search
  • Anmelden
    Konto eröffnen
  • Telefonservice in Englischer Sprache

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Sprache ändern
  • USD
  • Warenkorb
Von Rezensiert von Andreas Zabczyk

Amerikanische Edelsteine

Sonnenstein aus Oregon
Sonnenstein aus Oregon

Die Vereinigten Staaten sind einer der Hauptkonsumenten von farbigen Edelsteinen weltweit, sind aber nicht als bedeutender Edelsteinproduzent bekannt. Dies war nicht immer der Fall. Im ersten Jahrzehnt des 20. Jahrhunderts waren die USA führend Turmalin Produzent der Welt, mit wichtigen Minen in Maine und Kalifornien.

In acht Bundesstaaten der USA ist der kommerzielle Edelsteinabbau noch immer aktiv. Überraschenderweise ist Tennessee der Spitzenstaat (basierend auf dem produzierten Gesamtwert). Denn die American Pearl Company betreibt in Tennessee die einzige Süßwasserperlenfarm des Landes.

Watermelon Crystal aus Kalifornien
Watermelon Crystal aus Kalifornien

Der zweitwichtigste Staat im kommerziellen Edelsteinabbau ist Arizona mit bedeutenden Vorkommen an Peridot und Türkis . Arizona ist auch bekannt für Achat , Jaspis , versteinertes Holz, Granat und Opal . Türkis ist der wertvollste Edelstein, der in Arizona produziert wird, obwohl die Produktion arbeitsintensiv ist, da eine sorgfältige Extraktion von Hand erforderlich ist.

Oregon ist international berühmt für seine Sonnenstein , ein Feldspat-Mineral. Sonnenstein ist eine Art Labradorit, der eine große Anzahl mikroskopisch kleiner Kupferplättchen enthält, die ein interessantes Farbspiel erzeugen. Oregon produziert auch eine Vielzahl von Achat, Jaspis und Obsidian.

Turmalin wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts in Kalifornien entdeckt, und zwischen 1898 und 1914 war die Himalaya-Mine im San Diego County der weltweit größte Turmalinproduzent. Die Türkisproduktion hat auch in Kalifornien, insbesondere im San Bernardino County, eine lange Geschichte, aber die Lagerstätten sind nicht mehr aktiv. Es gibt immer noch Turmalinreserven in Kalifornien, aber die Kosten für den Abbau von Turmalin sind unerschwinglich geworden.

Die meisten von den Edelsteine gefunden in den USA befinden sich im Westen, und Idaho, Montana und Nevada haben bemerkenswerte Steine hervorgebracht. Idaho produziert kleine Mengen verschiedener Edelsteinarten, darunter Achat, Jaspis, Granat und Opal. Idaho ist als Quelle für den seltenen Sterngranat bekannt. Montana ist berühmt für seine Saphire von Yogo Gulch. Es gibt eine Reihe von Farben, darunter Blau, Grün, Pink, Lila, Gelb und Orange. Zu einer Zeit produzierte Nevada gut Türkis Die jüngste Edelsteinproduktion war jedoch hauptsächlich Opal aus Virgin Valley.

Peridot Rough aus ArizonaSaphir-Rough aus Montana
Peridot Rough aus Arizona Saphir-Rough aus Montana

Arkansas ist bekannt für seine Quarz , insbesondere Bergkristall, der als Mineralproben hergestellt und verkauft und auch für Edelsteine facettiert wird. Es wird auch zu Perlen verarbeitet, Schnitzereien , Kugeln und andere Dekorationsartikel.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Sie melden sich an, um Werbe-E-Mails von GemSelect zu erhalten.
Partner und Vertrauen Zahlungsmöglichkeiten

Wechseln Sie zu Mobile Version

Urheberrechte © © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Die Vervielfältigung (Text oder Grafik) ohne die ausdrückliche schriftliche Zustimmung von GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) ist strengstens untersagt.

15574

search
By Reviewed By Andreas Zabczyk

American Gemstones

Sunstone from Oregon
Sunstone from Oregon

The United States is one of the main consumers of colored gemstones in the world, but is not known as an important gemstone producer. This was not always the case. Back in the first decade of the 20th century, the US was the leading tourmaline producer in the world, with important mines in Maine and California.

Commercial gemstone mining is still active in eight states of the US. Gemstone mines in the US can be found in various locations across the country, including but not limited to the states of California, Nevada, Arizona, Colorado, Montana, North Carolina, Idaho, Oregon, and Maine.

Surprisingly, the top state (based on total value produced) is Tennessee. This is because the American Pearl Company operates the only freshwater pearl farm in the country in Tennessee.

Watermelon Crystal from California
Watermelon Crystal from California

The second most important state in commercial gemstone mining is Arizona, with significant deposits of peridot and turquoise. Arizona is also known for agate, jasper, petrified wood, garnet and opal. Turquoise is the most valuable gemstone produced in Arizona, though production is labor intensive because careful hand extraction is required.

Oregon is internationally famous for its sunstone, a feldspar mineral. Sunstone is a type of labradorite that contains large numbers of microscopic copper platelets that produce an interesting play of color. Oregon also produces a variety of agate, jasper, and obsidian.

Tourmaline was discovered in California at the end of the nineteenth century, and between 1898 and 1914 the Himalaya Mine in San Diego County was the world's largest producer of tourmaline. Turquoise production also has a long history in California, especially in San Bernardino County, but the deposits are no longer active. There are still tourmaline reserves in California, but the cost of mining tourmaline has become prohibitively high.

Most of the gemstones found in the US are in the west, and Idaho, Montana and Nevada have produced notable stones. Idaho produces small quantities of various gem types, including agate, jasper, garnet and opal. Idaho is well-known as a source for the rare star garnet. Montana is famed for its sapphires from Yogo Gulch. A range of colors are found, including blue, green, pink, purple, yellow and orange. At one time, Nevada produced fine turquoise but recent gem production has mainly been opal from Virgin Valley.

Peridot Rough from Arizona Sapphire Rough from Montana
Peridot Rough from Arizona Sapphire Rough from Montana

Arkansas is noted for its quartz, especially rock crystal, which is produced and sold as mineral specimens and also faceted for gemstones. It is also fashioned into beads, carvings, spheres and other decorative items.

American gemstones have made their mark in the global gemstone trade. Known for their exceptional quality and variety, gemstones mined in the US are highly regarded by collectors, jewelers, and designers worldwide. From rare tourmalines and vivid emeralds to fiery rubies and mesmerizing sapphires, American gemstones showcase the diversity and beauty of our nation's geological riches.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*You're signing up to receive GemSelect promotional email.
Partners and Trust Payment options

Switch to Mobile Version

Copyright © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.

Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.

1134

Enlarged Image