search
  • تسجيل الدخول
    تسجيل الاشتراك
  • دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

    1-800-464-1640

    دولي:

    +66-39601289

  • تغيير اللغة
  • USD
بواسطة تمت مراجعته من قبل Andreas Zabczyk

كيف قادت أحجار التورمالين الكريمة سوق الأحجار الكريمة الملونة

من النادر أن نعزو إنشاء سوق جديد إلى شخص واحد. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأحجار الكريمة ، يمكن القول إلى حد ما بأن أمريكيًا يُدعى جورج فريدريك كونز قد أنشأ السوق الحديث للأحجار الكريمة. احجار ملونة .

فريدريك كونز
فريدريك كونز

كانت كونز قصة نجاح أمريكية كلاسيكية. وُلِد في مدينة نيويورك عام 1856 ، وهو طفل لمهاجرين أوروبيين يعملون بجد ، وقد طور شغفه بالمعادن في سن مبكرة. قد يعتقد المرء أن الطفولة التي قضاها في مدينتي نيويورك ونيوجيرسي من شأنها أن تقدم فرصًا قليلة لصيد الصخور الطموح. لكن كونز استفاد استفادة كاملة من الحفريات العديدة للطرق والأنفاق والسكك الحديدية الجديدة في المدينة سريعة النمو. كان من بين اكتشافاته البارزة 9 أرطال و 10 أونصات العقيق الأحجار الكريمة بلور اكتشفه عامل يحفر مجاريًا في شارع ويست 35 في مانهاتن. في النهاية تبرع كونز بالمبلغ الضخم العقيق الأحجار الكريمة إلى المتحف الأمريكي للتاريخ الطبيعي حيث لا يزال حتى اليوم.

كان كونز متعلمًا ذاتيًا إلى حد كبير ، وكان جامعًا متعصبًا. بحلول سن العشرين ، كان قد جمع مجموعة من 4000 عينة مصنفة بعناية تزن أكثر من 2 طن في المجموع ، والتي باعها إلى جامعة مينيسوتا مقابل 400 دولار. كان فخورًا للغاية وكتب أن البيع "وضعني رسميًا بين علماء المعادن المعروفين".

في عام 1875 ، دخل كونز البالغ من العمر 20 عامًا إلى مكاتب Tiffany & Co. في مدينة نيويورك مع بعض غرامة أحجار التورمالين الخضراء التي حصل عليها من منجم ماونت ميكا في مين. تيفاني وشركاه ، التي تأسست عام 1837 ، أصبحت بالفعل أكبر شركة مجوهرات في العالم ، ولكن عملهم كان بصرامة في أحجار الكريمة - الماس الأحجار الكريمة و حجر روبي و الزمرد الأحجار الكريمة و أحجار كريمة ياقوت . أراد كونز أن يبيعهم أحجار شبه كريمة وأحضر لهم أحجار التورمالين الخضراء جوهرة لإقناعهم.

أحجار كريمة تورمالين خضراء
أحجار كريمة تورمالين خضراء

تمكن كونز من الوصول لرؤية تشارلز تيفاني في ذلك اليوم ، وأقنعه بشراء أحجار التورمالين الكريمة . كانت بداية علاقة طويلة. أصبح كونز في النهاية خبير الأحجار الكريمة المقيم في Tiffany & Co. ، وهو منصب مؤثر شغله لمدة 53 عامًا.

المتحف الأمريكي لتاريخ الطبيعة
المتحف الأمريكي لتاريخ الطبيعة

كان Kunz ناجحًا للغاية في العثور على مصادر الأحجار الكريمة لـ مجوهرات من صنع تيفاني. ومع ذلك ، فقد أثر على السوق بطرق أكثر أهمية. أصبح مؤلفًا غزيرًا لمقالات المجلات والكتب المهمة عن الأحجار الكريمة ، مثل الأحجار الكريمة والأحجار الكريمة في أمريكا الشمالية (1890) والمعرفة الفضوليّة للأحجار الكريمة (1913). كان أحد مؤسسي نادي نيويورك للمعادن وتم تعيينه أمينًا فخريًا للأحجار الكريمة في المتحف الأمريكي للتاريخ الطبيعي.

كان كونز دائمًا جامعًا. من خلال منصبه في Tiffany & Co. ، بدأ في جمع بعض الأسماء العظيمة في عصره ، بما في ذلك مجموعة بحثية تم تجميعها لتوماس إديسون ، ومجموعة الجواهر الشهيرة JP Morgan-Tiffany ، والتي ذهبت إلى المتحف الأمريكي تاريخ طبيعي. كما كان له دور فعال في شراء مجموعة Bement المعدنية الشهيرة للمتحف الأمريكي بواسطة جي بي مورغان . تعتبر هذه المجموعات على نطاق واسع أعظم مجموعات الأحجار الكريمة في العالم.

في عام 1903 ، مجموعة متنوعة من الأحجار الكريمة الوردية سبودومين الأحجار الكريمة كان اسمه كونزيت الأحجار الكريمة تكريما له. توفي في نيويورك في 29 يونيو 1932. سيشمل إرثه الدائم بالتأكيد عمله لصالح تيفاني وشركاه والكتب الرائعة التي كتبها عن الأحجار الكريمة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، سيتم عرض مجموعات الأحجار الكريمة الرائعة التي جمعها ، بما في ذلك العديد من أندر العينات في العالم ، في المتاحف لأجيال عديدة قادمة.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*أنت تقوم بالتسجيل لتلقي بريد إلكتروني ترويجي من GemSelect.
الشركاء والثقة خيارات الدفع

التبديل إلى إصدار الجوال

حقوق النشر © 2005-2024 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لـ GemSelect.com.

يُحظر تمامًا الاستنساخ (نص أو رسومات) بدون موافقة كتابية صريحة من GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.).

11542

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Kunz and Tourmaline
How Tourmaline Led the Colored Gemstone Market

It is rare when we can attribute the creation of a new market to one person. When it comes to gemstones, an American named George Frederick Kunz can fairly be said to have created the modern market for colored stones.

Frederick KunzKunz was a classic American success story. Born in New York City in 1856, the child of hard working European immigrants, he developed a passion for minerals at an early age. One would think that a childhood spent in urban New York and New Jersey would present few opportunities for an aspiring rockhound. But Kunz took full advantage of the many excavations for new roads, tunnels and railways in the fast growing metropolis. One of his notable finds was a 9 pound, 10 ounce garnet crystal that was discovered by a worker digging a sewer on West 35th Street in Manhattan. Kunz eventually donated the huge garnet to the American Museum of Natural History where it remains today.

Largely self-educated, Kunz was a fanatical collector. By the age of 20 he had amassed a collection of 4,000 carefully labelled specimens weighing over 2 tons in total, which he sold to the University of Minnesota for $400. He was enormously proud and wrote that the sale "officially placed me among recognized mineralogists".

In 1875, the 20 year old Kunz walked into the offices of Tiffany & Co. in New York City with some fine green tourmaline that he had obtained from the Mount Mica Mine in Maine. Tiffany & Co., founded in 1837, had already become the largest jewelry business in the world, but their business was strictly in precious stones - diamond, ruby, emerald and sapphire. Kunz wanted to sell them semi-precious stones, and he brought a green tourmaline gem to convince them.

Kunz managed to get in to see Charles Tiffany on that day, and persuaded him to buy the tourmaline. It was the beginning of a long relationship. Kunz eventually became the resident gem expert at Tiffany & Co., an influential position that he held for 53 years.

American Museum of Natural HistoryKunz was extremely successful in finding gem sources for the jewelry made by Tiffany. However, he influenced the market in more important ways. He became a prolific author of journal articles and important books on gemstones, such as Gems and Precious Stones of North America (1890) and The Curious Lore of Precious Stones (1913). He was one of the founders of the New York Mineralogical Club and was made Honorary Curator of Precious Stones at the American Museum of Natural History.

Kunz was always a collector. With his position at Tiffany & Co., he began to collect for some of the great names of his time, including a research collection assembled for Thomas Edison, and the famous J.P. Morgan-Tiffany collection of gems, which went to the American Museum of Natural History. He was also instrumental in the purchase of the famous Bement mineral collection for the American Museum by J.P. Morgan. These collections are widely regarded as the greatest gemstone collections in the world.

In 1903, the pink gem variety of spodumene was named kunzite in his honor. He died in New York on June 29, 1932. His enduring legacy will certainly include his work for Tiffany & Co. and the fine books he wrote on gemstones. Additionally, the remarkable gemstone collections that he gathered, including many of the rarest specimens in the world, will be displayed in museums for many generations to come.

  • First Published: February-18-2008
  • Last Updated: October-30-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping