search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

来自澳大利亚的宝石

在澳大利亚发现的宝石
来自澳大利亚的宝石

澳大利亚是一个以其独特的野生动物而闻名的国家,如可爱的袋鼠和考拉、鸭嘴兽和袋熊,以及非常可怕的蛇、蜘蛛和水母。然后是各种各样的食物 - 从绝对美味到彻头彻尾的狡猾 - 烧烤上的每只虾都有一个素食三明治,每一个多汁的牛排都有一个 4 和 20 馅饼。

风景千变万化,干旱的沙漠、连绵起伏的绿色山丘和茂密的热带丛林都可以在这片巨大的大陆上找到,还有一望无际的白色沙滩或锯齿状的岩石峭壁。充满购物中心和咖啡店的繁忙大都市与小国大小的孤立养牛场和养羊场形成鲜明对比。

为了适应各种环境,澳大利亚拥有令世界其他地方羡慕的自然资源,其中包括许多备受追捧的宝石。你说出它的名字,澳大利亚可能会拥有它!

当然,并非所有材料都能进入宝石销售的切割、抛光和刻面世界。例如,世界上大约一半的石榴石来自澳大利亚,但几乎所有的石榴石都用于工业用途,而且几乎没有一个能成为华丽的戒指或耳环。

在我们 20 多年在全球范围内买卖宝石的过程中,我们很难找到一个拥有比澳大利亚更丰富的令人惊叹的有色宝石供应的国家。此外,他们在道德劳动法和对自然栖息地的尊重方面的声誉是首屈一指的,因此我们对销售来自“地下”的宝石感到非常自在。

今天我们将详细了解澳大利亚最好的宝石,实际上只有一个地方可以开始。

蛋白石

早在 1839 年,杰出的地质学家和矿物学家约翰内斯·门格 (Johannes Menge) 在南澳大利亚发现了一些常见的蛋白石,从这个不吉利的开始,我们来到了今天,世界上 90% 到 95% 的蛋白石来自澳大利亚。

Johannes Menge 是一个非常有趣的人,我们不仅要感谢蛋白石采矿业的兴起,还要感谢巴罗萨谷的优质葡萄酒,因为他认识到该地区的葡萄栽培潜力。

直到 1800 年代末和 1900 年代初发现了珍贵蛋白石的重大发现,澳大利亚的采矿业才真正起飞。在这一点上,欧洲人认识到了它们的质量并开始大量购买它们。

大约 1 亿年前,在现在的澳大利亚中部有一片巨大的浅海。这片海洋提供了制造蛋白石所需的水和矿物质,现在可以在这片水域的海岸上找到这些蛋白石。

  • 北边的博尔德蛋白石
  • 东部的黑欧泊
  • 南部的白欧泊
选购澳大利亚蛋白石宝石
在这里购买澳大利亚蛋白石

采矿业从来都不是一件容易的事,但在澳大利亚内陆的沙漠和山脉中挖掘珍贵的宝石确实非常困难。一些世界上最好的蛋白石产自许多位于非常荒凉的环境中的著名矿区。

  • 南澳大利亚的 Mintabie、Coober Pedy 和 Andamooka
  • 新南威尔士州的白崖和闪电岭
  • 昆士兰的 Winton 和 Quilpie

蛋白石是澳大利亚的国家宝石,虽然它们的莫氏硬度等级为 5.5 - 6.5,但这个数字可能具有欺骗性。

博尔德蛋白石、黑蛋白石以及基质中的蛋白石、Koroit 蛋白石和 Yowah 坚果等品种仍然与它们形成的岩石相连,因此通常比您想象的要坚韧得多。

在其他情况下,珍贵蛋白石的细条附在坚固的背衬材料上(蛋白石对联),或者有时被赋予保护性水晶圆顶盖(三联),这再次使它们足够耐用,适合所有类型的珠宝。

蓝宝石

这可能会让人感到意外,但澳大利亚在很长一段时间内一直是蓝宝石的主要来源,在新南威尔士州北部和昆士兰州中部发现了非常多产的矿山。

在澳大利亚发现的大多数蓝宝石是蓝色的,但也发现了绿色和黄色的例子。它们的颜色通常很深,但经过一些热处理后会变成华丽明亮的宝石。

几十年前,澳大利亚提供了世界上大约 70% 的蓝宝石,但随着其他国家能够以更经济的方式开采这些宝石,这一比例已大幅下降。澳大利亚矿业公司必须(非常正确地)遵守严格的环境和劳动法。

蓝宝石是矿物刚玉的一种形式。如果它们是红色以外的任何颜色,则称为蓝宝石,如果它们是红色,则称为红宝石。澳大利亚红宝石很少见,但可以在靠近蓝宝石产地的矿山中找到。

选购澳大利亚蓝宝石
在这里购买澳大利亚蓝宝石

钻石

澳大利亚拥有巨大的钻石矿藏,但大多数用于工业用途。西澳大利亚著名的 Argyle 矿山几十年来一直生产高品质的粉红色、香槟和干邑钻石,但不幸的是正在关闭。

选购钻石宝石
在这里购买钻石

黄玉

黄玉是人类已知的最古老的宝石之一,在科学家能够通过显微镜和折光仪识别宝石之前,大多数黄色宝石被称为黄玉。

宝石级黄玉于 1870 年代首次在澳大利亚被发现,是金属开采活动(通常是锡开采)的副产品。事实上,黄玉、海蓝宝石和石英宝石在早期都被扔在一旁。现在,黄玉最常在来自河流甚至退潮时沙滩的次生冲积砾石中开采。

在澳大利亚发现的黄玉是浅色材料,但通过加热或辐射处理,可以实现流行的蓝色和粉红色。

选购黄玉宝石
在这里购买黄玉

金绿玉

金绿玉是一种耐用的宝石(莫氏硬度为 8.5),往往呈淡黄色。它最著名的品种是非常稀有和昂贵的变色亚历山大变石宝石。

来自澳大利亚的亮黄色金绿玉具有异常高的折光率,这使它们在其他国家的这种宝石中没有发现的备受追捧的光彩。

尽管有这个名字,但它们并不属于绿柱石家族,但以非常合理的价格制作了非常有吸引力的珠宝宝石。

选购金绿宝石
在这里购买金绿玉

葡萄石

Prehnite 最初是在几百年前在南非发现的,仍然是这种迷人的绿色到黄色宝石的主要来源,但来自澳大利亚北领地的金色版本因其美丽而闻名。

Prehnite 是第一种以个人名字命名的宝石 - 亨德里克·冯·普雷恩上校,他是 1700 年代后期好望角的州长,这颗可爱的宝石首次出现在那里。澳大利亚原住民相信葡萄石会在白天吸收阳光的温暖和光线,并远离夜晚的寒冷和危险。

选购葡萄石宝石
在这里购买 Prehnite

锆石

锆石对于人类和我们的星球来说都是一种具有历史意义的水晶。 2014 年在澳大利亚发现的一块锆石已有近 45 亿年的历史,几乎与地球本身一样古老。

锆石是一种非常受欢迎的宝石,具有合理的耐用性,莫氏硬度等级为 7.5,有多种颜色可供选择,非常适合各种珠宝。

澳大利亚拥有世界上最大的锆石矿床,但这主要用于工业用途——它可以制作出很好的砂纸。然而,昆士兰、新南威尔士和塔斯马尼亚的冲积矿床一直是宝石级锆石的重要来源。

大多数蓝色和透明锆石都经过热处理,但许多颜色更深的红色、橙色和棕色宝石是完全天然的。

选购锆石宝石
在这里购买锆石

石英

紫水晶、黄水晶和烟晶在澳大利亚的几个地方都可以找到。最多产的来源是新南威尔士州东北部的金斯盖特,在那里发现了一些巨大的晶体,尤其是烟晶。然而,在更南边的布罗肯希尔和昆士兰州的斯坦索普附近也发现了紫水晶等石英。

选购石英宝石
在这里购买石英

除了蛋白石,上面的宝石往往是透明的或至少是半透明的,并且通常是为了制作珠宝而进行刻面切割的。澳大利亚还拥有多种类型的宝石,这些宝石通常是不透明的,可以通过凸圆形切割和抛光或制成奇特的形状来制作独特的珠宝作品。

有两种矿物通常被称为玉,软玉和硬玉,尽管许多其他绿色矿物也被错误地或出于邪恶的原因称为玉。

几千年来,人类一直使用玉作为装饰品和工具,甚至用它来制作武器,因为它是一种坚韧致密的材料。

1965 年,一位农民在南澳大利亚考威尔的田地里工作,挖出一块 4 公斤重的巨石,结果发现是一块软玉!据估计,考威尔所在的艾尔半岛拥有 80,000 吨软玉,已成为世界的首要来源。

选购翡翠宝石
在这里购买翡翠

绿玉髓

“chrysoprase”这个名字来源于希腊语“chrusos”和“prason”,分别翻译为“黄金”和“韭菜”;指的是它的韭菜或苹果绿色和明亮的色调。

绿玉髓与所有其他种类的隐晶质石英一样,由非常细小的晶体组成,即使在放大镜下也无法被视为单独的颗粒,并且是一种玉髓。

其令人愉悦的绿色、经济实惠、硬度和耐用性使其成为各种珠宝首饰的理想宝石,有时在亚洲市场上作为澳大利亚玉出售。最好的例子来自南澳大利亚西北部的 Mt Davies 和昆士兰著名的 Marlborough 矿床。

购买绿玉髓宝石
在这里购买绿玉髓

金毛藻

最抢手,因此也是最昂贵的金绿宝石是明亮的蓝色或绿色宝石,绿松石和蓝绿色是最受欢迎的颜色。色调是由宝石的矿物组成中形成时铜的存在引起的。

纯金玉髓对于宝石来说既稀有又非常柔软,因此通常与其他矿物结合。这创造了装饰石头表面的有趣图案,并使其更加耐用。

大尺寸和独特的标记使 chrysocolla 成为一次性珠宝作品或工匠爱好制作物品的理想选择。

购买 Chrysocolla 宝石
在这里购买 Chrysocolla

珊瑚

珊瑚是一种有机宝石,因为它具有生物起源而非矿物起源——类似于珍珠、琥珀和喷射。红珊瑚历史上起源于地中海和红海,因其美丽和精神力量而受到古希腊人和罗马人的青睐。

我们可能都知道,世界各地的珊瑚礁正受到糟糕的捕鱼技术和水温上升造成的珊瑚白化的威胁。在保护自然环境的立法方面,澳大利亚有一些世界上最严格的规定。

澳大利亚出产一些最好的红色和粉红色珊瑚,以及一些极为罕见的全天然蓝色珊瑚。

选购珊瑚宝石
在这里购买珊瑚

瓦里西特

Variscite 是一种鲜为人知但引人入胜的宝石,它通常更受收藏家或那些热衷于宝石精神方面的人的兴趣,而不是想要制作珠宝的人。话虽如此,只要稍加想像,一大块水铝石就可以制成非常独特的吊坠或胸针。

Variscite 最初发现于欧洲中部,并以德国的一个地区命名,该地区在 1800 年代发现了巨大的矿床。从那时起,美国犹他州和澳大利亚昆士兰州成为这种带图案的绿色宝石的重要来源。

选购 Variscite 宝石
在这里购买 Variscite

虎眼

虎眼石通常呈金棕色,带有黑色和橙色条纹和带,赋予它们几乎有机或木质的外观。他们的精神力量和他们有趣的外表一样令人钦佩。

在澳大利亚发现的虎眼通常来自西澳大利亚的沙漠,包括马拉曼巴品种,它可以具有红色、蓝色和黄色。

选购虎眼石
在这里购买虎眼石

碧玉

碧玉是一种玉髓宝石,它含有各种其他矿物质,有助于形成带状、斑驳、多色的外观。事实上,Jasper 这个词的意思是有斑点或有斑点的石头。

澳大利亚是一种特殊类型的碧玉的故乡,称为 Mookaite,其颜色特别鲜艳,装饰有趣。

选购碧玉宝石
在这里购买 Jasper

珍珠

澳大利亚珍珠业的故事会拍成一部电影,事实上,它可能会成为一部热播的 Netflix 系列剧,充满了无数的财富、鲨鱼和鳄鱼的袭击、猖獗的种族主义、战争和冒险以及来自澳大利亚、英国、日本、中国、菲律宾和其他几个国家。

澳大利亚西北部的布鲁姆和新南威尔士州悉尼上方的中央沿海地区是澳大利亚最著名的珍珠产地,但如今,昆士兰和北领地的热带水域的不同地点也生产养殖珍珠。

养殖珍珠无论如何都不是人工或合成的——它仍然是由牡蛎生产的,但不是完全自然发生的,而是将一个微小的核插入养殖的牡蛎中以促进珍珠的生长。这保证了更大、更规则形状的珍珠,这意味着我们不再需要潜入深海并收集成吨的牡蛎,以防万一里面有珍珠!

经典的乳白色珍珠仍然最受欢迎,但也有银色、金色、粉色、灰色甚至蓝色和黑色版本可供选择。

选购珍珠宝石
在这里购买珍珠

因此,我们可以选择来自澳大利亚的最佳宝石。正如我们上面提到的,来自澳大利亚的矿物清单几乎无穷无尽,我们可以包括玛瑙、玉髓、方钠石、祖母绿、红宝石、月光石、海蓝宝石、橄榄石等,但我们将其保留在世界各地随手可得的宝石中.

澳大利亚宝石指南

宝石颜色

蛋白石

多彩多姿

蓝宝石

各种各样的

钻石

各种各样的

黄玉

各种各样的

金绿玉

苍黄

葡萄石

绿色的

锆石

各种各样的

石英宝石

各种各样的

各种各样的

绿玉髓

绿色的

金毛藻

多彩多姿

珊瑚

红色/粉色

瓦里西特

绿色的

虎眼

蜜棕

碧玉

多彩多姿

珍珠

奶油/各种

  • 首次发布于: 八月-11-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 七月-02-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

10792

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (136)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

search
  • Sign In
    Sign Up
  • English speaking customer support only

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD

Gemstones from Australia

Gemstones found in Australia
Gemstones from Australia

Australia is a country famous for its unique wildlife such as the cute and cuddly kangaroos and koalas, platypus and wombats as well as the downright scary snakes, spiders and jellyfish. Then there is the diverse variety of food - from decidedly delicious to downright dodgy - for every shrimp on the bbq there is a vegemite sandwich and for every juicy steak there is a 4 and 20 pie.

The landscape is as varied as it comes, arid deserts, rolling green hills and thick tropical jungles can all be found on this huge continent as well as endless white sandy beaches or jagged rocky cliffs. Busy metropolises full of shopping centers and coffee shops contrast with isolated cattle stations and sheep farms the size of small countries.

To match the assorted environments, Australia possesses natural resources that are the envy of the rest of the world and this includes a number of much sought after gemstones. You name it and Australia will probably have it!

Of course, not all material makes it to the cut, polished and faceted world of gemstone sales. For example about half of the world's garnet comes from Australia but just about all of it is for industrial use and virtually none of it ever gets to be a gorgeous ring or set of earrings.

In our 20 odd years of buying and selling gemstones worldwide we would be hard pushed to find a country with a more plentiful supply of amazing colored stones than Australia. In addition, their reputation for ethical labor laws and respect for the natural habitat is second to none so we feel very comfortable selling gemstones sourced 'down under'.

Today we are going to take a detailed look at the best in gemstones from Australia and there is really only one place to start.

Opal

Back in 1839, extraordinary geologist and mineralogist, Johannes Menge discovered some common opal in South Australia and from this inauspicious beginning we have arrived today where 90 to 95% of all the opals in the world come from Australia.

Johannes Menge was a very interesting man who we need to thank not only for the launch of the opal mining industry but also the fine wines of the Barossa Valley, as he was the man who recognized the area's potential for viticulture.

It was not until major finds of precious opals were made in the late 1800s and early 1900s that things really took off for the Australian mining industry. At this point the Europeans recognized their quality and began to buy them in serious quantities.

Around 100 million years ago, there was a massive shallow sea in what is now central Australia. This ocean provided the water and minerals needed to create the opals that can now found on what were the shores of this body of water.

  • Boulder Opals to the north
  • Black Opals in the east
  • White Opals in the south
Shop Australian Opal Gemstones
Shop Australian Opal here

Mining is never an easy profession but digging for precious gems in the deserts and mountains of outback Australia is very tough indeed. Some of the world's finest opals are found in a number of famous mining sites situated in very inhospitable surroundings.

  • Mintabie, Coober Pedy and Andamooka in South Australia
  • White Cliffs and Lightning Ridge in New South Wales
  • Winton and Quilpie in Queensland

Opals are Australia's national gemstone and although they are rated fairly low on Moh's hardness scale at 5.5 – 6.5 this number can be deceptive.

Boulder opals, black opals and varieties such as opals-in-matrix, Koroit opals and Yowah nuts are still connected to the rock in which they formed so are often much tougher than you might think.

In other circumstances, thin strips of precious opal are attached to a solid backing material (Opal Couplets) or sometimes given a protective crystal dome cover (Triplets) which again makes them durable enough for all types of jewelry.

Sapphire

It might come as a surprise but Australia has been a major source of sapphires for quite some time with very productive mines found in northern New South Wales and central Queensland.

Most of the sapphires found in Australia are blue but green and yellow examples have also been found. They are often quite dark in color but with a little heat treatment turn into gorgeous bright gemstones.

A couple of decades ago, Australia provided around 70% of the world's sapphires but this has dropped considerably as other countries are able to mine for these gemstones much more economically. Australian mining companies have to adhere (quite correctly) to strict environmental and labor laws.

Sapphire is a form of the mineral corundum. If they are any color other than red then they are called sapphires, if they are red then they are rubies. Australian rubies are rare but can be found in mines close to the sources of sapphires.

Shop Australian Sapphire Gemstones
Shop Australian Sapphire here

Diamond

Australia has huge deposits of diamonds, however most are for industrial uses. The famous Argyle mines of Western Australia has produced top quality pink, champagne and cognac diamonds for decades but is unfortunately in the process of closing down.

Shop Diamond Gemstones
Shop Diamonds here

Topaz

Topaz is one of the oldest gemstones known to man and, before scientists were able to identify gemstones through microscopes and refractometers, most yellowish gemstones were called topaz.

Gem quality topaz was first found in Australia in the 1870s as a by-product of metal-mining activities – usually tin-mining. In fact, topaz, along with aquamarine and quartz gemstones, were tossed aside in the early days. Now, topaz is most often mined in secondary alluvial gravels from rivers or even sandy beaches at low tide.

The topaz found in Australia is light colored material but with heat or irradiation treatment the popular blue and pink colors can be achieved.

Shop Topaz Gemstones
Shop Topaz here

Chrysoberyl

Chrysoberyl is a durable gemstone (rated at 8.5 on Mohs hardness scale) which tends to come in yellowish tones. Its most famous variety is the very rare and expensive color-change Alexandrite gemstone.

The bright yellow chrysoberyls from Australia have an unusually high refractive index which gives them a much sought after brilliance not found in this gemstone in other countries.

Despite the name they are not part of the beryl family but make a very attractive gemstone for jewelry at very reasonable prices.

Shop Chrysoberyl Gemstones
Shop Chrysoberyl here

Prehnite

Prehnite was originally discovered in South Africa a couple of hundred years ago and is still the premier source of this fascinating green to yellow gemstone but a golden hued version from the Northern Territory in Australia is gaining fame for its beauty.

Prehnite was the first gemstone to be named after an individual person – Colonel Hendrik von Prehn, who was the governor of the Cape of Good Hope in the late 1700s where this lovely gemstone was first located. The Australian Aborigines believe that prehnite will absorb the warmth and light of the sun during the day and keep away the cold and dangers of the night.

Shop Prehnite Gemstones
Shop Prehnite here

Zircon

Zircon is an historic crystal both in terms of mankind and our planet. A piece of zircon found in Australia in 2014 has been dated back nearly 4.5 billion years making it virtually as old as the earth itself.

Zircon is a very popular gemstone with a reasonable durability which is rated 7.5 on Mohs hardness scale and available in a wide range of colors making it very suitable for all sorts of jewelry items.

Australia has the world largest deposits of zircon but this is mostly for industrial use – it makes great sandpaper. However, the alluvial deposits found in Queensland, New South Wales and Tasmania have been a great source of gemstone quality zircons.

Most blue and clear zircons are heat treated but lots of the richer red, orange and brown colored gemstones are completely natural.

Shop Zircon Gemstones
Shop Zircon here

Quartz

Amethyst, citrine and smoky quartz can be found in several places across Australia. The most prolific source is Kingsgate in north east New South Wales where some enormous crystals, especially Smoky Quartz, have been found. However, quartzes such as amethyst have also been discovered in Broken Hill further south and near Stanthorpe up in Queensland.

Shop Quartz Gemstones
Shop Quartz here

With the exception of opals, the gemstones above tend to be transparent or at least translucent and are usually facet cut for jewelry making. Australia is also home to several types of gemstones which are usually opaque and can be cabochon cut and polished or made into odd shapes for unique jewelry pieces.

Jade

There are two minerals that are usually referred to as Jade, nephrite and jadeite, although many other greenish minerals have also been called jade either by mistake or for nefarious reasons.

Humans have been using jade for ornaments and tools for thousands of years, even fashioning weapons out of it since it is such a tough and dense material.

In 1965, a farmer was working in his field in Cowell, South Australia, when he dug up a 4kg boulder which turned out to be a piece of nephrite jade! It was estimated that the Eyre Peninsula where Cowell is located contains 80,000 tonnes of nephrite jade and it has become a premier source for the world.

Shop Jade Gemstones
Shop Jade here

Chrysoprase

The name 'chrysoprase' originates from the Greek words, 'chrusos' and 'prason', translating into 'gold' and 'leek', respectively; referring to its leek or apple green color and bright hues.

Chrysoprase, like all other varieties of cryptocrystalline quartz, is made up of crystals that are much too fine to be seen as separate particles, even under magnification and is a type of chalcedony.

Its cheerful green color, affordability, hardness and durability make it an ideal gemstone for all manner of jewelry items and it is sometimes sold in Asian markets as Australian Jade. The best examples come from Mt Davies in north-west South Australia and the famous Marlborough deposit in Queensland.

Shop Chrysoprase Gemstones
Shop Chrysoprase here

Chrysocolla

The most sought-after, and thus, most expensive, chrysocolla gemstones are the bright blue or green ones with turquoise and teal being the favored colors. The hue is caused by the presence of copper in the mineral make-up of the gemstone when forming.

Pure chrysocolla is both rare and quite soft for a gemstone so it is usually found combined with other minerals. This creates the interesting patterns that decorate the surface of the stone and makes it considerably more durable.

The large sizes and unique markings make chrysocolla ideal for one-off jewelry pieces or artisan hobby making items.

Shop Chrysocolla Gemstones
Shop Chrysocolla here

Coral

Coral is an organic gemstone as it has biological origins rather than mineral origins – similar to pearl, amber and jet. Red coral was historically sourced in the Mediterranean and the Red Sea and very much prized by Ancient Greeks and Romans for its beauty and spiritual power.

We are probably all aware that coral reefs around the world are under threat from poor fishing techniques and coral bleaching from rising water temperatures. Australia has some the world's strictest rules when it comes to protective legislation for their natural environment.

Australia produces some of the finest red and pink coral as well as some of extremely rare all natural blue coral.

Shop Coral Gemstones
Shop Coral here

Variscite

Variscite is a little known but intriguing gemstone which is usually more of interest to collectors or those keen on the spiritual side of gems than someone wanting to create items of jewelry. Saying that, a large piece of variscite could be made into a very unique pendant or brooch with a little imagination.

Variscite was originally found in central Europe and was named after an area in Germany where huge deposits were discovered in the 1800s. Since then Utah in the USA and Queensland in Australia have become important sources of this patterned green gemstone.

Shop Variscite Gemstones
Shop Variscite here

Tiger's Eye

Tigers's Eye gemstones are a usually golden brown color with black and orange stripes and bands that give them an almost organic or woody look. They are as much admired for their spiritual prowess as their interesting look.

The Tiger's Eye found in Australia generally comes from the deserts of Western Australia and includes the Marra Mamba variety which can feature red, blue and yellow colors.

Shop Tiger's Eye Gemstones
Shop Tiger's Eye here

Jasper

Jasper is a type of chalcedony gemstone which contains various other minerals that help create its banded, mottled, multi-colored appearance. In fact the word Jasper means spotted or speckled stone.

Australia is home to a special type of Jasper known as Mookaite which has particularly bright colors and interesting decoration.

Shop Jasper Gemstones
Shop Jasper here

Pearls

The story of Australia's pearling industry would make quite a movie, in fact it would probably be a hit Netflix series full of untold riches, shark and crocodile attacks, rampant racism, war and adventure plus roles for every film star from Australia, the UK, Japan, China, the Philippines and several other countries besides.

Broome in North Western Australia and the Central Coastal region just above Sydney in New South Wales are the most famous sources of pearls in Australia but nowadays cultured pearls are produced in various locations in the tropical waters of Queensland and the Northern Territory too.

A cultured pearl is not artificial or synthetic in any way – it is still produced by an oyster but rather than a completely natural occurrence, a tiny nucleus is inserted into a farmed oyster to encourage the growth of the pearl. This guarantees and larger and more regular shaped pearl and means we no longer have to dive to the depths of the seas and collect tons of oysters on the off chance they have a pearl inside!

Classic creamy white pearls remain the most popular but silver, gold, pink, gray and even blue and black versions are available.

Shop Pearl Gemstones
Shop Pearl here

So there we have our choices for the best gemstones from Australia. As we mentioned above, the list of minerals from Australia is nearly endless and we could have included agate, chalcedony, sodalite, emerald, ruby, moonstone, aquamarine, peridot and more but we have kept it to gemstones that are readily available around the world.

Australian Gemstones Guide

Gemstone Color

Opal

Multicolored

Sapphire

Various

Diamond

Various

Topaz

Various

Chrysoberyl

Greenish Yellow

Prehnite

Green

Zircon

Various

Quartz Gemstones

Various

Jade

Various

Chrysoprase

Green

Chrysocolla

Multicolored

Coral

Red / Pink

Variscite

Green

Tiger's Eye

Honey Brown

Jasper

Multicolored

Pearl

Cream / Various

  • First Published: May-21-2021
  • Last Updated: May-25-2021
  • © 2005-2021 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
More Shapes
Popular Gemstones
  • Sapphire
  • Emerald
  • Ruby
  • Aquamarine
  • Zircon
  • Opal
  • Topaz
  • Tourmaline
  • Garnet
  • Amethyst
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
All Gemstones (139)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z
  • Actinolite Cat's Eye
  • Agate
  • Agate Geode
  • Almandine Garnet
  • Amazonite
  • Amethyst
  • Ametrine
  • Ammolite
  • Andalusite
  • Andesine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aquamarine
  • Aventurine
  • Beryl
  • Black Opal
  • Bloodstone
  • Boulder Opal
  • Carnelian
  • Cat's Eye Apatite
  • Cat's Eye Aquamarine
  • Cat's Eye Gemstones
  • Cat's Eye Moonstone
  • Cat's Eye Opal
  • Cat's Eye Scapolite
  • Chalcedony
  • Charoite
  • Chocolate Opal
  • Chrome Diopside
  • Chrysoberyl
  • Chrysocolla
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Color Change Gemstones
  • Color-Change Diaspore
  • Color-Change Fluorite
  • Color-Change Garnet
  • Color-Change Sapphire
  • Coral
  • Demantoid Garnet
  • Dendritic Agate
  • Diamond
  • Druzy Amethyst
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Emerald
  • Enstatite
  • Fire Agate
  • Fire Opal
  • Fluorite
  • Fossil Coral
  • Garnet
  • Golden Beryl
  • Grandidierite
  • Grossularite Garnet
  • Hawk's Eye
  • Hematite
  • Hemimorphite Druzy
  • Hessonite Garnet
  • Howlite
  • Hyalite Opal
  • Idocrase
  • Imperial Topaz
  • Iolite
  • Jade Gemstones
  • Jadeite
  • Jasper
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Kyanite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis Lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Malaya Garnet
  • Mali Garnet
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Moonstone
  • Morganite
  • Mother of Pearl
  • Mystic Topaz
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidian
  • Onyx
  • Opal
  • Opal Doublet
  • Opal in Matrix
  • Pearl
  • Peridot
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrope Garnet
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Cat's Eye
  • Quartz With Marcasite
  • Rainbow Moonstone
  • Rainbow Pyrite
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rhodolite Garnet
  • Rose Quartz
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Ruby
  • Ruby in Fuchsite
  • Ruby-Zoisite
  • Rutile Quartz
  • Sapphire
  • Scapolite
  • Scolecite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Sillimanite Cat's Eye
  • Smithsonite
  • Snowflake Obsidian
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Spessartite Garnet
  • Sphalerite
  • Sphene
  • Spinel
  • Star Diopside
  • Star Garnet
  • Star Gemstones
  • Star Lemon Quartz
  • Star Moonstone
  • Star Rose Quartz
  • Star Ruby
  • Star Sapphire
  • Star Sunstone
  • Strawberry Quartz
  • Sunstone
  • Tanzanite
  • Tiger's Eye
  • Tiger's Eye Matrix
  • Topaz
  • Tourmaline
  • Tsavorite Garnet
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
Main Categories
  • New Arrivals
  • Gemstone Lots
  • Calibrated Gemstones
  • Gemstones By Piece
  • Top Grade Gems
  • Matching Pairs
  • Cabochon Gemstones
  • Drilled Gems, Briolettes and Beads
  • Birthstones
  • Gemstone Carvings
  • Fancy Gemstones
  • Star Gemstones
  • Unheated Sapphire
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart