search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

来自金三角的蓝宝石

老挝、泰国和缅甸相遇的金三角
老挝、泰国和缅甸相遇的金三角

蓝色蓝宝石来自斯里兰卡(锡兰),克什米尔拜林长期以来,柬埔寨一直以其卓越的色彩和品质而备受推崇。然而,还有另一个蓝宝石产区,离我们位于泰国尖竹汶的家不远。鲜为人知的采矿地点可能以其悠久的鸦片生产历史而闻名,但自近代以来,宝石和 银饰品来自这个地区的人重新点燃了人们对东南亚金三角地区的兴趣。老挝博胶省的省会会赛位于金三角的中心。 “Bokeo”这个名字在老挝语中翻译为“宝石矿”。老挝偏远的会赛矿区毗邻泰国一侧的湄公河,与缅甸(缅甸)的边境点也相距不远。几代人以来,构成金三角的地区一直是往返于金三角之间的旅客的休息点。中国和泰国,并已成为东南亚最受欢迎的旅游目的地之一,游客可以在那里欣赏伟大的湄公河的美丽和浩瀚,也可以在一个点上欣赏三个不同国家的景点。

{{促销商品}}

蓝色蓝宝石金三角地区出产的大多是会赛附近的矿山。虽然从技术上讲,这里开采的蓝宝石经常作为泰国蓝宝石进行交易,但它们实际上是老挝蓝宝石。不幸的是,从会赛开采的材料产生了相当小的宝石,其中大部分重量不到一克拉。尽管会赛蓝宝石的质量非常好,但老挝要建立自己的知名度和领先地位来源对于蓝宝石生产,他们需要开始发现更大的刻面材料。从该地区开采的宝石很少能产出 1 至 2 克拉范围的切磨宝石。曾有少数从会赛开采出超过 2 克拉的蓝色蓝宝石,但到目前为止,这种情况极为罕见。尽管 Bokeo 的蓝宝石可能偏小,但它们以其非凡的颜色弥补了重量的不足,这种颜色往往从浓郁的中蓝色到迷人的深蓝色,而不是像许多一样的墨黑深蓝色来自泰国和澳大利亚境内开采的蓝宝石。在 Bokeo 采矿省,还有其他颜色的蓝宝石可供选择,包括黑色星光蓝宝石, 金黄色蓝宝石和精细绿色蓝宝石.除了宝石级的刚玉品种外,金三角地区还以生产优质尖晶石和锆石而著称,尽管对会赛来说,重点主要是生产蓝色蓝宝石。

黑色尖晶石泰国银戒指
黑色尖晶石泰国银戒指

尽管大多数宝石和珠宝买家相对闻所未闻,但金三角蓝宝石的宝石开采并不是什么新鲜事。事实上,记录表明,自 19 世纪后期以来,该地区已经开采了数百年的蓝宝石,特别是掸族人,缅甸(缅甸)和泰国的许多当地土著山地部落之一。在发现大约一个世纪后黑色尖晶石;宝石开采和珠宝生产开始高度商业化,没过多久,金三角就以高品质宝石和工艺精湛的宝石首饰而闻名,主要由泰国北部的银制成,由当地工匠手工制作。金三角当地工匠的银匠技艺和手艺无与伦比。事实上,许多人声称银宝石首饰这里生产的产品是世界上最好的。

作为黑色的生产和贸易尖晶石从金三角开采出来的宝石级刚玉(红宝石和蓝宝石)也开始在 20 世纪后期引起国际市场的兴趣。 Bokeo 最初的蓝宝石矿被发现后,在邻近的清莱府清孔地区也发现了蓝宝石、石榴石和各种石英宝石。清莱省位于湄公河对面,与老挝和缅甸(缅甸)接壤的金三角泰国一侧。很多年了,红色石榴石从清孔开采的红宝石被误认为是红宝石。因此,暹罗任命了英国采矿工程师 Herbert Warrington Smyth 先生对该地区进行勘察,并将他的宝石学发现报告给暹罗矿业部。暹罗的官员满怀希望,急切地宣布发现了优质的泰国红宝石,他们已经开始计划,期待发现大量美丽的红宝石。不幸的是,在完成调查后,史密斯先生报告说缺乏红宝石然而,在该地区,多年来一直被认为是红宝石的东西被确定为一种红色石榴石。毋庸置疑,鉴定为红色石榴石而非红宝石,令泰国政府颇为失望。更糟糕的是,在发现“红色石榴石”之前,一位泰国官员表现出有点过于自信,或者用他们的话说,“在他的鸡孵化之前就数了数”。在调查结果公开之前,泰国暹罗官方代表早前购买了一颗缅甸红宝石,并提交给曼谷,并附上一份报告称其产自泰国清孔,但后来被证明是不实的。

蓝宝石原石
蓝宝石原石

虽然存在和开采蓝宝石起源于金三角地区的蓝宝石已被加工并已知数百年,直到 20 世纪后期才开始进行商业开发。不幸的是,在最初启动商业采矿后,由于法律问题和对主要股东和拥有 Bokeo 矿权的矿业公司总经理提出的指控,它突然停止并最终短命。 ;宝石开采老挝人民民主共和国有限公司。老挝政府着手将矿山国有化,并逮捕了与腐败指控有关的人。今天,老挝人民民主共和国波胶地区的宝石开采主要由华润矿业公司经营,华润矿业是一家台湾实体,拥有宝石矿合资企业的控股权益。今天,Bokeo 矿山正在生产各种宝石,包括尖晶石,锆石和各种颜色的蓝宝石。

在采矿工业化之前,博胶当地人会开采自己的宝石,然后前往泰国尖竹汶,这里被誉为国际有色宝石加工和贸易中心。来自 Bokeo 的宝石矿工将向尖竹汶的许多当地商店和经销商提供优质的老挝宝石进行切割和加工。原石变成了令人惊叹的抛光件,并在著名的户外出售宝石市场尖竹汶; “从矿山到市场”的宝石典范。在尖竹汶小镇著名的“宝石街”,大多数有色宝石都会在这里遇到他们的第一批买家,从这里开始,游客们将它们交易、买卖到世界其他地方。

很多人说老挝很像泰国五十年前,金三角地区除了拥有辉煌的鸦片生产历史外,还有很多值得一提的地方。来博胶的游客可以徒步登山,一睹黑颊长臂猿的风采,聆听黑颊长臂猿的歌声,畅游湄公河,享受悠闲的乡村生活。甚至还有为宝石爱好者准备的蓝宝石矿之旅。虽然蓝蓝宝石在那里开采的较小,它们是完美的蓝色,正如他们所说,重要的不是大小。重要的是你用宝石做什么。

  • 首次发布于: 十二月-14-2021
  • 最后更新于:: 可能-21-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

13067

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (135)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Golden Triangle Sapphires

Sapphire Gems from the Golden Triangle

The Golden Triangle Where Laos, Thailand and Myanmar Meet
The Golden Triangle Where Laos, Thailand and Myanmar Meet

The blue sapphires from Sri Lanka (Ceylon), Kashmir and Pailin in Cambodia have been long admired for their exceptional color and quality. However, there is another sapphire producing region, not far from our home in Chanthaburi, Thailand. The lesser-known mining location is perhaps more famous for its long history of opium production, but since more recent times, the gems and silver jewelry coming from this area have sparked a renewed interest in the region known as the Golden Triangle of Southeast Asia. Located in the heart of the Golden Triangle lies Huay Xai, the capital of Bokeo Province in Laos. The name "Bokeo" is a term that translates as "gem mine" in Laotian language. The remote mining area of Huay Xai in Laos is located adjacent to Thailand's side of the great Mekong River, and just a short distance from the border point of Burma (Myanmar) as well. For many generations, the area which makes up the Golden Triangle has served as a resting point for travelers going between China and Thailand, and it has become one of the most popular tourist destinations of Southeast Asia, where visitors can admire the beauty and vastness of the great Mekong River, as well as taking in the sights of three different countries meeting at a single point.

The blue sapphires produced in the Golden Triangle are mostly mined near Huay Xai. Though technically the sapphires mined here are often traded as Thai sapphire, they are actually Laotian sapphires. Unfortunately, the material mined from Huay Xai yielded rather small gems, most of which were less than a carat in weight. Even though the quality of sapphire from Huay Xai is excellent, for Laos to establish itself as a more well-known and leading source for sapphire production, they'll need to start discovering larger facetable material. Very few gems mined from this region will yield a cut gemstone in the 1 to 2 carat range. There have been a handful of blue sapphires mined from Huay Xai weighing over 2 carats, but so far, it is an extremely rare occurrence. Even though the sapphires of Bokeo may be on the smaller side, they make up for lack of weight with their phenomenal color, which tends to range from a rich medium-blue to an attractive deep-blue color, not inky dark-blue like many of the sapphires mined from within Thailand and Australia. In the mining province of Bokeo, there are other color varieties of sapphire available too, including black star sapphire, yellow golden sapphire and fine green sapphire. In addition to gem-quality varieties of corundum, the Golden Triangle region is known to produce fine quality spinel and zircon, although for Huay Xai, the focus is primarily on the production of blue sapphire.

Black Spinel Thai Silver Ring
Black Spinel Thai Silver Ring

Although it is relatively unheard of by most gem and jewelry buyers, the gem mining for Golden Triangle sapphire is nothing new. In fact, records indicate that sapphire gems have been mined in this region for hundreds of years since the late 19th century, particularly by the people of the Shan tribe, one of the many local indigenous hill tribes of Myanmar (Burma) and Thailand. About a century after the discovery of black spinel; gem mining and jewelry production started to become heavily commercialized and it didn't take long for the Golden Triangle to establish itself with a fine reputation for high quality gemstones and skillfully made gemstone jewelry, mostly composed of Northern Thai silver and handcrafted by local artisans. The skillful silversmithing and craftsmanship by the local Golden Triangle tradesmen is beyond exceptional. In fact, many claim that the silver gemstone jewelry produced here is among the finest in the world.

As production and trading of black spinel mined from the Golden Triangle began to grow, the commercial trading of gem-quality corundum (ruby and sapphire) from this region also began to spark an interest in the international market in the late 20th century. After the initial sapphire mines of Bokeo were discovered, sapphire, garnet and various varieties of quartz gemstones were also found in the neighboring area of Chiang Khong, a Thai district of Chiang Rai province. Chiang Rai Province is situated directly across the Mekong River on the Thai side of the Golden Triangle bordering Laos and Myanmar (Burma). For many years, red garnet mined from Chiang Khong was mistakenly thought to be ruby. As a result, Siam appointed Mr. Herbert Warrington Smyth, a British mining engineer, to survey the area and report his gemological findings to the Siam Department of Mines. The officials of Siam were so full of hope and extremely eager to announce the discovery of fine Thai ruby, that they had already started to make plans in anticipation of discovering a large yield of beautiful red rubies. Unfortunately, after completing the survey, Mr. Smyth reported a lack of ruby in the area, but instead, what was thought to be ruby for many years, had been identified as a type of red garnet. Needless to say, the identification of red garnet rather than ruby was quite a disappointment for the Thai government. What made things worse, was that prior to the discovery of 'red garnet', one Thai official exhibited a bit of over-confidence, or as they say, 'counted his chickens before they hatched'. Prior to the survey results being made public, the Thailand official representative for Siam had purchased a Burmese ruby earlier and presented it to Bangkok with a report stating that it was mined from Chiang Khong, Thailand, which was later proven to be untrue.

Blue Sapphire Rough
Blue Sapphire Rough

While the presence and mining of sapphire originating from the Golden Triangle region has been worked and known for hundreds of years, sapphire was not commercially exploited until the late 20th century. Unfortunately, after the initial launch of commercial mining, it came to an abrupt halt and was ultimately short-lived due to legal issues and charges brought up against the main shareholders and the General Manager of the mining company which owned the rights to the Bokeo mines; Gem Mining Lao PDR Company Limited. The Lao government proceeded to nationalize the mines and arrested those associated with corruption charges. Today, the mining of gemstones in the Bokeo region of the People's Democratic Republic of Lao is primarily operated by Sino Resources Mining Corporation, a Taiwanese entity with controlling interest in the gem mine joint venture. Today, Bokeo mines are producing a variety of gems including spinel, zircon and various colors of sapphire.

Before the industrialization of mining, locals from Bokeo would mine their own gems and then find their way to Chanthaburi, Thailand, which is known as the center for international colored gemstone processing and trading. The gem miners from Bokeo would supply many of the local Chanthaburi shops and resellers with fine quality Laotian gems to be cut and processed. The rough gems were turned into stunning polished pieces and offered for sale in the famous outdoor gemstone market of Chanthaburi; a model example of gems 'from mine to market'. It is in the famous "Gems Street" of the small town of Chanthaburi where most colored stones will meet their first buyers, and from here, they are traded, bought and sold on to the rest of the world by visitors.

Many say that Laos is similar to Thailand fifty years ago, and the Golden Triangle area has much to offer apart from an illustrious history of opium production. Visitors to Bokeo can take a mountain trek, catch a glimpse or hear the song of a black-cheeked gibbon, take a trip on the mighty Mekong River and enjoy slow village life. There are even tours of sapphire mines for gemstone enthusiasts. Although the blue sapphires mined there are on the small side, they are perfectly blue, and as they say, it's not the size that matters. It's what you do with the gems that counts.

  • First Published: December-24-2015
  • Last Updated: April-26-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart