Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Comment se forment les pierres précieuses
How Gemstones are FormedCómo se forman las piedras preciosasWie Edelsteine entstehenCome si formano le PietreКак образуются драгоценные камни
Comment se forment les pierres précieuses

Les minéraux se forment dans de nombreux environnements différents de la Terre. La plupart des pierres précieuses se forme dans la croûte terrestre, la couche supérieure de la terre, avec une profondeur de 3 à 25 miles. Seules deux variétés de pierres précieuses - diamants et péridot - se forment dans le manteau terrestre, ce qui représente 80% du volume de la terre. Le manteau est principalement constitué de roche fondue appelée magma avec une couche supérieure solide.

Rock Cycle
Le Cycle des Roches

Alors que quelques pierres précieuses ont été à l'origine formé dans le manteau, toutes les gemmes sont extraites de la croûte. La croûte est composée de trois types de roches, connu dans la géologie comme roches ignées, métamorphiques et sédimentaires. Ces termes techniques se réfèrent à la façon dont les roches se sont formées. Certaines pierres sont associées, notamment avec un type de roche, d'autres avec plusieurs types.

Le processus magmatiques implique la solidification du magma. Le magma provenant du manteau peut s'élever à la croûte, en général par des cheminées volcaniques. Si elle atteint la surface de la terre, elle se solidifie sous forme de lave. Mais si la masse magmatique se refroidit lentement dans la croûte, elle peut se cristalliser et former des minéraux. L'augmentation de la pression peut également provoquer ce fluide pegmatitique et infiltrer les roches environnantes, ce qui provoque souvent des échanges chimiques entre elles. La longue liste des pierres précieuses formé dans des roches ignées inclus le groupe des chrysobéryls, tous les quartz (y compris l'améthyste, la citrine et l'amétrine), les béryls (émeraude, morganite et aigue-marine), les grenats, la pierre de lune, l'apatite, les diamants, le spinelle, la tanzanite, la tourmaline, le topaze et le zircon.

Une fois que la roche ignée atteint la surface de la terre, les forces de l'érosion et l'altération peut produire de plus petites particules qui s'accumulent à la surface ou sont déplacés par le vent et l'eau. Comme le temps passe, les couches de ces sédiments s'accumulent sur terre ou sous l'eau. La pression des couches supérieures causes de compactage dans les couches inférieures de même que divers produits chimiques et des changements physiques tels que la lithification, conduisent à la création de roches sédimentaires. L'évaporation est un processus qui produit également des roches sédimentaires, comme quand des gouttes d'eaux minérales chargées laissent derrière elles des stalactites ou des stalagmites. Les pierres précieuses associées à des roches sédimentaires comprennent le jaspe, la malachite, l'opale et le zircon.

La présence de magma intrusif dans une zone (connue sous le nom de métamorphisme de contact), ou des interactions tectonique des plaques à plus grande échelle (connu sous le nom de métamorphisme régional) met les roches ignées, sédimentaires et les minéraux en chauffe ou sous pression ce qui peut causer des changements dans leur composition chimique et leurs structure cristalline. Le résultat est la création des roches métamorphiques. Les pierres précieuses associées à des roches métamorphiques comprennent les béryls, le jade, le lapis-lazuli, le turquoise, le spinelle, le rubis, le saphir et le zircon.

Les roches et minéraux sont dans un état constant de changement, dénommé le cycle des roches. Les roches ignées peuvent se transformer en roches métamorphiques ou sédimentaires. Les roches sédimentaires peuvent se transformer en roches métamorphiques ou ignées. Les roches métamorphiques peuvent se transformer en roches ignées ou sédimentaires. Mais il faut être patient.

  • First Published: 22-juillet-2008
  • Last Updated: 04-février-2012
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : How Gemstones are Formed
Cómo se forman las piedras preciosasWie Edelsteine entstehenCome si formano le PietreКак образуются драгоценные камниComment se forment les pierres précieuses
How Gemstones are Formed

Minerals form under various conditions in the earth. Most gemstones form in the Earth's crust; the top layer of the Earth, with a depth of 3 to 25 miles. Only two gemstone varieties - diamond and peridot - form in the Earth's mantle, which represents 80% of the Earth's volume. The mantle consists mostly of molten rock called magma with a solid upper layer.

Rock Cycle
The Rock Cycle

A few gemstones form in the mantle, but all gems are mined in the crust. The crust is made up of three kinds of rock, known in geology as igneous, metamorphic and sedimentary rock. These technical terms refer to the way in which the rock is formed. Some gemstones are associated with one kind of rock in particular; others with several types.

The igneous process involves the solidification of magma. Magma from the mantle can rise to the crust, usually through volcanic pipes. If it reaches the surface of the earth, it solidifies as lava. However, if the magmatic mass cools slowly in the crust, it can crystallize and form minerals. Increases in pressure can also cause this pegmatitic fluid to infiltrate surrounding rocks, often making chemical exchanges with them. The long list of gemstones formed from igneous rock include the chrysoberyl group, all quartz (including amethyst, citrine and ametrine), beryl (emerald, morganite and aquamarine), garnet, moonstone, apatite, diamond, spinel, tanzanite, tourmaline, topaz and zircon.

Once the igneous rock reaches the surface of the earth, the forces of erosion and weathering produce smaller particles, which accumulate on the surface or are moved by wind and water. As time passes, layers of these sediments build up on land or under water. The pressure from the upper layers causes compaction in the lower layers, along with various chemical and physical changes such as lithification, which lead to the creation of sedimentary rock. Evaporation is another process that produces sedimentary rock, such as the rock found in deserts. Gemstones associated with sedimentary rock include jasper, malachite, opal and zircon.

The presence of intrusive magma in an area (known as contact metamorphism), or of tectonic plate interactions on a larger scale (known as regional metamorphism) puts igneous and sedimentary rock and minerals under heat or pressure that may cause changes in their chemistry and crystal structure. The result is the creation of metamorphic rock. Gemstones associated with metamorphic rock include beryl, jade, lapis lazuli, turquoise, spinel, ruby, sapphire and zircon.

Rocks and minerals are in a constant state of change, which is referred to as the rock cycle. Igneous rock can change into sedimentary or metamorphic rock. Moreover, sedimentary rock can change into metamorphic or igneous rock. Furthermore, metamorphic rock can change into igneous or sedimentary rock. But you have to be patient.

  • First Published: July-22-2008
  • Last Updated: July-25-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping