search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Ulexite : une pierre précieuse à fibre optique naturelle

Pierre précieuse d'œil de chat Ulexite
Pierre précieuse d'œil de chat Ulexite

L'ulexite est rare pierre précieuse de collection , connu pour sa capacité de fibre optique naturelle. Bien qu'il soit considéré comme un joyau moins connu , il devient de plus en plus populaire, notamment pour ses caractéristiques visuelles très inhabituelles. L'ulexite est parfois appelé le « rock télévisé » ou le « rock télévisé ». En effet, ces pierres précieuses inhabituelles ont la capacité de transmettre des images ou de la lumière (un peu comme une télévision) par réflexion interne. L'ulexite est une fibre optique naturelle, et lorsqu'elle est correctement coupée et orientée, l'ulexite de qualité gemme transmettra une image de ce qui apparaît sous la pierre sur la surface de la pierre. En fait, des images rudimentaires peuvent être vues à travers un matériau rugueux, avant même qu'il ne soit Couper et poli.

Ulexite a été nommé d'après le chimiste allemand George Ludwig Ulex, qui a été le premier à avoir analysé ce minéral unique. L'ulexite se trouve le plus souvent sous forme de dépôts de masses cristallines arrondies ou de fibres parallèles avec peu de valeur de pierre précieuse. Les matériaux de qualité gemme sont très rares; il est généralement transparent à translucide avec une couleur blanche attrayante et un lustre soyeux lorsqu'il est poli. L'ulexite est de nature extrêmement fibreuse, de sorte que les matériaux qui peuvent être coupés sont généralement façonnés en cabochons pour maximiser la chatoyance. L'ulexite est composée de borate de calcium sodique hydraté complexe. Il a un assez faible Dureté de Mohs note de seulement 2 à 2,5. Son gravité spécifique (densité) est de 1,65 à 1,95, et sa indice de réfraction peut aller de 1,491 à 1,50.

Texte de transmission Ulexite brut
Texte de transmission Ulexite brut

L'ulexite appartient au groupe rare des borates. Les minéraux et pierres précieuses appartenant à la famille des borates sont très rares, car ils ne peuvent se former que sous une condition géologique spécifique (bassins intermontagnards géologiquement actifs). D'autres pierres précieuses appartenant au groupe borate comprennent howlite et calcite . Fait intéressant, la calcite possède ses propres caractéristiques optiques très uniques, qui ont suscité des expériences scientifiques afin de rechercher les possibilités d'un véritable "manteau d'invisibilité".

Dans le monde de la métaphysique et cristal de guérison , on pense que les pierres précieuses d'ulexite aident à renforcer la vision et à réduire la fatigue. On dit qu'ils sont utiles pour aider à équilibrer le chakra du troisième œil et on pense qu'ils aident à améliorer la créativité et l'imagination de ceux qui les portent. En tant que pierre de vision, la "pierre de télévision" est censée améliorer les capacités télépathiques par la méditation et l'intuition. L'ulexite est une pierre précieuse dont on pense qu'elle fonctionne bien lorsqu'elle est utilisée avec d'autres pierres précieuses telles que moldavite et calcite.

Les gisements d'ulexite se trouvent dans plusieurs régions du monde, notamment en Argentine, au Canada, au Chili, au Kazakhstan, au Pérou et Russie . Aux États-Unis, l'ulexite se trouve en Californie et au Nevada.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

16439

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
 
: Ulexite: A Fiber Optic Gem

Ulexite: A Natural Fiber Optic Gemstone

Ulexite Cat's Eye Gemstone
Ulexite Cat's Eye Gemstone

Ulexite is rare collector's gemstone, known for its natural fiber optic ability. Although it is considered to be a lesser-known gem, it is becoming increasingly popular, particularly for its very unusual visual characteristics. Ulexite is sometimes referred to as the 'TV rock' or 'television rock'. This is because these unusual gemstones have the ability to transmit images or light (much like a television) through internal reflection. Ulexite is a natural fiber optic, and when properly cut and oriented, high quality, gem-grade ulexite will transmit an image of what appears underneath the stone onto the surface of the stone. In fact, rudimentary images can be seen through rough material, even before it is cut and polished.

Ulexite was named after German chemist, George Ludwig Ulex, who was first credited with analyzing the unique mineral. Ulexite is most often found as deposits of rounded crystalline masses or as parallel fibers with little gemstone value. Gem-quality material is very rare; it is usually transparent to translucent with an attractive white color and a silky luster when polished. Ulexite is extremely fibrous in nature, so materials that can be cut are usually fashioned into cabochons to maximize chatoyancy. Ulexite is composed of complex hydrous sodium calcium borate. It has a fairly low Mohs hardness rating of just 2 to 2.5. Its specific gravity (density) is 1.65 to 1.95, and its refractive index can range from 1.491 to 1.50.

Ulexite Rough Transmitting Text
Ulexite Rough Transmitting Text

Ulexite belongs to the rare group of borate minerals. Minerals and gemstones belonging to the borate family are very rare, because they can form only under one specific geological condition (geologically active intermontane basins). Other gemstones belonging to the borate group include howlite and calcite. Interestingly, calcite has some very unique optical traits of its own, which have sparked scientific experiments in order to research possibilities of an actual "cloak of invisibility".

In the world of metaphysics and crystal healing, ulexite gemstones are believed to help strengthen vision and lessen fatigue. They are said to be useful in helping to balance the third eye chakra and are thought to help enhance creativity and imagination for those who wear them. As a stone of vision, the "television stone" is thought to enhance telepathic abilities through meditation and intuition. Ulexite is a gemstone that is believed to work well when used with other gemstones such as moldavite and calcite.

Ulexite deposits can be found in several areas around the world including Argentina, Canada, Chile, Kazakhstan, Peru and Russia. In the United States, ulexite can be found in California and Nevada.

  • First Published: November-14-2014
  • Last Updated: November-14-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart