search
  • تسجيل الدخول
    تسجيل الاشتراك
  • دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

    1-800-464-1640

    دولي:

    +66-39601289

  • تغيير اللغة
  • USD
بواسطة تمت مراجعته من قبل Andreas Zabczyk

عرش الطاووس

تصوير فني لشاه جهان على عرش الطاووس
تصوير فني لشاه جهان على عرش الطاووس

يعد تاج محل أحد أشهر مواقع التراث العالمي لليونسكو اجرا ، الهند. استغرق الأمر ما يقرب من 20000 شخص على مدى 20 عامًا لإكمالها وتم تكريسها لزوجة الإمبراطور المغولي شاه جهان المحبوبة ، ممتاز محل ، التي توفيت وهي تضع طفلهما الرابع عشر. ضريح تاج محل مبني من الرخام الأبيض والداخل مرصع بالأحجار الكريمة مثل حجر كريم لازورد و حجر كريم كارنيليان . يعتبره الكثيرون من أجمل المباني في العالم. ومع ذلك ، هناك ملف كنز يقال إنها تكلف ضعف تكلفة الضريح الرخامي الأبيض ؛ عرش الطاووس لشاه جهان.

تم صنع عرش الطاووس (المعروف أيضًا باسم Takht e Taus) احتفالًا بحكم شاه جهان. تم تشييده في دلهي وتألقت بالجواهر الثمينة التي تضمنت الجواهر الهائلة كوهينور الماس الأحجار الكريمة . احتوى العرش الباهظ على قدر كبير من الذهب الخالص والأحجار الكريمة ، واستغرق استكماله سبع سنوات. تضمنت الأحجار الكريمة التي تم ترصيعها على العرش أحجار كريمة من اللؤلؤ ، الزمرد الأحجار الكريمة الياقوت الإسبنيل والأحجار الكريمة الياقوت والأحجار الكريمة الماس. ظهرت هذه الجواهر على شكل ريش متعدد الألوان وأجزاء أخرى من الطاووس محاطًا بالزخارف. بعض من أبرز الأحجار الكريمة التي زينت العرش أو محيطه كانت الأحجار الكريمة أكبر شاه الماسي ، والأحجار الكريمة الماسية المغولية العظيمة ، حجر كريم تيمور روبي ، أحجار كريمة من ألماس المائدة العظيم وأحجار ألماس شاه.

كابوشون أحجار كريمة ياقوت وأحجار كريمة زمرد مقطعة على شكل طاولة

وفق جان بابتيست تافيرنييه ، الذي أتيحت له الفرصة لرؤية عرش الطاووس عندما زار الديوان الملكي في القلعة الحمراء في دلهي ، تم تعيين العرش بحوالي 108 كبيرة كابوشون حجر روبي ، أصغرها وزنه حوالي 100 قيراط. كانت محاطة بأحجار الزمرد الكبيرة المقطوعة على الطاولة والتي تزن حوالي 30 إلى 60 قيراطًا. إجمالاً كان هناك حوالي 116 جوهرة من أحجار الزمرد.

يذكر حساب تافرنير أن المعلق من العرش كان سيفًا وصولجانًا ودرعًا وقوسًا وجعبة وسهامًا. كما تم ترصيعها بالأحجار الكريمة ، وكذلك الوسائد والخطوات. لاحظ تافيرنييه أن طاووسًا ذهبيًا يحمل اسمًا بذيل مرتفع كان فوق مظلة العرش. تم تعيين ذيله مع أحجار كريمة ياقوت أزرق وغيرها من الجواهر ، وأمام صدرها كان كبير حجر روبي ، يتدلى منها حجر كريم لؤلؤي مائل للصفرة على شكل كمثرى ، يزن حوالي 50 قيراطًا. كان الطاووس محاطًا بباقتين من الزهور ، مصنوعة أيضًا من الذهب و أحجار الكريمة .

تأثر تافيرنييه كثيرًا بصفوف الطبيعة أحجار كريمة لؤلؤة التي زينت الأعمدة التي تدعم المظلة ويفترض أن أحجار كريمة لؤلؤة كان سيساهم في جزء كبير من قيمة العرش. كانت هذه بيضاء وكروية وقدرت تافيرنير وزنها بين 6 و 10 قيراط لكل منها. تم تزيين الجانب السفلي من المظلة أيضًا الماس الأحجار الكريمة وأحجار لؤلؤة مع حافة من أحجار لؤلؤة حولها. يجب أن يكون مشهدًا سماويًا لعشاق الأحجار الكريمة.

ألماسة كوهينور
جوهرة الماس كوهينور

استولى نادر شاه من بلاد فارس على عرش الطاووس بعد أن غزا جيشه دلهي عام 1739. ولم يتضح ما حدث للعرش بعد ذلك ، ولكن أحجار كوه-آي-نور الماسية تم نقلها إلى أفغانستان حتى تم إعادته إلى الهند ثم ادعى البريطانيون. لا تزال جزءًا من جواهر التاج البريطاني ، على الرغم من رغبة الهند في استعادتها. تم بناء عرش بديل للإمبراطور المغولي. تم تصوير هذا العرش في الفن الهندي التاريخي ويختلف عن وصف تافيرنييه للأصل.

في حين أنه ليس من الواضح ما حدث لعرش الطاووس الأصلي ، إلا أنه ألهم عروشًا أخرى وأعمالًا فنية رائعة ، مثل عرش الطاووس للملك لودفيج الثاني في الكشك المغربي بقصر ليندرهوف ، ألمانيا . أيضًا ، يتميز عرش Naderi الإيراني بذيل طاووس على مسند الظهر. هذا العرش هو جزء من جوهرة التاج الإيراني المجموعة معروضة في خزانة المجوهرات الوطنية في البنك المركزي الإيراني.

لم يكن عرش الطاووس هو الوحيد لا يقدر بثمن مقر الإمبراطور المغولي ؛ وفقًا لجين بابتيست تافيرنييه ، كان هناك سبعة عروش مرصعة بالجواهر في القلعة الحمراء. يمكن القول أن الثروات الهائلة للإمبراطورية المغولية كانت ذات قيمة لا مثيل لها في العالم الحديث. سيكون العديد من الحكام المعاصرين محظوظين لامتلاك عدد قليل فقط من مجوهرات رائعة التي زينت مقعد السلطة الرائع لشاه جيهان.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*أنت تقوم بالتسجيل لتلقي بريد إلكتروني ترويجي من GemSelect.
الشركاء والثقة خيارات الدفع

التبديل إلى إصدار الجوال

حقوق النشر © 2005-2024 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لـ GemSelect.com.

يُحظر تمامًا الاستنساخ (نص أو رسومات) بدون موافقة كتابية صريحة من GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.).

32331

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: The Peacock Throne

The Peacock Throne

An Artistic Depiction of Shah Jahan on a Peacock Throne
An Artistic Depiction of Shah Jahan on a Peacock Throne

One of the best-known UNESCO World Heritage sites is the Taj Mahal in Agra, India. It took around 20,000 people over 20 years to complete and was dedicated to Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan's beloved wife, Mumtaz Mahal, who died giving birth to their 14th child. The Taj Mahal mausoleum is constructed from white marble and the interior is inlaid with gemstones such as lapis lazuli and carnelian. This is considered by many to be one of the most beautiful buildings in the world. Yet there is a treasure that is said to have cost twice as much as the white marble mausoleum; the Peacock Throne of Shah Jahan.

The Peacock Throne (also called Takht e Taus) was made in celebration of Shah Jahan's rule. It was constructed in Delhi and glittered with precious jewels which included the enormous Koh-I-Noor Diamond. The extravagant Throne contained a great deal of pure gold and precious gemstones, and took seven years to complete. The gemstones set into the Throne included pearls, emeralds, rubies, spinels, sapphires and diamonds. These jewels appeared as the multicolored feathers and other parts of a peacock surrounded by embellishments. Some of the most notable gemstones that decorated the Throne or its surround were the Akbar Shah Diamond, the Great Mughal Diamond, the Timur Ruby, the Great Table Diamond and the Shah Diamond.

Ruby Cabochons and Table-Cut Emerald
Ruby Cabochons and Table-Cut Emerald

According to Jean-Baptiste Tavernier, who had an opportunity to see the Peacock Throne when he visited the Royal Court at the Red Fort in Delhi, the Throne was set with approximately 108 large ruby cabochons, the smallest being around 100 carats in weight. These were surrounded by large table-cut emeralds which weighed around 30 to 60 carats. Altogether there were about 116 emerald gems.

Tavernier's account states that suspended from the Throne were a sword, a mace, a shield and a bow, quiver and arrows. These were also set with precious gemstones, as were the cushions and steps. Tavernier observed that an eponymous gold peacock with a raised tail was above the canopy of the throne. Its tail was set with blue sapphires and other gems, and in front of its breast was a large ruby, from which hung a pear-shaped yellowish pearl, weighing approximately 50 carats. The peacock was flanked by two flower bouquets, also made from gold and precious stones.

Tavernier was greatly impressed by the rows of natural pearls that decorated the columns that supported the canopy and supposed that the pearls would have contributed to a large portion of the value of the Throne. These were white, spherical and Tavernier estimated their weight to be between 6 and 10 carats each. The underside of the canopy was also decorated with diamonds and pearls, with a fringe of pearls around it. It must have been a heavenly sight for a gemstone enthusiast.

The Koh-I-Noor Diamond
The Koh-I-Noor Diamond

The Peacock Throne was taken by Nadir Shah of Persia after his army invaded Delhi in 1739. It is not clear what happened to the throne after this, but the Koh-I-Noor Diamond was taken to Afghanistan until it was returned to India and then claimed by the British. It remains part of the British Crown Jewels, despite India wishing to have it returned. A replacement throne was constructed for the Mughal Emperor. This throne was depicted in historical Indian art and differs from Tavernier's description of the original.

While it is not clear what happened to the original Peacock Throne, it inspired other thrones and splendid works of art, such as King Ludwig II's Peacock Throne in the Moorish Kiosk of Linderhof Palace, Germany. Also, the Naderi Throne of Iran features a peacock tail on the backrest. This throne is part of the Iranian Crown Jewel Collection and is displayed at the Treasury of National Jewels at the Central Bank of Iran.

The Peacock Throne was not the only priceless seat of the Mughal Emperor; according to Jean-Baptiste Tavernier, there were seven bejeweled thrones in the Red Fort. It may be said that the vast riches of the Mughal Empire were of a value that is unparalleled in the modern world. Many modern rulers would be fortunate to own just a few of the fabulous jewels that decorated Shah Jahan's splendid seat of power.

  • First Published: July-14-2015
  • Last Updated: August-30-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart