Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Les Pierres Précieuses d'Afrique
Gemstones from Africa
Les Pierres Précieuses d'Afrique

Les sources traditionnelles de pierres précieuses de couleur sont en Asie et en Amérique du Sud, notamment en Birmanie, au Sri Lanka et au Brésil. Mais ces derniers temps c'est l'Afrique qui génère le plus d'excitation dans le monde des gemmes. En regardant notre propre stock de plus de 7.000 pierres précieuses, environ 70% d'entre elles sont originaires d'Afrique.

Notre entreprise est basée à Chanthaburi, en Thaïlande, l'un des centres mondiaux pour la taille et le commerce des pierres précieuses de couleur. Il n'est pas surprenant que Chanthaburi ait une importante population étrangère. Mais la population étrangère est en grande partie d'Afrique, et non des occidentaux, puisqu'il y a autant de commerçants de pierres précieuses africaines qui sont actifs ici.

Tout le monde sait que l'Afrique est une source importante pour les diamants, mais le business des pierres précieuses de couleur est de plus en plus important, même si la production des gemmes de couleur est réparti entre des petites mines dans plus d'une demi-douzaine de pays. Les principaux pays producteurs de pierres précieuses sont en Afrique du Sud et de l'Est, qui s'étend de la Namibie au sud-ouest en passant par le Zimbabwe, le Mozambique, du Malawi à la Tanzanie au Kenya et en Afrique de l'Est. Madagascar, la grande île au large des côtes du Mozambique, fait géologiquement partie de cette région riche en pierres précieuses, connu sous le nom de la ceinture du Mozambique Néoprotérozoïque.

la production de pierres précieuses de couleur dans les mines d'Afrique est en constante évolution et les acheteurs malins ont appris à «acheter tant que vous le pouvez», parce que les gemmes qui sont nombreuses maintenant, pourront peut-être être très difficile à trouver l'année prochaine. C'est ce qui s'est par exemple passé avec la fine grenat spessartite de Namibie. Bien qu'il reste encore certains approvisionnement en Namibie, il est difficile d'en trouver et la plupart des meilleurs spessartite sont maintenant en provenance du Mozambique.

Les producteurs les plus importants ont été récemment la Tanzanie, le Mozambique et Madagascar. Madagascar est célèbre pour des découvertes récentes de rubis et de saphir, si un certain nombre d'autres pierres précieuses ont été trouvés, dont la tourmaline, l'aigue-marine, le chrysobéryl, l'andalousite, l'apatite, la citrine, l'iolite et le disthène. La Tanzanie a un potentiel énorme et les mines de pierres précieuses emploie déjà plus d'un demi-million de petits exploitants miniers à travers le pays. La Tanzanie est surtout célèbre pour la tanzanite, mais cette année nous avons acheté de très fine  Spinelle de Tanzanie dans de grandes tailles, de merveilleuse Rhodolites et Grenats tsavorite, et des zircons non-traité avec des couleurs uniques.

Le Mozambique a une excellente production de tourmaline dans un large éventail de couleurs, et nous avons également acheté de fines Spessartite et Grenats rouges dans des tailles impressionnantes. Le Mozambique est récemment devenu célèbre pour sa tourmaline de Paraiba de haute qualité, et la plupart de l'offre mondiale de Paraiba est maintenant en provenance du Mozambique depuis que l'offre du Brésil est relativement limitée.

Le Niger, la grande nation ouest-africaine, est le seul producteur important de pierre précieuse qui n'est pas dans la ceinture du Mozambique. Le Niger produit un respectable saphir bleu ainsi que de grandes quantités de fines tourmaline. Le Niger est également connu pour le pyrope et l'almandin, l'aigue-marine et la topaze.

Compte tenu de l'état de développement dans la plupart des pays producteurs, nous prévoyons que la production de pierres précieuses en Afrique va augmenter dans les années à venir. Mais les stocks de la plupart de ces mines est très limitée, et d'après notre expérience on doit être un acheteur opportunistes lorsque l'offre est abondante.

  • First Published: 14-décembre-2007
  • Last Updated: 03-mars-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Gemstones from Africa
Les Pierres Précieuses d'Afrique
Gemstones from Africa

The traditional sources for colored gemstones are in Asia and South America, especially Burma, Sri Lanka and Brazil. But these days Africa is generating most of the the excitement in the gems world. Looking at our own inventory of over 35,000 gems, about 50% of them originate in Africa.

Our business is based in Chanthaburi, Thailand, one of the world centers for cutting and trading colored gemstones. Not surprisingly, Chanthaburi has a significant foreign population. But the foreign population is largely African, not western, as so many African gem traders are active here.

Everyone knows Africa as the source for diamonds, but the colored gemstone business is increasingly important, even though colored gem production is spread across small mines in more than half a dozen countries. The main gemstone producing countries are in southern and eastern Africa, stretching from Namibia in the southwest through Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi and Tanzania to Kenya in eastern Africa. Madagascar, the large island off the coast of Mozambique, is geologically part of this same gemstone-rich area, known as the Neoproterozoic Mozambique Belt.

Colored gemstone production from the African mines is constantly changing and smart buyers have learned to "buy it while you can" since gems that are plentiful one year may hardly be found the next year. This happened with the fine spessartite garnet from Namibia, for example. While there is still some supply from Namibia, it is difficult to find and most of the better spessartite is now coming from Mozambique.

The most important producers recently have been Tanzania, Mozambique and Madagascar. Madagascar is famous for recent discoveries of ruby and sapphire, though a number of other gemstones have been found, including tourmaline, aquamarine, chrysoberyl, andalusite, apatite, citrine, iolite and kyanite. Tanzania has enormous potential and gemstone mining there already employs more than a half of million small-scale miners throughout the country. Tanzania is especially famous for tanzanite, but this year we've bought very fine Tanzanian spinel in large sizes, marvelous rhodolite and tsavorite garnet, and some unique colors in unheated zircon.

Mozambique is producing excellent tourmaline in a wide range of colors, and we have also bought fine spessartite and red garnets in impressive sizes. Mozambique has recently become famous for its high quality paraiba tourmaline, and most of the world supply of paraiba is now coming from Mozambique since the Brazilian supply is so limited.

Nigeria, the large west African nation, is the one important gemstone producer not in the Mozambique Belt. Nigeria has produced respectable blue sapphire as well as large quantities of fine tourmaline. Nigeria is also known for pyrope and almandine garnet, aquamarine and topaz.

Given the state of development in most of the producing countries, we expect African gemstone production to increase in the coming years. But the supply from most of these mines is very limited, and in our experience one has to be an opportunistic buyer when supply is plentiful.

  • First Published: December-14-2007
  • Last Updated: March-10-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping