search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses de topaze rutile

Pierres précieuses de topaze rutile de GemSelect - Grande image
À propos de Rutile Topaz - Histoire et introduction

Rutile est un minéral composé principalement de dioxyde de titane. Le rutile peut être inclus dans d'autres minéraux et l'un d'eux est le quartz. De minuscules inclusions de rutile sous forme d'aiguilles provoquent également un "astérisme" dans les saphirs et les rubis, appelés "saphirs étoilés" et "rubis étoilés". Cela signifie que les pierres précieuses taillées en cabochon semblent refléter une étoile à leur surface. Le rutile est le type d'inclusion qui améliore plutôt qu'elle ne diminue la valeur d'une pierre précieuse en raison de son apparence intéressante et inhabituelle. Certains l'appellent "cheveux de Vénus", d'autres disent qu'il ressemble à de la paille, et d'autres encore le comparent à des aiguilles brun jaunâtre ou à des fils dorés. Étant donné que les inclusions de "topaze rutile" semblent très similaires à celles du quartz rutile, on a supposé qu'elles étaient composées du même matériau. Par conséquent, "topaze rutile" était le terme adopté pour la topaze avec des inclusions qui apparaissent sous la forme d'aiguilles jaune brunâtre. Cependant, le Gemological Institute of America (GIA) a mené une enquête sur les pierres de "topaze rutile" en 1987, en utilisant la microscopie. En raison de l'habitude des inclusions, le GIA a conclu que les inclusions ne sont pas du rutile, mais sont des taches limonitiques, qui remplissent partiellement ou complètement les canaux de luxation. La limonite est un minerai de fer jaune ou brun qui a d'abord été utilisé comme pigment. Un produit célèbre de la limonite est l'ocre jaune de Chypre. Cette révélation suggère que la "topaze rutile" devrait être plus précisément nommée "topaze limonite", mais le nom "topaze rutile" semble être resté, c'est donc ainsi qu'on continue de l'appeler.

Topaze rutile en forme de poire
Identifier la topaze rutile Retour au sommet

La topaze rutile semble similaire au quartz rutile, mais la topaze rutile se distingue du quartz par sa dureté. Topaze a un score de dureté Mohs de 8, alors que quartz est plus doux à 7. De plus, le quartz n'a pas de clivage, tandis que la topaze affiche un clivage parfait. Le quartz rutile a également généralement une plus grande gamme de motifs avec des aiguilles plus denses que la topaze rutile, ce qui fait que certains quartz rutile semblent contenir un petit paysage d'herbe sèche. La topaze rutile a tendance à avoir des inclusions plus clairsemées.

Topaze Rutile; Origine et sources de pierres précieuses Retour au sommet

Des gisements de topaze ont été trouvés au Brésil, en Afghanistan, en Australie, au Myanmar (Birmanie), en Chine, en Allemagne, au Japon, à Madagascar, au Mexique, en Namibie, au Nigeria, au Pakistan, en Russie, au Zimbabwe, au Sri Lanka, en Ukraine et aux États-Unis. La topaze bleu clair naturelle se trouve en Irlande du Nord et au Royaume-Uni. D'énormes cristaux de topaze ont été découverts dans le Minas Gerais (Brésil) et en Ukraine.

Acheter de la topaze rutile et déterminer la valeur des pierres précieuses de la topaze rutile Retour au sommet

Couleur Topaze Rutile

La topaze rutile est généralement une topaze incolore (claire) avec des inclusions filiformes dorées. Ces inclusions peuvent être très clairsemées, constituées de seulement un ou deux fils visibles, ou elles peuvent être plus denses et plus serrées. Les inclusions de topaze rutile peuvent varier en couleur du jaune doré au jaune brunâtre. Dans des cas extrêmement rares, les inclusions filiformes peuvent apparaître argentées ou même de couleur arc-en-ciel. Cela est dû à la formation de limonite avec d'autres minéraux. Depuis la topaze se produit dans d'autres couleurs , comme l'orange, le rose, le bleu pâle, le vert pâle et même le violet, la topaze rutile peut également être présente dans ces couleurs. Cependant, la topaze rutile est généralement claire.

Clarté et lustre de topaze rutile

La topaze rutile est transparente à translucide. La topaze présente une grande clarté avec peu d'inclusions, de sorte que les pierres précieuses de topaze peuvent être examinées à l'œil nu et jugées "propres à l'œil", ce qui signifie qu'aucune imperfection n'est visible. Cependant, dans le cas de la topaze rutile, les inclusions sont valorisées. La topaze est très appréciée pour sa brillance et son éclat vitreux (vitreux).

Coupe et forme de topaze rutile

La topaze est un matériau très polyvalent. Par conséquent, il peut être façonné dans une grande variété de formes, telles que carré, rond, octogone, poire, ovale, cœur et autres formes fantaisie. En ce qui concerne la topaze rutile, les lapidaristes doivent faire attention à facetter la pierre précieuse afin de mettre en valeur au mieux les inclusions de limonite, car les inclusions peuvent apparaître plus ou moins proéminentes selon l'angle sous lequel la gemme est vue. La dureté de la topaze la rend résistante aux rayures. Cependant, les lapidaristes doivent manipuler la topaze avec précaution, en raison de son clivage parfait, ce qui signifie qu'elle peut facilement se fracturer.

Traitement Topaze Rutile

Alors que topaze est connue pour être fréquemment rehaussée de couleur, la topaze rutile claire est une topaze naturelle et incolore qui contient des inclusions naturelles de limonite. Par conséquent, la topaze rutile dans les couleurs de topaze naturelles n'est ni traitée ni améliorée.

Propriétés gemmologiques de la topaze rutile : Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: Al2SiO4(F,OH)2 Fluor contenant du silicate d'aluminium
Structure en cristal: Orthorhombique, prismes aux extrémités à facettes multiples, souvent de section octogonale
Couleur: Incolore, jaune, orange, rouge-brun, bleu clair à bleu foncé, rose-rouge, rouge, violet, vert clair
Dureté: 8 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1,609 - 1,643
Densité: 3,49 - 3,57
Clivage: Parfait
Transparence: Transparent et translucide
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : 0,008 à 0,016
Lustre: Vitreux
Fluorescence: Sous UV longue longueur d'onde, le blanc et le bleu montrent une faible lueur jaune ou verdâtre ; le brun, le rose et le jaune peuvent montrer une forte lueur jaune orangé; le rouge montre une faible lueur jaune-brun

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Topaze rutile : pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires Retour au sommet
Gemme de quartz rutile doré
Quartz Rutile Doré

La topaze est chimiquement apparentée à la sillimanite, l'andalousite, la kanonaite, la kyanite et la mullite. La topaze rutile ressemble au quartz rutile, mais le quartz rutile a une composition différente, avec des inclusions de limonite, et est légèrement plus doux, ayant un score de dureté Mohs de 7. La topaze rutile est plus précieuse que le quartz rutile, il est donc important de faire la distinction entre le deux. Des inclusions de limonite peuvent également se produire dans d'autres pierres précieuses, telles que le quartz calcédoine, où les inclusions peuvent apparaître comme des taches d'or, plutôt que des fils en forme d'aiguille.

Mythologie des pierres précieuses de topaze rutile, pouvoirs métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux Retour au sommet

La topaze rutile est une sorte de topaze; donc les croyances qui sont attribuées à la topaze naturelle s'appliquent à elle. On pense que les inclusions de rutile renforcent les propriétés métaphysiques de la gemme. Cependant, dans le cas de la topaze rutile, les inclusions sont de la limonite. On dit que la limonite est stabilisante et un puissant guérisseur mental. On pense également qu'il donne de la force de caractère et restaure la jeunesse. En ce qui concerne la topaze, les Grecs de l'Antiquité croyaient qu'il s'agissait d'une pierre puissante qui pouvait augmenter la force de son porteur et même fournir l'invisibilité dans les moments désespérés. Les anciens Égyptiens et les Romains associaient la topaze au dieu solaire. La topaze impériale est la pierre de naissance des personnes nées en novembre et des personnes nées sous le signe zodiacal du Sagittaire. C'est aussi la pierre précieuse qui commémore le 23e anniversaire de mariage. La topaze bleue est la pierre de naissance de décembre et est utilisée pour commémorer le 4e anniversaire de mariage. Dans les systèmes de croyance traditionnels indiens, on dit que la topaze déverrouille le chakra de la gorge, ce qui facilite la communication et l'expression de soi. Par conséquent, on pense que la topaze est bénéfique pour les artistes, les écrivains, les orateurs publics et les autres personnes concernées par l'expression de soi. De plus, certains pensent que la topaze peut favoriser la virilité chez les hommes.

Avis de non-responsabilité : les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont recueillies auprès de diverses ressources et ne représentent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne remplacent pas l'avis de votre médecin. Si vous avez des problèmes de santé, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologiques et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.
Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux en topaze rutile Retour au sommet

La topaze rutile peut être transformée en une variété presque illimitée de bijoux en raison de sa polyvalence. Il est idéal pour les bagues, colliers, bracelets et pendentifs et peut être coupé dans presque toutes les formes. Comme pour le diamant, la topaze rutile doit être protégée des coups durs par des montures protégées dans les bagues pour un usage quotidien. En effet, un seul coup peut provoquer une fracture due à un clivage parfait. La topaze rutile est très dure (8 sur l'échelle de Mohs), ce qui lui confère durabilité et résistance aux rayures. La topaze rutile doit être soigneusement coupée et facettée, afin de mettre en valeur les inclusions de limonite.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que les diamants en poids en comparaison.

Entretien et nettoyage des bijoux en pierres précieuses de topaze rutile Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses Comme le diamant, la topaze rutile a un clivage parfait, ce qui signifie que la force d'un seul coup pourrait la faire se fendre. Par conséquent, des réglages de lunette protégés sont recommandés, plutôt que des réglages en dents de scie, pour les bagues portées quotidiennement. La dureté de la topaze rutile (8 sur l'échelle de Mohs) la rend durable et signifie qu'elle ne se raye pas facilement. Pour nettoyer votre topaze rutile, utilisez simplement de l'eau savonneuse et un chiffon doux. Assurez-vous de bien rincer pour éliminer les résidus de savon. Comme pour la plupart des pierres précieuses, les nettoyeurs à ultrasons et les cuiseurs à vapeur ne sont pas recommandés. Retirez toujours tout bijou ou pierre précieuse avant de faire de l'exercice, de nettoyer ou de vous livrer à des activités physiques difficiles telles que le sport. Conservez la topaze rutile à l'écart des autres pierres précieuses pour éviter les rayures. Il est préférable d'envelopper les pierres précieuses dans un chiffon doux ou de les placer dans une boîte à bijoux doublée de tissu.

  • Première publication: 08 Août 2021
  • Dernière mise à jour: 30 Septembre 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

10243

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (141)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Azurite
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat Chrysobéryl
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Onyx
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Tourmaline Chrome
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
  • Œil De Faucon
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Rutile Topaz Info

Rutile Topaz Gemstone Information

About Rutile Topaz - History and Introduction

Rutile is a mineral made mostly of titanium dioxide. Rutile can be included in other minerals and one of them is quartz. Tiny rutile inclusions in the form of needles also cause "asterism" in sapphires and rubies, which are known as "star sapphires" and "star rubies". This means that cabochon cut gems appear to reflect a star on their surface. Rutile is the kind of inclusion that improves, rather than decreases the value of a gemstone because of its interesting and unusual appearance. Some call it "Venus hair", others say it looks like straw, and yet others compare it to yellowish-brown needles or golden threads. Since the inclusions of "rutile topaz" appear very similar to those in rutile quartz, it was assumed that they were composed of the same material. Therefore, "rutile topaz" was the term adopted for topaz with inclusions that appear as brownish-yellow needles. However, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) conducted an investigation of "rutile topaz" stones in 1987, using microscopy. Due to the habit of the inclusions, the GIA concluded that the inclusions are not rutile, but are limonitic stains, which partially or completely fill dislocation channels. Limonite is a yellow or brown iron ore which was first used as a pigment. A famous product of limonite is yellow ochre from Cyprus. This revelation suggests that "rutile topaz" should be more accurately named "limonite topaz", but the name "rutile topaz" seems to have stuck, so this is how it continues to be referred to.

Pear-Shaped Rutile Topaz
Pear-Shaped Rutile Topaz
Click to enlarge
Identifying Rutile Topaz Back to Top

Rutile topaz appears similar to rutile quartz, but rutile topaz can be distinguished from quartz by its hardness. Topaz has a Mohs hardness score of 8, whereas quartz is softer at 7. Additionally, quartz has no cleavage, whereas topaz displays perfect cleavage. Rutile quartz also usually has a greater range of patterns with more densely occurring needles than rutile topaz, which makes some rutile quartz appear to hold a tiny landscape of dry grass. Rutile topaz tends to have sparser inclusions.

Rutile Topaz; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Deposits of topaz have been found in Brazil, Afghanistan, Australia, Myanmar (Burma), China, Germany, Japan, Madagascar, Mexico, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, Ukraine and the USA. Natural light-blue topaz is found in Northern Ireland and the UK. Enormous topaz crystals have been discovered in Minas Gerais (Brazil) and Ukraine.

Buying Rutile Topaz and Determining Rutile Topaz Gemstone Value Back to Top

Rutile Topaz Colour

Rutile topaz is usually colourless (clear) topaz with golden thread-like inclusions. These inclusions can be very sparse, consisting of just one or two visible threads, or they can be more dense and closely-packed. The inclusions of rutile topaz can range in colour from golden yellow to brownish-yellow. In extremely rare cases, the thread-like inclusions can appear silver or even rainbow-coloured. This is due to the limonite forming with other minerals. Since topaz occurs in other colours, such as orange, pink, pale blue, pale green and even violet, rutile topaz can also occur in these colours. However, rutile topaz is mostly clear.

Rutile Topaz Clarity and Lustre

Rutile topaz is transparent to translucent. Topaz exhibits high clarity with few inclusions, so topaz gemstones can be examined by the naked eye and found to be "eye clean", which means that no imperfections can be seen. However, in the case of rutile topaz, the inclusions are valued. Topaz is highly prized for its brilliance and vitreous (glassy) lustre.

Rutile Topaz Cut and Shape

Topaz is a very versatile material. Therefore it can be fashioned into a great variety of shapes, such as square, round, octagon, pear, oval, heart and other fancy shapes. With regard to rutile topaz, lapidarists must be careful to facet the gemstone in order to best display the limonite inclusions, since the inclusions can appear more or less prominent according to the angle from which the gem is viewed. The hardness of topaz makes it resistant to scratches. However, lapidarists must handle topaz carefully, due to its perfect cleavage, which means that it can easily fracture.

Rutile Topaz Treatment

Whilst topaz is known to be frequently colour-enhanced, clear rutile topaz is natural, colourless topaz that has naturally occurring limonite inclusions. Therefore, rutile topaz in naturally occurring topaz colours is not treated or enhanced.

Rutile Topaz Gemmological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Al2SiO4(F,OH)2 Fluor containing aluminium silicate
Crystal Structure: Orthorhombic, prisms with multi-faceted ends, often octagonal in cross-section
Colour: Colourless, yellow, orange, red-brown, light to dark blue, pink-red, red, violet, light green
Hardness: 8 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.609 - 1.643
Density: 3.49 - 3.57
Cleavage: Perfect
Transparency: Transparent and translucent
Double Refraction or Birefringence: 0.008 to 0.016
Lustre: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Under long wavelength UV, white and blue shows a weak yellow or greenish glow; brown, pink and yellow can show a strong orange-yellow glow; red shows a weak yellow-brown glow

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemmology-related terms.

Rutile Topaz: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Golden rutile quartz gem
Golden Rutile Quartz

Topaz is chemically related to sillimanite, andalusite, kanonaite, kyanite and mullite. Rutile topaz looks similar to rutile quartz, but rutile quartz has a different composition, with limonite inclusions, and is slightly softer, having a Mohs hardness score of 7. Rutile topaz is more valuable than rutile quartz, so it is important to distinguish between the two. Limonite inclusions can also occur in other gemstones, such as chalcedony quartz, where the inclusions can appear as flecks of gold, rather than needle-like threads.

Rutile Topaz Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

Rutile topaz is a kind of topaz; therefore the beliefs that are attributed to natural topaz apply to it. Rutile inclusions are thought to boost the metaphysical properties of the gem. However, in the case of rutile topaz, the inclusions are limonite. Limonite is said to be stabilizing and a powerful mental healer. It is also believed to provide strength of character and restore youthfulness. With regard to topaz, the ancient Greeks believed that it was a powerful stone that could increase the strength of the wearer and even provide invisibility in desperate times. Both the ancient Egyptians and the Romans associated topaz with the Sun God. Imperial topaz is the birthstone for those born in November and for those born under the zodiacal sign of Sagittarius. It is also the gemstone that commemorates the 23rd wedding anniversary. Blue topaz is the birthstone for December and is used to commemorate the 4th wedding anniversary. In traditional Indian belief systems, topaz is said to unlock the throat chakra, which facilitates communication and self-expression. Therefore, topaz is thought to be beneficial to artists, writers, public speakers and others who are concerned with self-expression. Additionally, some believe that topaz can promote virility in men.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Rutile Topaz Gemstone and Jewellery Design Ideas Back to Top

Rutile topaz can be made into an almost limitless variety of jewellery due to its versatility. It is ideal for rings, necklaces, bracelets and pendants and can be cut into almost any shape. As with diamond, rutile topaz should be protected from hard knocks by protected settings in rings for daily wear. This is because a single blow could cause fracturing due to perfect cleavage. Rutile topaz is very hard (8 on the Mohs scale), which gives it durability and resistance to scratches. Rutile topaz should be carefully cut and faceted, in order to show the limonite inclusions to their best advantage.

Note: Buy coloured gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Coloured stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Rutile Topaz Gemstone Jewellery Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesLike diamond, rutile topaz has perfect cleavage, which means that the force of a single blow could cause it to split. Therefore, protected bezel settings are recommended, rather than pronged settings, for rings that are worn daily. Rutile topaz's hardness (8 on the Mohs scale) makes it durable and means that it does not scratch easily. To clean your rutile topaz, simply use soapy water and a soft cloth. Be sure to rinse well to remove soapy residue. As with most gemstones, ultrasonic cleaners and steamers are not recommended. Always remove any jewellery or gemstones before exercising, cleaning or engaging in harsh physical activities such as sports. Store rutile topaz away from other gemstones to avoid scratches. It is best to wrap gemstones in soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewellery box.

  • First Published: February-19-2014
  • Last Updated: May-24-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart