Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Acheter une Aigue-marine
Buying Aquamarine
Acheter une Aigue-marine

Natural Aquamarine Gems at GemSelectOn connaît bien l'émeraude, l'une des quatre pierres précieuses traditionnelles. Mais beaucoup de gens ne réalisent pas que l'émeraude est un membre d'une famille de notables de pierres précieuses, le béryl. Les autres béryls, moins célèbre, comprennent l'aigue-marine, la morganite, le béryl doré et le bixbite.

Il est juste de dire que la délicate aigue-marine bleue-verte est le deuxième béryl le plus célèbre, mais pas le plus rare. Le Bixbite, le béryl rouge, est extrêmement rare et n'est présent que dans quelques endroits dans l'Utah et le Nouveau Mexique aux USA. L'Aigue-marine se trouve dans la plupart des endroits où le béryl ordinaire est trouvé, y compris le Brésil, l'Australie, la Birmanie, la Chine, l'Inde, le Kenya , à Madagascar, au Mozambique, en Namibie, au Nigéria, au Pakistan, aux Etats-Unis, en Zambie et au Zimbabwe.

Buy Aquamarine GemsBien que l'aigue-marine et l'émeraude appartiennent à la même famille, ils sont étonnamment différentes. Ils sont tous deux des silicates d'aluminium béryllium. Lorsque l'émeraude est coloré par des traces de chrome et de / ou de vanadium, l'aigue-marine est colorée par le fer. Mais alors que l'émeraude et le béryl ont essentiellement les mêmes densité et indice de réfraction, l'émeraude a tendance à être assez floue et incluse, tandis que l'aigue-marine a typiquement une excellente transparence et de la clarté.

Bien que les béryls sont des gemmes très dur - 7.5 à 8 sur l'échelle de Mohs - l'émeraude a toujours été considéré comme un joyau un peu délicat en raison de ses nombreuses inclusions. les émeraudes sont généralement huilé, afin de combler les fractures et d'améliorer leur couleur. L'Aigue-marine, d'autre part, ne nécessite pas un traitement spécial et convient à toutes sortes de bijouteries, y compris les anneaux.

Natural AquamarineL'intensité de la couleur et la clarté de la pierre sont les critères les plus importants lors de l'évaluation de l'aigue-marine. Les aigues-marines profondément bleues sont rares et ont des prix plus élevés sur le marché des pierres précieuses dans le monde, bien que l'aigue-marine bleu profond est toujours d'un bleu pastel. Les teintes les plus sombres de l'aigue-marine sont souvent traitées thermiquement pour améliorer la couleur. Contrairement à d'autres gemmes, l'aigue-marine n'est pas diminuée par l'intensité moindre de sa couleur - beaucoup de gens préfèrent le cristal plus clair pour des pierres précieuses aux légères, plus riches couleurs plus profondes. Vous trouverez l'aigue-marine dans des coupes à la fois diversifiée et en cabochon.

Aquamarine from GemSelectL'Aigue-marine tire son nom du terme latin pour l'eau de mer, et a une longue tradition en tant que pierre porte-bonheur du marin. Les Grecs et les Romains connaissaient l'aigue-marine comme le joyau du marin, pour assurer un passage sûr et prospère à travers des mers orageuses. La légende veut que les aigues-marines étaient les possessions précieuses des sirènes et permettrait donc de protéger les marins du danger, y compris chasser le mal de mer.

L'aigue-marine est la pierre porte-bonheur de Mars.

  • First Published: 31-mars-2008
  • Last Updated: 06-octobre-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Buying Aquamarine
Acheter une Aigue-marine
Buying Aquamarine

Natural Aquamarine GemEveryone is familiar with emerald, one of the four traditional precious gems. But many people don't realize that emerald is a member of a notable gemstone family, beryl. The other, less famous beryls include aquamarine, morganite, golden beryl and bixbite.

It's fair to say that delicate blue-green aquamarine is the second most famous beryl, though not the rarest. Bixbite, which is red beryl, is extremely rare and is found in only a few locations in Utah and New Mexico in the USA. Aquamarine is found in most locations where ordinary beryl is found, including Brazil, Australia, Burma, China, India, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, USA, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Aquamarine GemstoneThough aquamarine and emerald belong to the same family, they are surprisingly different. They are both beryllium aluminum silicates. Where emerald is colored by trace amounts of chromium and and/or vanadium, aquamarine is colored by iron. But while emerald and beryl have essentially the same specific gravity and refractive index, emerald tends to be quite hazy and included, while aquamarine typically has excellent transparency and clarity.

Though the beryls are quite hard gems - rating 7.5 to 8 on the Mohs scale - emerald has always been regarded as a somewhat delicate gem due to its many inclusions. Emeralds are usually oiled to fill fractures and improve their color. Aquamarine, on the other hand, requires no special treatment and is suitable for all kinds of jewelry, including rings.

Natural aquamarineThe intensity of color and the clarity of the stone are the most important criteria when evaluating aquamarine. Deep blue aquamarines are rare and command higher prices in the world's gemstone markets, though deep blue aquamarine is still a pastel blue. The darker shades of aquamarine are often heat treated to improve the color. Unlike other gems, aquamarine is not diminished by lesser intensity of color - many people actually prefer the more crystal clear lighter gemstones to the richer, deeper colors. You will find aquamarine in both faceted and cabochon cuts.

Aquamarine from GemSelectAquamarine derives its name from the Latin term for seawater, and has a long tradition as the sailor's lucky stone. The Greeks and the Romans knew aquamarine as a sailor's gem, which ensured a safe and prosperous passage across stormy seas. Legend has it that aquamarines were the prized possessions of mermaids and thus would would protect sailors from danger, including warding off sea sickness.

Aquamarine is the birthstone for March.

  • First Published: March-31-2008
  • Last Updated: June-10-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping