Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Acheter des Pierres précieuses en Thaïlande
Buying Gems in Thailand
Acheter des Pierres précieuses en Thaïlande

Tuk-Tuk Taxi in BangkokLa Thaïlande est bien connu comme l'un des centres commerciaux les plus importants au monde pour les pierres précieuses de couleur. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que de nombreux visiteurs aillent en Thaïlande - nous avons plus de 12 millions de touristes par an - qui sont intéressées par l'achat de pierres précieuses. Mais ce n'est pas aussi facile qu'il y paraît. En effet de nombreux touristes en proie à des hommes sans scrupules se retrouve dans des escroqueries infâme parfois connu sous le nom "The Thai Gem Scam".

Voici comment cela fonctionne. Un touriste se propose de visiter l'un des endroits touristiques bien connus de Bangkok, telles que le Grand Palais ou Wat Phra Keow, le Temple du Bouddha d'émeraude. En arrivant dans la région, le touriste sera approché par un Thaïlandais sympathique bien habillé, peut-être un étudiant, qui parle bien l'anglais. Il informe les touristes que, malheureusement, l'attraction qu'il veut voir est fermé ce jour en raison d'une fête spéciale, mais il a un tuk-tuk (pousse-pousse motorisé) qui le conduira à un temple particulier que peu de touristes ont la chance de voir.

Genuine Natural Blue sapphireau moment d'arriver au temple, le touriste rencontre un autre Thaïlandais sympathique qui engage une conversation. Au cours de la conversation le touriste est informé d'un programme gouvernemental spécial qui permet aux étrangers d'acheter des pierres précieuses de bijouterie détaxés et de faire un bénéfice sur les articles quand ils seront expédiés à la maison. Cependant, il dit en passant aussi qu'aujourdhui est le dernier jour du programme.

Le touriste crédule qui se laisse prendre à cette histoire est amené à un magasin de pierres précieuses où il est mis sous pression pour acheter des pierres ou des bijoux qui, il est assuré, sont de la qualité la plus parfaite. Le propriétaire de magasin exige le paiement en liquide, mais fournit un service supplémentaire d'emballage des marchandises et d'envoi à l'adresse du domicile du touriste.

Grand Palace in Bangkok / ThailandUne fois de retour chez lui, il découvre que les joyaux sont des produits synthétiques ou de qualité inférieure, d'un montant beaucoup moindre que ce qu'il a payé. À ce moment il y a très peu de chose qu'il peut faire.

Les escroqueries touristiques sont malheureusement des réalités de la vie dans de nombreux endroits dans le monde et sont toujours en développement. Vous pouvez vous protéger en étant sceptique face à des histoires invraisemblables sur des promotions spéciales et des tactiques de vente sous pression sont toujours un signe d'avertissement. Ne payez jamais en espèces pour des objets précieux - cartes de crédit et les modes de paiement électroniques tels que PayPal peuvent fournir une importante mesure de protection des consommateurs.

La chose probablement la plus importante est d'acheter chez un revendeur de pierres ui a une réputation d'entreprise honnête. Cela peut être difficile à faire lorsque vous êtes un étranger dans la ville, mais vous pouvez faire des recherches sur Internet avant de quitter la maison. Un certain nombre de revendeurs de joyau bien connu vendent sur internet et vous pouvez trouver les mêmes prix en ligne que vous trouverez en Thaïlande, avec beaucoup moins de risques.

  • First Published: 02-mai-2008
  • Last Updated: 02-mars-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Buying Gems in Thailand
Acheter des Pierres précieuses en Thaïlande
Buying Gems in Thailand

Tuk-Tuk Taxi in BangkokThailand is well known as one of the most important trading centers in the world for colored gemstones. So it is not surprising that many visitors to Thailand -- we get more than 12 million tourists a year -- are interested in buying gems. But it's not as easy as it sounds. In fact many tourists fall prey to unscrupulous con men in an infamous swindle sometimes known as The Thai Gem Scam.

Here's how it works. A tourist sets out to visit one of the well known tourist locations in Bangkok, such as the Grand Palace or Wat Phra Keow, the Temple of the Emerald Buddha. Upon arriving in the area, the tourist will be approached by a friendly well dressed Thai, perhaps a student, who speaks good English. He informs the tourist that unfortunately the attraction he wants to see is closed today because of a special holiday, but there is a tuk-tuk (auto rickshaw) who will take him to a special temple that few tourists have a chance to see.

Genuine Natural Blue sapphireUpon arriving at the temple, the tourist meets another friendly Thai who strikes up a conversation. In the course of the conversation the tourist is informed about a special government program that allows foreigners to buy gemstones and jewelry tax free and make a profit on the items when they are shipped back home. However, he also mentions that today is the last day of the program.

The unsuspecting tourist who falls for this story is taken to a gems shop where he is pressured to buy stones or jewelry which, he is assured, are of the finest quality. The shop owner insists on cash payment but provides the extra service of packaging up the goods and mailing them to the tourist's home address.

Grand Palace in Bangkok / ThailandOnce he returns home, he discovers the gems are synthetic or of inferior quality, worth far less than he paid. At this point there is little he can do.

Tourist scams are an unfortunate fact of life in many places in the developing world. You can protect yourself by being skeptical when faced with improbable stories about special promotions, and high pressure sales tactics are always a warning sign. Never pay cash for valuable items -- credit cards and electronic payment methods such as PayPal provide an important measure of consumer protection.

Probably the most important thing is to buy from a dealer who has a reputation for honest business. That can be difficult to do when you're a stranger in town, but you can do research on the internet before you leave home. A number of well known gem dealers sell over the internet and in fact you can find the same prices online as you'll find in Thailand, with much less risk.

  • First Published: May-02-2008
  • Last Updated: March-02-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping