemstone which features a faceted pavilion and domed cabochon top. Rose-cut gemstones feature a faceted domed crown, combined with a flat-cut bottom similar to a cabochon. Checkerboard-cut gemstones feature a traditional faceted pavilion, and a rose-cut-style crown.

Mixed Cut Gemstones Mixed Cut Gemstones Mixed Cut Gemstones

Mixed-cut gemstones do not usually feature different cutting styles on the same side, but instead, will tend to have one side cut in one manner and the other finished with another style, such as a plain side and one faceted side.

Plain-Cut Gemstones and Cabochons

Dark-colored gemstones, and those that are translucent or opaque, such as opal and jade are often cut en cabochon rather than faceted. This cut is also used to display such effects as seen in cat's eye gemstones and asterism or star gemstones (chatoyancy). In addition, stones that are heavily included may be cut en cabochon, since it is a better cut for hiding unattractive inclusions.

Cabochon Gemstones Cabochon Gemstones Cabochon Gemstones

Cabochons have a smooth, rounded surface with no facets. The bottom of the stone is usually flat or almost flat. Plain-cut gemstones can be spherical gems, simply sliced gems, or even just partially worked and/or polished.

  • First Published: September-23-2006
  • Last Updated: September-23-2016
  • © 2005-2016 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart