Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Dr. Edward Guebelin
Dr. Eduard Gubelin
Dr. Edward Gübelin
Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin
Dr Eduard J. Gübelin

Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin peut à juste titre être appelé le père de la gemmologie moderne. Né à Lucerne, en Suisse en 1913, sa famille était horlogers et bijoutiers dans la meilleure tradition suisse. Il a étudié dans les universités de Zurich et de Vienne, pour obtenir un doctorat en minéralogie, en 1938. Il a ensuite voyagé aux États-Unis, où il fut l'un des premiers étudiants résidents de la jeune Institut de Gemmologie d'Amérique et a travaillé avec les premiers dirigeants au début du mouvement de la gemmologie professionnel.

Au début du XXe siècle, le père de Gübelin, Edouard Gübelin Sr., a reconnu la nécessité d'une analyse scientifique des pierres précieuses pour soutenir l'industrie des bijoux. En 1902, le chimiste français Auguste Verneuil avait mis au point une méthode connue sous le nom de flamme de fusion pour créer des rubis synthétiques. Cette innovation n'était pas une simple expérience de laboratoire. En 1907, Verneuil avait transformé son laboratoire en une installation à grande échelle et produisait environ 1,000 kg de corindon synthétique. L'industrie des bijoux avait besoin d'être capable de certifier les pierres précieuses naturelles.

La famille a créé le Laboratoire des Pierres précieuses Gübelin et le jeune Eduard rejoint l'entreprise familiale en 1932. Pendant ses études avec le professeur Hermann Michel à Vienne, il avait développé un intérêt pour l'étude des inclusions des pierres précieuses et de leur importance pour l'identification des pierres gemmes. C'est devenu un intérêt de toute une vie et a conduit sa plus grande contribution à la science de la gemmologie.

Le Dr. Gübelin est devenu un éminent spécialiste des inclusions de pierres précieuses et de la microphotographie. Il a publié un certain nombre de livres importants et des centaines d'articles dans des revues savantes et populaires. Ses livres les plus connus comprennent le Monde intérieur de pierres précieuses: les Documents de l'Espace et du Temps (1974) et Photoatlas des inclusions de pierres précieuses (1986), co-écrit avec le gemmologue John Koivula.

Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin Beryl Collection
Dr Eduard J. Gübelin - Collection de Béryl

Basé sur l'étude des inclusions du Dr Gübelin, le laboratoire Gübelin est devenu un pionnier dans la détermination de l'origine des pierres précieuses. Au cours d'une carrière de 70 ans, le Dr Gübelin avait réuni une célèbre collection de gemme de plus de 5000 spécimens, couvrant toutes les espèces de pierres précieuses commerciales et rares. Il avait recueilli beaucoup d'échantillons personnellement pendant ses voyages et pour la plupart dans des sites miniers éloignés.

Le Dr. Gübelin décéda en 2005, quelques jours avant son 92e anniversaire. Le Gemological Institute of America (GIA) a acquis sa collection de pierres précieuses pour le bénéfice de la profession.

  • First Published: 11-juillet-2009
  • Last Updated: 18-mars-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Dr. Edward Gubelin
Dr. Edward Guebelin
Dr. Edward Gübelin
Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin
Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin

Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin can fairly be called the father of modern gemology. Born in Lucerne, Switzerland in 1913, his family were watchmakers and jewelers in the best Swiss tradition. He studied at universities in Zurich and Vienna, earning a Ph.D. in mineralogy in 1938. He then traveled to the United States, where he was one of the first resident students of the young Gemological Institute of America and worked with early leaders in the professional gemological movement.

Early in the twentieth century, Gübelin's father, Eduard Gübelin, Sr., recognized the need for scientific analysis of gemstones to support the jewelry industry. In 1902 the French chemist Auguste Verneuil had developed a method known as flame fusion to create synthetic ruby. This innovation was no mere laboratory experiment. By 1907 Verneuil had turned his lab into a full scale production facility and was turning out 1,000 kg of synthetic corundum. The jewelry industry needed to be able to certify natural gemstones.

The Gübelin family established the Gübelin Gem Lab and young Eduard joined the family firm in 1932. During his studies with Prof. Hermann Michel in Vienna, he had developed an interest in the study of inclusions in gems and their significance for the identification of gemstones. It became a lifelong interest and led to his greatest contributions to gemological science.

Dr. Gübelin became a leading expert on gemstone inclusions and photomicrography. He published a number of important books and hundreds of articles in scholarly and popular journals. His best known books include Internal World of Gemstones: Documents from Space and Time (1974); and Photoatlas of Inclusions in Gemstones (1986), co-authored with gemologist John Koivula.

Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin Beryl Collection
Dr. Eduard J. Gübelin - Beryl Collection

Based on Dr. Gübelin's study of inclusions, the Gübelin Lab became a pioneer in determining the origin of gemstones. Over a 70 year career, Dr. Gübelin had assembled a world famous gem collection of more than 5,000 gem specimens, covering all commercial and rare gem species. He had collected many of the specimens personally in his travels to many remote mining locations.

Dr. Gübelin died in 2005, just a few days short of his 92nd birthday. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) has acquired his gemstone collection for the benefit of the profession.

  • First Published: July-11-2009
  • Last Updated: July-11-2009
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping