search
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
L'Histoire des Pierres de Naissance

Photos of Birthstones January Birthstone - Garnet December Birthstone - Blue Topaz November Birthstone - Citrine October Birthstone - Tourmaline September Birthstone - Sapphire August Birthstone - Peridot July Birthstone - Ruby June Birthstone - Moonstone May Birthstone - Green Emerald April Birthstone - Diamond March Birthstone - Aquamarine February Birthstone - Amethyst L'idée des pierres de naissance - une pierre précieuse attribué à chaque mois de l'année - est considéré comme relativement ancienne, et les savants pensent que cela remonte à la cuirasse de Aaron décrite dans la Bible dans le livre de l'Exode. La cuirasse ou plastron est un vêtement religieux sertie de douze gemmes qui représentaient les douze tribus d'Israël. Les pierres précieuses ont été mis en quatre rangées de trois: sardoine, topaze et escarboucle; émeraude, saphir et diamant; la ligure, l'agate et l'améthyste; le béryl, l'onyx et le jaspe.

Alors, comment avons-nous obtenu à partir de pierres représentant les douze tribus d'Israël des pierres de naissance? Les écrits de Flavius Josephus (1er siècle après JC) et Saint-Jérôme (Ve siècle) fait le lien entre les 12 pierres dans le plastron et les 12 signes du zodiaque. L'idée a été proposé que chacune des pierres précieuses avait des pouvoirs spéciaux associés avec le signe astrologique correspondant, et que le fait de porter ces pierres au bon moment aurait des avantages thérapeutiques ou talismanique.

Mais ce n'était pas tout à fait la même idée que notre concept des pierres de naissance. Basé sur ce modèle astrologique, on doit posséder une collection des 12 pierres différentes attribué aux signes du zodiaque, et porter le bijou approprié pendant l'ascendant du signe correspondant. C'est plus comme la tradition védique astrologiques de l'Inde, qui attribue 9 pierres différentes à 9 planètes, et prescrit le port de bijoux notamment en fonction de votre état de santé et des difficultés que vous rencontrez dans votre vie.

L'idée de chaque personne de toujours porter une pierre correspondante au mois de sa naissance est une idée résolument moderne venant des érudits du 18ème siècle en Pologne, avec l'arrivée des commerçants juifs de bijoux dans la région. Mais la liste moderne des pierres de naissance n'a été défini qu'en 1912, par l' Association nationale des bijoutiers (Jewelers of America) aux Etats-Unis.

La liste des pierres de naissance moderne n'a pas changé depuis 1912. Ce n'est que récemment que nous avons vu deux tentatives de changement, les deux curieusement associé à la pierre précieuse tanzanite. En 2002, l'American Gem Trade Association (AGTA) a annoncé qu'ils avaient ajouté la tanzanite comme une pierre de naissance de Décembre, alors que Décembre avait déjà deux pierres de naissance ( turquoise et zircon ). L' Association nationale des bijoutiers américain, Jewelers of America, apporta l'idée et cette petite phrase pour la conference de presse de l'AGTA : "Le J.A voit l'ajout de la tanzanite pour Décembre comme un moyen de développer les activités commerciales. Tous les moyens d'aider les détaillants à vendre plus de bijoux est un plus. " On est bien loin des prétendues pouvoirs magiques des pierres précieuses astrologiques.

Tanzanite - Tanzanite - La pierre de naissance moderne de décembre
Tanzanite - La pierre de naissance moderne de décembre

En Février 2006, TanzaniteOne Ltd, aspirant à l'entente d'un cartel de la tanzanite, a annoncé une stratégie de marketing pour faire de la tanzanite une pierre de naissance. Mais TanzaniteOne ne s'est pas contenté de la tanzanite comme simplement une autre pierre de naissance. Ils voulaient faire mieux - ils voulaient faire offrir une tanzanite à la naissance de chaque enfant, indépendamment des mois calendaire. Avec le slogan "Be Born to Tanzanite», pour cela ils ont cité des connexions plutôt douteuses avec des pratiques tribales de naissances Masai. À ce stade, nous pouvons assurément dire que la commercialisation des pierres de naissance est complète.

  • Première publication: December-18-2007
  • Dernière mise à jour: November-28-2017
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : History of Birthstones
L'Histoire des Pierres de Naissance
The History of Birthstones

Photos of Birthstones January Birthstone - Garnet December Birthstone - Blue Topaz November Birthstone - Citrine October Birthstone - Tourmaline September Birthstone - Sapphire August Birthstone - Peridot July Birthstone - Ruby June Birthstone - Moonstone May Birthstone - Green Emerald April Birthstone - Diamond March Birthstone - Aquamarine February Birthstone - Amethyst The idea of birthstones -- a gemstone assigned to each month of the year -- is thought to be an ancient one, and scholars trace it back to the Breastplate of Aaron described in the Bible in the book of Exodus. The Breastplate was a religious garment set with twelve gemstones that represented the twelve tribes of Israel. The gems were set in four rows of three: sardius, topaz and carbuncle; emerald, sapphire and diamond; ligure, agate and amethyst; and beryl, onyx and jasper.

So how did we get from gemstones representing the twelve tribes of Israel to birthstones? The writings of Flavius Josephus (1st century AD) and St. Jerome (fifth century AD) made the connection between the 12 stones in the Breastplate and the 12 signs of the zodiac. The idea was proposed that each of the gemstones had special powers associated with the corresponding astrological sign, and that wearing these stones at the right time would have therapeutic or talismanic benefits.

But this was not quite the same idea as our concept of the birthstone. Based on this astrological model, one ought to own a collection of the 12 different gemstones assigned to the signs of the zodiac, and wear the appropriate gem during the ascendancy of the corresponding sign. This is more like the Vedic astrological tradition of India, which assigns 9 different gemstones to 9 planets, and prescribes the wearing of particular gems according to your health and the challenges you face in your life.

The idea of each person always wearing a gemstone corresponding to the month of his or her birth is a distinctly modern idea that scholars trace to 18th century Poland, with the arrival of Jewish gem traders in the region. But the modern list of birthstones was not defined until 1912, by the National Association of Jewelers (Jewelers of America) in the USA.

The modern birthstone list has been unchanged since 1912. Only recently have we seen two attempts to change it, both curiously associated with the gemstone tanzanite. In 2002 the American Gem Trade Association (AGTA) announced that they had added tanzanite as a birthstone for December, though December already had two birthstones (turquoise and zircon). The Jewelers of America went along with the idea and provided this sound bite for the AGTA press releases: "JA sees the addition of tanzanite for December as a way to build business. Any step that helps retailers sell more jewelry is a good one." The world had clearly come a long way from the purported magical powers of astrological gemstones.

In February 2006, TanzaniteOne Ltd., the aspiring tanzanite cartel, announced a marketing strategy to make tanzanite a birthstone. But TanzaniteOne wasn't content for tanzanite to be just another birthstone. They wanted to go one better -- they wanted tanzanite to be given on the birth of every child, regardless of month. With the slogan "Be Born to Tanzanite," they cited rather dubious connections to Masai tribal birth practices. At this point we can safely say that the commercialization of birthstones is complete.

  • First Published: December-18-2007
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping