Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Comprendre le business des pierres précieuses de couleur
Understanding the Colored Gemstone Business
Comprendre le business des pierres précieuses de couleur

Buy Tourmaline at GemSelectLa plupart des bijoutiers détaillants vendent aussi bien des diamants que des pierres précieuses de couleur. Cela concerne plus ou moins comme les mêmes affaires - des petits minerais de valeur monté en métal cher. Mais si vous comprenez le côté de l'offre des affaires, vous voyez que ces entreprises sont en réalité très différente.

Le commerce des diamants est essentiellement contrôlé par le cartel des De Beers, qui gère tout de l'offre à la tarification à la perception publique de diamants. Bien que le public soit amené à croire que les diamants sont rares et précieuses, en fait les diamants sont nombreux et sont aussi banalisé que le pétrole, l'or ou les flancs de porc. Les diamants de catégorie semblable sont vendues au même prix à peu près partout dans le monde, et les prix sont rester élevées en contrôlant l'approvisionnement.

Du point de vue du consommateur, cela rend difficile la trouvaille d'une bonne affaire avec un diamant. Du point de vue du détaillant, il est difficile d'effectuer une différenciation sur le marché et trouver un modèle économique rentable.

Fine Natural Yellow SapphireLes entreprises de pierres précieuses de couleur sont complètement différente. Les pierres de couleur, contrairement aux diamants, sont la plupart du temps extraites par des mineurs indépendants, des petits exploitants miniers, qui travaillent dans des lieux isolés dans des endroits lointains tels que le Sri Lanka, à Madagascar, en Tanzanie, au Kenya, au Pakistan, en Birmanie, en Afghanistan, en Colombie et en Bolivie. L'extraction s'effectue à la pioche et la pelle, et rarement avec des équipements lourds. Les pierres de couleur atteignent le marché de diverses manières, bon nombre d'entre elles impliquant des affaires relativement petites entre des hommes d'affaires indépendants.

Même dans notre maison mère à Chanthaburi, Thaïlande, l'un des centres mondiaux d'échange et de traitement des gemmes de couleur, la plupart des gemmes sont taillées par des petites entreprises qui ont tendance à se spécialiser dans certains types de gemmes. L'offre des pierres ici est constamment en mouvement en fonction de la production des mines à travers le monde. Par exemple, nous pouvons voir beaucoup de grenat de spessartite de qualité supérieur dans de grandes tailles pendant quelques mois, et puis ne pas le revoir pendant de nombreux mois. Les prix sont en constante évolution aussi bien selon l'offre que la demande.

Natural Tanzanite at GemSelectParce qu'il y a un marché libre des pierres précieuses de couleur, il existe de nombreuses opportunités pour les acheteurs intelligents qui connaissent le marché. Nous achetons des pierres précieuses journelement pour rester à la pointe du marché en constante évolution. Nous sommes des acheteurs de valeur, toujours à la recherche de la meilleure qualité à un prix attractif. Parce que le marché des pierres précieuses de couleur est vaste, englobant une vaste gamme de types de pierres précieuses de qualités, nous avons dû apprendre avec pratiquement toutes les variétés de pierres de couleur.

Fine Blue ZirconTravailler dans un centre marchand important comme Chanthaburi nous rend très conscients des possibilités offertes par les pierres précieuses de couleur. L'extension de ces possibilités pour le designer de bijoux et le joaillier de détail est le prochain défi. L'Internet permet d'atteindre le marché, sans distribution coûteuse ou marketing. Réduire les coûts en éliminant les intermédiaires dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement est essentielle. Qui seule peut permettre un nouveau modèle d'affaires des pierres et la fin du commerce de détail. Mais fournir une vaste sélection aux bijoutiers est également important. Les pierres précieuses de couleur offrent d'énormes possibilités pour l'innovation et la créativité.

  • First Published: 04-décembre-2007
  • Last Updated: 26-janvier-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Colored Gemstone Business
Comprendre le business des pierres précieuses de couleur
Understanding the Colored Gemstone Business

Buy Tourmaline at GemSelectMost retail jewelers sell both diamonds and colored gemstones. It looks more or less like the same business -- small valuable minerals mounted in expensive metal. But if you understand the supply side of the business, you see that these businesses are very different indeed.

The diamond business is essentially controlled by the De Beers cartel, who manages everything from supply to pricing to public perception of diamonds. Though the public is led to believe the diamonds are rare and precious, in fact diamonds are plentiful and are as commoditized as oil, gold or pork bellies. Diamonds of similar grade are sold at the same prices nearly everywhere in the world, and prices are kept high by controlling the supply.

From the consumer point of view, that makes it difficult to find a good bargain on a diamond. From the retailer's point of view, it makes it difficult to achieve differentiation in the market and find a profitable business model.

Fine Natural Yellow SapphireThe colored gemstone business is completely different. Colored stones, unlike diamonds, are mostly mined by independent, small-scale miners, working in remote locations in far away places such as Sri Lanka, Madagascar, Tanzania, Kenya, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, Columbia and Bolivia. Mining is carried out with pick and shovel, and only rarely with heavy equipment. Loose colored gems reach the market in various ways, many of them involving relatively small deals between independent businessmen.

Even in our home of Chanthaburi, Thailand, one of the world centers for trading and processing colored gems, most gems are cut by small businesses who tend to specialize in certain types of gems. The supply of gems here is constantly in flux according to the output from the mines around the world. For example, we may see a lot of high grade spessartite garnet in large sizes for a few months, and then not see it again for many months. Prices are constantly changing as well according to the supply and demand.

Natural Tanzanite at GemSelectBecause there is a free market in colored gemstones, there are many opportunities for smart buyers who know the market. We buy gemstones literally every day to stay abreast of the ever changing market. We are value buyers, always looking for the best quality at an attractive price. Because the colored gemstone market is vast, encompassing a huge range of gem types and grades, we have had to learn about virtually every variety of colored stone.

Fine Blue ZirconWorking in a major trading center like Chanthaburi makes us vividly aware of the opportunities in colored gemstones. Extending these opportunities to the jewelry designer and retail jeweler is the next challenge. The Internet makes it possible to reach the market without expensive distribution or marketing. Reducing cost by eliminating middleman in the supply chain is essential. That alone can enable a new business model at the retail end. But providing vast selection to jewelers is equally important. Colored gemstones present tremendous opportunities for product innovation and creativity.

  • First Published: December-04-2007
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping