Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : À propos de la pierre précieuse de Péridot
About Peridot
À propos de la pierre précieuse de Péridot
Burmese Peridot

Péridot (prononcé pair-uh-doe) est la variété de pierre précieuse d'olivine. L'Olivine, qui n'est pas un minéral officiel, est composé de deux minéraux : fayalite et forsterite. La Fayalite est le membre riche en fer avec une formule pure de Fe2SiO4. Le Forsterite est le membre riche en magnésium avec une formule pure de Mg2SiO4. La formule de l'Olivine est écrite comme (Mg, Fe) 2SiO4 pour montrer la substitution du magnésium et du fer. Le Péridot est d'habitude plus proche du forsterite que de la fayalite dans la composition bien que le fer soit l'agent changeant de couleur pour le péridot. Le meilleure péridot de couleur a un pourcentage de fer de moins de 15% et inclut le nickel et le chrome comme oligo-éléments, qui peuvent contribuer aussi à la couleur.

La plupart des gemmes d'origine minérale sont formées dans la croûte terrestre. Mais il y a deux exceptions: tant le péridot que le diamant sont formés beaucoup plus profondément dans la terre, dans la région appelé le manteau. Les cristaux de Péridot se forment dans le magma du manteau supérieure (de 20 à 55 miles de profondeur) et sont apportés à la surface par l'activité tectonique ou volcanique où on peut les trouvés dans les roches ignées extrusive. Les diamants ont été formés beaucoup plus profondément dans le manteau (environ 100 à 150 miles en-dessous de la surface), à des températures et des pressions extrêmes.

Chinese Peridot

Le Péridot est une des rares pierres précieuses qu'on trouve seulement en une couleur. La profondeur du vert dépend du fer contenu dans la structure en cristal et varie de jaune-vert à olive à vert-brunâtre. Le Péridot considéré quelquefois comme "l'émeraude du pauvre homme." est l'Olivine un minéral très abondant, mais la pierre précieuse de péridot de qualité est assez rare en fait.

Les sources importantes du péridot sont la Birmanie, le Pakistan, la Chine, le Viêtnam et les États-Unis. La qualité la plus parfaite de péridot est venue traditionnellement du Mogok en Birmanie, bien que le péridot pakistanais soit maintenant apprécié par beaucoup également. Les Etats-Unis étaient pendant plusieurs années les plus grand producteurs de péridot. Les gisements d'Arizona sont la source la plus importante du péridot américain. La Mesa de Péridot, localisée sur la Réserve indienne Apache de San Carlos à l'est du Globe dans le Comté Gila, est la localité la plus productive de péridot dans le monde. Un deuxième endroit en Arizona dont le péridot est extrait est le Buell Park dans Apache County, à environ 16 kilomètres au nord de Fort Defiance. Cependant, il est estimé que 80 % à 95 % de la production mondiale du péridot viennent de la Réserve de San Carlos, principalement pour le péridot de qualité commerciale (le péridot est la pierre de naissance du mois d'août).

Fine Peridot from Burma

Le plus grand péridot coupé est de 310 carats et exposé au Smithsonian à Washington, D.C.; une pierre de 192.75 carats appartenant aux tsars est dans la Trésorerie de Diamants, à Moscou; et 146 carats de péridot peuvent être trouvés au Musée Géologique à Londres, en Angleterre. Le Péridot est une pierre précieuse relativement bon marché dans de petites tailles, mais la valeur augmente avec les pierres de plus de 5 carats, les pierres de 10-15 carats sont très rares et chères. Il n'y a aucun traitement connu pour améliorer la couleur ou la clarté du péridot, donc le péridot est toujours une pierre précieuse non soignée.

  • First Published: 06-décembre-2007
  • Last Updated: 26-février-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : About Peridot
À propos de la pierre précieuse de Péridot
About Peridot
Burmese Peridot

Peridot (pronounced pair-uh-doe) is the gem variety of olivine. Olivine, which is not itself an official mineral, is composed of two minerals: fayalite and forsterite. Fayalite is the iron rich member with a pure formula of Fe2SiO4. Forsterite is the magnesium rich member with a pure formula of Mg2SiO4. Olivine's formula is written as (Mg, Fe)2SiO4 to show the substitution of the magnesium and iron. Peridot is usually closer to forsterite than fayalite in composition although iron is the coloring agent for peridot. The best colored peridot has an iron percentage of less than 15% and includes nickel and chromium as trace elements that may also contribute to the color.

Most gemstones of mineral origin are formed in the earth's crust. But there are two exceptions: both peridot and diamond are formed much deeper in the earth, in the region referred to as the mantle. Peridot crystals form in magma from the upper mantle (20 to 55 miles deep), and are brought to the surface by tectonic or volcanic activity where they are found in extrusive igneous rocks. Diamonds were formed much deeper in the mantle (around 100 - 150 miles below the surface), at extreme temperatures and pressures.

Chinese Peridot

Peridot is one of the few gemstones that comes in only one color. The depth of green depends on how much iron is contained in the crystal structure, and varies from yellow-green to olive to brownish green. Peridot is sometimes referred to as "the poor man's emerald." Olivine is a very abundant mineral, but gem-quality peridot is in fact rather rare.

Important peridot sources are Burma, Pakistan, China, Vietnam and the United States. The finest quality peridot has traditionally come from Mogok in Burma, though the Pakistani peridot is now highly regarded as well. The USA was for many years the largest producer of peridot. Deposits in Arizona are the major source of American peridot. Peridot Mesa, located on the San Carlos Apache Indian Reservation east of Globe in Gila County, is the most productive locality for peridot in the world. A second Arizona location from which peridot is recovered is Buell Park in Apache County, Arizona, about 16 kilometers north of Fort Defiance. However, it is estimated that 80% to 95% of the world's production of peridot comes from the San Carlos Reservation, mainly for commercial quality peridot (peridot is the birthstone for the month of August).

Fine Peridot from Burma

The largest cut peridot is 310 carats and housed at the Smithsonian in Washington, D.C.; a 192.75 carat stone belonging to czars is in the Diamond Treasury, Moscow; and a 146 carat peridot may be found in the Geological Museum in London, England. Peridot is a relatively inexpensive gemstone in small sizes, but the value goes up with stones over 5 carats, with 10-15 carat stones very rare and expensive. There is no known treatment to improve the color or clarity of peridot, so peridot is always an untreated gem.

  • First Published: December-06-2007
  • Last Updated: February-26-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping