Bijoux Nouveautés Paires Lots Contact
  : Poids de Carat des Pierres Précieuses
Carat

Le poids est une qualité importante dans la valeur des pierres précieuses. Souvent plus grande est la pierre, plus la valeur est élevée, mais les grandes pierres sont moins fréquentes. Toutefois, il est important de se souvenir que les qualités comme la couleur et la saturation sont aussi très importantes dans la détermination de la valeur d'une pierre.

Le mot anglais carat vient du grec keration ( «petite corne»), se référant à la forme des cosses de graines de caroubier. Ces graines sont petites et uniformes en poids et, par conséquent, elles étaient une norme pour peser des pierres précieuses dans l'ancien temps.

Vers 1920, le carat métrique a été adopté comme norme internationale. Un carat équivaut à un cinquième de gramme (0,20 gramme), ou cinq carats au gramme.

La Loi de Tavernier

En règle générale, en fonction de l'augmentation en poids de carat d'une pierre, le prix en carat augmente de même. Une façon amusante de se pencher sur les valeurs des pierres est la suivante: depuis la fin du 14e siècle, il y a une loi pour les diamants que l'on appelle le «la loi des Indiens" ou "La Loi de Tavernier»:

  Wt ² x C = le Prix par Pierre

Ce qui suit montre comment le prix d'un diamant pourrait augmenter avec cette formule appliquée à 1000 $ le carat prix de base.

Poids     Prix total de la pierre    
1ct $1000
2ct $4000
3ct $9000
4ct $16,000
5ct $25,000
10ct $100,000

 

Pourtant, dans le monde réel, fixer le prix n'est pas si simple, même pour les diamants. D'autres qualités comme la couleur ou la clarté affectent le prix de la pierre. Avec les pierres précieuses colorées, cette loi de carat est encore plus confuse et irréaliste. Un rubis de haute qualité de trois carats peut avoir plus de valeur et de rareter qu'un rubis de plus de 200 carats, les énormes rubis sont communs, mais pleins de sérieuses inclusions. Ces spécimens géant sont impossible à couper en fines pierres à cause de leurs défauts et, par conséquent, leur valeur est très faible.

Aussi, souvenez-vous que la grandeur et le poids sont différents. La grandeur fait allusion à l'espace physique ou au volume qu'une pierre occupe, tandis que le poids se réfère à l'attraction gravitationnelle de l'objet. Par exemple, un millimètre cubique de saphir sera deux fois aussi lourd qu'un millimètre cubique d'opale parce que la gravité spécifique du saphir est la double de celui de l'opale. Voyez notre page sur les tailles calibrés pour plus d'informations.

  • First Published: September-21-2006
  • Last Updated: October-06-2010
  • © 2005-2016 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Carat Weight

Gemstone Carat Weight

Carat Weight is an important quality of gemstone value. Often the larger the stone, the more valuable it is, as larger stones are less common. However, it is important to remember that qualities such as color and saturation are also important in determining a stone's value.

Gemstone Scale
Gemstone Carat Weight Scale

The English word carat comes from the Greek word for keration ('little horn'), referring to the shape of the seedpods of the carob tree. These seeds are small and uniform in weight; therefore, they were a standard for weighing gemstones in early times.

Around 1920, the metric carat was adopted as an international standard. One carat equals a fifth of a gram (0.20 grams), so there are five carats to the gram.

Tavernier's Law

Generally, as a gemstone's carat weight increases, so does the price per carat. A fun way to look at stone value is the following: Since the late 14th century there has been a law for diamonds that is known as the 'Indian Law' or 'Tavernier's Law':

  Wt² x C = Price per stone

The following shows how the price of a diamond might increase with this formula applied to a $1000 a carat base price.

Weight     Total Stone Price    
1ct $1000
2ct $4000
3ct $9000
4ct $16,000
5ct $25,000
10ct $100,000

However, in the real world, pricing is not this simple, even for diamonds. Other qualities such as color or clarity will also greatly affect the price of gemstones. With colored gemstones, this carat law is even more muddled and unrealistic. For example, a high quality ruby of three carats may be more valuable and rarer than a ruby of over 200 carats, as huge rubies are common, but full of serious inclusions. These giant specimens are impossible to cut into fine stones because of their flaws; therefore, their value is very low.

Also, remember that size and weight are different. Size refers to the physical space or volume that a stone occupies, while weight refers to the gravitational pull of the object. For example, one cubic millimeter of sapphire will be twice as heavy as one cubic millimeter of opal because the sapphire's specific gravity is twice that of opal. Please see our page on calibrated sizes for more information.

  • First Published: September-21-2006
  • Last Updated: September-22-2016
  • © 2005-2016 all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:


Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart