search
  • تسجيل الدخول
    تسجيل الاشتراك
  • دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

    1-800-464-1640

    دولي:

    +66-39601289

  • تغيير اللغة
  • USD
بواسطة تمت مراجعته من قبل Andreas Zabczyk

مجوهرات الأحجار الكريمة المصرية القديمة

يعود أول دليل على صناعة المجوهرات في مصر القديمة إلى 4000 قبل الميلاد.

في مصر القديمة ، كان الرجال والنساء على حد سواء من عشاق المجوهرات الكبار وتزين أنفسهم بوفرة من الحلي. أظهرت المجوهرات أيضًا الثروة والمكانة وقدمت الحماية من الشر. كانت هذه الحماية متاحة لأولئك الأموات أو الأحياء وكان يُعتقد أنها تجلب الرخاء في كل من الحاضر وفي الحياة الآخرة.

القلادة المصرية القديمة
القلادة المصرية القديمة

كانت هناك مجموعة متنوعة من المجوهرات بما في ذلك التمائم والقلائد والمعلقات والأساور والخواتم ومجوهرات الرأس والخلخال والأكاليل والياقات والشارات. العديد من الطرق المصرية القديمة ل قطع الأحجار الكريمة تم فقدها ، لكن الجودة لا تزال موجودة حتى اليوم.

رغم أن المصريين تمكنوا من الوصول إلى كثيرين ثمين فضلوا استخدام الأحجار الكريمة ليونة ، شبه ثمين مثل هذه الحجارة حجر كريم كارنيليان و يشب الأحجار الكريمة و حجر كريم لازورد و حجر الملكيت و الكوارتز الأحجار الكريمة و أحجار كريمة تركواز .

كان لون المجوهرات والأحجار الكريمة مهمًا جدًا للمصريين ، حيث كان يُعتقد أن بعض الألوان توفر الحماية ضد الشر وحسن الحظ. في العديد من الثقافات القديمة ، كان اللون يمثل الملوك أزرق ، وكان هذا صحيحًا بشكل خاص في مصر القديمة ، مما جعل أحجار اللازورد واحدة من أكثر الأحجار الكريمة قيمة.

قلادة اللازورد والعقيق
قلادة الحجر الكريم اللازورد والعقيق

الأحجار الكريمة الفيروزية شيء آخر مبهمة الأحجار الكريمة التي كان يفضلها المصريون. يشبه التلوين لون البحر الاستوائي وكان يستخدم للتعبير عن الفرح والنظافة والمتعة. تم ترصيع قناع الدفن الذهبي الشهير للملك توت عنخ آمون أحجار كريمة تركواز و حجر كريم لازورد و حجر كريم كارنيليان .

تم العثور على معظم المواد الخام التي كانت تستخدم في صناعة المجوهرات في مصر أو بالقرب منها ، ولكن تم استيراد بعض المواد الثمينة مثل الأحجار الكريمة اللازورد من أماكن بعيدة مثل أفغانستان . كانت الأحجار الكريمة المفضلة للملكة كليوباترا هي الأحجار الكريمة الزمرد ، وحتى أنها منحت شخصيات أجنبية أحجار كريمة زمرد منحوتة على شكلها. تم استخراج أحجار الزمرد محليا بالقرب من البحر الأحمر. احتكرت مصر أحجار الزمرد حتى القرن السادس عشر. اليوم ، الحجر الكريم الزمرد في حالة ممتازة يستحق أكثر بكثير من الأحجار الكريمة الماسية البيضاء بسبب ندرة الحجر. ربط المصريون أحجار الزمرد بالخصوبة والخلود والتجديد والربيع الأبدي. اليوم سيدة أنيقة ترتدي الزمرد الأحجار الكريمة يمكن أن تشعر القلادة أو الخاتم بأنها ملكة مثل كليوباترا.

قناع دفن الملك توتس
أحد توابيت الملك توت

لا يستطيع الجميع شراء أحجار الزمرد أو الأحجار شبه الكريمة ، لذلك ، من أجل توفير مواد رخيصة للطبقات الاجتماعية الدنيا ، اخترع الحرفيون المصريون فن الأحجار الكريمة المزيفة. أصبح الحرفيون القدماء بارعين للغاية في صياغة نسخ من الخرز الزجاجي للأحجار الكريمة بحيث كان من الصعب التمييز بين أحجار الزمرد الأصلية ، أحجار كريمة لؤلؤة و حجر كريم عين النمر .

بالنسبة لقدماء المصريين ، كان للون كل حجر كريم معنى مختلف. على سبيل المثال ، كان من المفترض أن ترمز المجوهرات ذات اللون الأخضر إلى الخصوبة ونجاح المحاصيل الجديدة ، بينما يرتدي الشخص المتوفى حديثًا عقدًا أحمر اللون على حلقه لإشباع جوع إيزيس للدم.

لم تكن الخواتم التي كان يرتديها الرجال في مصر القديمة مجرد زينة ، بل كانت أداة ضرورية للإدارة. لم يتم التوقيع على المستندات الرسمية ، ولكن تم ختمها ، وبالتالي تمت المصادقة عليها. كان ختم الرجل الفقير عبارة عن خاتم نحاسي أو فضي بسيط بينما كان ختم الرجل الغني عبارة عن جوهرة متقنة. سيتم ترصيع الخاتم بحجر كريم منقوش بشعار المالك مثل العقرب أو الأسد أو الصقر.

الخواتم المصرية القديمة
خواتم مصرية

تم استخدام خنفساء الجعران المصرية كتميمة أو سحر حظ سعيد من قبل كل من الأغنياء والفقراء. تم استخدام رسم لخنفساء الجعران في صنع أنواع مختلفة من المعلقات والأساور والخواتم والقلائد. كان يُعتقد أن مجوهرات الجعران تحمل قوى سحرية ودينية قوية وكان الجعران رمزًا للولادة الجديدة. تم كتابة اسم المالك على القاعدة المسطحة للجعران لضمان توفير الحماية لمن يرتديه. غالبًا ما كانت المعلقات والأساور والخواتم والقلائد من الجعران مصنوعة من جواهر ثمينة أو شبه كريمة مثل الأحجار الكريمة كارنيليان وأحجار اللازورد والأحجار الكريمة الفيروزية.

توتانكامون اللازورد سكاراب
توتانكامون اللازورد سكاراب

بعض الأمثلة القديمة الرائعة من حلقات أصابع الجعران التي اكتشفها علماء الآثار كانت مملوكة لسيثثوريونيت ، ابنة ملك مصري قديم من الأسرة الثانية عشرة. تم العثور على كنز من المجوهرات في مدفنها في اللاهون. في كل حلقة ، أجنحة الجعران مطعمة بشرائط من الأحجار الكريمة الفيروزية ، والأحجار الكريمة اللازوردية وغيرها من الأحجار الكريمة ، وفوق رأسها حجر كريم كارنيليان وجسمها وأرجلها كلها من الحجر الكريم اللازورد.

تم إنتاج الأساور المصرية بأنواع مختلفة. كانت بعض الأساور عبارة عن خلخال وأذرع كانت عبارة عن خواتم ذهبية عادية ، بينما كانت أساور المعصم مصنوعة من خرز صغير من الذهب وأحجار اللازورد والأحجار الكريمة العقيق الفلسبار الأخضر مدمن على سلك ذهبي.

Necklace of Sithathoriunets
قلادة Sithathoriunet
وجدت في اللاهون
الذهب ، والأحجار الكريمة العقيق ، والفلسبار ، والأحجار الكريمة العقيق ، والأحجار الكريمة الفيروز والأحجار الكريمة اللازورد

بسبب المعتقدات الدينية للمصريين القدماء ، كانت المجوهرات مطلوبة بشدة من قبل المتوفى في الآخرة ، ودُفنت وفرة من المجوهرات مع الموتى. في الواقع ، أعد المصريون القدماء أنفسهم من بدايات حياتهم إلى يوم وفاتهم من خلال جمع أكبر قدر ممكن من المجوهرات الواقية ليتم دفنها معهم. تم دفن كنوز ضخمة ومجوهرات مع الموتى لاستخدامها في الآخرة وكان هذا هو السبب الرئيسي وراء نهب المومياوات المصرية على نطاق واسع.

بصرف النظر عن الذهب ، تم العثور على الكثير من المجوهرات المصنوعة من الأحجار الكريمة وشبه الكريمة. في عام 1901 ، تم العثور على أربعة أساور أثناء التنقيب في مقبرة جر ، الفرعون الثاني في الأسرة الأولى في مصر.

اساور من مقبرة جر
اساور من مقبرة جر

تم العثور عليها ما زالت في مكانها على ذراع امرأة ملفوفة في ضمادات كتان جسدها ومخبأة في جدار القبر. إنها مصنوعة من الذهب والأحجار الكريمة اللازورد والأحجار الكريمة الفيروزية و جمشت الأحجار الكريمة . يعرف الكثير من الناس أنه من المعروف أن اللون الأرجواني يمثل الملوك ، لكنهم ليسوا على دراية بحقيقة أنه يعود إلى حجر الجمشت من الملوك المصريين القدماء.

نأمل أن تكون قد وجدت هذا المقال ممتعًا. لماذا لا تراسلنا بأفكارك أو بأي أسئلة؟ نحب دائمًا أن نسمع من عملائنا.

اتصل بنا

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*أنت تقوم بالتسجيل لتلقي بريد إلكتروني ترويجي من GemSelect.
الشركاء والثقة خيارات الدفع

التبديل إلى إصدار الجوال

حقوق النشر © 2005-2024 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لـ GemSelect.com.

يُحظر تمامًا الاستنساخ (نص أو رسومات) بدون موافقة كتابية صريحة من GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.).

16049

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Ancient Egyptian Gem Jewelry

Ancient Egyptian Gem Stone Jewelry

The first evidence of jewelry making in ancient Egypt dates back to 4000BC.

In ancient Egypt both men and women were great lovers of jewelry and adorned themselves with a profusion of trinkets. Jewelry also showed wealth and status and offered protection from evil. This protection was available for those dead or alive and was thought to bring prosperity in both the present and the after life.

Ancient Egyptian Necklace
Ancient Egyptian Necklace

There was a variety of jewelry including amulets, necklaces, pendants, bracelets, rings, head jewelry, anklets, diadems, collars and insignia. Many of the ancient Egyptian methods for cutting gemstones have been lost, but the quality is still there today.

Although the Egyptians had access to many precious gemstones, they preferred to use softer, semi-precious stones such carnelian, jasper, lapis lazuli, malachite, quartz and turquoise.

The color of the jewelry and gemstones was very important to the Egyptians, since certain colors were thought to provide protection against evil and good luck. In many ancient cultures royalty was represented by the color blue, and this was especially true in ancient Egypt, making lapis lazuli one of the most prized of all gemstones.

Lapis and Carnelian Pendant
Lapis & Carnelian Pendant

Turquoise is another opaque gemstone that was favored by the Egyptians. The coloring is similar to that of the tropical sea and it was used to represent joy, cleanliness and pleasure. The infamous golden burial mask of King Tut was inlaid with turquoise, lapis lazuli and carnelian.

Most of the raw materials that were used to make jewelry were found in, or near Egypt, but certain prized materials such as lapis lazuli were imported from as far away as Afghanistan. Queen Cleopatra's favorite gemstone was emerald, and she even gifted foreign dignities emeralds carved in her likeness. Emeralds were mined locally near the Red Sea. Egypt held the monopoly on emeralds till the 16th century. Today, an emerald in perfect condition is worth far more than a white diamond due to the rarity of the stone. Egyptians linked emeralds to fertility, immortality, rejuvenation and eternal spring. Today, a lady wearing an elegant emerald necklace or ring can feel just as much of a queen as Cleopatra.

King Tuts burial mask
King Tuts burial mask

Not everyone could afford emerald or semi precious gems so, in order, to provide cheap materials for the lower social classes, Egyptian artisans invented the art of fake gemstones. Ancient artisans became so adept at crafting glass bead versions of precious stones that it was difficult to distinguish authentic emeralds, pearls and tiger's eye.

For ancient Egyptians, the color of each gemstone had a different meaning. For example jewelry that was green was meant to symbolize fertility and the success of new crops, while a recently deceased person would wear a red-colored necklace on their throat to satisfy Isis's hunger for blood.

The rings worn by men in ancient Egypt were not just ornamental, they were a necessary tool of administration. Official documents were not signed, but sealed, and therefore authenticated. The poor man's seal was a simple copper or silver ring while the rich man's seal was an elaborate jewel. The ring would be set with a precious stone engraved with the owner's emblem such as a scorpion, lion or a hawk.

Ancient Egyptian Rings
Egyptian Rings

The Egyptian scarab beetle was used as an amulet or a good luck charm by both the rich and the poor. A depiction of a scarab beetle was used in the making of various types of pendants, bracelets, rings and necklaces. Scarab jewelry was believed to hold strong magical and religious powers and the scarab was a symbol of rebirth. The name of the owner was inscribed on the flat base of the scarab to ensure that protection would be bestowed upon the wearer. Scarab pendants, bracelets, rings and necklaces were often made of precious or semi-precious jewels such as carnelian, lapis lazuli and turquoise.

Tutanhkamun Lapis Scarab
Tutanhkamun Lapis Scarab

Some fine early examples of scarab finger-rings discovered by archeologists were owned by Sithathoriunet, daughter of an ancient Egyptian king of the 12th dynasty. A treasure trove of jewelry was found at her burial site in El-Lahun. In each finger-ring the scarab's wings are inlaid with strips of turquoise, lapis lazuli and other gemstones, above its head is carnelian and its entire body and legs are lapis lazuli.

Egyptian bracelets were produced in a variety of different types. Some bracelets were anklets and armlets that were plain gold rings, whilst wrist bracelets were made of small beads in gold, lapis lazuli, carnelian, and green feldspar, strung on gold wire.

Necklace of Sithathoriunets
Necklace of Sithathoriunet
found at El-Lahun
Gold, carnelian, feldspar, garnet, turquoise and lapis lazuli

Due to the religious beliefs of the ancient Egyptians, jewelry items were much needed by the deceased in the afterlife, and an abundance of jewelry was buried with the dead. In fact ancient Egyptians prepared themselves from early life to the day they died by collecting as much protective jewelry as possible to be buried with them. Immense treasures and jewelry were buried with the dead for use in the afterlife and this was the main reason why Egyptian mummies were so widely plundered.

Apart from gold, lots of jewelry was found that was made from precious and semi precious stones. In 1901, during an excavation of the tomb of Djer, the second Pharaoh of Egypt's 1st Dynasty, four bracelets were found.

Bracelets from the tomb of Djer
Bracelets from the tomb of Djer

They were found still in place on the arm of a woman, whose body was wrapped in linen bandages and concealed in the wall of the tomb. They are made from gold, lapis lazuli, turquoise and amethyst. Many people know that purple is known to represent royalty, but they are not familiar with the fact that it goes back to the amethyst of ancient Egyptian sovereigns.

We hope you've found this article interesting. Why not email us with your thoughts or any questions? We always like to hear from our customers.

Contact us

  • First Published: September-16-2011
  • Last Updated: June-27-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping