Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Les couleurs des pierres précieuses
Gemstone ColorColor de una piedra preciosa
Un guide rapide pour les couleurs

La couleur d'une pierre brute est sa caractéristique la plus définissante et sans doute pour un bijou la plus importante caractéristique. En décidant de prendre des pierres de couleur vous devez en examiner la teinte, le ton et la saturation.

La teinte

Color Wheel at GemSelectLa teinte se réfère à la position d'une couleur sur la roue des couleurs. Il existe six couleurs primaires: violet, bleu, vert, jaune, orange et rouge. Entre ces teintes primaires il y a des teintes secondaires, comme le bleu-vert. Certaines pierres ont des teintes mélangés. Par exemple, les saphirs peuvent avoir une teinte allant de "légèrement violacé bleu" à "légèrement bleu-vert», et les rubis varie "de légèrement rouge-orangé" "à légèrement rouge-violacé". Les pierres précieuses qui ont le plus de couleurs primaires pures sont celles qui ont également le plus de valeur.

Le ton

Le ton (aussi connu comme la valeur ou la clarté) fait allusion à la clarté ou à l'obscurité relative de couleur. Une autre façon de penser la tonalité est le pourcentage de lumière absorbée par une couleur. Une pierre qui n'absorbe aucune couleur est blanche, pendant qu'une pierre qui absorbe toute la lumière est noire.


La saturation

La saturation (également connu sous le nom de chroma ou intensité) fait référence à la quantité de couleur présente. La saturation est le plus important facteur de classement des couleurs.

Pour aider à visualiser la saturation, imaginez un verre d'eau. Lentement, l'encre bleue est ajouté à l'eau dans le verre. La couleur va progressivement devenir un bleu profond. En d'autres termes, la saturation augmente proportionnellement avec la quantité d'encre dans l'eau. Un exemple serait un rubis qui serait aussi rouge qu'il peut l'être. Ce rubis a obtenu la saturation maximum. Un rubis à la plus légère teinte de rose possible aurait le minimum de saturation possible.

Le ton

Pour aider à visualiser le ton, imaginer deux verres chacun rempli avec de l'eau. Ajouter deux gouttes d'encre de couleur dans chaque verre. Les deux verres auront désormais teinte et ton identique.

Understanding Color Maintenant ajouter deux gouttes d'encre à un seul verre. La teinte est la même, mais maintenant, ce verre a un ton et une saturation supérieur. Si vous continuez à ajouter de l'encre à ce verre, le ton et la saturation augmenteront, mais seulement jusqu'à un certain point. En ajoutant trop d'encre cela obscurcira finalement la couleur jusqu'à ce que le noir passe outre la teinte, résultant en une diminution de la saturation.

En général, les pierres qui ont des tons clairs ou sombres sont moins désirables que celles qui ont des tons moyens. Toutefois, n'oubliez pas que le ton idéal dépend de la teinte. La plus haute saturation de jaune sera toujours plus claire que la plus haute saturation d'orange, qui elle-même est plus claire que le plus haut vert ou rouge, qui est plus clair que le plus haut bleu ou pourpre.

  • First Published: 04-septembre-2006
  • Last Updated: 23-février-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Color Basics
Les couleurs des pierres précieusesColor de una piedra preciosa
A Quick Guide to Color

A gemstone's color is its most defining and arguably a stone's most important characteristic. When deciding upon gemstone color you should consider hue, tone, and saturation.

Hue

Color Wheel at GemSelectHue refers to the position of a color on the color wheel. There are six primary hues: violet, blue, green, yellow, orange, and red. Between these primary hues are secondary hues, such as blue-green. Some stones have mixed hues. For example, sapphires can have a hue ranging from "slightly purplish-blue" to "slightly greenish-blue," and rubies range from "slightly orangish-red" to "slightly purplish-red". Gemstones that have mostly pure primary colors are the most valuable. These stones will have only a slight touch of other colors in the wheel.

Tone

Tone (also known as value or lightness) refers to the relative lightness or darkness of color. Another way of thinking of tone is as the percentage of light absorbed by a color. A stone that absorbs no color is white, while a stone that absorbs all light is black.


Saturation

Saturation (also known as chroma or intensity) refers to the amount of color present. Saturation is the most important color-grading factor.

To help visualize saturation, imagine a glass of water. Slowly blue ink is added to the water in the glass. The color will gradually become a deeper blue. In other words, the saturation increases proportionally with the amount of ink in the water. An example would be a ruby that was as red as it possibly could be. This ruby has obtained maximum saturation. A ruby with the lightest shade of pink possible would have the minimum saturation possible.

Tone

To help visualize tone, imagine two glasses each filled with water. Add two drops of colored ink into each glass. The two glasses will now have identical hue and tone.

Understanding ColorNow add two more drops of ink to only one glass. The hue is the same, but now this glass has a higher tone and saturation. If you continue to add ink to this glass, the tone and saturation will increase, but only to a point. Adding too much ink will eventually darken the color so much that black overrides the hue, resulting in a decrease in saturation.

Overall, stones that have light or dark tones are less desirable than those of medium tones. However, remember that the ideal tone depends on the hue. The highest saturation of yellow will always be lighter than the highest saturation of orange, which itself is lighter than the highest green or red, which is lighter than the highest blue or purple.

  • First Published: September-04-2006
  • Last Updated: May-27-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping