Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Diamant et Graphite
Diamond and Graphite
Diamant et Graphite

Le diamant et le graphite sont deux formes cristallines de l'élément carbone. Basé sur ce fait, on pourrait penser qu'ils sont similaires à bien des égards. Mais en fait, ils sont aussi différents qu'il peuvent l'être, et cela met en lumière certaines vérités importantes sur les cristaux.

Le diamant et le graphite ont une composition chimique très simple: ils sont fait de carbone pur. Mais alors que le diamant est le plus dur des minéraux connus de l'homme (10 sur l'échelle de Mohs), le graphite est un des plus mou (moins de 1 sur l'échelle de Mohs). En conséquence, le diamant est l'abrasif ultime considérant que le graphite est un excellent lubrifiant. Le diamant est un isolant électrique tandis que le graphite est un bon conducteur d'électricité. Le diamant est généralement transparent, tandis que le graphite est opaque.

Diamond and Graphite Structure
Diamond and Graphite Structure

Le diamant a évidemment beaucoup plus de valeur que le graphite. Le graphite est si bon marché qu'il est utilisé pour faire des mines de crayon. Mais le graphite est un matériau aussi intéressant que le diamant de plusieurs façons. Le graphite est la composante à haute résistance dans les matériaux composites utilisés pour construire des automobiles, des avions, des clubs de golf high-tech et des raquettes de tennis.

Alors, pourquoi le diamant est-il si dur et le graphite si doux? Et si le graphite est si doux, comment peut-il être utilisé comme un matériau high-tech pour des club de golf et des avions?

La réponse se trouve dans les différentes structures du diamant et les molécules de graphite. Le graphite se forme dans des couches ou des tranches, où les atomes de carbone ont des liens forts sur le même plan ou couche, mais uniquement des liaisons faibles à la couche au-dessus ou en dessous. Les atomes de carbone dans le diamant, d'autre part, ont des liens solides en trois dimensions. Dans le diamant, les atomes sont très serrés, et chaque atome est relié à quatre autres atomes de carbone, lui donnant une très solide et rigide structure tridimensionnelle.

Cependant, seules les liaisons entre les couches de graphite sont faibles. Ainsi, lorsque les couches sont roulées en fibres, et ces fibres torsadées en fils, la véritable force de la liaison devient apparente. Les fils sont moulés dans la forme, et maintenu en place par un liant tel qu'une résine époxy. Les matériaux composites en résultant sont parmi les plus élevés des ratios résistance-poids de tous les matériaux.

Les différences entre diamant et graphite mettent en évidence qu'elle est l'importance de la structure cristalline aux propriétés d'une pierre précieuse. Par exemple, toutes les gemmes qui ont une forme cristalline cubique, où la structure du cristal est parfaitement symétrique, ont une propriété importante en commun. Les cubique solides réfracte la lumière dans toutes les directions à la même vitesse. Ainsi, même si le diamant, le grenat et le spinelle ont une composition chimique très différente, ils sont à simple réfringence en raison de leur structure cristalline similaire. D'autres groupes de cristaux moins symétriques sont doublement réfringents, incluant l'orthorhombique, monoclinique et triclinique, qui ont toutes des symétries internes spécifiques et des axes qui dictent la façon dont la lumière tourne à son entrée dans le cristal.

  • First Published: 24-juillet-2008
  • Last Updated: 03-mars-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Diamond and Graphite
Diamant et Graphite
Diamond and Graphite

Diamond and graphite are both crystalline forms of the element carbon. Based on this fact, one would think they would be similar in many ways. But in fact they are very different. This highlights some important facts about crystals.

Both diamond and graphite have a very simple chemical composition; they are both pure carbon. Yet diamond is the hardest mineral known to man (10 on the Mohs scale), and graphite is one of the softest (less than 1 on the Mohs scale). As a result, diamond is the ultimate abrasive, whereas graphite is an excellent lubricant. Diamond is an electrical insulator while graphite is a good conductor of electricity. Diamond is usually transparent, but graphite is opaque.

Diamond and Graphite Structure
Diamond and Graphite Structure

Diamond is obviously far more valuable than graphite. Graphite is so inexpensive that it is used to make pencil lead. Nonetheless graphite is as interesting a material as diamond in many ways. Graphite is the high-strength component of composites that are used to build automobiles, aircraft, high-tech golf club shafts and tennis racquets.

But why is diamond so hard and graphite so soft? Also, if graphite is so soft, how can it be used as a high-tech material for golf club shafts and aircraft?

The answer lies in the different atomic structures of diamond and graphite. Graphite forms in layers or sheets where the carbon atoms have strong bonds on the same plane or layer, but only weak bonds to the layer above or below. The carbon atoms in diamond, on the other hand, have strong bonds in three dimensions. In diamond, the atoms are very closely packed and each atom is connected to four other carbon atoms, giving it a very strong and rigid structure in three dimensions.

In the case of graphite, only the bonds between the graphite layers are weak. This means that when the layers or sheets are rolled up into fibers, and those fibers are twisted into threads, the true strength of the bonds becomes apparent. The threads are molded into shape and held in place by a binder such as an epoxy resin. The resulting composites have some of the highest strength-to-weight ratios of any materials.

The differences between diamond and graphite highlight the importance of crystal structure to the properties of a gemstone. For example, all gems that have a cubic crystal habit, where the crystal structure is completely symmetrical, have an important property in common. Cubic solids refract light in all directions at the same velocity. So even though diamond, garnet and spinel have quite different chemical compositions, they are all singly refractive because of their similar crystal structure. Other less symmetrical crystal groups are doubly refractive, including orthorhombic, monoclinic and triclinic, all of which have specific internal symmetries and axes that dictate how light bends as it enters the crystal.

  • First Published: July-24-2008
  • Last Updated: July-15-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping