Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Les Émeraudes autour du monde
Emeralds Around the World

Les Émeraudes autour du monde

Natural Columbian Emerald
Columbian Emerald

La Colombie est la source la plus célèbre pour les émeraudes, mais les émeraudes ont été exploités dans de nombreux endroits dans le monde. En fait ces dernières décennies ont vu augmenter la production de nouveaux gisements en Amérique du Sud et en Afrique.

Le gisement le plus célèbre en Colombie est la mine de Muzo au nord-ouest de Bogota. Ce gisement a d'abord été exploité par les Amérindiens, mais a finalement été abandonné puis redécouvert au 17ème siècle. Les rendements des mines de Muzo apporte une émeraude fine de qualité d'une couleur vert-foncé. Un autre gisement important est la mine de Chivor, au nord de Bogota. Plus récemment de nouveaux gisements ont été découverts, qui semblent prometteurs pour l'avenir. Pourtant, seulement un tiers des émeraudes Colombienne extraites en valent la peine.

Le Brésil a des gisements d'émeraudes à Bahia, Goias et à Minas Gerais. La couleur des pierres brésilienne est plus légère que les pierres Colombienne, elles tendent à un jaune-vert. Mais l'émeraude brésilienne est souvent relativement libre d'inclusions. De nouveaux gisements ont été découverts depuis 1980 et le Brésil est aujourd'hui l'un des plus importants fournisseurs d'émeraudes au monde.

Natural Brazilian Emerald
Brazilian Emerald

Dans les dernières décennies, des quantités croissantes d'émeraudes ont été trouvés dans une série de petits gisements en Afrique de l'Est, notamment au Zimbabwe, en Zambie et en Tanzanie. Les émeraudes d'Afrique de l'Est sont assez fortes en couleur, quelquefois avec la teinte bleu-verte désirable. Les plus célèbres de ces émeraudes sont celles de Sandawana dans le sud du Zimbabwe. Les cristaux Sandawana ont tendance à être petits, mais sont de très haute qualité.

Les Émeraudes sont aussi extraites en Afrique du Sud, dans le Trasvaal du Nord. L'exploitation minière mécanisée moderne est réalisée aux mines de Somerset et de Cobra, mais seulement environ 5 % du produit est de bonne qualité. La plupart des pierres sont claires dans la couleur ou lourdement incluses et seulement convenables pour des cabochons.

D'autres gisements d'émeraude remarquables se trouvent en Inde et au Pakistan ainsi que dans les montagnes de l'Oural en Russie. De moins importants gisements ont été découverts en Afghanistan, en Australie, au Ghana, à Madagascar, au Malawi, au Mozambique, en Namibie et aux Etats-Unis (Caroline du Nord). En Europe, des émeraudes ont été trouvés en Autriche et en Norvège.

Les mines d'émeraudes les plus célèbres de l'antiquité étaient en Egypte. Connu sous le nom des Mines de Cléopâtre ou Mons Smaragde (Montagnes d'Emeraude), elles ont été travaillés dès 2000 avant J.C, Les mines ont également été travaillées au cours des siècles suivant, mais elles ont été abandonnées après que les Espagnols aient découvert des émeraudes en Colombie en 1545.

  • First Published: 03-juin-2008
  • Last Updated: 10-novembre-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Emeralds Around the World
Les Émeraudes autour du monde

Emeralds Around the World

Natural Colombian Emerald
Colombian Emerald

Colombia is most the most famous source for emeralds, but emeralds have been mined in many locations around the world. In fact, recent decades have seen an increase in production from new deposits in South America and Africa.

The most famous deposit in Colombia is the Muzo Mine, northwest of Bogota. This deposit was first mined by Native Americans but was eventually abandoned and then rediscovered in the 17th century. The Muzo Mine yields fine quality emerald of a deep green color. Another important deposit is the Chivor Mine, northeast of Bogota. More recently, new deposits have been discovered which look promising for the future. Still, only a third of the emeralds mined in Colombia are worth cutting.

Brazil has emerald deposits in Bahia, Goias and Minas Gerais. The Brazilian stones are lighter in color than the Colombian material; they tend to be a yellow-green. The Brazilian emerald is also often relatively free of inclusions. New deposits have been found since 1980, and Brazil is now one of the most important suppliers of emerald in the world.

Natural Brazilian Emerald
Brazilian Emerald

In the last several decades, increasing quantities of emerald have been found in a series of small deposits in East Africa, particularly in Zimbabwe, Zambia and Tanzania. The East African emeralds are quite strong in color, sometimes with the desirable blue-green hue. The most famous of these emeralds are the ones from Sandawana in the south of Zimbabwe. The Sandawana crystals tend to be small but are of very high quality.

Emeralds are also mined in South Africa, in the Northern Trasvaal. Modern mechanized mining is carried out at the Cobra and Somerset mines, but only about 5% of the product is of good quality. Most stones are light in color or heavily included and only suitable for cabochons.

Other noteworthy emerald deposits are in India and Pakistan as well as in the Ural Mountains of Russia. Less important deposits have been found in Afghanistan, Australia, Ghana, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and the United States (North Carolina). In Europe, emeralds have been found in Austria and Norway.

The most famous emerald mines of antiquity were in Egypt. Known as the Cleopatra Mines or Mons Smaragdus (Emerald Mountains), they were worked as early as 2000 B.C. The mines were also worked during later centuries but they were abandoned after the Spaniards discovered emeralds in Colombia in 1545.

  • First Published: June-03-2008
  • Last Updated: October-10-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping