• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
La Fine Iolite est Rare

Nous avons trouvé récemment quelques pièces vraiment parfaites d'iolite sur le marché local, ce n'est pas quelque chose qui arrive très souvent. C'est qu'il est rare de trouver l'iolite dans de plus grandes tailles (plus de 1 carat) et avec une bonne clarté. La haute qualité d'iolite est une remarquablement belle pierre quand elle est bien taillée, nous avons donc voulu en savoir plus sur cette pierre précieuse inhabituelle.

Iolite

Beaucoup de pierres précieuses colorées sont moins connues parce qu'elles sont relativement molle. C'est vrai pour des variétés de pierre précieuse comme la fluorite, l'apatite, le sphène et la diopside. Mais l'iolite est en fait une pierre très dure, avec une estimation de 7 à 7.5 sur l'échelle de Mohs, aussi dur que la tourmaline et plus dur que la tanzanite, le péridot et toutes les variétés de quartz. L'Iolite n'est pas bien connue simplement parce qu'elle est si difficile à trouver. Si l'iolite étaient disponibles communément dans de plus grandes grandeurs elle pourrait être populaire (et cher) comme la tanzanite.

Madagascar Iolite at GemSelect L'iolite parfaite a typiquement une couleur bleue violette douce avec des propriétés pléochroïque inhabituelles, cela signifie qu'elle affiche de différentes couleurs vu sous différents angles. L'Iolite affichera un gris bleu clair et jaune en plus de sa teinte dominante de bleu violette. Les tailleurs de pierres précieuses doivent faire attention à orienter la matière correctement pour qu'elle affiche le ton bleu violet vu par le haut ou la table de la pierre.

Buy Iolite at Wholesale PricesLes propriétés pléochroïque de l'Iolite étaient connues par les marins qui lui avait trouvé des applications pratiques. Les Vikings auraient utilisé l'Iolite comme une lentille de polarisation, en l'utilisant pour voir à travers la brume et déterminer l'emplacement exact du soleil par temps couvert et ainsi aider à la navigation.

Natural Fine Blue IoliteDu point de vue de la gemmologie, l'iolite est un silicate d'aluminium de magnésium complexe avec des traces de fer ferrique/ferreux et de manganèse. Le magnésium est partiellement remplacé par le fer ferreux, le manganèse et l'aluminium est partiellement remplacé par le fer ferrique. L'iolite est connu aussi par son nom minéral cordierite, d'après Pierre Louis Cordier, le minéralogiste français qui l'a décrite le premier en 1809. Le nom iolite vient du grec "Ios" signifiant violet.

Natural Iolite from GemSelectLa valeur de l'iolite dépend de la coloration bleue violette. Plus le bleu est riche, mieux c'est. L'iolite est toujours non traité; en fait il n'y a aucun traitement connu pour améliorer la couleur ou la clarté de l'iolite.

Les gisements d'Iolite se trouvent en Inde, au Brésil, au Canada, en Allemagne, en Finlande, à Madagascar, au Mozambique, en Birmanie, en Norvège, au Sri Lanka, en Tanzanie, aux Etats-Unis et au Zimbabwe. La plupart de la matière fine que nous avons vue récemment vient des mines du Madagascar.

  • Première publication: April-23-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: November-28-2017
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (142)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
 
: Fine Iolite is Rare
Fine Iolite is Rare

Natural Iolite from GemSelectWe recently found some very fine pieces of iolite, not something that happens very often. That's because it's rare to find iolite in sizes weighing over 1 carat and with good clarity. High quality iolite is a strikingly beautiful stone when cut well so we wanted to know more about this unusual gem.

Madagascan Iolite at GemSelectMany of the lesser-known colored gems are unheard of because they are relatively soft. This is true of gem varieties like fluorite, apatite, sphene and diopside. But iolite is actually quite a hard stone, with a rating of 7 to 7.5 on the Mohs scale, making it as hard as tourmaline and harder than tanzanite, peridot and all the quartz varieties. Iolite is not well known, simply because it is so difficult to find. If iolite was commonly available in gemstones of larger sizes, it might be as popular (and as valuable) as tanzanite.

Buy Iolite at Wholesale PricesFine iolite is typically a soft violet-blue color with unusual pleochroic properties, meaning that it displays different colors when viewed from different angles. Iolite displays both light-blue and yellow-gray hues, in addition to its dominant violet-blue color. Gem cutters must be careful to orient the material correctly so that it appears violet-blue when viewed through the table (the top) of the stone.

Natural Fine Blue IoliteIolite's pleochroic properties were known to mariners who found practical applications for it. The Vikings reportedly used iolite as a polarizing lens, through which the exact location of the sun could be determined on overcast days, to aid navigation.

Iolite is composed of complex magnesium aluminum silicate with traces of ferric/ferrous iron and manganese. The magnesium is partially replaced by ferrous iron and manganese and the aluminum is partially replaced by ferric iron. Iolite is also known by the mineral name cordierite, after Pierre Louis Cordier, the French mineralogist who first described it in 1809. The name iolite comes from the Greek ios meaning 'violet'.

Blue Iolite in all sizes at GemSelect Natural Iolite

The value of iolite depends on the violet-blue color. The richer the blue, the high the value. Iolite is always untreated; in fact there are no known treatments to enhance the color or clarity of iolite.

Iolite deposits are found in India, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Finland, Madagascar, Mozambique, Burma, Norway, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, the USA and Zimbabwe. Most of the fine material we have been seeing recently comes from mines in Madagascar.

  • First Published: April-23-2008
  • Last Updated: September-25-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart