Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Edelsteine und Halbedelsteine: Mythos und Wirklichkeit
Precious and Semi-Precious Gems: The History, Legends and Myths of Colored StonesPiedras preciosas y semipreciosas: mito y realidadPietre Preziose e Semipreziose: Mito e RealtáДрагоценные и полудрагоценный камни: миф и реальность
Edelsteine und Halbedelsteine: Mythos und Wirklichkeit
Precious Blue Sapphire

Die Idee, dass manche Steine Edelsteine und andere nur Halbedelsteine sind, ist jedem Käufer von farbigen Steinen geläufig. Edelsteine – Diamant, Rubin, Saphir und Smaragd – stehen der Tradition nach infolge ihrer außerordentlichen Farbe, ihres Glanzes und ihrer extremen Seltenheit auf dem Markt hoch im Preis.

Während Edelsteine sich ihren Ruhm verdienen, ist der konventionelle Unterschied zwischen Edelsteinen und Halbedelsteinen mit Mythen und irrtümlichen Annahmen behaftet. Wir werden hier versuchen, zwischen einigen dieser Mythen und der Wirklichkeit zu unterscheiden.

Es wird oft irrtümlich angenommen, dass der Unterschied zwischen Edelsteinen und Halbedelsteinen von Jahrhunderte alter Tradition bestimmt werde. In Wirklichkeit ist er jedoch eine Neuerung, die nur auf das neunzehnte Jahrhundert zurückgeht. Der Begriff Halbedelstein mit der Bedeutung „von geringerem Handelswert als ein Edelstein“ lässt sich nur auf 1858 zurückverfolgen.

Tsavorite Garnet

Eine weitere irrtümliche Annahme ist, dass die Liste der vier Edelsteine eine lange Geschichte hat. Die traditionelle Liste der Edelsteine ist jedoch eher länger und umfasst einige überraschende Steine. Perlen, obzwar genau genommen keine Edelsteine, wurden als Edelsteine betrachtet; desgleichen Opal. Aber einer der wichtigsten traditionellen Edelsteine, mit einer Geschichte, die auf das griechische Altertum zurückgeht, war der Amethyst. Der Amethyst wurde in die Klasse der Halbedelsteine aufgenommen, als in der ersten Hälfte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts große Vorkommen in Brasilien und Uruguay gefunden wurden. Die Einführung des Begriffs „Halbedelstein“ in das englische Lexikon fällt mit den neuen Amethyst-Entdeckungen zusammen.

Unter den Edelsteinen ist der Diamant mit den meisten Mythen behaftet. Interessant ist jedoch, dass diese modern sind und nicht aus alten Zeiten stammen. Historisch gesehen wurden farbige Edelsteine wie Rubin und Saphir höher eingeschätzt als Diamant, hauptsächlich weil Diamant nicht besonders selten war. Aber im zwanzigsten Jahrhundert änderte sich das. Das erste Ereignis war der Fund einer noch reichlicheren Quelle von Diamanten der Schmuckqualität in Südafrika. Zur gleichen Zeit stieg der Wahrnehmungswert von Diamanten auf eine Ebene, auf welcher man mit Recht sagen kann, dass er in den Augen der Käufer an der Spitze der Liste der Edelsteine steht. Was ist geschehen? Liegt der Wert von Edelsteinen nicht in erster Linie in ihrer Seltenheit?

Rare Red Spinel

Im 19. Jahrhundert wurden auf der ganzen Welt nur einige wenige Pfunde Diamanten pro Jahr gewonnen. Nach der Entdeckung der riesigen Diamantbergwerke in Sädafrika im Jahr 1870 grub man Diamanten einfach tonnenweise aus. Das Angebot war so groß und die Nachfrage so gering, dass britische Finanziere in den südafrikanischen Bergwerken Gefahr liefen, ihre Investition zu verlieren. Die Lösung war die Gründung des mächtigen De Beers-Kartells, das auch heute noch die weltweite Diamantenproduktion und das weltweite Diamantenangebot regelt. Qualitätsdiamanten sind eigentlich nicht selten. Aber De Beers bestimmt, wie viele auf den Markt kommen, und das hält die Preise hoch.

Das Be Beers-Konsortion leitete auch einen Jahrzehnte langen Werbefeldzug ein, um Diamanten mit Liebe, Brautwerbung und Hochzeiten in Verbindung zu bringen, unter dem heute bekannten Slogan „Diamanten sind für ewig“. Der Verlobungsdiamant, einst unbekannt in den meisten Teilen der Welt (einschließlich Europas), gilt jetzt als Wesensbestandteil des Heiratsrituals. Der Schluss, dass die Sonderposition des Diamanten als Edelstein zum Großteil dem Monopol und der Sozialtechnik zu verdanken ist, lässt sich nur schwer vermeiden.

Natural African Tourmaline

Heute können diverse „Halbedelsteine“, wie zum Beispiel Alexandrit, Demantoid-Granat, Tsavorit-Granat und Tanzanit so teuer sein wie Rubin und Saphir. Feine größere Turmalin-, Spinell- und Aquamarin-Steine stehen ebenfalls auf dem Markt hoch im Preis. Man kann sagen, dass wir jetzt eine Situation erreicht haben, in der der Unterschied zwischen Edelsteinen und Halbedelsteinen seine Bedeutung verloren hat. Die Federal Trade Commission der US überlegt sich gelegentlich das Verbot dieser Begriffe, um die Verwirrung der Kunden zu vermeiden. Die American Gem Trade Association (AGTA) hat bereits den folgenden Satz in ihren Moralkodex aufgenommen: „Mitglieder sollten bei der Beschreibung von Edelsteinen den Begriff „Halbedelstein“ vermeiden.“

  • First Published: 16-Oktober-2007
  • Last Updated: 22-Februar-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Precious & Semi-Precious Gems
Piedras preciosas y semipreciosas: mito y realidadEdelsteine und Halbedelsteine: Mythos und WirklichkeitPietre Preziose e Semipreziose: Mito e RealtáДрагоценные и полудрагоценный камни: миф и реальность
Precious and Semi Precious Gemstones: Myth and Reality
Precious Blue Sapphire

The idea that some gemstones are precious and others are only semi-precious is familiar to every buyer of colored stones. Precious stones -- diamond, ruby, sapphire and emerald -- traditionally command a premium price in the market due to their extraordinary color or brilliance and extreme rarity.

While the precious stones are deservedly famous, the conventional distinction between precious and semi-precious gems is laden with myth and misconceptions. Lets try to sort out some of the myths from the reality.

One common misconception is that the distinction between precious and semi-precious gemstones is traditional, going back many centuries. In fact it is a recent innovation, dating only to the nineteenth century. The first use of semiprecious to mean "of less commercial value than a precious stone" can be traced back only to 1858.

Tsavorite Garnet

Another misconception is that the list of four precious gems has a long history. In fact the traditional list of precious gemstones is rather longer and includes some surprising members. Pearl, though not strictly speaking a gemstone, was considered to be precious; so was opal. But one of the most traditional precious stones with a history going back to ancient Greece was amethyst. Amethyst was reclassified as semi-precious after large deposits were found in Brazil and Uruguay in the first half of the nineteenth century. The introduction of the term semiprecious into the English lexicon corresponds to the new amethyst discoveries.

Of all the precious stones, diamond is the most subject to myth. But it is interesting that the myths are of modern rather than ancient origin. Historically, colored gemstones such as ruby and sapphire were more highly valued than diamond, mainly because diamond was not particularly rare. But the twentieth century saw a major change. The first thing that happened is that very large finds in South Africa created an even more abundant supply of gem quality diamond. At the same time, the perceived value of diamond has risen to the point where it's fair to say that diamond is at the top of the list of the precious stones in the mind of the buying public. What happened? Aren't precious gems valued especially for their rarity?

Rare Red Spinel

In the 19th century, world production of diamond was only a few pounds a year. After the discovery of the huge South African diamond mines in 1870, diamonds were being dug out of the ground literally by the ton. There was such a glut of supply and so little demand that the British financiers of the South African mines were in danger of losing their investment. Their solution was to create the powerful De Beers cartel that to this day controls worldwide diamond production and supply. Quality diamonds are actually not scarce at all. But De Beers controls how much supply comes on the market and that keeps prices high.

The De Beers consortium also mounted a concerted decades-long advertising campaign to associate diamonds with love, courtship and marriage, under the now familiar slogan "Diamonds are Forever." The diamond engagement ring, once unknown in most parts of the world (including Europe), is now considered an essential part of the ritual of marriage. It is hard to avoid the conclusion that diamond's special position as a precious stone is due largely to monopoly economics and social engineering.

Natural African Tourmaline

These days a number of rare "semi-precious" stones such as alexandrite, demantoid garnet, tsavorite garnet and tanzanite can just as expensive as ruby and sapphire. Very fine tourmaline, spinel and aquamarine in larger sizes also command very high prices in the market.It is fair to say that we have now reached the point where the distinction between precious and semi-precious gemstones has become meaningless. The US Federal Trade Commission periodically considers banning the use of the terms altogether to reduce consumer confusion. The American Gem Trade Association (AGTA) has already added the following language to their Code of Ethics: "Members should avoid the use of the term 'semi-precious' in describing gemstones."

  • First Published: October-16-2007
  • Last Updated: October-06-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping