search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

珍珠宝石信息

来自 GemSelect 的珍珠宝石 - 大图
从 GemSelect 购买珍珠宝石

关于珍珠 - 历史和介绍

珍珠是由带壳软体动物形成的有机宝石;主要是双壳类牡蛎和贻贝。珍珠由珍珠层(珍珠母)组成,主要是文石(碳酸钙)和贝壳蛋白(形成软体动物壳的复杂蛋白质)。文石微晶在刺激物周围堆积。据说“珍珠”这个名字起源于中古英语单词“perle”,而后者又来自拉丁语单词“perna”,意思是“腿”,被认为是由于双壳类软体动物的火腿腿形状.

天然珍珠极为稀有,价格昂贵,而且通常很小。因此人们开发了养殖珍珠的方法,让许多人可以享用这些美丽的宝石。在养殖珍珠中,一些组织或珍珠母珠被引入软体动物壳中。如果成功,这个过程会诱导动物形成一个“珍珠囊”,其细胞会在刺激物上分泌一层称为贝壳素的棕色蛋白质。随后是在薄的重叠板中分泌大量由碳酸钙组成的珍珠层矿物层。珍珠可以来自淡水或海水软体动物。珍珠的美妙之处在于可以从贝壳中摘下,自然美丽、形态完整、光泽完美,无需切割或抛光。

历史上有记载的最古老的珍珠参考是 7,500 年历史的“Umm Al Quwain 珍珠”,它是在现在被称为阿联酋的地方的一个坟墓中发现的。在人类养殖珍珠之前,珍珠是从波斯湾、斯里兰卡水域、中国淡水源和欧洲河流中收获的。后来,克里斯托弗·哥伦布在南美洲发现了珍珠。当这些天然珍珠在二十世纪初几乎枯竭时,中国人和日本人开始文化珍珠剩下的就是历史。如今,珍珠仍然是一种珍贵的装饰品,并在世界各地进行养殖。

珍珠宝石

鉴定珍珠

回到顶部

珍珠可以通过珍珠光泽来识别,当轻轻摩擦牙齿时,可以检测到略微粗糙的表面纹理,而仿珍珠则感觉光滑。天然珍珠和养殖珍珠的表面外观相同,但养殖珍珠的密度通常较高,大多数约为2.73。区分天然珍珠和养殖珍珠的唯一明确方法是检查它们的内部结构。专家使用内窥镜通过珍珠的钻孔来做到这一点。天然珍珠具有同心内层。

珍珠;产地和宝石来源

回到顶部

珍珠在世界各地的水域中被发现和养殖。天然海珍珠产于澳大利亚、日本、中美洲、波斯湾、马纳尔湾(印度和斯里兰卡之间)、马达加斯加海岸、缅甸(缅甸)、菲律宾、南太平洋群岛(包括大溪地和斐济)和南美洲。

天然河珠分布于亚洲、欧洲和北美.

养殖海水珍珠的来源包括东南亚(如印度尼西亚和菲律宾)、澳大利亚、中国、法属波利尼西亚、日本、南太平洋群岛(包括大溪地和斐济)和菲律宾。

养殖淡水珍珠的来源包括中国和日本。

购买珍珠和确定珍珠宝石价值

回到顶部

珍珠色

珍珠有多种颜色可供选择。珍珠的颜色包括:白色、粉色、银色、奶油色、金色、绿色、蓝色和黑色。一些珍珠呈现出虹彩,这被称为东方。

珍珠净度和光泽

珍珠的光泽取决于珍珠层的质量。珍珠应具有特有的闪亮珍珠光泽,其表面应呈现锐利而明亮的反射。优质珍珠的表面光滑无瑕疵,并带有一层合适的珍珠层以增加耐用性。

珍珠切割和形状

珍珠可以是圆形、椭圆形、梨形或畸形(巴洛克珍珠)。然而,最好的材料是规则形状的。最有价值的形状是对称的球体或对称的水滴。珍珠的大小取决于它们形成的软体动物的类型,它们的直径通常在 2 毫米到 16 毫米之间。

珍珠处理

珍珠经常被漂白以减轻和增强它们的颜色。这样,串珠项链就可以实现统一的颜色。

珍珠宝石学特性:

回到顶部
化学成分:碳酸钙+有机物+水
晶体结构:斜方晶系、微晶系
颜色:白色、粉色、黄色、银色、奶油色、金色、绿色、淡紫色、蓝色、黑色
硬度:莫氏硬度为 2.5 到 4.5
折射率: 1.52 - 1.66 黑色:1.53 - 1.69
密度: 2.60 - 2.85
解理:没有任何
透明度:半透明至不透明
双折射或双折射: -0.156
光泽:珍珠般的
荧光:弱黑珍珠:红色至微红色;河珠:强:淡绿色

请参考我们的宝石术语有关宝石学相关术语的详细信息。

珍珠:相关或类似的宝石

回到顶部
珊瑚宝石
珊瑚宝石

作为有机宝石, 珍珠属于同一组菊石、珊瑚、象牙、喷射和琥珀色.这些都是生物过程的结果。

珍珠的成分与珍珠母贝(来自软体动物和鲍鱼)和鳃盖(海螺的盖子)相似。

珍珠宝石神话、形而上学和治疗能力

回到顶部

珍珠有许多迷信,例如认为珍珠代表眼泪,不应作为礼物、订婚戒指或新娘在婚礼当天佩戴,以免带来悲伤。相反,其他人认为珍珠非常适合新娘,因为它们代表纯洁、正直和忠诚。在中国古代,人们相信珍珠可以避火避龙。此外,人们认为珍珠在爱情魔药中很有效,有些人相信在枕头下放珍珠睡觉的人会得到孩子的祝福。虽然珍珠的迷信和民间传说千差万别,但人们普遍认为珍珠能促进健康和财富。从身体上讲,据说珍珠有助于平衡荷尔蒙,缓解消化系统疾病和过敏。珍珠是诞生石对于六月出生的人,也用于纪念三、三十周年。

免责声明:形而上学和替代水晶治疗能力和属性不应被视为已确认的建议。传统、仪式和神话宝石知识收集自各种资源,并不代表 SETT Co., Ltd. 的唯一意见。这些信息不能代替您的医生的建议。如果您有任何健康状况,请去看有执照的医生。 GemSelect 不保证任何治愈或占星术诞生石力量的声明或声明,并且在任何情况下都不承担任何责任。

珍珠宝石和珠宝设计理念

回到顶部

珍珠作为串珠项链很受欢迎,有多种长度,从短项圈和项圈到长歌剧和日场琴弦。珍珠串珠项链也可以是均匀的,即所有的珍珠大小相同,或渐变,即珍珠的大小逐渐变细,最大的在项链的中间。对于使用多颗珍珠宝石的珠宝,重要的是珍珠的形状和颜色相匹配,或者不同颜色的珍珠相互协调。经典珍珠项链的尺寸也应该很好地校准。然而,现代珍珠簇项链经常混合大小。畸形的巴洛克珍珠被用来制作有趣的现代珍珠首饰。珍珠对制作出漂亮的耳环,单颗珍珠非常适合做吊坠。珍珠还可以制作迷人的发饰,还可用于装饰婚纱。银色和金色镶嵌都与珍珠的光泽相得益彰。珍珠在新娘首饰中很受欢迎,可以与钻石混合制作精美的戒指、耳环或项链。根据喜欢的风格,珍珠可以是简单的或引人注目的,复古的或现代的。各种各样的珍珠颜色意味着有一种珍珠适合每种肤色。

注意:按尺寸而非克拉重量购买有色宝石。不同颜色的宝石尺寸重量比.相比之下,有些宝石比钻石大,有些比钻石小。

著名珍珠宝石

回到顶部

“希望之珠”是迄今为止发现的最大的优质珍珠之一。它重 450 克拉,目前被借给伦敦的大英自然历史博物馆。它是一种天然海水水滴形泡壳珍珠。它以其前主人的名字命名;亨利·菲利普·霍普 (Henry Philip Hope) 也拥有霍普钻石。 2005 年,希望珍珠在华盛顿特区史密森国家自然历史博物馆的展览中与希望钻石重聚

1934 年在菲律宾的一个岛屿附近发现了最大的珍珠。被誉为“老子之珠”。它是一种来自巨蛤的非珍珠质珍珠(缺乏碳酸钙表层),重 6.4 公斤。

一颗重达 50.56 克拉的超大天然珍珠,被称为“拉佩雷格里纳" 2011 年以 1,180 万美元的价格售出。皇室成员和女演员伊丽莎白泰勒都曾佩戴过它。

“巴罗达珍珠”是巴罗达大君项链的一部分,是由 68 颗天然珍珠组成的双链,2007 年以 700 万美元的价格售出。

珍珠宝石首饰保养和清洁

回到顶部

如何清洁您的宝石珍珠虽然比较柔软,莫氏硬度在2.5到4.5之间,但非常致密,经久耐用,不易被压碎。不要将珍珠暴露在刺激性化学品中,例如家用清洁液或酸。佩戴时最好先取下珍珠首饰,最后再戴上,以免这些珍贵的宝石喷上香水或发胶。如果将珍珠作为手链或戒指佩戴,则应限制为偶尔佩戴,以尽量减少划痕。取下后用软布轻轻擦拭。这将保持珍珠的光泽,因为汗水会使珍珠变暗。要清洁珍珠,请使用温和的肥皂和矿泉水或蒸馏水。自来水通常含有氯等化学物质,会损坏珍珠。不要使用刷子、超声波清洁器或蒸汽机,它们会造成损坏。如果将珍珠存放在保险箱中,则应与它们一起放一杯水,以防止它们变干和出现表面破裂。将珍珠与其他宝石分开存放,以防止划伤,不要将珍珠存放在阳光直射下,否则会导致变黄。珍珠应远离热源,热源会导致表面破裂。如果珍珠镶嵌在串珠项链上,则应每隔一两年重新串起,以防止磨损和随之而来的损失。

  • 首次发布于: 八月-08-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 七月-07-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

10282

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (136)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Pearl Info

Pearl Gemstone Information

About Pearls - History and Introduction

Pearls are organic gemstones that are formed by shelled molluscs; mainly bivalved oysters and mussels. Pearls are made up of nacre (mother-of-pearl) which is mostly aragonite (calcium carbonate) and conchiolin (complex proteins that form mollusc shells). The aragonite microcrystals build up around an irritant. The name "pearl" is said to have originated from the Middle English word "perle", which in turn came from the Latin word "perna", meaning "leg", thought to be due to the ham-leg shape of the bivalve mollusc.

Natural pearls are extremely rare, incredibly expensive and typically small. Therefore people have developed ways to culture pearls, so that these beautiful gemstones can be enjoyed by many. In cultured pearls, some tissue or a mother-of-pearl bead is introduced into the mollusc shell. If successful, this process induces the animal to form a "pearl sac" whose cells secrete a layer of brownish protein called conchiolin over the irritant. This is followed by the secretion of numerous mineral layers of nacre composed of calcium carbonate in thin overlapping plates. Pearls can come from fresh or seawater molluscs. The beauty of pearls is that they can be plucked from the shell naturally beautiful, fully-formed and displaying perfect lustre with no need to be cut or polished.

The oldest recorded reference to pearls in history is the 7,500 year-old "Umm Al Quwain Pearl", which was found in a grave in a place that is now known as the UAE. Before pearls were cultured by man, they were harvested from the Persian Gulf, Sri Lankan waters, fresh water sources in China and the rivers of Europe. Later, Christopher Columbus discovered pearls in South America. When these natural pearls were almost depleted in the early twentieth century, the Chinese and Japanese began to culture pearls and the rest is history. Nowadays, pearls remain a treasured adornment and are cultured all around the world.

Pearl Gemstone
Pearl Gemstone
Identifying Pearl Back to Top

Pearls can be identified by their pearly lustre and when rubbed gently against the teeth, a slightly rough surface texture can be detected, whereas imitation pearls feel smooth. The surface appearance of natural and cultured pearls is the same, but the density of cultured pearls is usually higher, at approximately 2.73 for most. The only definite way of distinguishing between natural and cultured pearls is to examine their internal structure. Experts use endoscopes to do this through the drill holes of pearls. Natural pearls have concentric internal layers.

Pearl; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Pearls are found and cultured in waters all over the world. Natural sea pearls are found in Australia, Japan, Central America, the Persian Gulf, the Gulf of Manaar (between India and Sri Lanka), the coast of Madagascar, Burma (Myanmar), the Philippines, the South Pacific Islands (including Tahiti and Fiji) and South America.

Natural river pearls are found in Asia, Europe and North America.

Cultured seawater pearl sources include Southeast Asia (such as Indonesia and the Philippines), Australia, China, French Polynesia, Japan, South Pacific Islands (including Tahiti and Fiji) and the Philippines.

Cultured freshwater pearl sources include China and Japan.

Buying Pearl and Determining Pearl Gemstone Value Back to Top

Pearl Colour

Pearls are available in a variety of colours. Colours of pearls include the following: White, pink, silver, cream, golden, green, blue and black. Some pearls exhibit iridescence, which is known as orient.

Pearl Clarity and Lustre

The lustre of pearls depends on the quality of the nacre. Pearls should have the characteristic shiny pearly lustre and their surface should show sharp and bright reflections. The surfaces of good quality pearls are smooth and blemish-free with a suitable layer of nacre to increase durability.

Pearl Cut and Shape

Pearls can be round, oval, pear-shaped or misshapen (baroque pearls). However, the best materials are regularly shaped. The most valuable shapes are symmetrical spheres or symmetrical drops. Pearl sizes depend on the type of mollusc that they form in and they typically range from 2 mm to 16 mm in diameter.

Pearl Treatment

Pearls are often bleached to lighten and enhance their colour. In this way, a uniform colour can be achieved for beaded necklaces.

Pearl Gemmological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Composition: Calcium carbonate + organic substances + water
Crystal Structure: Orthorhombic, microcrystalline
Colour: White, pink, yellow, silver, cream, golden, green, lavender, blue, black
Hardness: 2.5 to 4.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.52 - 1.66 Black: 1.53 - 1.69
Density: 2.60 - 2.85
Cleavage: None
Transparency: Translucent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: -0.156
Lustre: Pearly
Fluorescence: Weak, black pearl: red to reddish; river pearl: strong: pale-green

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemmology-related terms.

Pearl: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Coral Gemstone
Coral Gemstone

As organic gemstones, pearls belong to the same group as ammolite, coral, ivory, jet and amber. These are all formed as a result of biological processes.

Pearls are similar in composition to mother-of-pearl (which comes from mollusc and abalone) and operculum, which is the lid of a sea snail.

Pearl Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

There are many superstitions attached to pearls, such as the idea that pearls represent tears and should not be given as a gift, an engagement ring, or worn by a bride on her wedding day, lest they bring sadness. Conversely, others believe that pearls are perfect for brides because they represent purity, integrity and loyalty. In ancient China, people believed that pearls provided protection from fire and dragons. Furthermore, pearls are thought to be effective in love potions and it is believed by some that those who sleep with a pearl under their pillow will be blessed with children. Whilst pearl superstitions and folklore vary greatly, pearls are widely considered to encourage good health and wealth. Physically, pearls are said to help to balance the hormones, and relieve digestive disorders and allergies. Pearls are the birthstone for those born in June and are also used to commemorate the third and thirtieth anniversaries.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Pearl Gemstone and Jewellery Design Ideas Back to Top

Pearls are popular as beaded necklaces, which come in a variety of lengths, from short collars and chokers to long opera and matinee strings. Pearl beaded necklaces can also be uniform, which means that the pearls are all the same size, or graduated, which means that the pearls taper gradually in size, with the largest at the middle of the necklace. For jewellery that uses several pearl gemstones, it is important that the pearls match in shape and colour or that different coloured pearls are well coordinated. Sizes should also be well calibrated for classic pearl necklaces. However, modern pearl cluster necklaces often mix sizes. Misshapen baroque pearls are used to make interesting modern pearl jewellery. Pearl pairs make beautiful earrings, and single pearls are perfect for pendants. Pearls also make attractive hair decorations and can be used to embellish wedding dresses. Both silver and gold settings compliment the lustre of pearls. Pearls are popular for bridal jewellery and can be mixed with diamonds, for stunning rings, earrings or necklaces. Pearls can be simple or dramatic, vintage or modern, according to the preferred style. The wide variety of pearl colours means that there is a pearl to suit each and every skin tone.

Note: Buy coloured gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Coloured stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Famous Pearl Gemstones Back to Top

"The Hope Pearl" is one of the largest fine pearls ever found. It weighs 450 carats and is currently on loan to the British Museum of Natural History, London. It is a natural seawater drop-shaped blister pearl. It is named after its former owner; Henry Philip Hope, who also owned the Hope Diamond. In 2005, the Hope Pearl was reunited with the Hope Diamond at an exhibition at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, Washington D.C.

The largest recorded pearl was found in 1934 near an island of the Philippines. It is known as the "Pearl of Lao Tzu". It is a non-nacreous pearl (lacking a surface layer of calcium carbonate) from a giant clam and weighs 6.4 kilograms.

A remarkably large natural pearl of 50.56 carats, known as "La Peregrina" sold for $11.8 million in 2011. It has been worn by both royalty and actress, Elizabeth Taylor.

"The Baroda Pearls", which were part of the Maharajah of Baroda's necklace, are a double strand of 68 natural pearls that sold for $7 million in 2007.

Pearl Gemstone Jewellery Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesAlthough pearls are relatively soft, with a Mohs hardness of 2.5 to 4.5, they are extremely compact, which makes them durable and resistant to being crushed. Do not expose pearls to harsh chemicals such as household cleaning fluid or acid. It is a good idea to take off pearl jewellery first and put them on last when dressing, so that these precious gems are not sprayed with perfume or hairspray. If pearls are worn as bracelets or rings, they should be limited to occasional wear, to minimize scratches. Gently wipe them with a soft cloth after they are removed. This will preserve the lustre of your pearls, which can be dulled by perspiration. To clean your pearls, use a mild soap and mineral water or distilled water. Tap water often contains chemicals such as chlorine, which can damage pearls. Do not use brushes, ultrasonic cleaners or steamers, which can cause damage. If pearls are stored in a safety deposit box, a glass of water should be placed with them to prevent them from drying out and developing surface fractures. Store pearls separately from other gemstones to prevent scratches, and do not store pearls in direct sunlight, which can cause yellowing. Pearls should be kept away from heat, which can cause surface fractures. If pearls are on a beaded necklace, they should be restrung every year or two to prevent fraying and consequent loss.

  • First Published: March-10-2014
  • Last Updated: January-15-2015
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart