search
  • Войти
    Зарегистрироваться
  • English speaking customer support only

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    Международный:
    +66-39609697

  • Изменить язык
  • USD

История танзанита

Очень необычно, когда недавно обнаруженный драгоценный камень оказывает огромное влияние на мировой рынок драгоценных камней. Это случилось с Турмалин Параиба в 1990-е гг. Но случай танзанит в 1960-х еще более интригующе.

Драгоценный камень танзанит огранки кушон
Драгоценный камень танзанит огранки кушон

Танзанит , редкая фиолетово-синяя форма минерала цоизит , был впервые обнаружен в 1967 году в Танзании. Восточная Африка остается единственным источником танзанита, и его предложение крайне ограничено. Ограниченное предложение в сочетании с быстро растущим спросом привело к постоянно высоким ценам.

Огромная популярность танзанит это совсем не удивительно. Первоначально самоцвет был известен под более пешеходным названием «голубой цоизит». Хотя танзанит имеет синий цвет, его обычно нагревают для усиления синего и устранения естественных желтых и коричневых оттенков. Уровень твердости танзанита аналогичен изумруду; он оценивается от 6,5 до 7 на Шкала твердости Мооса и, как алмаз, у него идеальный расщепление . Танзанит более хрупкий, чем кварц, но все же более прочный, чем сталь.

Драгоценные камни танзанита
Драгоценные камни танзанита

Сертифицированные ограненные танзаниты высшего качества можно продать за Цены до 1200 долларов за карат, особенно крупные танзаниты. Танзанит очень редок, и спрос на него действительно поднял его цену. Танзанит получил свой первый большой толчок на рынке с помощью Tiffany & Co., которая дала ему название «танзанит» и организовала крупную рекламную кампанию в 1969 году.

Тиффани проявили большой энтузиазм и ажиотаж в отношении танзанита, поскольку Генри Платт, внук Луи Комфорта Тиффани, описал танзанит как «самый красивый голубой камень, который был обнаружен более чем за 2000 лет».

Популярность танзанита выросла не только из-за маркетингового успеха, но и из-за самого камня. Танзанит на самом деле встречается гораздо реже, чем алмаз, и большие образцы с высоким содержанием золота становится все труднее и труднее найти, поскольку доступность танзанита продолжает уменьшаться.

Овальный танзанит драгоценный камень
Овальный танзанит драгоценный камень

Успешный маркетинг танзанита в сочетании с ограниченным предложением приводит к тому, что танзанит продается по поразительным ценам на рынке. Цены достигли новых максимумов примерно в 1997 году, когда группа инвесторов из Южной Африки купила добычу танзанита, купив горнодобывающий участок под названием Блок C. Они назвали свою компанию TanzaniteOne и попытались применить уроки, которые они извлекли и исследовали у De Beers; контролировать и влиять на рынок поставок в максимально возможной степени.

Танзанит Однажды у кого-то возникла идея продавать танзанит как « камень . Танзанит уже был добавлен в качестве альтернативного камня на декабрь Американской торговой ассоциацией драгоценных камней в 2002 году. Но TanzaniteOne хотели добиться большего признания - они хотели, чтобы танзанит давали при рождении каждого ребенка, независимо от месяца. Поэтому они использовали лозунг «Родись танзанитам» и соединили родовые практики племени масаи.

Однако мы считаем, что танзанит следует беречь из-за его естественной красоты, а не активно продавать его. Для тех кто любитцветные драгоценные камни , танзанит, безусловно, имеет свое место. По прогнозам, рудники в Северной Танзании будут разрабатываться в течение 15 лет, поэтому сейчас, безусловно, стоит инвестировать в танзанит; особенно крупные и «насыщенные» танзаниты высшего сорта.

  • Первая публикация:: август-31-2021
  • Последнее обновление: июль-07-2022
ОСТАВАЙТЕСЬ НА СВЯЗИ
*Вы подписываетесь на получение рекламной электронной почты GemSelect.

Конфиденциальность © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com все права защищены.

Воспроизведение (текст или графика) без явного письменного согласия GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) строго запрещено.

11599

Больше фигур
Популярные Драгоценные камни
  • Сапфир
  • Изумруд
  • Рубин
  • Аквамарин
  • Циркон
  • Опал
  • Топаз
  • Турмалин
  • Гранат
  • Аметист
  • Цитрин
  • Танзанит
Все драгоценные камни (136)
Основные категории
  • Новые Поступления
  • Лоты Камней
  • Калиброванные Драгоценные Камни
  • Драгоценные камни по частям
  • Камни Высшего Сорта
  • Сочетающиеся Пары Камней
  • Кабошон
  • Перфорированные драгоценные камни, бриолеты и бусины
  • Камни, по месяцам рождения
  • Резные Драгоценные Камни
  • Причудливые Драгоценные Камни
  • Звездчатые Драгоценные Камни
  • Неподогретые Сапфиры
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

Международный:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Закрыть окно
Colored Gemstones
X Закрыть окно
Colored Gemstones
X Закрыть окно
Colored Gemstones
Размер и Вес

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Tanzanite Prices
The Story of Tanzanite

Top Grade Natural TanzaniteIt is very unusual when a recently discovered gemstone has a huge impact on the world gemstone market. It happened with paraiba tourmaline in the 1990's. But the case of tanzanite in the 1960's is even more intriguing.

Tanzanite, a rare violet-blue form of the mineral zoisite, was first discovered in 1967 in Tanzania. East Africa remains the only source for tanzanite and the supply is extremely limited. The limited supply, combined with soaring demand has resulted in constant premium prices.

The immense popularity of tanzanite is not surprising at all. Originally the gem was known by the more pedestrian name, "blue zoisite." But that name can be a bit deceiving, since tanzanite is rarely blue in nature. In its natural state, it is a rather common shade of brown, and the violet blue is produced through low level heat treatment. Tanzanite can be known to be quite delicate and soft compared to other hard-wearing gems. Tanzanite's hardness level is actually very similar to emeralds, it is rated a 6.5 - 7 on the Mohs hardness scale and with delicate cleavage. But it is still more durable than steel (slightly softer than quartz).

Stunning Pear Shaped TanzaniteTop grade, certified faceted Tanzanite gems can come to sell for prices up to $1200 a carat, especially with larger premium tanzanite gems.
Tanzanite is very rare and the demand for them has really pushed their marketing and, more recently, market manipulation. Tanzanite got its first big push into the market with the help of Tiffany & Co., who gave it the new name "tanzanite" and mounted a major advertising campaign in 1969.

Tiffany showed great enthusiasm and hype for tanzanite as Henry Platt, the grandson of Louis Comfort Tiffany, described tanzanite as being "the most beautiful blue stone to be discovered in over 2000 years."

The popularity of Tanzanite has grown not only because of the marketing success but because of the gem itself.  Tanzanite is actually much rarer than diamond and large, high grade specimens are becoming harder and harder to find as tanzanite's rarity continues to excel.

Cushion Tanzanite from GemSelectThe successful marketing of tanzanite combined with limited supplies is fetching astonishing prices for the gem in the market. But prices reached new highs around 1997 when a South African group of investors bought into tanzanite mining by purchasing a mining section called Block C. They named their company TanzaniteOne and attempted to apply lessons they learned and researched from De Beers: trying to control and influence as much of the supply market as possible, and they also put heavy resources into trying to build a falsely perceived consumer knowledge base.

TanzaniteOne once had the idea to market tanzanite as 'the' birthstone. Tanzanite had already been added as an alternate birthstone for December by the American Gem Trade Association in 2002. But TanzaniteOne wanted to achieve greater recognition -- they wanted tanzanite to be given on the birth of every child, regardless of month, using the slogan "Be Born to Tanzanite," and making connections to Masai tribal birth practices. One can only hope that the general consumer population can withstand the attempted business tactics of TanzaniteOne and cherish tanzanite for its own natural beauty.

For those who love colored gemstones, tanzanite certainly has its place. Predictions are that the mines in northern Tanzania will be worked out within 15 years, so it is certainly worth investing into tanzanite now; especially with large, premium and "intense" top grade tanzanite gems.

  • First Published: December-05-2007
  • Last Updated: July-18-2012
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping