Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Самые большие в мире драгоценные камни
World's Biggest GemsLas piedras preciosas más grandes del mundoDie größten Edelsteine der WeltLe Pietre più Grandi del Mondo
Самые большие в мире драгоценные камни
545.67 carats Golden Jubilee Diamond
Алмаз «Голден Джубили» (Золотая свадьба)

При упоминании о самоцветах, драгоценностях или драгоценных камнях воображение создает в головах многих людей некие притягательные сокровища, переливающиеся богатыми цветами и ожидающими, пока их найдут в недрах земли. Идея о том, чтобы найти ценный большой камень, была движущей силой для мужчин на протяжении всей истории; они покидали свои дома и отправлялись в дальние уголки земли вслед за слухами о неисчислимых сокровищах, которые можно раскопать. Для большинства из них мечта осталась несбыточной, но для немногих счастливцев одна находка означала мгновенное обогащение.

Термин «самый большой алмаз в мире» зависит от вашего определения «мира». В действительности, самый большой алмаз в мире был обнаружен плывущим в пространстве в ядре потухшей звезды. Он имеет ширину 2500 миль и весит 5 миллионов триллионов триллионов фунтов, однако, находясь на расстоянии в 50 световых лет от земли, может оказаться не совсем доступным, чтобы учесть его в наших целях.

The Famous 125West Ruby
125West Ruby

Рекорд на земле удерживается камнем, найденным горнодобывающей компанией в августе 2007 года в Северо - западной провинции Южной Африки. До этого времени Куллинан, найденный в окрестностях Претории в 1905 году, был самым крупным  обработанным алмазом в мире с весом в 530,20 карата, пока не передал право на рекорд алмазу  Голден Джубили в 1985 году. Последний был найден в той же шахте, что и Куллинан, и весил 545,67 карата. Последний рекордсмен пока находится в стадии регистрации, но говорят, что он больше более, чем в два раза.

Вокруг вопроса о самом крупном в мире рубине ведутся жаркие споры. Одним из самых знаменитых является рубин Раджарата весом в 2475 каратов, который был представлен миру в конце 1986 года. Его владелец мистер Дж. Видьярай из Бангалора, Индия, унаследовал этот камень от своих предков, королей империи Виджайанагара. Затем рубин 125 Вест, сертифицированный Институтом геммологии Америки и имеющий вес 8,2 фунта или 18696 каратов, был заявлен как рекордсмен, а также и еще один камень из Мьянмы, который по сообщениям весит 21450 каратов.

Также существует рубин Чайо весом в 109000 каратов, но он окутан пеленой тайны и скандала. Дело не только в ожесточенных битвах за право владения им. Существуют определенные сомнения в его подлинности при наличии заявлений о том, что это фальшивый многоцветный камень, произведенный в Бирме синтетическим путем.

The Famous 125West Ruby

Жемчужина Лао - дзы

Существуют заявления о том, что самый большой когда-либо найденный необработанный изумруд был обнаружен в Карнаибе, Бразилия в 1974 году. Это оказался изумительный кристалл натурального берилла весом в 86136 каратов, который был оценен в 1120080 долларов. Однако, в 2005 году было сообщено, что горняки на Мадагаскаре выкопали камень весом в 1182 фунта, который также был представлен как самый крупный в мире изумруд.

Меньше разногласий в отношении самой большой известной жемчужины, которая была найдена филиппинским ныряльщиком возле острова Палаван в 1934 году. Ее вначале назвали жемчужиной Аллаха, но сейчас она официально известна как жемчужина Лао - дзы. Ее размеры составляют 9,5 на 5,5 дюйма, вес равен 14 фунтам, а оценочная стоимость составляет 40 миллионов долларов США.

  • First Published: 14-Мая-2008
  • Last Updated: 22-Февраля-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : World's Biggest Gems
Las piedras preciosas más grandes del mundoDie größten Edelsteine der WeltLe Pietre più Grandi del MondoСамые большие в мире драгоценные камни
World's Biggest Gems
545.67 carats Golden Jubilee Diamond
Golden Jubilee Diamond

Speak about gems, jewels, or precious stones and the image created in many people's minds is some alluring treasure, sparkling with rich colors, just waiting to be found within the earth's crust. The idea of finding a valuable large gem has been a driving force for men throughout history; time and again they have left their homes and traveled to the far corners of the earth following rumors of untold riches to be had for the digging. For most, the dream remains beyond reach, but for a lucky few, a one-time find has meant instant wealth.

The world's biggest diamond depends upon your definition of 'world.' In fact the biggest diamond ever discovered was found floating in space at the core of a dead star. It is 2,500 miles wide and weighs 5 million trillion trillion pounds, but at a distance of 50 light years from the earth, it may be a little inaccessible to count for our purposes.

The Famous 125West Ruby
125West Ruby

The record on earth is held by a stone found by a mining company in August 2007 in the North West province of South Africa. Before that, the Cullinan, which was found near Pretoria in 1905, was the largest cut diamond in the world at 530.20 carats until it lost the record in 1985 to the Golden Jubilee. This was found in the same mine as the Cullinan and weighed 545.67 carats. The latest record holder, still to be verified, is said to be more than twice that size.

Considerable controversy seems to surround the question of the world's largest ruby. One of the most famous is the Rajaratna Ruby which is 2,475 carats and was unveiled to the world at the end of 1986. Its owner, Mr. G. Vidyaraj of Bangalore, India, inherited the stone from his ancestors, the kings of the Empire of Vijayanagar. Since then, the 125West Ruby which is certified by the Gemology Institute of America and weighs 8.2 pounds or 18,696 carats, has claimed the prize, as has another stone from Myanmar reported to be 21,450 carats.

And then there is the Chaiyo Ruby, which is 109,000 carats but veiled in mystery and scandal. Not only have there been bitter battles as to its ownership, there is some doubt that it is even genuine with some claiming that it is a fake, multi-colored stone synthetically manufactured by the Burmese.

The Famous 125West Ruby
Pearl of Lao Tzu

Some claim that the biggest uncut emerald ever found was discovered in Carnaiba, Brazil in 1974. It was an amazing 86,136 carat natural beryl crystal and was valued at $1,120,080 USD. However, in 2005, it was reported that miners in Madagascar dug up a gem weighing 1,182 pounds which has also been feted as the world's largest emerald.

Of less contention is the largest known pearl which was found by a Filipino diver off the island of Palawan in 1934. It was first called the Pearl of Allah but is now officially known as the Pearl of Lao Tzu. It is 9.5 by 5.5 inches, weighs 14 pounds and has an estimated worth of $40 million USD.

  • First Published: May-14-2008
  • Last Updated: March-10-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping