search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

宝石价格

宝石价格解释为什么相当不错的 1 克拉加热蓝宝石售价 500 美元,而未经处理的 6 克拉罚款电气石250 美元?为什么干净的未经处理的 10 克拉紫晶只有 60 美元?宝石价格令人费解,甚至对许多宝石交易者来说也是如此。

人们会认为,简单的答案是,这只是一个问题供需- 如果很多人想购买某种宝石并且供应有限,那么该宝石的价格会很高。然而,这个答案并没有真正说明事物在宝石业务.

宝石价格解释考虑最稀有和最昂贵的宝石之一的情况,钻石.在 19 世纪,世界钻石的产量仅为每年几公斤。在 1870 年发现巨大的南非钻石矿床后,钻石正以吨为单位从地下挖出。供应如此之大而需求如此之少,以致于南非矿山的英国金融家有失去投资的危险。他们的解决方案是创建强大的戴比尔斯卡特尔,至今仍控制着全球钻石的生产和供应。精美的钻石实际上并不稀缺。但戴比尔斯控制着任何时候市场上的供应量,从而使价格保持在高位。

戴比尔斯财团还发起了一场长达数十年的协调一致的广告活动,将钻石与爱情、求爱和婚姻联系起来,口号是现在熟悉的口号“钻石永恒”。钻石订婚戒指曾经在世界大部分地区(包括欧洲)不为人知,现在被认为是婚姻仪式的重要组成部分。这可能是 20 世纪社会工程学最成功的壮举之一。 (然而,在泰国和世界其他地方,新娘仍然更喜欢黄金,它是流动的,而钻石则没有)。

宝石价格解释在有色宝石世界中,幸运的是没有卡特尔,尽管许多力量试图影响市场需求和感知价值。根据国际有色宝石协会 (ICGA) 的说法,“传统宝石”——红宝石,蓝色蓝宝石- 由于“其持久的吸引力和杰出的历史”,在市场上的价格很高。尽管今天这些石头中的大多数是治疗或以某种方式增强,标签“宝贵的“石头为价格增加了巨大的溢价。

ICGA 确定了另一类宝石,他们称之为“新经典”——坦桑石,电气石,蓝晶,帝王黄玉沙弗莱石榴石.这些宝石被认为是“宝石首饰的后起之秀”,随着知名度的提高,它们的价格也在上涨。坦桑石尤其是,得到了很大的推广。

不太知名且没有大量销售的宝石通常价格非常合理。这些被 ICGA 称为“收藏家的宝石”的宝石包括尖晶石,锆石,月光石摩根石和其他一些绿柱石.

然后是一份 ICGA 称为“价格实惠的宝石”的宝石清单——颜色漂亮的宝石,具有良好的可用性和诱人的价格。这些包括紫晶,茶晶,紫黄晶,橄榄石,红石榴石,蓝色托帕石,堇青石,锂紫玉,透辉石红柱石.

宝石价格解释我们认为,所有这些都清楚表明,决定宝石价格的因素有很多。供应固然重要,但珠宝行业的营销力也是决定需求水平的主要因素。如果一种宝石没有被广泛使用,或者不被认为是主流或“时尚”,它就不太可能被大量销售,价格可能会更低。如果宝石的供应量非常好,如最后一类,那么珠宝行业就无法影响价格,除非他们能够像戴比尔斯卡特尔那样控制供应量。不过别担心,目前还没有迹象表明茶晶卡特尔。

那么这一切对我们意味着什么呢?在我们看来,宝石市场上仍有许多物超所值的物品。在里面 ”宝贵的” 石材品类,还是可以买到不错的蓝色蓝宝石来自马达加斯加、非洲和斯里兰卡的起价约为每克拉 200 美元。彩色蓝宝石的市场随着铍处理- 供应量更大,颜色更引人注目。

来自斯里兰卡的花式蓝宝石心
来自斯里兰卡的花式蓝宝石心

电气石现在可能是“新经典”,但价格仍然很有吸引力,而且随着碧玺的分布更广,可供选择的颜色和切工范围似乎也有所增加。尖晶石,以其出色的硬度和清晰度,仍然是一个很好的选择。的光辉锆石除非你买钻石,否则很难平等。然后还有所有价格低于 10 美元/克拉的价格实惠的宝石——美妙的材料,如石榴石,黄玉、紫水晶、黄水晶和火蛋白石.

最后,最重要的是您购买了您喜欢并会喜欢的宝石。但是,如果您正在寻找最佳价值,请查看一些尚未大量销售的鲜为人知的宝石。

  • 首次发布于: 八月-30-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 十月-01-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

11301

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (141)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Gemstone Prices
Gemstone Prices

Gemstone Prices explainedWhy does a reasonably nice 1 carat heated sapphire sell for $500 while a fine untreated 6 carat tourmaline goes for $250? Why is a clean untreated 10 carat amethyst only $60? Gemstone prices are puzzling, even to many people in the gem trade.

The simple answer, one would think, is that it's just a matter of supply and demand -- if a lot of people want to buy a particular kind of gemstone and the supply is limited, the price for that gemstone will be high. However, that answer doesn't really tell the whole story of how things work in the gemstone business.

Gemstone Prices explainedConsider the case of one of the most rare and expensive gemstones, diamond. In the 19th century, world production of diamond was only a few kilograms a year. After the discovery of the huge South African diamond mines in 1870, diamonds were being dug out of the ground literally by the ton. There was such a glut of supply and so little demand that the British financiers of the South African mines were in danger of losing their investment. Their solution was to create the powerful De Beers cartel that to this day controls worldwide diamond production and supply. Quality diamonds are actually not scarce at all. But De Beers controls how much supply comes on the market at any one time and that keeps prices high.

The De Beers consortium also mounted a concerted decades-long advertising campaign to associate diamonds with love, courtship and marriage, under the now familiar slogan "Diamonds are Forever." The diamond engagement ring, once unknown in most parts of the world (including Europe), is now considered an essential part of the ritual of marriage. This was probably one of the most successful feats of social engineering in the 20th century. (In Thailand a bride still prefers gold, however. Gold is liquid in a way that diamonds are not).

Gemstone Prices explainedIn the colored gemstone world, there is fortunately no cartel, though many forces try to influence market demand and perceived value. According to the International Colored Gemstone Association (ICGA), the "traditional gemstones" -- ruby, emerald and blue sapphire -- command a premium price in the market due to "their lasting appeal and distinguished history." Even though today most of these stones are treated or enhanced in some way, the label "precious" stone adds a hefty premium to the price.

The ICGA identifies another category of gems that they call the "new classics" -- tanzanite, tourmaline, aquamarine, imperial topaz and tsavorite garnet. These stones are considered "the rising stars of gemstone jewelry" and they are also rising in price as their popularity increases. Tanazanite, in particular, has been very heavily promoted.

Less well-known stones which are not heavily marketed often have very reasonable prices in the market. These stones, which the ICGA calls "collector's gems", include spinel, zircon, moonstone and morganite and other beryls.

Then there is a list of gems the ICGA calls "affordable gemstones" -- nicely colored stones which have good availability and attractive prices. These include amethyst, citrine, ametrine, peridot, rhodolite garnet, blue topaz, iolite, kunzite, diopside and andalusite.

Gemstone Prices explainedWhat all this makes clear, we think, is that there are several factors at work in determining gemstone prices. Supply is of course important, but the marketing power of the jewelry industry is also a major factor in determining the demand level. If a gemstone is not widely available or not considered mainstream or "fashionable," it is unlikely to be marketed heavily and the price is likely to be lower. If a gemstone has a very good supply, as in the last category, there is not much the jewelry industry can do to influence prices unless they can control the supply like the De Beers cartel. But don't worry, there are no signs yet of a citrine cartel.

So what does this all mean for us? In our view, there are still many good values in the gemstone market. In the "precious" stone category, it is still possible to buy nice blue sapphires from Madagascar, Africa and Sri Lanka starting at around $200 a carat. The market for fancy colored sapphire has changed with the introduction of beryllium treatment -- there is greater supply and the colors are more dramatic. Tourmaline may be a "new classic" now, but prices are still attractive and the range of available colors and cuts seem to have increased as tourmaline gets wider distribution. Spinel, with its excellent hardness and clarity, continues to be a great buy. The brilliance of zircon is hard to equal unless you buy diamond. Then there all the affordable stones still available for less than $10 a carat -- wonderful stuff like garnet, topaz, amethyst, citrine and fire opal.

In the end, the most important thing is that you buy the stones that you will love and enjoy. But if you're looking for the best values, have a look at some of the lesser known gems that haven't yet been marketed heavily.

  • First Published: October-19-2007
  • Last Updated: March-03-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping