• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
La Dioptase Verte

À la fin du 18e siècle des mineurs de cuivre dans l'Oural, au Kazakhstan, pensaient qu'ils avaient découvert une énorme émeraude du gisement de la mine Altyn-Tube en Karagandy. Des échantillons de cristaux brillants de l'émeraude de couleur verte ont été envoyés à Moscou où ils ont découvert qu'ils étaient trop mous - seulement 5 sur l'échelle de dureté de Mohs - par rapport à l'émeraude, qui a une dureté de 8.

Dioptase in Limestone Kazakhstan
Une Dioptase de Calcaire du Kazakhstan

En 1797, l'éminent minéralogiste français Fr. René Just Haüy (1743-1822) a déterminé que le minéral vert énigmatique du Kazakhstan était nouveau pour la science, et il lui donna le nom de dioptase, basée sur les minéraux au clivage bi-directionnel: du grec dia ("à travers") et optos ("visible"). Haüy est devenu professeur de minéralogie au Musée national d'histoire naturelle et le fondateur du Musée minéralogique. Le minérale haüyne a ensuite été nommé en son honneur.

Dioptase Faceted
La Dioptase facettée

Par sa composition chimique, la dioptase est un silicate hydraté de cuivre. C'est un minéral secondaire qui provient d'une solution aqueuse. Le cuivre est obtenu par la décomposition chimique du cuivre primaire et de minéraux de silice dans les eaux souterraines gazeuses. Sa dureté de 5, le place dans la même classe que l'apatite et le turquoise. La Dioptase a une densité ou une gravité spécifique de 3,28 à 3,35, dans la même gamme que le péridot et la tanzanite. Son indice de réfraction est de 1,644 à 1,709, semblable à la diopside.

Les gammes de couleurs du Dioptase vont de vert émeraude à bleu-vert. Il est généralement de transparent à translucide, avec un éclat vitreux sous-adamantin. Les gisements de dioptase se trouvent au Chili, au Kazakhstan, en Namibie, au Pérou, en Russie, en Arizona, aux Etats-Unis, et en République démocratique du Congo.

La Dioptase est l'une de pierres précieuses contenant du cuivre parmi un petit nombre d'entres-elles. D'autres incluent la turquoise, la chrysocolle, la malachite, l'azurite, le larimar et la tourmaline de Paraiba. En raison de sa douceur et de son clivage parfait, la dioptase n'est que rarement montée en bijoux. Mais la dioptase à facettes est populaire auprès des collectionneurs pour sa couleur riche et un son excellent éclat. Les petites cristaux bien définies d'un vert profond rhomboédriques sont aussi populaires auprès des collectionneurs de minéraux.

  • Première publication: February-10-2010
  • Dernière mise à jour: January-11-2011
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Green Dioptase
Green Dioptase

Late in the 18th century, copper miners in the Ural Mountains of Kazakhstan thought they had discovered a huge emerald deposit in the Altyn-Tube Mine of Karagandy. Samples of the lustrous emerald-green crystals were sent to Moscow, where it was discovered that they were too soft to be emerald since they only measured 5 on the Mohs hardness scale; emerald has a hardness rating of 8.

Dioptase in Limestone Kazakhstan
Dioptase in Limestone from Kazakhstan

In 1797 the distinguished French mineralogist, Fr. René Just Haüy (1743-1822) determined that the enigmatic green mineral from Kazakhstan was new to science, and he named it dioptase, based on the mineral's two cleavage directions, from the Greek words dia ("through") and optos ("visible"). Haüy went on to become professor of mineralogy at the National Museum of Natural History and founder of the Musée Minéralogique. The mineral hauyne was later named in his honor.

Faceted Dioptase
Faceted Dioptase

By chemical composition, dioptase is hydrous copper silicate. It is a secondary mineral that precipitates from aqueous solution. The copper is derived from the chemical breakdown of primary copper and silica-bearing minerals in aerated groundwater. Its hardness of 5 puts it in the same class as apatite and turquoise. Dioptase has a density (also known as specific gravity) of 3.28 to 3.35, which is in the same range as peridot and tanzanite. Its refractive index is 1.644 to 1.709, similar to diopside.

Dioptase color ranges from emerald-green to bluish-green. It is typically transparent to translucent, with a vitreous to sub-adamantine luster. Deposits of dioptase are found in Chile, Kazakhstan, Namibia, Peru, Russia, Arizona in the USA, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Dioptase is one of a small number of copper-bearing gemstones. Others include turquoise, chrysocolla, malachite, azurite, Larimar and Paraiba tourmaline. Due to its softness and its perfect cleavage, dioptase is only rarely set in jewelry. However, faceted dioptase is popular with collectors for its rich color and excellent luster. The small and well-defined deep-green rhombohedral crystals are also popular with mineral collectors.

  • First Published: February-10-2010
  • Last Updated: July-15-2014
  • © 2005-2016 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart