Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Hématite et Pyrite
Hematite and Pyrite
Hématite et Pyrite
Pyrite from Peru
Pyrite du Pérou

Les gemmologistes utilisent un ensemble de termes techniques pour désigner le lustre ou la lumière réfléchie par la surface d'une pierre. Ces termes incluent adamantin (comme le diamant), vitreux (comme le verre), soyeux, résineux, grasse et métalliques.

L'éclat le plus commun, typique de la transparence des gemmes à facettes comme le saphir, le spinelle, le béryl, le quartz et la tourmaline, est vitreux. L'éclat le plus fort ou le plus réfléchissant est connue sous le nom de métalliques, indiquant une surface réfléchissante similaire au métal poli. Les pierres précieuses avec un éclat métallique ont généralement un indice de réfraction d'environ 2,6 à plus de 3,0, nettement plus élevé que le diamant (à 2,4).

Très peu de gemmes ont un éclat métallique. Les plus connus sont l'hématite et la pyrite, deux minéraux à base de fer qui ont souvent été utilisées à des fins ornementales.

L'Hématite, un oxyde de fer, tire son nom du mot grec pour le sang, car il est rouge quand on le trouve en tranches minces ou en poudre. L'Hématite cristallise dans le système cristallin rhomboédrique, et a la même structure cristalline que le saphir et le rubis. L'hématite est toujours opaque et est généralement d'un gris noirâtre. Vous le trouverez taillé en cabochons ou avec des facettes, et les gravures sont particulièrement populaires. L'Hématite est un matériau traditionnel pour les chevalières. Lorsqu'il est poli il peut parfois ressembler à l'argent.

Hematite Intaglio
Hématite Intaglio

Les gisements d'hématite se trouvent au Royaume-Uni (Cumberland), au Bangladesh, au Brésil, en Chine, en Nouvelle-Zélande, en République tchèque et aux Etats-Unis (Minnesota). L'Hématite a également été trouvé sur la planète Mars par la sonde de la NASA. Puisque l'hématite se trouve généralement dans les milieux aqueux sur la Terre, cela a amené à la spéculation qu'il y a eu de l'eau sur Mars.

La pyrite (aussi connu comme pyrite de fer) est un sulfure de fer qui est généralement en laiton jaune ou gris-jaune, ce qui lui a valu le surnom de "Fool's Gold ou l'or des fous». Son nom vient du grec pour le feu, car elle produit des étincelles lorsqu'elle est frappé par l'acier ou le silex. Historiquement la pyrite a été largement utilisé dans les bijoux, mais n'est plus très bien perçu de nos jours. Vous trouverez la pyrite dans des sculptures servant d'à côté pour des pierres dans des bagues, des pendentifs et parfois dans une forme de disque avec un motif distinctif radiale. La pyrite a une relativement bonne dureté (de 6 à 6,5 sur l' échelle de Mohs), mais est assez fragile.

Les gisements de pyrite se trouvent au Pérou, en Bolivie, au Mexique, en Suède, en Roumanie et aux États-Unis (Colorado).

  • First Published: 06-janvier-2009
  • Last Updated: 21-avril-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Hematite and Pyrite
Hématite et Pyrite
Hematite and Pyrite
Pyrite from Peru
Pyrite from Peru

Gemologists use a set of technical terms to refer to luster or the light reflected from a gemstone's surface. These terms include adamantine (like diamond), vitreous (like glass), silky, resinous, greasy and metallic.

The most common luster, typical of transparent faceted gems like sapphire, spinel, beryl, quartz and tourmaline, is vitreous. The highest or most reflective luster is known as metallic, indicating a reflective surface similar to polished metal. Gemstones with a metallic luster typically have a refractive index from about 2.6 to more than 3.0, substantially higher than even diamond, which has a refractive index of 2.4.

Very few gems have a metallic luster. The best known are hematite and pyrite, two iron-based minerals that are often used for ornamental purposes.

Hematite is iron oxide that gets its name from the Greek word for blood, since it is red when sliced thinly or powdered. Hematite forms in the rhombohedral crystal system, which is the same crystal structure as sapphire and ruby. Hematite is always opaque and is typically a blackish grey. It is commonly cut as cabochons, faceted or sold in the form of engravings, which are particularly popular. Hematite was a traditional material for signet rings. When highly polished it can sometimes look like silver.

Hematite Intaglio
Hematite Intaglio

Hematite deposits are found in the UK (Cumberland), Bangladesh, Brazil, China, New Zealand, the Czech Republic and the USA (Minnesota). Hematite has also been found on the planet Mars by NASA spacecraft. Since hematite is usually found in aqueous environments on Earth, it has led to speculation that there was once water on Mars.

Pyrite (also known as iron pyrite) is iron sulphide, which is usually brass-yellow or gray-yellow, earning it the nickname of "fool's gold". Its name comes from the Greek for fire, since it produces sparks when struck by steel or flint. Historically, pyrite was widely used in jewelry, but it is not so often seen today. Pyrite can be found in the form of carvings, as side stones in ring settings, and sometimes in pendants in a disk-like form with a distinctive radial pattern. Pyrite has a reasonably good level of hardness (6 to 6.5 on the Mohs scale) but is quite brittle.

Pyrite deposits are found in Peru, Bolivia, Mexico, Sweden, Romania and the USA (Colorado).

  • First Published: January-06-2009
  • Last Updated: August-06-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping