search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses de la pierre de soleil

Pierres précieuses de pierre de soleil - grande image
Pierre précieuse de pierre de soleil naturelle

À propos de Sunstone - Histoire et introduction

Pierre de soleil est un membre de qualité gemme de la groupe de minéraux feldspath . Il est célèbre pour son aventurescence, souvent appelée « schiller ». La pierre de soleil peut également être commercialisée sous le nom de "feldspath aventurine", mais de nos jours, le terme " aventurine ' est principalement utilisé uniquement en référence au quartz vert appelé 'aventurine'. Toutes les pierres de soleil ne présentent pas une forte aventurescence ou schiller. L'intensité de la phénomène optique dépend de la taille des inclusions, qui sont généralement composées d'hématite ou de goethite. Les inclusions plus petites ont tendance à présenter plus de brillance, tandis que les inclusions plus grandes apparaissent généralement sous forme de reflets métalliques scintillants et pailletés.

La pierre de soleil est généralement de couleur orange à rougeâtre et son aspect pailleté rappelle le soleil, d'où son nom de "pierre de soleil". Il existe en fait quelques variétés différentes de pierre de soleil disponibles aujourd'hui. La pierre de soleil peut être une variété de feldspath plagioclase (pierre de soleil oligoclase) ou de feldspath potassique (pierre de soleil orthoclase). La pierre de soleil oligoclase est plus fréquente que orthose pierre de soleil. Essentiellement, toute forme de feldspath aventureux peut être commercialisée sous le nom de « feldspath aventurine ». Sunstone est la pierre précieuse officielle de l'État de l'Oregon, aux États-Unis.

Pierre de soleil

Identifier la pierre de soleil

Retour au sommet

La pierre de soleil peut souvent être identifiée par sa seule aventure scintillante, mais elle peut parfois être confondue avec d'autres gemmes aventureuses telles que le quartz aventurine, ou même d'autres feldspaths similaires, tels que l'orthose. pierre de lune . On peut aussi le confondre avec le goldstone, un verre italien artificiel aventureux avec des inclusions de cuivre. La pierre de soleil est légèrement plus douce que quartz avec un indice de dureté de 6 à 6,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs. Sa densité varie de 2,62 à 2,65 et son indice de réfraction se situe entre 1,525 et 1548. La pierre de soleil est également connue pour présenter un clivage parfait qui peut être un trait distinctif utile.

pierre de soleil ; Origine et sources

Retour au sommet

Bien que des gisements de pierre de soleil puissent être trouvés à divers endroits dans le monde, il n'y a pas de source unique à partir de laquelle elle est extraite commercialement. Certains des gisements les plus importants et les plus notables proviennent d'Inde, du Canada, de Madagascar, de Norvège, de Russie et des États-Unis (Oregon, Pennsylvanie, Caroline du Nord et Utah). L'Oregon, aux États-Unis, est célèbre pour la production de pierre de soleil contenant des traces de cuivre.

Acheter de la pierre de soleil et déterminer la valeur de la pierre de soleil

Retour au sommet

Couleur de la pierre de soleil

La pierre de soleil est généralement de couleur rouge-brun avec un effet chatoyant métallique causé par de minuscules plaquettes de hématite , goethite ou pyrite. La pierre de soleil de l'Oregon, aux États-Unis, scintille en raison des inclusions de cuivre. Le schiller de la pierre de soleil se traduit généralement par un chatoiement doré, rouge, orange ou jaune, mais parfois, il peut également se produire en vert ou en bleu.

Clarté et éclat de la pierre de soleil

La pierre de soleil est généralement translucide à opaque, bien que certains matériaux très fins puissent être très transparents. La pierre de soleil est célèbre pour ses inclusions scintillantes. C'est la présence de ces inclusions qui est responsable de son schiller attrayant ou aventurescence. Lorsqu'elle est taillée et polie, la pierre de soleil a un éclat vitreux, souvent décrit comme étincelant.

Coupe et forme de la pierre de soleil

La pierre de soleil est généralement facettée avec de grandes surfaces planes, qui sont les meilleures pour maximiser la réflexion des inclusions métalliques. Certains matériaux translucides à opaques peuvent également être taillés en cabochon, notamment ceux qui présentent des effets de chatoyance ou d'étoile (astérisme). Les formes les plus courantes sont les ovales, les poires et les rondes, mais d'autres formes fantaisie peuvent être trouvées.

Traitement aux pierres de soleil

La pierre de soleil n'est pas connue pour être traitée ou améliorée de quelque manière que ce soit.

Propriétés gemmologiques de la pierre de soleil :

Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: (Ca,Na)[(AlSi)2Si2O8] ; Silicate d'aluminium et de calcium sodique
Structure en cristal: (Triclinique), rares, granulats solides
Couleur: Orange, rouge, marron, rose
Dureté: 6 à 6,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1.525 à 1.548
Densité: 2,62 à 2,65
Clivage: Parfait
Transparence: Transparent, translucide à opaque
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : 0,010
Lustre: Vitreux
Fluorescence: Brun-rouge foncé

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Pierre de soleil : pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires

Retour au sommet
Pierre de soleil étoilée
Pierre de soleil étoilée

La pierre de soleil appartient au très grand groupe des minéraux feldspathiques, qui sont en fait les minéraux les plus abondants sur terre, suivis en second lieu par le quartz. Les feldspaths varient légèrement en composition et sont classés en deux branches principales en fonction de leur composition chimique : le feldspath potassique et le feldspath plagioclase.

Les gemmes de feldspath potassique comprennent l'orthose ( pierre de lune ) et microcline ( amazonite ). L'orthose qui présente une adularescence est connue sous le nom de «pierre de lune». Les feldspaths plagioclases, qui sont un mélange de calcium et de sodium, comprennent labradorite ( pierre de lune arc-en-ciel ), andésine et oligoclase (pierre de soleil). Certains noms commerciaux populaires pour les variétés de pierre de soleil comprennent «pierre de soleil de l'Oregon», «pierre de soleil œil de chat» et «pierre de soleil étoilée».

Mythologie de la pierre de soleil, pouvoirs métaphysiques et de guérison des cristaux

Retour au sommet

On pense que la pierre de soleil a plusieurs propriétés métaphysiques. Les croyants du paganisme et de la Wicca utilisent souvent la pierre de soleil pour la guérison alternative et cristalline. Traditionnellement, la pierre de soleil est liée à la chance, à la fortune et à la richesse. Dans les temps anciens, cette pierre était utilisée par les indigènes pour le commerce et le troc. La pierre de soleil aurait été portée par les Vikings comme talismans et utilisée pour la navigation car elle était associée au soleil. Elle était souvent utilisée pour faire appel à la puissance et à l'influence du soleil et était utilisée comme pierre de protection. Dans la Grèce antique, on pensait que la pierre de soleil symbolisait le dieu solaire. Beaucoup pensaient qu'il pouvait apporter chaleur, vie et abondance à ceux qui le portaient ou le possédaient.

Avis de non-responsabilité : les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont collectées à partir de diverses ressources et ne représentent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne doivent pas remplacer les conseils de votre médecin. Si vous avez des conditions médicales, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologique et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.

Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux Sunstone

Retour au sommet

La pierre de soleil n'est pas l'une des pierres précieuses les plus populaires, mais elle convient parfaitement à la plupart des applications de joaillerie. Il est légèrement plus doux que le quartz et présente un clivage parfait ainsi qu'une fracture éclatée et une ténacité fragile, ce qui signifie qu'un certain soin est nécessaire lors de l'entretien des pierres précieuses de pierre de soleil. Pour cette raison, les bijoux en pierre de soleil conviennent mieux aux boucles d'oreilles ou aux pendentifs, mais ils peuvent également être portés en bagues avec une certaine prudence et dans des montures de style protecteur. La pierre de soleil est souvent taillée en cabochon, roulée ou polie en perles de pierre de soleil. Les gemmes de pierre de soleil perlées sont idéales pour la confection de colliers et de bracelets. La pierre de soleil à facettes peut être découpée dans une variété de formes fantaisie parfaites pour tout type d'accessoire de bijoux de mode.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que les diamants en poids en comparaison.

Entretien et nettoyage des bijoux en pierres précieuses Sunstone

Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses La pierre de soleil n'est pas très durable ou dure par rapport à la plupart des autres types de pierres précieuses de joaillerie, telles que le quartz, la tourmaline ou le saphir. Étant donné que la poussière ordinaire contient souvent du quartz, le simple fait d'essuyer la poussière de votre pierre de soleil peut éventuellement entraîner des rayures de surface et une réduction du polissage. La pierre de soleil peut également avoir une fracture granuleuse et éclatée, ce qui signifie qu'elle nécessite un certain soin lors de la coupe ou de l'usure. N'utilisez pas de produits chimiques ou de nettoyants agressifs pour nettoyer vos pierres précieuses. Évitez d'utiliser des nettoyeurs à ultrasons ou des vapeurs. Utilisez simplement un savon doux et un chiffon doux pour nettoyer vos pierres précieuses. Rincez bien votre pierre précieuse sous l'eau tiède pour éliminer tout résidu de savon.

Retirez toujours les bijoux en pierre de soleil avant de faire de l'exercice, de faire du sport ou d'effectuer des tâches ménagères difficiles, comme la vaisselle. Lorsque vous stockez vos pierres précieuses de pierre de soleil, stockez-les séparément et à l'écart des autres types de pierres précieuses et de bijoux. Si possible, enveloppez les gemmes de pierre de soleil individuellement à l'aide d'un chiffon doux et placez-les dans une boîte à bijoux doublée de tissu pour une protection supplémentaire.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

33085

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Sunstone Info

Sunstone Gemstone Information

About Sunstone - History and Introduction

Sunstone is a gem-quality member of the feldspar group of minerals. It is famed for its aventurescence, often referred to as 'schiller'. Sunstone may also be traded as 'aventurine feldspar', but nowadays, the term 'aventurine' is primarily used only in reference to the green quartz known as 'aventurine'. Not all sunstone exhibits strong aventurescence or schiller. The intensity of the optical phenomenon depends upon the size of inclusions, which are typically composed of hematite or goethite. Smaller inclusions tend to exhibit more sheen, while larger inclusions generally appear as glittery, spangled metallic reflections.

Sunstone is typically orange to reddish in color and its spangled appearance is reminiscent of the sun, hence its name 'sunstone'. There are actually a few different varieties of sunstone available today. Sunstone can be varieties of plagioclase (oligoclase sunstone) feldspar, or potassium feldspar (orthoclase sunstone). Oligoclase sunstone is more common than orthoclase sunstone. Essentially, any form of aventurescent feldspar can be marketed as 'aventurine feldspar'. Sunstone is the official state gemstone for Oregon, USA.

Sunstone
Identifying Sunstone Back to Top

Sunstone can often be identified by its glittery aventurescence alone, but it can sometimes be confused with other aventurescent gems such as aventurine quartz, or even other similar feldspars, such as orthoclase moonstone. It may also be confused with goldstone, an artificial aventurescent Italian glass with copper inclusions. Sunstone is slightly softer than quartz with a hardness rating of 6 to 6.5 on the Mohs scale. Its density ranges from 2.62 to 2.65 and its refractive index ranges between 1.525 and 1548. Sunstone is also known to exhibit perfect cleavage which can be a helpful distinguishing trait.

Sunstone; Origin and Sources Back to Top

Although sunstone deposits can be found in various locations around the world, there is no single source from which it is commercially mined. Some of the more significant, notable deposits come from India, Canada, Madagascar, Norway, Russia and the USA (Oregon, Pennsylvania, North Carolina and Utah). Oregon, USA is famous for producing sunstone included with traces of copper.

Buying Sunstone and Determining Sunstone Value Back to Top

Sunstone Color

Sunstone is typically red-brown in body color with a metallic shimmering effect caused by tiny platelets of hematite, goethite or pyrite. The sunstone from Oregon, USA, shimmers due to copper inclusions. Sunstone schiller usually results in a gold, red, orange or yellow shimmer, but occasionally, it can also occur green or blue.

Sunstone Clarity and Luster

Sunstone is typically translucent to opaque, although some very fine materials can occur highly transparent. Sunstone is famed for its sparkling inclusions. It is the presence of these inclusions that are responsible for its attractive schiller or aventurescence. When cut and polished, sunstone has a vitreous luster, which is often described as sparkling.

Sunstone Cut and Shape

Sunstone is usually faceted with large, flat surfaces, which are best for maximizing the reflection of metallic inclusions. Some translucent to opaque materials may also be cut en cabochon, especially those which exhibit chatoyancy or star (asterism) effects. The most common shapes include ovals, pears and rounds, but other fancy shapes can be found.

Sunstone Treatment

Sunstone is not known to be treated or enhanced in any way.

Sunstone Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: (Ca,Na)[(AlSi)2Si2O8]; Sodium calcium aluminum silicate
Crystal Structure: (Triclinic), rare, solid aggregates
Color: Orange, red, brown, pink
Hardness: 6 to 6.5 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.525 to 1.548
Density: 2.62 to 2.65
Cleavage: Perfect
Transparency: Transparent, translucent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: 0.010
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Dark brown-red

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Sunstone: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Star Sunstone
Star Sunstone

Sunstone belongs to the very large group of feldspar minerals, which are actually the most abundant minerals on earth, followed secondly by quartz. Feldspars vary slightly in composition and are classified into two primary branches based on their chemical makeup: Potassium feldspar and plagioclase feldspar.

Potassium feldspar gems include orthoclase (moonstone) and microcline (amazonite). Orthoclase that exhibits adularescence is known as 'moonstone'. Plagioclase feldspars, which are a mixture of calcium and sodium, include labradorite (rainbow moonstone), andesine and oligoclase (sunstone). Some popular trade names for varieties of sunstone include "Oregon sunstone", "cat's eye sunstone" and "star sunstone".

Sunstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Sunstone is believed to have several metaphysical properties. Believers of paganism and Wicca often use sunstone for alternative and crystal healing. Traditionally, sunstone is linked to good luck, fortune and wealth. In ancient times, this stone was used by natives for trade and barter. Sunstone was believed to have been worn by the Vikings as talismans and used for navigation because it was associated with the sun. It was often used to call upon the power and influence of the sun and was used as a protective stone. In ancient Greece, sunstone was thought to symbolize the sun god. Many believed it could bring warmth, life and abundance to those who wore or possessed it.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Sunstone Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Sunstone is not one of the more popular gemstones, but it is quite suitable for most jewelry applications. It is slightly softer than quartz and exhibits perfect cleavage along with a splintery fracture and brittle tenacity, which means that some care is required when caring for sunstone gemstones. For this reason, sunstone jewelry is best suited for earrings or pendants, but it can also be worn in rings with some caution and in protective-style settings. Sunstone is often cut en cabochon, tumbled or polished into sunstone beads. Beaded sunstone gems are ideal for making necklaces and bracelets. Faceted sunstone can be cut into a variety of fancy shapes perfect for any type of fashion jewelry accessory.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Sunstone Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesSunstone is not very durable or hard compared to most other types of jewelry gems, such as quartz, tourmaline or sapphire. Since ordinary dust often contains quartz, simply wiping dust off your sunstone can eventually result in surface scratches and reduced polish. Sunstone can also have a grainy, splintery fracture, which means that it requires some care during cutting or wear. Do not use any harsh chemicals or cleaners to clean your gems. Avoid using ultrasonic cleaners or steamers. Simply use a mild soap and a soft cloth to clean your gemstones. Rinse your gemstone well under lukewarm water to remove any soapy residue.

Always remove sunstone jewelry before exercising, playing sports or performing harsh household chores, such as dishwashing. When storing your sunstone gemstones, store them separately and away from other types of gems and jewelry. If possible, wrap sunstone gems individually using a soft cloth and place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box for added protection.

  • First Published: May-09-2014
  • Last Updated: September-15-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart