search
  • تسجيل الدخول
    تسجيل الاشتراك
  • دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

    مجانى بالكامل - الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية & أمب؛ كندا فقط:
    1-800-464-1640

    دولي:
    +66-39303404

  • تغيير اللغة
  • USD

معلومات عن الحجر الكريم الياقوت

أحجار كريمة ياقوت طبيعى من GemSelect - صورة كبيرة
اشترى أحجار كريمة ياقوت طبيعى من GemSelect

عن الياقوت - التاريخ والمقدمة

يعتبر الياقوت واحد من أعلى الأحجار الكريمة الملونة القيمة، في الواقع، يمكن للياقوت الكبير جلب أسعار أعلى من أحجام الألماس المماثلة. لقد تم تقدير الياقوت لعدة قرون بسبب صلابته الممتازة التي بلغت 9 على مقياس موس، بالإضافة إلى لونه الأحمر الغني اللامع وبريقه الزجاجي. الياقوت هو مجموعة من أكسيد الألمنيوم الذي يحصل على اللون الأحمر من الكروم. أي لون غير اللون الأحمر يصنف كزفير. في شكله النقي، فأن اكسيد الالمنيوم يكون عديم اللون تماما. كلمة "اكسيد الالمنيوم" تأتي من الكلمة التاميلية "كوروندام"، والتى تعنى "زفير الياقوت".

في اللغة السنسكريتية الهندية القديمة، يطلق على الياقوت "راتناراج"، والذي يترجم إلى "ملك الأحجار الكريمة". تشير النصوص السنسكريتية القديمة والإنجيل والكتابات التاريخية الأخرى إلى الياقوت كجوهرة ثمينة، مما يدل على التاريخ الغني والتقدير الدائم للأحجار الكريمة في الياقوت. اعتقد الهندوس القدامى أنه من خلال تقديم الياقوت لكريشنا، تم تأكيد ولادة جديدة كإمبراطور. يعتقد المحاربون البورميون أن الياقوت سيجعلهم لا يقهرون، بل وقد أدخلوا الياقوت تحت جلدهم لهذا الغرض.

وفقًا لقصة ماركو بولو، عرض كوبلاي خان على ملك سيلان مدينة مقابل حجر ياقوت كبير. اعتقد الأوروبيون في العصور الوسطى أن الياقوت يضمن الصحة الجيدة والرخاء والحكمة وحب حياة ناجح. يأتي الاسم الإنجليزي "ياقوت" من الكلمة اللاتينية "روبر" ، التي تعني اللون الأحمر. لون الياقوت الأكثر رواجًا هو اللون الأحمر الغني الغامق مع ظلال زرقاء تعرف باسم "دم الحمام". في تايلاند، يعرف الياقوت باسم "تابتيم" ، وهو ما يعني "الرمان" باللغة التايلاندية. وذلك لأن هذه الأحجار الكريمة الحمراء المشرقة تشبه البذور الصالحة للأكل الموجودة داخل الرمان الناضج.

حجر كريم ياقوت

التعرف على الياقوت

إرجع إلى الأعلى

يمكن التعرف على الياقوت بدرجة صلابته والتى تقدر 9 على مقياس موس ولونه النابض بالحياة. الياقوت الطبيعي يمكن تمييزه عن الياقوت الصناعى من خلال الشوائب؛ الياقوت الطبيعي عادة ما يظهر شوائب، في حين أن الياقوت الصناعى يميل إلى أن كون نقى العين.

ياقوت؛ المنشأ ومصادر الحجر

إرجع إلى الأعلى

أهم مصادر الياقوت تشمل ميانمار (بورما) وتايلاند وسريلانكا وتنزانيا. مصادر أخرى هي أفغانستان، أستراليا، البرازيل، الهند، كمبوديا، كينيا، مدغشقر، ملاوي، موزمبيق، نيبال، باكستان، زيمبابوي، طاجيكستان، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وفيتنام.

شراء الياقوت وتحديد قيمة حجر الياقوت

إرجع إلى الأعلى

لون وظلال الياقوت

لون الياقوت هو عامل الجودة الأكثر أهمية. اللون الأكثر رواجًا هو اللون الأحمر القوى النقي إلى الأحمر مع ظلال زرقاء. يُعرف هذا اللون الأحمر النابض بالحياة باسم "دم الحمام". عندما يكون لون الياقوت فاتحًا جدًا، يتم تصنيفه على أنه زفير وردى، ولكن الخط الفاصل بين الياقوت الأحمر الوردي والزفير الوردي هو المنطقة. بعض مناطق التعدين تعتبر الياقوت الوردي ياقوتا. الومضان الأحمر القوي للياقوت يعني أن الياقوت له لون متوهج.

نقاء ولمعان الياقوت

يظهر الياقوت عادة شوائب ويتم تقبلها كجزء من طبيعة الحجر. ومع ذلك، عندما تقلل الشوائب من الشفافية أو التألق، فإنها تقلل القيمة. يتوفر الياقوت الخاى من الشوائب المرئية للعين، ومع ذلك، فإن الأحجار الكريمة الكبيرة النقية بالعين نادرة وقيمة للغاية.

قطع وشكل الياقوت

يقطع الياقوت فى الغالب قطعا مختلطًا، مع تيجان ذات قطع بريلينت وقطع تدريجى للجزء السفلى. الأشكال الأكثر شيوعًا هي الأشكال البيضاوية والوسائد. تتوفر أيضًا أساليب قطع أخرى، مثل القطع الدائري والمثلثي وقطع الزمرد والكمثرى والماركيز. ومع ذلك، يصعب العثور على هذه الأشكال بأحجام أكبر، لأنها لا تحافظ على الوزن الثقيل وكذلك البيضاوي والوسائد. الياقوت الأكثر من قيراط واحد نادر الوجود، لذلك يرتفع السعر بشكل كبير مع الحجم. عادةً ما يتم قطع الياقوت الذي يظهر (تأثير نجمى) إلى كابوشون، لإظهار الظاهرة البصرية. الياقوت مع شوائب الروتيل (مثل الياقوت النجمى) يحمل بريقا حريري، في حين أن الياقوت الشفاف في الغالب يحمل لمعان زجاجي. عادة ما يشكل النحاتون الياقوت الخام لتقليل تعدد الألوان الأزرق البرتقالي، طالما أن هذا لا يسبب الكثير من فقدان الوزن بالقيراط.

معالجات الياقوت

يتعرض الياقوت للمعالجة الحرارية من أجل تعزيز اللون. ويعتبر هذا التعزيز مستقر ودائم. توفر شوائب الروتيل سليمة (المعروف أيضا باسم "الحرير") دليلا على أن ججر الياقوت لم تتم معالجته بالحرارة. يتعرض الياقوت أيضًا للإشعاع ويعالج بالانتشار لتعزيز اللون. تشمل التحسينات الأخرى على ملء الشقوق بزجاج الرصاص، والذي يتم إجراؤه لجعل الأحجار الكريمة المليئة بالشوائب بشكل كبير صالحة للاستخدام في المجوهرات. في بعض الأحيان، يتم صباغة أوتزييت الياقوت. على الرغم من جميع المعالجات التي يمكن إخضاعها للياقوت، فأن أحجار الياقوت الطبيعية متوافرة ويعلن جميع بائعي الأحجار الكريمة ذوي السمعة الطيبة عن أي معالجات أو تحسينات.

أحجار كريمة ياقوت طبيعى من GemSelect - صورة كبيرة

خصائص الياقوت الخاصة بدراسة الأحجار الكريمة:

إرجع إلى الأعلى

الصيغة الكيميائية:

Al2O3، أكسيد الألمنيوم

التركيب البلورى:

منشور ثلاثى، سداسى أو مناضد أو معينى سداسى الشكل

اللون:

درجات أحمر متنوعة

الصلابة:

9 على مقياس موس

معامل الانكسار:

1.762 - 1.778

الكثافة:

3.97 - 4.05

الانفصال البلورى:

لا يوجد

الشفافية:

شفاف إلى غير شفاف

الانكسار المزدوج:

-0.008

اللمعان:

زجاجى إلى حريرى

الفلورية:

قوى: أحمر قرمزى

يرجى الرجوع إلى معجم الأحجار الكريمة لدينا للحصول على تفاصيل المصطلحات المتعلقة بالأحجار الكريمة.

الياقوت: أحجار كريمة مشابهة أو ذات صلة

إرجع إلى الأعلى

زفير أزرق

زفير أخضر-أزرق

نظرًا لأن الياقوت عضو في مجموعة أكسيد الألمنيوم، فهو يرتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالزفير، وبالتالي فإنه يشارك بعض الخصائص، مثل الصلابة والتكوين والانكسار المزدوج، مع الياقوت. تشمل مجموعات الأحجار الكريمة من أكسيد الألمنيوم الزفير الأزرق والزفير الفانسى والزفير النجمى والزفير المتغير اللون. أما ياقوت عين القط و الياقوت ​​وياقوت الترابّيشي متوافر أيضًا ولكنه نادر للغاية. أحجار ياقوت الترابّيشي نجم ثابت وغالبًا ما يتم تقطيعه إلى شرائح أحجار كريمة. قد تظهر بعض أنواع ياقوت الترابّيشي تأثير نجومى، لكن هذه الياقوت الترابّيشي نادر جدًا.

يمكن أن يبدو الياقوت مشابها لأحجار كريمة حمراء أخرى مثل العقيق الألمانديت وعقيق البيروب. الإسبنيل، التوباز، التورمالين والزركون يمكن أيضا أن يخلط بينهم وبين في الياقوت. يمكن أن يتشكل الياقوت أيضًا مع معادن أخرى، كما هو الحال فى ياقوت-الزوزيت وياقوت في فوشسيت.

الاساطير حول الياقوت، القوى الخارقة للطبيعة والقوى العلاجية البلورية

إرجع إلى الأعلى

وفقا للأسطورة، فأن الياقوت يضمن لمالكه حياة السلام والثروة. إن اللون الأحمر الزاهي للياقوت يعني أيضًا أنه مرتبط بالرغبة، ويعتقد البعض أنه حجر حب له تأثير مثير للشهوة الجنسية. لطالما نسب للياقوت القدرة على حماية مرتديه من الإصابة وعلاج اضطرابات الدم بما في ذلك آلام الدورة الشهرية ومشاكل الدورة الدموية. ويقال أيضًا إنه يزود مرتديه بالطاقة والقوة العاطفية والموقف الإيجابي والوعي المتزايد والتركيز. في أنظمة المعتقدات الهندوسية التقليدية، يرتبط الياقوت بالملادارا أو الشاكارا. يهتم هذا الشاكارا مع كونداليني؛ الطاقة الروحية، قوة الرغبة النقية، الوعي الإلهي، فتح العقل والطاقة الطبيعية للذات. في الفنغ شوي، يعتقد أن الياقوت يجلب طاقة نار يانغ.

الياقوت هو حجر البخت لمواليد شهر يوليو، وكذلك هو حجر برج الجدي. يستخدم الياقوت للاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية الخامسة عشرة والأربعين للزفاف. اليوم المخصص للياقوت هو يوم الثلاثاء (ومن هنا جاءت أغنية رولينج ستونز ، "ثلاثاء الياقوت"). تم ربط الياقوت بكوكب المريخ وبلوتو.

تنويه: لا يجب اعتبار خصائص وقوى الشفاء البديلة البلورية والخارقة للطبيعة كنصيحة مؤكدة. يتم جمع المعرفة التقليدية والاحتفالية والأسطورية للأحجار الكريمة من مصادر مختلفة ولا تمثل الرأي الوحيد لشركة SETT Co.، Ltd.. هذه المعلومات ليست بديلاً عن نصيحة طبيبك. إذا كان لديك أي حالات طبية، يرجى مراجعة طبيب مرخص. GemSelect لا يضمن أي مزاعم أو تصريحات عن قوى الشفاء أو قوى أحجار البخت الفلكية ولا يمكن اعتبارها مسؤولة تحت أي ظرف من الظروف.

أحجار كريمة ياقوت طبيعى من GemSelect - صورة كبيرة

الحجر الكريم الياقوت وأفكار تصاميم المجوهرات

إرجع إلى الأعلى

منذ أن تم استخدام الياقوت كحجر كريم لعدة قرون، يمكن رؤيته في مجموعة متنوعة من الأساليب، من المجوهرات الهندية إلى الآرت ديكو والمجوهرات الراقية المعاصرة. يعتبر الياقوت مادة صلبة يمكن ارتداؤها يوميًا كخواتم وأقراط وقلادات وما إلى ذلك. في المجوهرات ذات النمط الهندي، غالبًا ما يتم خلط الياقوت مع الزمرد والألماس. توفر المجوهرات الذهبية تباينًا رائعًا مع أحمر الياقوت. تشمل إعدادات المجوهرات الحديثة للياقوت الذهب الأبيض والبلاتين، في حين أن الإعدادات التقليدية تميل إلى أن تكون ذهبية. يمكن وضع الياقوت الصغير بشكل وثيق معًا بأسلوب معقد مثل إعداد الخرز أو "الرص" ، والذي اشتهر به مصممو المجوهرات مثل جول أ. روزنثال، المعروف باسم جى أ ر ، الذي ابتكر جواهر رائعة من الأحجار الكريمة الملونة. الياقوت، إلى جانب الزفير والأماس والزمرد، هو واحد من أثمن الأحجار الكريمة. مجوهرات الياقوت يمكن اعتبارها مجوهرات راقية، حتى عند وضعها في الفضة. خواتم الياقوت الأحمر هي بديل شائع لخواتم الخطبة، إلى جانب خواتم الخطبة من الزفير الأزرق. الياقوت مثالي لحفل الزفاف والاحتفالات بالذكرى السنوية (الياقوت هو حجر الذكرى السنوية الخامسة عشرة والرابعين والثمانين)، وكذلك للاستخدام في خواتم حجر البخت، والدلايات والمجوهرات.

ملحوظة: اشترى الأحجار الكريمة الملونة حسب الحجم وليس حسب وزن القيراط. تختلف الأحجار الملونة فى نسبة الحجم إلى الوزن. بعض الأحجار أكبر والبعض الآخر أصغر من حيث الوزن مقارنة بالألماس.

أحجار كريمة ياقوت مشهورة

إرجع إلى الأعلى

تشمل الأحجار الشهيرة ذات الجمال واللون المتميز "ياقوت إدوارد"، الذي يزن 167 قيراطًا ويتم عرضه في المتحف البريطاني للتاريخ الطبيعي في لندن. أيضا، يمكن مشاهدة "ياقوت روسر ريفز النجمى" الذي يبلغ وزنه 138.7 قيراطًا في معهد سميثسونيان في واشنطن. و"ياقوت دى لونغ النجمى" الذى يزن 100 قيراط ويتم عرضه في المتحف الأمريكي للتاريخ الطبيعي في نيويورك، و"ياقوت السلام" الذي يزن 43 قيراطًا، تم العثور عليه في عام 1919.

أحجار الياقوت هى العناصر الأساسية للشارات الملكية وغيرها من المجوهرات الشهيرة. يحمل التاج البوهيمى للقديس وينسيسلاس ياقوت بـدون أوجه 250 قيراطًا.

بعض أحجار الياقوت الكبيرة الشهيرة، مثل "ياقوتة الأمير الأسود" و "ياقوت تيمور" في جواهر التاج البريطاني هي في الواقع اسبنيل، لأنه حتى بداية القرن التاسع عشر كان يتعتقد الإسبنيل ياقوتا.

أعطى ريتشارد بيرتون خاتم ياقوت مشهور جدا لإليزابيث تايلور. كان حجر الياقوت 8.24 قيراطًا، محاطًا بالألماس ومرصع بالذهب. صنع بواسطة فان كليف آند آربيلز وبيع بمبلغ 4.2 مليون دولار في عام 2011. كما حصلت إليزابيث تايلور على بدلة كارتييه من الياقوت والألماس من قبل زوجها الثالث، والذي تبلغ قيمتها أكثر من 5 ملايين دولار.

تضمن أغلى خاتم من الياقوت مباع على الإطلاق حجر ياقوت بورمى 32.08 قيراطا قطع وسادة (المعروف باسم "ياقوت الأمل") وكان سعر المزاد المسجل 6.74 مليون دولار.

في 26 نوفمبر 2013، بيع حجر عقد من الألماس و الياقوت البورمى بواسطة إتسيتيرا بمبلغ قياسي بلغ 6.4 مليون دولار في كريستيز، هونغ كونغ. هذا هو أعلى سعر تم دفعه مقابل عقد من الياقوت في المزاد.

للياقوت أيضاا استخدام علمي مشهور - حيث صنعت أشعة الليزر الأولى من بلورات الياقوت الصناعي.

تنظيف والاعتناء بالحجر الكريم الياقوت

إرجع إلى الأعلى

الياقوت صلب ومتين، لذلك لا يحتاج إلى أي عناية خاصة. لتنظيف الياقوت الخاص بك، ببساطة استخدام الماء الدافئ والصابون بقطعة قماش ناعمة. يجب تنظيف الأحجار الكريمة المليئة بالكسور والمعالجة بالانتشار بقطعة قماش مبللة فقط. يمكن أن تتلف الياقوت المليء بالكسور بسهولة مقارنة بالياقوت المعالج بالحرارة؛ تجنب المنظفات الكيماوية والأحماض (يمكن أن يؤثر عصير الليمون على لون الياقوت المملوء). لا تحاول إعادة قطع أو صقل أي ياقوت مملوء، ولا تسخن هذه الأنواع من الياقوت بواسطة شعلة الجواهري عند العمل على مجوهرات الياقوت المملوءة أو إصلاحها. كما هو الحال مع معظم الأحجار الكريمة، لا ينصح استخدام منظفات الموجات فوق الصوتية وآلات البخار. احرص دائمًا على إزالة أي مجوهرات أو أحجار كريمة قبل التماربن أو التنظيف أو المشاركة في أنشطة بدنية قاسية مثل الرياضة. لا تعرض الياقوت للحمض وقم بتخزين الياقوت بعيداً عن الأحجار الكريمة الأخرى لتجنب الخدوش. من الأفضل لف الأحجار الكريمة بقطعة قماش ناعمة أو وضعها داخل صندوق مجوهرات مبطن بالقماش.

  • نشرت لأول مرة: April-09-2019
  • آخر تحديث: October-21-2019
  • © 2005-2019 جميع الحقوق محفوظة ل gemselect و أى استنساخ (نص أو رسومات) ممنوع منعا باتا.
Pinterest Board Names
More Shapes
أحجار الكريمة شعبية
  • زفير
  • زمرد
  • ياقوت
  • زبرجد أو أكوامارين
  • زركون
  • أوبال
  • توباز
  • تورمالين
  • عقيق
  • جمشت
  • سيترين
  • تنزانيت
جميع الأحجار الكريمة (144)
  • Druzy Amethyst
  • أباتيت
  • أباتيت عين القط
  • أحجار كريمة عين القط
  • أحجار كريمة نجمية
  • أحجار كريمة يشم
  • أزوريت دروزى
  • أغويط عين القط
  • ألماس
  • أم اللؤلؤ
  • أموليت
  • أميترين
  • أوبال
  • أوبال أسود
  • أوبال النار
  • أوبال دوبليت
  • أوبال شيكولاتى اللون
  • أوبال طحلبى
  • أوبال عين القط
  • أوبال فى مصفوفة
  • إسبنيل
  • إنستاتايت
  • إيدوكراز
  • إيوليت
  • اسبكتروليت
  • افينتورين
  • البيترسايت
  • الحجر المعالج
  • السيرافينيت
  • الفلوريت معدن متبلور
  • الكالسيت
  • الكوارتز الغامض
  • الكيانيت
  • النوم ميت
  • الهيدنيت
  • اليشمك
  • امازونيت
  • اندلوسيت
  • بريهانايت
  • بيريت
  • بيريت قوس قزح
  • بيريل
  • بيريل ذهبى
  • تنزانيت
  • توباز
  • توباز إمبراطورى
  • توباز غامص
  • تورمالين
  • تورمالين أخصر
  • تورمالين روبليت
  • جمشت
  • جيود عقيق
  • حجر الخرز
  • حجر الدم
  • حجر السربنتين
  • حجر الشمس
  • حجر القمر
  • حجر القمر عين القط
  • حجر القمر قوس قزح
  • حجر القمر نجمة
  • حجرالشمس نجمى
  • دياسبور متغير اللون
  • ديوبسيد كروم
  • ديوبسيد نجمة
  • رودوكروزيت
  • رودونيت
  • زبرجد
  • زبرجد أو أكوامارين
  • زبرجد عين القط
  • زركون
  • زفير
  • زفير متغير اللون
  • زفير نجمى
  • زمرد
  • سبج أو أوبسيديان
  • سبج ندفة الثلج
  • سفاليرايت
  • سكاتوليت عين القط
  • سكوليسيت
  • سليمانايت
  • سميثسونايت
  • سودالايت
  • سيترين
  • سيفين
  • شارويت
  • صخر الأوبال
  • عقيق
  • عقيق
  • عقيق أبيض أو كالسيدونى
  • عقيق الألماندين
  • عقيق الديمانتويد
  • عقيق السبيسارتيت
  • عقيق المالايا
  • عقيق النار
  • عقيق برتقالى أو كارنيليان
  • عقيق بيروب
  • عقيق تسافوريت
  • عقيق رودوليت
  • عقيق شجيري
  • عقيق غروسوليت
  • عقيق مالى
  • عقيق متغير اللون
  • عقيق نجمى
  • عقيق هيسونيت
  • عين الصقر
  • عين القط أكتينوليت
  • عين القط سيليمانايت
  • عين النمر
  • غرانديديريت
  • فارسيسايت
  • فلوريت متغير اللون
  • فيروز
  • كريزوبرايس
  • كريزوبيريل
  • كريزوكولا
  • كوارتز
  • كوارتز الفراولة
  • كوارتز روتيل
  • كوارتز زهرى
  • كوارتز زهرى نجمة
  • كوارتز سموكى
  • كوارتز عين القط
  • كوارتز ليمونى نجمى
  • كوارتز مع مرقشيتا
  • كورنيروبين
  • كونزيت
  • لؤلؤ
  • لابرادوريت
  • لابرادوريت أنديسين
  • لاريمار
  • لازورد
  • ماو-سيت-سيت
  • مرجان
  • مرجان حجرى
  • مصفوفة عين النمر
  • ملاكيت
  • مورجانيت
  • هيماتيت حجر الدم
  • هيميمورفيت دروزي
  • ياقوت
  • ياقوت الزوزيت
  • ياقوت في فوشسيت
  • ياقوت نجمة
  • يشب أو جاسبر
Main Categories
  • وصل مؤخرا
  • مجموعات من الأحجار الكريمة
  • أحجار كريمة قياسية
  • أحجار كريمة بالقطعة
  • أحجار كريمة أعلى درجة
  • مطابقة أزواج
  • أحجار كريمة كابوشون
  • Drilled Gems, Briolettes and Beads
  • أحجار البخت
  • منحوتات الأحجار الكريمة
  • أحجار كريمة فانسى
  • أحجار كريمة نجمية
  • زفير غير مسخن
دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

مجانى بالكامل - الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية & أمب؛ كندا فقط:
1-800-464-1640

دولي:
+66-39303404

وفر المال
لا رسوم شحن للأصناف الإضافية!
$ 8.90 الشحن في جميع أنحاء العالم

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X أغلق النافذة
Colored Gemstones
X أغلق النافذة
Colored Gemstones
X أغلق النافذة
Colored Gemstones
الحجم والوزن

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Ruby Info

Ruby Gemstone Information

About Ruby - History and Introduction

Ruby is one of the highest valued colored gemstones, in fact, large rubies can fetch higher prices than equivalently sized diamonds. Ruby has been prized for centuries because of its excellent Mohs scale hardness of 9, along with its treasured rich red hue and vitreous luster. Ruby is a variety of corundum that gets its red color from chromium. Corundum that occurs in any color other than red, is classified as sapphire. In its pure form, corundum is completely colorless. The word "corundum" comes from the Tamil "kurundam", meaning "ruby sapphire".

In the ancient Indian language of Sanskrit, ruby is called "ratnaraj", which translates as "king of precious stones". Ancient Sanskrit texts, the Bible and other historical writings refer to ruby as a precious gem, indicating the rich history and abiding appreciation of ruby gemstones. Ancient Hindus believed that by making an offering of a ruby to Krishna, rebirth as an emperor was assured. Burmese warriors believed that rubies would make them invincible, and even inserted rubies under their skin for this purpose.

According to the story of Marco Polo, Kublai Khan offered the King of Ceylon a city in exchange for a large ruby. Medieval Europeans believed that rubies assured good health, prosperity, wisdom and a successful love life. The English name "ruby" comes from the Latin word "ruber", meaning red. The most desirable ruby color is a rich deep red with a hint of blue that is known as "pigeon's blood". In Thailand, ruby is known as "tabtim", which means "pomegranate" in Thai. This is because these shining red gems look like the edible seed coats found inside a ripe pomegranate.

Ruby Gemstone
Identifying Ruby Back to Top

Ruby can be identified by its hardness of 9 on the Mohs scale, and vibrant color. Natural ruby can be distinguished from synthetic ruby by its inclusions; natural ruby typically exhibits inclusions, whereas synthetic ruby tends to be eye clean.

Ruby; Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

The most important sources for ruby include Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Sri Lanka and Tanzania. Other sources are Afghanistan, Australia, Brazil, India, Cambodia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Tajikistan, the USA and Vietnam.

Buying Ruby and Determining Ruby Gemstone Value Back to Top

Ruby Color

The color of ruby is its most important quality factor. The most sought after color is a strong pure red to red with a hint of blue. This vibrant red hue is known as "pigeon's blood". When the color of ruby is too light, it is classified as pink sapphire, but the line between pinkish-red ruby and pink sapphire varies by region. Some mining areas consider pink ruby to be ruby. The strong red fluorescence of ruby means that ruby has a glowing color.

Ruby Clarity and Luster

Ruby typically displays inclusions and these are tolerated as part of the nature of the stone. However, when inclusions minimize transparency or brilliance, they decrease the value. Ruby that is free from eye visible inclusions is available, however, large eye clean gemstones are rare and extremely valuable.

Ruby Cut and Shape

Ruby is often mixed-cut, with brilliant-cut crowns and step-cut pavilions. The most common shapes are ovals and cushions. Other cuts are also available, such as round, triangular, emerald-cut, pear and marquise cuts. However, these shapes are difficult to find in larger sizes, since they do not preserve the rough weight as well as ovals and cushions. Rubies of over one carat are rare, so price increases greatly with size. Ruby that displays asterism (the star effect) is typically cut en cabochon, to showcase the optical phenomenon. Rubies with rutile inclusions (such as star rubies) exhibit a silky luster, whereas transparent rubies mostly exhibit a vitreous luster. Lapidarists usually orient rough ruby so as to minimize orangey-red pleochroism, as long as this does not cause too much of a loss of carat weight.

Ruby Treatment

Ruby is exposed to heat treatment in order to enhance the color. This is considered to be a stable and permanent enhancement. Intact rutile inclusions (also known as "silk") provide proof that a ruby gemstone has not been heat treated. Ruby is also irradiated and treated with diffusion to enhance the color. Other enhancements include fracture filling with lead glass, which is conducted to render heavily included gemstones fit for jewelry use. Occasionally, ruby is oiled or dyed. Despite all of the treatments that ruby can be subjected to, natural ruby gemstones are available and all reputable gemstone sellers declare any treatments or enhancements.

Ruby Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Al2O3, Aluminum oxide
Crystal Structure: Trigonal, hexagonal prisms or tables, rhombohedrons
Color: Various reds
Hardness: 9 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.762 - 1.778
Density: 3.97 - 4.05
Cleavage: None
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: -0.008
Luster: Vitreous to silky
Fluorescence: Strong: carmine red

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Ruby: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Blue Sapphire
Blue-Green Sapphire

Since ruby is a member of the corundum group, it is closely related to sapphire and thus shares some properties, such as hardness, composition and double refraction, with sapphire. Gemstone varieties of corundum, include blue sapphire, fancy sapphire, star sapphire and color change sapphire. Cat's eye ruby, Star ruby and trapiche rubies are also available but quite rare. Trapiche rubies exhibit a fixed star and are often cut into gemstone slices. Some trapiche rubies may display an asterism or star-effect, but such star trapiche rubies are exceptionally rare.

Ruby can appear similar to other red gemstones such as almandite garnet and pyrope garnet. Spinel, topaz, tourmaline and zircon can also be mistaken for ruby. Ruby can also form with other minerals, such as the case with ruby-zoisite and ruby-in-fuchsite.

Ruby Gemstone Mythology, Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers Back to Top

According to legend, the owner of a ruby is assured a life of peace and plenty. The vivid red color of ruby also means that it is associated with desire, and it is thought by some to be a stone of love with an aphrodisiac effect. Ruby has long been attributed with the ability to protect its wearer from injury and to cure blood disorders including menstrual pain and circulatory problems. It is also said to provide its wearer with energy, emotional strength, positive attitude, heightened awareness and focus. In traditional Hindu belief systems, ruby is associated with Muladhara, or the base chakra. This chakra is concerned with Kundalini; spiritual energy, the power of pure desire, divine consciousness, opening of the mind and natural energy of the self. In feng shui, ruby is believed to bring yang fire energy.

Ruby is the birthstone for those born in July and is also the zodiacal stone for Capricorns. Ruby is used to celebrate the fifteenth and fortieth wedding anniversaries. The day assigned to ruby is Tuesday (hence the Rolling Stones song, "Ruby Tuesday"). Ruby is assigned to the planets Mars and Pluto.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Ruby Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

Since ruby has been used as a gemstone for centuries, it can be seen in a variety of styles, from Indian jewelry to Art Deco and contemporary fine jewelry. Ruby is a durable material that can be worn daily as rings, earrings, necklaces and so on. In Indian style jewelry, rubies are often mixed with emeralds and diamonds. Gold settings provide a striking contrast to the red of ruby. Modern jewelry settings for ruby include white gold and platinum, whereas traditional settings tend to be gold. Small rubies can be set closely together in an intricate style such as bead setting or "pavé", which was made famous by jewelry designers such as Joel A. Rosenthal, known simply as JAR, who created exquisite flower jewels from colored gemstones. Rubies, along with sapphire, diamond and emerald, are one of the most precious of gems. Ruby jewelry can be considered as fine jewelry, even when set in silver. Red ruby rings are a popular alternative for engagement rings, along with blue sapphire engagement rings. Rubies are ideal for wedding and anniversary bands (ruby is the 15th, 40th and 80th year anniversary stone), as well as for use in July birthstone rings, pendants and jewelry..

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Famous Ruby Gemstones Back to Top

Famous stones of outstanding beauty and color include the "Edwardes Ruby", which weighs 167 carats and is displayed at the British Museum of Natural History in London. Also, the "Rosser Reeves Star Ruby", weighing 138.7 carats can be seen at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington. The "De Long Star Ruby", weighs 100 carats and is exhibited in the American Museum of Natural History in New York and the "Peace Ruby", which weighs 43 carats, was found in 1919.

Rubies are essential elements of royal insignia and other famous jewelry. The Bohemian St. Wenceslas Crown holds an unfaceted ruby of 250 carats.

Some famous large rubies, such as the "Black Prince's Ruby" and the "Timur Ruby" in the British Crown Jewels are actually spinels, because until the beginning of the 19th century spinels were thought to be rubies.

A very famous ruby ring was given to Elizabeth Taylor by Richard Burton. It was an 8.24 carat ruby, surrounded by diamonds and set in gold. It was made by Van Cleef & Arpels and sold for $4.2 million in 2011. Elizabeth Taylor was also given a Cartier ruby and diamond suite by her third husband, which is worth over $5 million.

The most expensive ruby ring ever sold featured a 32.08 carat cushion-cut Burmese ruby (known as "The Hope Ruby") and had a recorded auction price of $6.74 million.

On November 26th, 2013, a Burmese ruby and diamond necklace by Etcetera sold for a record $6.4 million at Christie's, Hong Kong. This is the highest price ever paid for a ruby necklace at auction.

Rubies also have a famous scientific use - the first lasers were made from artificial ruby crystals.

Ruby Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesRubies are tough and durable, so they do not require any special care. To clean your rubies, simply use warm soapy water and a soft cloth. Fracture-filled and diffusion-treated gemstones should only be cleaned with a damp cloth. Fracture-filled rubies can be easily damaged compared to routing-heat rubies; avoid chemical cleaners and acids (lemon juice can affect the color of a filled ruby). Do not attempt to recut or repolish a filled ruby, and do not heat these types of rubies with jeweler's torch when working on or repairing filled-ruby jewelry. As with most gemstones, ultrasonic cleaners and steamers are not recommended. Always remove any jewelry or gemstones before exercising, cleaning or engaging in harsh physical activities such as sport. Do not expose rubies to acid and store rubies away from other gemstones to avoid scratches. It is best to wrap gemstones in soft cloth or place them inside a fabric-lined jewelry box.

  • First Published: January-18-2007
  • Last Updated: September-29-2016
  • © 2005-2016 all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:


Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart